Customer Reviews for

Midnight's Children

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A parallel story of the birth of a nation and that nation's children

"Midnight's Children" by Salman Rushdie won the Booker Prize in 1981 and was awarded in 1993 the honor of "best overall novel" of all Booker Prize winners since the prize was first awarded in 1975. In 2005 it made the 100 best English-language novels published since 19...
"Midnight's Children" by Salman Rushdie won the Booker Prize in 1981 and was awarded in 1993 the honor of "best overall novel" of all Booker Prize winners since the prize was first awarded in 1975. In 2005 it made the 100 best English-language novels published since 1923. I agree that it is worthy of such accolades. It is basically a story of India's history immediately before independence from Great Britain and for its beginning years as a nation continuing on to Pakistan separation and ensuing wars between the two nations. The story is built on and parallels the lives of those children born at midnight on that day of independence, August 15, 1947, at the designated time of independence thus the title, Midnight's Children. The main character, Saleem Sinai, is one of those children and his life is linked to the 1000 other midnight's children all of whom have some type of magical powers or gifts. It is definitely a challenging and intellectual read, both thought-provoking and complex. I feel more knowledgeable about Indian history and the divisions within that nation that continue even into today's society there. * * *

posted by WWCEBC on August 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Unbelievably Long !!

It's very long and the characters aren't that interesting ,it's easy to forget what happened the last 20 pages when you're reading ! I didn't fall in Love with book , i didn't even like it a lot . to be fair it might have something to do with my lack of information abou...
It's very long and the characters aren't that interesting ,it's easy to forget what happened the last 20 pages when you're reading ! I didn't fall in Love with book , i didn't even like it a lot . to be fair it might have something to do with my lack of information about the history of India as the book is deeply connected with it .

posted by Egyptian_Reader on November 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    A parallel story of the birth of a nation and that nation's children

    "Midnight's Children" by Salman Rushdie won the Booker Prize in 1981 and was awarded in 1993 the honor of "best overall novel" of all Booker Prize winners since the prize was first awarded in 1975. In 2005 it made the 100 best English-language novels published since 1923. I agree that it is worthy of such accolades. It is basically a story of India's history immediately before independence from Great Britain and for its beginning years as a nation continuing on to Pakistan separation and ensuing wars between the two nations. The story is built on and parallels the lives of those children born at midnight on that day of independence, August 15, 1947, at the designated time of independence thus the title, Midnight's Children. The main character, Saleem Sinai, is one of those children and his life is linked to the 1000 other midnight's children all of whom have some type of magical powers or gifts. It is definitely a challenging and intellectual read, both thought-provoking and complex. I feel more knowledgeable about Indian history and the divisions within that nation that continue even into today's society there. * * *

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    The true picture of a newly born country

    I really wonder if anyone else can paint such a true and beuatiful picture of a newly born country in the form of its children.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    WOW

    If I wasn't completely convinced before that Salman Rushdie has a claim to be the most gifted writer on the planet, I am after reading this book. This novel is a generational saga along the lines of Gabriel Garcia-Marquez's 'One Hundred Years of Solitude' and Jeffrey Eugenides's 'Middlesex'. As those two novels reflect the history of their own respective nations, so does 'Midnight's Children.' It is the story of one family, and one person in particular, Saleem, who is born on the stroke of midnight on the exact day and time India achieved its independence from Britain. From that propitious birth onward, Saleem's life becomes a reflection and representation of the young Indian nation itself. The title refers to the 400 odd children who were born at or near this same midnight. Each one of them have magical skills which vary in strength and importance in direct relation to their birth's proximity to midnight. Since Saleem was born exactly at midnight, he has the most valuable skill, the skill to look into people's hearts, minds, and souls, and to commune with the other midnight children mentally. In this vein, he forms the Midnight Children's Conference, a meeting of these 400+ children who communicate through Saleem's telepathic mind and have the stated goal of reforming India. If this sounds unbelievable, it is not. It is the same sort of magical realism fans of Latin American authors will be familiar with, and adds to the strength, beauty, and ultimate brutality of the story without making the reader roll his eyes in incredulity. As is India, so is Saleem. He hears the multitudinous voices of India in his head, a mess of contradictions: peace and violence, forgiveness and revenge, progress and tradition. His family also reflects the indefinable character of India. They are by turns real and fantastical, living and dying, perservering and escaping. The amalgam of these voices and Saleem's family is an India that Rushdie seems to understand no better than anyone else, but his affection for and frustration with India could only come from a native. The reader also follows Saleem's physical life. His face mirrors a map of India, and his enormous nose is gifted at sensing emotions. From the life of a rich boy in Bombay, to a fighter in the India-Pakistan War, to a broken carnival traveller, and finally to an owner of a pickle company, Saleem's journey through life is expansive, human, and always entertaining. The side characters are just as engrossing, and all have a part to play in the tumolt of Indian history. To keep the earlier analogy going, I found this to be a slightly more difficult read than 'One Hundred Years of Solitude' but just as entertaining as 'Middlesex'. Rushdie writes with wit, style, anger, and absolute brilliance. He is generous with allusions, but I felt they were also extremely accessible. I recommend this book not only to India-philes, but also to fans of literature in general. This is a master in peak and rare form, and this is one of the finest novels written in a generation. Most highly recommended.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    I am a proud Indian

    Well, no, not really. far from it actually. but ever since reading this book nearly a decade ago, at the age of 14, i keep a special place in my heart for Bombay. It has sent me on a never ending chase for every written word ever to emerge from under Rushdie's pen, and he has never let me down. But as enchanting as all of his titles are, non is as breathtaking as this one, and my sole regret is that I will never get to relive the experience of reading 'Midnight's Children' for the first time.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    Unbelievably Long !!

