BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Midnight's Daughter (Dorina Basarab Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 276 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    author¿s backlist (see CLAIMED BY SHADOWS). Karen Chance is by far one of the best authors writing urban fantasies today

    There is a war going on between the Vampire Senate and the dark mages of the Black Circle the hostilities have made arms dealers very wealthy as they sell magical armaments to both camps. Five hundred years old dhampir Dorina Basarab is unlike her peers as she can somewhat control her berserker rages so is uninterested in the war. She worries when her best friend Claire the null witch, who could be a valuable weapon of mass destruction, has gone missing for a month. Dory has been directing all her energy into finding her buddy when a family member asks for her help.----------------- Her father, first level vampire Mircea informs hat her Uncle Dracula escaped his confinement. He needs her help to capture and re-incarcerate the craziest deadliest family member. Dory has had one horrific fight with her uncle and does not want a rematch. Her father makes a deal with his daughter if she catches Dracula, he will get the Vampire Senate to search for Claire. Knowing Dracula will be coming for her and her Uncle Rudu, Dory accepts her dad¿s terms. Gathering allies, Dory is stunned to learn her adversary has captured Claire.----------- Dory is an interesting lead character, a dhampire who has survived for five centuries on her dysfunctional family by controlling her rages and killing only when necessary those deserving to die. She is a unique dhampir as most cannot control their berserker tendencies or show love towards another person like she does towards Claire as a sister would. There is plenty of action, a bit of romance, and a fascinating look at the Dracula brood. Urban fantasy readers will want to take a chance on this tale as well as the author¿s backlist (see CLAIMED BY SHADOWS). Karen Chance is by far one of the best authors writing urban fantasies today.-------- Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I thought the romantic subplot worked well. I can be a bit like

    I thought the romantic subplot worked well. I can be a bit like Goldilocks when it comes to how much romance I like in my fantasy, and Karen Chance gets it just right: enough romance to add spice to the story and raise the emotional stakes, not so much romance that it eats the plot for lunch. The first half of Midnight's Daughter follows Dorina as she travels from place to place, trying to amass information, allies, and kick-butt magical weaponry, stalked by Dracula all the while. I found this part of the novel slow going despite the frequent action scenes. I think this is mainly because I read Midnight's Daughter without having read the Cassie Palmer novels first. I kept getting the idea I should know these characters well, but I didn't. Some of them are based on historical figures, but while I know who Kit Marlowe and Casanova are, I don't know how they fit into vampire politics and history, or how they fit into Dory's life. Dorina Basarab is a more independent heroine who is aware of her own power and limitations; unlike Cassie, she isn't in near constant need of rescuing, and winning battles isn't out of sheer luck. Dory has lived on her own for over 500 years. Mircea shows up to ask his estranged daughter for a favor - help recapture Uncle Dracula. She only grudgingly agrees after he offers to use his influence to help locate Dory's best friend and room mate, Claire, who has gone missing. Dory helped capture Drac last time he escaped, and he is the only thing that truly terrifies her. A huge bonus for me was the inclusion of master vampire Louis-Cesare in the plot as a main character. The book is fast paced and action packed with a lot of combat. There is more blood and mayhem than the Cassie series, but it worked well for this new protagonist.  Great work, I love it.    

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    A DO NOT miss book in the paranormal genre

    Wow. So, I devoured this book. I have read Karen Chance's Cassandra Palmer novels and I enjoyed them greatly, but this one, I devoured. Dory is not a character I expected to fall in love with. In fact, I almost passed this book up because the blurb on the back of the book didn't really pull me in. I took a chance (ha!) because of the other Karen Chance novels I had read. I found that Dory is complex and fascinating. I really wanted to curl up with Louis-Cesare somewhere for a while, or even go to a family function with Mircea and Radu just to watch them interact. These characters were so well written that I wanted to sit down with each one and talk to them. They feel so real. I loved that the fact that they are paranormal creatures seemed secondary to their very "human" relationships and emotions. I literally re-read the ending three times this morning at 3am. I could not put it down until I finished it and even then I did not want it to be done. Way to go Karen Chance, and thank you for creating such amazing characters.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Awesome.

    Love the sexual tension right out the gate. Did drag a little and wandered a little, but loved it and got the second ones as soon as I was finished.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Satisfying!

