Customer Reviews for

Midnight's Daughter (Dorina Basarab Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 276 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 277 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a great buy

    This book is an excellent read. If you enjoyed Karen Chance's other books you will like this one. I started out borrowing this from a friend and like it so much I just went out and bought it, so I could read it over and over. This is a great buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    Bad From the Start

    This storyline is just awful. The story is hard to follow and the characters are not very real. Yeah, this is a fictional story, but a plot-line is suppose to pull you into a story, to involve you and have your mind thinking that you are the character, but this story just left me flat and uninspired. This storyline is boring and the author really should think more about what they are wanting to write and the kind of message they are wanting to send to their readers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I couldn't even get passed the first 20 pages.

    I couldn't even finish the book. maybe it is just me but the plot did not develop fast enough for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good story for a tie in with the Cassandra series

    Dorina, Dori, Basarab is a dampir, half vampire half human. Most dhampire's don't last long due to the fact that they are prone to berserker rages and end up getting or being killed. Her father, Mircea from the Cassandra series, needs her to help vampire Louis-Cesare hunt her uncle, Dracula, down. The only reason she agrees is she is looking for her friend/roommate Clair that is a null witch and has disappeared a month previous. Clair is the only person that has been able to help her calm down for any amount of time.

    Louis-Cesare is a mess in more ways than on. Radu, Dori's other uncle, created Louis-Cesare. But, due to circumstances in the Cassandra timeline, had to abandon him. Along with that, he turned the love of his life into a vampire when she was dieing. As soon as she realized what happened she cursed him and took off. So, he is a piece of mental work.

    This is a good tie in book. You can read it alone, but knowing the Cassandra series give it broader horizons. Even though they are supposed to hunt Dracula and he spends more time working Dori over, it is good. I recommend it to those that like the paranormal stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow to start, but keep at it if you're a Karen Chance fan.

    Excellent book that I struggled with at first because I couldn't see the connection to her previous work.

    Stay with it, it's there and this is an awesome addition to the collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Midnight's Daughter - Great Read

    I really enjoyed this book. Karen does a great a job of taking the storyline around Dracula from the Cassie Palmer series and spinning it into a new one. She ties up some loose ends that had she resolved them in the other series would have diverged the storyline beyond its original intent. It was also great to see a different side of some the characters introduced in the Cassie Palmer series. I would never have pegged Mircea as a caring and proud father but that is definitely what you see as the story around him and Dorina develops in this book. All in all, this book was a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Midnight's Daughter

    First off, reading the story in "On the Prowl" is not necessary to understand what's happening in this book but I recommend it.<BR/><BR/>This was a fantastic read for most of the book but the last hundred pages or so was just battle after battle, which left me annoyed. Dorina is a Dhampir (half vampire/half human). She pretty much is a walking abomination and is rejected by pretty much everyone. Claire her roommate (the one person in her life she seems to truly love) has gone missing and she moves heaven and hell to find her. <BR/><BR/>There is a lot happening in this book all at once; maybe too much. I like that Dory's world consisted of so many races. From Fey, Vampires, Trolls, humans to lab-created hybrid creatures. I recommend this book and look forward to the the next installment Death¿s Mistress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Review Contest

    I LOVED IT!<BR/>I love all of the history of the characters within the story.<BR/>I love the relationships between the characters. <BR/>I love the crossover characters from Cassie's series.<BR/>The plot itself was amazing.<BR/>I LOVE Caedmon. XD hilarious.<BR/>LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    Loved it!

    After reading an excerpt on the author's website months ago I was counting down until it was available and am happy to say it was well worth the wait! I loved the characters; old & new and will put in my 2 cents worth with the publisher to have a sequel. I'm looking forward to seeing what other "problems" Dory can solve for her father & the Senate as well as how Stinky is doing in the "real" world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Praise for Midnight's Daughter

    I really liked Karen Chance's new book Midnight's Daughter, there was never any moments were you were just trying to get through the chapter, you never flipped through it to see when a scene was going to end. There were a couple parts that had references to Chance's other series with Cassie Palmer. To truly understand what was being talkec about you would have had to have read that series. While some of the same characters were used there were still plenty of new ones introduced. I liked being able to view the same characters from the totally different prespectives of Cassie Palmer and Dorine Basarab. <BR/>I loved and would recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Best one yet.

    This one is her best one so far. If she keeps it up I'll have to move her to outstanding. This book is in the same universe as Karen Chances other books but the main character is a dhamphir. You see some old characters and meet a bunch of new ones. I'll be buying her next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Review Contest

    I finished the book the same day I got it. It was a fun, action packed read with a dynamic lead. I also enjoyed seeing how the cassie palmer series fits in as well as what happened/s to Radu and Vlad/Dracula. I can't wait to see more of Chance's work :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    Review Contest

    This book was really exciting and I was happy to read that Claire and Heidar made an appearence 'from Buying Trouble'. I can't wait for her other book Curse the Dawn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    Review Contest

    This book was awesome obivously! Karen Chance is a great writer and you should read all of her books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 277 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14