BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Midnight in Death (In Death Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 759 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(292)

4 Star

(182)

3 Star

(149)

2 Star

(69)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

The Missing Case

Finally the story about how Dr. Mira was put in a cage, it drove me crazy thinking that I had missed a storyline as I have read all of the IN DEATH series. This was a very quick read, it is only 90 pages, and takes place after Holiday In Death. Still has all the action ...
Finally the story about how Dr. Mira was put in a cage, it drove me crazy thinking that I had missed a storyline as I have read all of the IN DEATH series. This was a very quick read, it is only 90 pages, and takes place after Holiday In Death. Still has all the action and smart alek banter that I enjoy in this series plus a small look back at a case that ended before Roarke. A good read and great of Mrs. Roberts/J.D. Robb to tie up a loose end.

posted by Anonymous on September 29, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Buyer Beware - It's A Short Story

Not only is this a short story, it is poorly written. It looks like the author couldn't develop the plot for a novel and just decided to publish a truncated version.

posted by Perry_Mason on July 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 764 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2005

    The Missing Case

    Finally the story about how Dr. Mira was put in a cage, it drove me crazy thinking that I had missed a storyline as I have read all of the IN DEATH series. This was a very quick read, it is only 90 pages, and takes place after Holiday In Death. Still has all the action and smart alek banter that I enjoy in this series plus a small look back at a case that ended before Roarke. A good read and great of Mrs. Roberts/J.D. Robb to tie up a loose end.

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    Buyer Beware - It's A Short Story

    Not only is this a short story, it is poorly written. It looks like the author couldn't develop the plot for a novel and just decided to publish a truncated version.

    17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Bummer

    I down loaded the sample to see if I had read this and after all the lists there was no story to read! That can't be a sample if it is only the dedication and book reviews.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Midnight In Death

    This book is 84 pages I want my three dollars back! As a rule I read reviews. needless to say I didn't read this one. Sorry I need to rate it to post. It's not worth one star unless you want only 84 pages I don't recommend this book.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    Very disappointing

    I have read all of the IN DEATH series and thought they were great. This was too violent without the humor of McNabb or Peabody. This is the first J.D.Robb book I have been disappointed with.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    B & N joke on me

    Good story. However being new to ebooks I didn't realize I was only getting a short story!! Imagine my surprise and disappointment. Taught me a lesson to always check for the quantity of pages. I was very unhappy with my purchase. I felt cheated.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    !

    To the children playing cat games here...this is a book review site, not a chat room, a blog room, a play ground or cat box. Please take your childish rp cat games to a web site where they belong. They do not belong here.

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    Kind of a Let Down

    The story was okay, but I was expecting so much more fighting between Eve and Dave at the end. I was really let down.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Dont bother with the sample

    The sample ends on page 2......

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Very good. Ties up prior reference point, but...

    The most dissappointing factor was in the conclusion. It was almost as if Ms. Roberts was tired and wanted to get it over with so she just tossed out an ending with little prep.

    Having heard that many authors maintain "stables" of writers to manage large series, this would almost lend itself to that line of thought. It had all of the characters but not much of the substance of her other novels.

    Still, it was quite good as a novella and did fill in a prior referenced plot point, despite the wham-bam ending.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    Not worth it

    Wow, what a disappointment. Save your money and read something else.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Not worth the cost

    I spent $3.00 on this 84 page book. 7 pages of garbage befre story started. Story was boring with little to no typical Robb flare or characters. Hate to say it but this is last one I will buy of hers.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    Another fabulous J.D. Robb book!

    Yet again, J.D. Robb writes a fantastic story! Definitely recommend reading this one (especially if you're reading them in order). I'm so glad that we finally have a little bit more background info on Dr. Mira.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Always highly recommended

    Nora Roberts writing as J.D.Robb, she is absolutely one of my favorite authors, she grabs you with characters that youve known since she began writing this series and they are all very well developed characters, the plot in this book is wonderful, keeps you guessing till the end and the steamy romance between Eve and Rourke, keeps you aware of their respect for one another which is another strong draw to her books.
    Thank you Ms Roberts for writing such great reads.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Side story intended to be book "7.5"

    I was hoping that since this is a short story, and things were rushed along, the killers takedown would be more played out. But this was still a good side story, none the less.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    great read

    super quick, easy read. great for car or train ride.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Recommend

    I have been reading Nora Roberts (J.D. Robb) books for a while now and I can honestly say I have loved every one. She gets you so involved and linked with the charactors that it's hard to stop reading. Then you have to read the next one. I never get enough. She is at the top of my favorite writers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Highly Recommended - read it, really.

    This book is for anyone looking for a little mystery, a little romance and a lot of plot.

    Love this author and series.

    Definitely for a book club discussion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    don't know what this is

    Love JD Robb; but this book was too short to be in-depth to the character of Roarke or Eve. Guess you get what you pay for and this one was a freebee.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Four stars

    Good story. Fast read. Enjoyed it very much. I like the writing style of this author very much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 764 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39