Customer Reviews for

Midnight on Julia Street

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly intriguing

Picked up this book just for something to read and couldn't put it down.

posted by Cb21 on January 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Mystery, romance and time travel in New Orleans

Largely set in present day New Orleans, Midnight on Julia Street follows the gutsy, independent and stubborn tv news producer Corlis McCullough as she starts yet another new TV production job. Corlis has great instincts but she's a bit like a terrier - she doesn't give...
Largely set in present day New Orleans, Midnight on Julia Street follows the gutsy, independent and stubborn tv news producer Corlis McCullough as she starts yet another new TV production job. Corlis has great instincts but she's a bit like a terrier - she doesn't give up on a story and isn't one to cave to politics or her networks' affiliations. This has held her back in her career and repeatedly gets her into hot water.

To add to the mix, she bumps heads with King Duvallon, an enemy of sorts from college. King and has frat brothers had poked fun at Corlis when she wrote for the college paper. Corlis had retaliated strongly and gotten King expelled. Decades later, the two find themselves somehow on the same side. Their truce, new friendship and possible romance heats up Midnight on Julia Street. The novel gets even more interesting with Corlis's new ability to see into the past. She somehow finds herself transported to New Orleans in the 1800s and her visits help her to piece together parts of a long forgotten mystery.

The novel isn't really paranormal, the trips to the past add to the storyline and act as a device to teach us about the main characters' relations and to reveal clues a mystery from the past. Midnight on Julia Street is a fun read. My one criticism is that I found Corlis's voice - especially in her internal monologues - a little annoying. That's just my personal opinion and I realize other people might connect better with the lead character. Overall, Midnight on Julia Street is a fun escape.

ISBN-10: 1402222726 - Paperback $15.99
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark; Reprint edition (August 1, 2011), 512 pages.
Review copy provided by the publisher.

posted by gl on September 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Surprisingly intriguing

    Picked up this book just for something to read and couldn't put it down.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mystery, romance and time travel in New Orleans

    Largely set in present day New Orleans, Midnight on Julia Street follows the gutsy, independent and stubborn tv news producer Corlis McCullough as she starts yet another new TV production job. Corlis has great instincts but she's a bit like a terrier - she doesn't give up on a story and isn't one to cave to politics or her networks' affiliations. This has held her back in her career and repeatedly gets her into hot water.

    To add to the mix, she bumps heads with King Duvallon, an enemy of sorts from college. King and has frat brothers had poked fun at Corlis when she wrote for the college paper. Corlis had retaliated strongly and gotten King expelled. Decades later, the two find themselves somehow on the same side. Their truce, new friendship and possible romance heats up Midnight on Julia Street. The novel gets even more interesting with Corlis's new ability to see into the past. She somehow finds herself transported to New Orleans in the 1800s and her visits help her to piece together parts of a long forgotten mystery.

    The novel isn't really paranormal, the trips to the past add to the storyline and act as a device to teach us about the main characters' relations and to reveal clues a mystery from the past. Midnight on Julia Street is a fun read. My one criticism is that I found Corlis's voice - especially in her internal monologues - a little annoying. That's just my personal opinion and I realize other people might connect better with the lead character. Overall, Midnight on Julia Street is a fun escape.

    ISBN-10: 1402222726 - Paperback $15.99
    Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark; Reprint edition (August 1, 2011), 512 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2003

    page turner

    i couldn't put it down. the story was suspenceful, well writen, and worth the time to read

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Cant read geneology on a nook

    The book begins wifh two family tree charts that are presumably important. These cannot be read on a nook because they are too small.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Great easy read

    This is a great, light mystery/drama read. Love the history of new orleans throughout story. Great descriptive writing. Nice amount of romance, nothing too smutty. Overall, lovely read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Recommend

    I wish I had read this book prior to visiting the magical city of New Orleans. The book is a great mixture of history, romance and mystery.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    R

    I thought the book was very dull.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Double tap the family trees for larger view

    Double tap the family trees at the beginning and they will enlarge on the Nook! Much easier to read. Discovered this by accident.

    Ciji Ware is a very good writer. Haven't read this yet, but loved Cottage by the Sea and Return to Splendor.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    V Good

    This book is very well written and holds your interest.
    Characters are described extremely well & the story line is very believable.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Great Book!

    I really loved this book. I loved the strong leading lady. Corlis has more talent that meets the eye. She is honorable, and very dedicated to her job. The history of New Orleans is wonderful, makes you really love the city and it's people. Her leading Man King is strong, beautiful, intelligent, and, rich! What a hot combo.
    This is a great book! I will be reading more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Marlene

    Excellent read... bought it as a daily deal book.. I loved it.. It has it all, romance,suspense,history . It was fabulous. My first read by this author, but definately not my last !!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Enjoyed Nawlings...

    3.5 stars...
    It took me a long time to get started and I don't know why! But about 1/3 of the way through, I was hooked and wanted more! I think I was having a hard time going back and forth between the present and the future. I enjoyed the mental images of New Orleans and the history.I also liked the tension between the two main characters, Corlis and King. In the end, I would read it again and may read the next book, On The Veranda.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Cirrus

    "Hiya." She said, suddenly standing next to Paradise.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Boring and dull novel set in New Orleans that goes back to the l

    Boring and dull novel set in New Orleans that goes back to the l800's. This is a long book and I started to skim to get thru .  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Julia

    Why are you two impostering me? Get out plz! Nico I am the real me

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Nico

    K

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Paranormal-History-Romance Fans!

    I love New Orleans, even though I've only traveled there once. This book takes place there! I don't want to give too much away by telling about the plot.
    If you like Nora Roberts, you'll really like this book!
    While I found this book a bit draggy in places, I still really enjoyed it. This was a Nook Free Friday Selection and I would read another of this author's again. I think she really did her homework and she conveyed her fondness for the city vividly.
    I actually learned a lot about New Orleans history, the history of Free People Of Color and the perils of historical preservation by reading this novel. It made me want to delve a bit more into the history of that area.
    If you love "the Big Easy", history, romance and past lives, I think you'll really like this book! I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars because of the pacing of the book and some too-easy answers to plot questions.
    Recommended!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    To firekit and all

    Join hailclan at 'cats' result 1

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4