Customer Reviews for

Midnight's Daughter (Dorina Basarab Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 271 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Never a "Happy" Ending

    Karen Chance readers need to move past the need for a "happy" ending, and Midnight's Daughter is no exception. There is closure, no mortifying death or anything like that. . .well, OK, death but not a mortifying one. What I think sets Chance apart from the other fantasy writers, flirting with the romantic side is that she can finish a book and leave the reader a little hungry, maybe even a little edgy, without the book feeling unfinished.

    Here's the low down on Midnight's Daughter. Dory is tough, but not just your normal simpering heroine with a tough exterior - she's truly tough, a berserker for all practical purposes. There's nothing pretty, or gentle, or soft about her. So, in the midst of this war, she's shocked to be presented with romance and, when she has to fight for it, she's angry (instead of the weepy heroines I hate). It's refreshing and I can't wait to read the next one.

    Write faster Karen!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Great author

    Every series written has been great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Very good, I recommend this book.

    Fast paced. It took me a couple capters to get into this character, but I really liked her take no prisoners type attitude. Really recommed this author, and this is just another facet of her wonderful universe.
    Really great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Highly entertaining with lots of action

    Karen Chance successfully transitioned from her Cassandra Palmer series into a story of Mircea's half breed "Dhamphire" daughter. This story is a bit darker, but more complex in character creation. These are all flawed individuals, rather like in real life where every person has good/bad qualities, or dark/light aspects of personality. Chance is brilliant in bringing Dorina to life and giving us a deeper look into the complex history (convoluted due to change in the time line performed by Cassie in the Cassandra Palmer series) of Louis Cesare. She also brings greater involvement of the Light Fey, with wonderfully detailed description of power they weld. At first I thought Chance had taken a wrong turn into a bloodier and grimier world than depicted in Cassie's story, but all along I had thought Chance had white washed much of the true darkness and violence of the world Cassie inhabited. With Dorina this white wash has been removed in a believable tale that is complex and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Recipe for Fun!

    This was such a fun book to read. It had all the ingredients for a most delicious and enjoyable adventure.

    If you are a Karen Chance fan and follow her Cassandra Palmer series, you will enjoy watching characters you know, make the transition to leading roles in this new and exciting series. Consider me hooked!

    Dorina Basarab is quirky and sexy with a no nonsense attitude you just can't help but love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    Good book BUT read the Cassie Palmer series first. I didnt and alot of things I would have understood better if I had. Just my suggestion!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good story for a tie in with the Cassandra series

    Dorina, Dori, Basarab is a dampir, half vampire half human. Most dhampire's don't last long due to the fact that they are prone to berserker rages and end up getting or being killed. Her father, Mircea from the Cassandra series, needs her to help vampire Louis-Cesare hunt her uncle, Dracula, down. The only reason she agrees is she is looking for her friend/roommate Clair that is a null witch and has disappeared a month previous. Clair is the only person that has been able to help her calm down for any amount of time.

    Louis-Cesare is a mess in more ways than on. Radu, Dori's other uncle, created Louis-Cesare. But, due to circumstances in the Cassandra timeline, had to abandon him. Along with that, he turned the love of his life into a vampire when she was dieing. As soon as she realized what happened she cursed him and took off. So, he is a piece of mental work.

    This is a good tie in book. You can read it alone, but knowing the Cassandra series give it broader horizons. Even though they are supposed to hunt Dracula and he spends more time working Dori over, it is good. I recommend it to those that like the paranormal stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Midnight's Daughter

    First off, reading the story in "On the Prowl" is not necessary to understand what's happening in this book but I recommend it.<BR/><BR/>This was a fantastic read for most of the book but the last hundred pages or so was just battle after battle, which left me annoyed. Dorina is a Dhampir (half vampire/half human). She pretty much is a walking abomination and is rejected by pretty much everyone. Claire her roommate (the one person in her life she seems to truly love) has gone missing and she moves heaven and hell to find her. <BR/><BR/>There is a lot happening in this book all at once; maybe too much. I like that Dory's world consisted of so many races. From Fey, Vampires, Trolls, humans to lab-created hybrid creatures. I recommend this book and look forward to the the next installment Death¿s Mistress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Review Contest

    I LOVED IT!<BR/>I love all of the history of the characters within the story.<BR/>I love the relationships between the characters. <BR/>I love the crossover characters from Cassie's series.<BR/>The plot itself was amazing.<BR/>I LOVE Caedmon. XD hilarious.<BR/>LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Praise for Midnight's Daughter

    I really liked Karen Chance's new book Midnight's Daughter, there was never any moments were you were just trying to get through the chapter, you never flipped through it to see when a scene was going to end. There were a couple parts that had references to Chance's other series with Cassie Palmer. To truly understand what was being talkec about you would have had to have read that series. While some of the same characters were used there were still plenty of new ones introduced. I liked being able to view the same characters from the totally different prespectives of Cassie Palmer and Dorine Basarab. <BR/>I loved and would recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Best one yet.

    This one is her best one so far. If she keeps it up I'll have to move her to outstanding. This book is in the same universe as Karen Chances other books but the main character is a dhamphir. You see some old characters and meet a bunch of new ones. I'll be buying her next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5