    It's very long and the characters aren't that interesting ,it's easy to forget what happened the last 20 pages when you're reading ! I didn't fall in Love with book , i didn't even like it a lot . to be fair it might have something to do with my lack of information about the history of India as the book is deeply connected with it .

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2005

    Good in the beginning... but too long

    The start is very good... one cannot put it aside but as the story goes on it looses interest. I found the first half very good but after that it was hard to read as words were repetitive. I wish it was shorter.. would have conveyed the message better.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2004

    Art is long, life is short

    This is a brilliant and incredibly difficult book. Call me selfish, but I don't have 2 months to read and re-read this book to fully appreciate its message.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    EXCEPTIONAL!!!! MAGIC!!!!! Salman Rushie is a genius of literatu

    EXCEPTIONAL!!!! MAGIC!!!!!
    Salman Rushie is a genius of literature!!! The story is beautiful, the characters are wonderful. The whole novel deals with India and its history, so it would be a good idea to know some key facts about post-colonial India and especially about the period when Nehru and Indira Gandhi were Prime Ministers of India before reading the novel to fully appreciate it. The magic element is a wonderful addition to the story. This novel not only teaches things about India but also conveys great universal values.This is a book you must read at least oncee in your life. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Booooooooooooo

    Greatly boring if I could I have it a 0000.1

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    I was snakebit!

    A dip into fantasy that seems like reality. The dreams of the young and the reality of the old. A wonderful story weaved from youth and privledge through old age and poverty. A story of the soul.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2004

    A long journey through Indian history

    I began reading Midnight's Children intimidated by the number of pages and the in-depth and tedious description Rushdie reveals. But eventually the pace began to quicken, and Midnight's Children transforms into a brilliant piece of literature, implementing characteristics of Indian history, and the loss of identity as a result of Indian independence. A great novel for the analytical type.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    hmmmmmmmmm.

    it was a difficult book to read but satisfying. yes it addressed cultural issues, yes it had humour, but i felt confused and slightly put off when the narrator kept digressing.whether or not that was complimenting the theme of fragmentation, i certainly did not waarm to it. its not for the light hearted, but it really throws a light upon Post colonial India and i can say that i have learnt twice as much than i would have through a history book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Our Book Group considered this the best book it's read in the past two years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    I was assigned to read and present a two-day presentation on thi

    I was assigned to read and present a two-day presentation on this book in college in 1988. I didn't read books this long back then. But we had partners and mine read it while I did the rest. I got an A and an A on the paper. I've read it at least THREE times since. It is an amazing work. That was an amazing class with a wonderful professor who opened the door to world literature for us and I've been so grateful for that gift ever since. Long books are fine now. Rushdie is a clever author and this novel uses magical realism but also teaches some very important history (more important now than ever). It is worth the time, every time. And wanting to re-read any book has to be a sign of a great book. Plus it is one of the great Booker winners. It's been great to be able to see Rushdie in interviews and for him to be able to keep writing because he was in hiding as The Satanic Verses was out back then and he was in hiding. I don't think we understood at all what that meant then but should have paid closer attention. Our professor thought Midnight's Children was a better book, so we read that. You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Rl REAK Worth it

    A fantastically written book, literally and figuratively

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Tortuous and yet completely endearing. I don't think I've ever r

    Tortuous and yet completely endearing. I don't think I've ever read something so involved before. After seeing the movie (which I really enjoyed and which was laid out in a fairly straightforward manner), I was surprised to find the book such a long and winding story. I first imagined that the rambling, meandering thoughts the main character is remembering (he's writing them down) revealed a scatter-brained personality, but before long I was wondering if that's actually how Rushdie's mind works at all times. In other words I'm admitting I haven't read anything else by him. Whatever the answer, this novel showcases a brilliant imagination: one capable of filling the pages with details, character and event nuances, and tangents until the reader's mind is overwhelmed. I can only concentrate on 20-30 pages at a time with this book, but I'm engrossed during those sessions. I've recommended it for my book group, and now extend the suggestion to anyone who loves to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Genius and Art

    This is my first Salman Rushdie book and I feel like I've arrived at literary dessert at last. His lush prose and fleet of pen as he travels the reader through time and geography is magical. I shall read everything he has written NOW.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Worth the read

    Requires a little more thought than the average read, but it is well worth the follow through. The story intertwines India's factual history with fictional events that are as mysterious and magical as only India can be. This book makes for great group discussions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It is not an easy read.

    Salman Rushdie seems very knowledgeable and bright. But this novel is not an easy one to get through!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    didn't like it

    It's the second book by Rushdie I've tried to read. I say 'tried' because I disliked them both so much I couldn't even finish the books. I won't be trying another.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4