    Just what I've been looking for. I started reading LKH a few years ago and found this same sense of satisfaction at the beginning of her Anita Blake novels. I loved the gore and the fighting. I loved Dory's fearlessness and sheer guts. I'm going back to B&N and finding the Cassandra Palmer series to see if they measure up to this book. It literally took my breath away.... When Dory fights at the end and to save her life she envelops herself in something I cannot describe here (you'll have to read the book!), I was blown away. Fantastic!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Read

    This newest series about Dorina Basarab, like Karen Chance's Cassandra Palmer series has me hooked. Since, I've gone through each and every one of the Cassandra Palmer novels it was not surprising that her character in this one was even more dynamic! Karen Chance never lets you down and each time I open a new book of hers I feel like I've stepped into a wonderful world. I highly recommend the series and the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Never a "Happy" Ending

    Karen Chance readers need to move past the need for a "happy" ending, and Midnight's Daughter is no exception. There is closure, no mortifying death or anything like that. . .well, OK, death but not a mortifying one. What I think sets Chance apart from the other fantasy writers, flirting with the romantic side is that she can finish a book and leave the reader a little hungry, maybe even a little edgy, without the book feeling unfinished.

    Here's the low down on Midnight's Daughter. Dory is tough, but not just your normal simpering heroine with a tough exterior - she's truly tough, a berserker for all practical purposes. There's nothing pretty, or gentle, or soft about her. So, in the midst of this war, she's shocked to be presented with romance and, when she has to fight for it, she's angry (instead of the weepy heroines I hate). It's refreshing and I can't wait to read the next one.

    Write faster Karen!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    Great Expectations!

    First time reading any book by Karen Chance. I thought it was a good book kept my interest thru & thru till the very end. There's a lot of great characters that I would like to find out more about. There seems to be many secrets that still have to be revealed. Loved the playful banter between Dory & Louis Cesar. Don't know if his ever met anyone like Dorina. I can truly say this has become a new series on my list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I've read all the Cassie Palmer series books and all the Dorina

    I've read all the Cassie Palmer series books and all the Dorina series books. Karen Chance is my favorite author. I love that all her heroines are super kick-butt and very funny. The witty banter makes me laugh out loud and I love the sprinkled romance, but mostly I love the world she has created. Not since Harry Potter have I fallen in love with fictional world. Full of every monster, but with a human side. Faeries, vampires, werewolves, Gods, other realms! I highly recommend any of the books Karen Chance writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    One of my favorite series

    Karen Chance is a phenomenal writer with awesome world building skills and a gift for characterization.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Great author

    Every series written has been great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Very good, I recommend this book.

    Fast paced. It took me a couple capters to get into this character, but I really liked her take no prisoners type attitude. Really recommed this author, and this is just another facet of her wonderful universe.
    Really great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Must read !!!

    I loved this book so much. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Highly entertaining with lots of action

    Karen Chance successfully transitioned from her Cassandra Palmer series into a story of Mircea's half breed "Dhamphire" daughter. This story is a bit darker, but more complex in character creation. These are all flawed individuals, rather like in real life where every person has good/bad qualities, or dark/light aspects of personality. Chance is brilliant in bringing Dorina to life and giving us a deeper look into the complex history (convoluted due to change in the time line performed by Cassie in the Cassandra Palmer series) of Louis Cesare. She also brings greater involvement of the Light Fey, with wonderfully detailed description of power they weld. At first I thought Chance had taken a wrong turn into a bloodier and grimier world than depicted in Cassie's story, but all along I had thought Chance had white washed much of the true darkness and violence of the world Cassie inhabited. With Dorina this white wash has been removed in a believable tale that is complex and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    I liked it, but not as much as I thought I would. It was a lot more fey involvement than I expected, which I can go either way on. I don't know if it helped or hurt that I had read the short story in 'On The Prowl' regarding Dory's friend and roommate Claire. On the one hand, I like having the background info. But on the other hand, it felt like they tried to shove that story into this one, and it just didn't fit. It was like a continuation, but from someone else's perspective, and I wished they'd just done an entirely different story. By the end there was Drac, the fey, the hybrid bird things... just way too many villains running around at once that made it feel like kind of a cluster-f**k. Dory was developed pretty well, although I'm hoping she loses the chip on her shoulder eventually and we get to see her and Mircea's relationship develop more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Karen Chance does it again!

    If you love the Cassandra Palmer series you'll love this new series. This series includes characters from the Cassandra Palmer series so they tie into one another i recommend reading the cassandra palmer series first so you know all the characters. Warning once you start this book you will not be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    to much action, not enough romance

    The writing is good, however the story is dark and violent. This is not a light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Mircea's daughter

    If you enjoyed the Cassie Palmer series then you will find pleasure here! Karen Chance has a complicated writing style that I have learned to love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Recipe for Fun!

    This was such a fun book to read. It had all the ingredients for a most delicious and enjoyable adventure.

    If you are a Karen Chance fan and follow her Cassandra Palmer series, you will enjoy watching characters you know, make the transition to leading roles in this new and exciting series. Consider me hooked!

    Dorina Basarab is quirky and sexy with a no nonsense attitude you just can't help but love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    Good book BUT read the Cassie Palmer series first. I didnt and alot of things I would have understood better if I had. Just my suggestion!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 276 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14