Customer Reviews for

Midnight's Lover

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very good book. I loved the characters. took not long to finish

Very good book. I loved the characters. took not long to finish this.

posted by sand7s on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Anxious to read the next installment

Brought to you by OBS reviewer Heidi

Spoilers Ahead!

Ian is still reeling from his twin brother, Duncan’s, death and can no longer control the god inside him now that he no longer shares him with his twin. So he’s done the only thing he feels he can; he has taken...
Brought to you by OBS reviewer Heidi

Spoilers Ahead!

Ian is still reeling from his twin brother, Duncan’s, death and can no longer control the god inside him now that he no longer shares him with his twin. So he’s done the only thing he feels he can; he has taken himself far away from civilization so that if his god does take over, he won’t hurt anybody, or at least Ian hopes not.

Then, Ian hears the unmistakable sound of wyrran shrieks and discovers a group of the yellow monsters chasing a Druid, Danielle. He goes to her aid, but before he’s killed all of her attackers, she falls in the icy loch. He gets her out and takes her back to his cave with him and nurses her back to health and protects her.

When she awakes she tells him about a key she has found that is demanding she return it to the MacLeod Castle and so he reluctantly agrees to take her there. But once there the key insists that she wait. There is something off at the castle that many of the residents feel, and Danielle thinks this is why the key doesn’t want to be returned yet. There have been several newcomers to the castle recently so now it’s a matter of finding out who is causing the problem; who isn’t what they claim to be? And when Ian believes that he has lost control of his god again, he puts himself into lock-down making it impossible for him to save Danielle from the evil that lurks inside the castle walls.

I thought this installment of the series was pretty good. You do have some repetition from the first book to this one, such as the Warrior in question not being used to the current time and the female Druid convincing them to get new clothes and giving up their kilts for jeans. But once the storyline is set up that fades away and you get a completely different story than we read in Midnight’s Master. And, I thought this story was an improvement and it made me glad that I continued the series and I imagine the series will only continue to improve from here.

I really enjoyed Ian. I thought his torment with losing Duncan and struggling to gain control was understandable. I loved seeing the emotion between him and Danielle and seeing him willing to sacrifice his own freedom to keep her safe. Speaking of Danielle, I also enjoyed seeing a love interest that was just as interesting and strong as Ian is; he deserves that much.

I thought the sex scene through the prison bars was a bit unrealistic, but this book was again full of hot sex scenes which I’ve come to expect from Grant.

With all the talks of birth control from Danielle mentioning she forgot to have Ian use a condom, to the spell the women of MacLeod Castle use to prevent pregnancy, and all the mentions of why others have decided not to have kids, I thought for sure Danielle would end up conceiving (and my bet was on twins) so I was pretty surprised when it didn’t happen. I think it’s only a matter of time before there is another child on the way at MacLeod Castle, especially with the sex drives the Warriors possess.

Overall this was a fun and exciting read and I’m anxious to read the next, Midnight’s Seduction.

This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

posted by Openbooksociety_dot_com on November 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book. I loved the characters. took not long to finish

    Very good book. I loved the characters. took not long to finish this.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Donna Grant makes even a fierce, battle loving, blue god look se

    Donna Grant makes even a fierce, battle loving, blue god look sexy!

    What I loved about this book... I hope you're sitting down this may take a while. This was my first book by Donna Grant. Why didn't anyone tell me what I was missing? As the hero in the second book in the Dark Warriors Series, Ian could not have been a better fit. He's big, he's hot and he's battling an internal demon that won't quit. Who doesn't love a slightly imperfect hero? Ian needs the strength and courage to beat his god and take control. Dani has that inner strength that Ian needs to win the battle of wills against his inner god and she’s more than happy to lend a helping hand… or more. Of course we know in the end he does win. After all, this is a romance, not a horror. But the story, with its twists and turns is not to be missed. Who will betray the Warriors trust in the end? Will the Warriors figure it out before it's too late and tragedy strikes once again? Will they finally face Deirdre and make her pay? I know... but I can't tell you. You'll have to go get the book and find out for yourself. I will say this, however, I'm definitely hooked. Who wouldn’t be hooked instantly on a Highland castle filled with hot Warriors?

    So now I sit here trying to think of something that I didn’t like about Midnight’s Lover and if I’m to be completely honest, as I sit here and rack my brains, I can’t seem to think of a single thing. It was very well written, action packed and with enough romance and steamy scenes to make a jaded person melt. Well done, Mrs. Grant. You’ve got yourself a new fan and follower.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    What will I read now?

    I started with the Druid Glen series, read the Shields series so far onto the Dark Swords and now the Dark Warriors. I have enjoyed them all. I do miss the fae in the last two series. Sometimes it isnt easy to read so many books by one author, but Donna Grant made it easy to do. I look forward to reading many more of her books. They have romance, magic, adventure, great heros, male and female. Enjoy reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Mari

    Love all of Donna Grants books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Highly recommended.

    Couldn't hardly put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    Great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Anxious to read the next installment

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Heidi

    Spoilers Ahead!

    Ian is still reeling from his twin brother, Duncan’s, death and can no longer control the god inside him now that he no longer shares him with his twin. So he’s done the only thing he feels he can; he has taken himself far away from civilization so that if his god does take over, he won’t hurt anybody, or at least Ian hopes not.

    Then, Ian hears the unmistakable sound of wyrran shrieks and discovers a group of the yellow monsters chasing a Druid, Danielle. He goes to her aid, but before he’s killed all of her attackers, she falls in the icy loch. He gets her out and takes her back to his cave with him and nurses her back to health and protects her.

    When she awakes she tells him about a key she has found that is demanding she return it to the MacLeod Castle and so he reluctantly agrees to take her there. But once there the key insists that she wait. There is something off at the castle that many of the residents feel, and Danielle thinks this is why the key doesn’t want to be returned yet. There have been several newcomers to the castle recently so now it’s a matter of finding out who is causing the problem; who isn’t what they claim to be? And when Ian believes that he has lost control of his god again, he puts himself into lock-down making it impossible for him to save Danielle from the evil that lurks inside the castle walls.

    I thought this installment of the series was pretty good. You do have some repetition from the first book to this one, such as the Warrior in question not being used to the current time and the female Druid convincing them to get new clothes and giving up their kilts for jeans. But once the storyline is set up that fades away and you get a completely different story than we read in Midnight’s Master. And, I thought this story was an improvement and it made me glad that I continued the series and I imagine the series will only continue to improve from here.

    I really enjoyed Ian. I thought his torment with losing Duncan and struggling to gain control was understandable. I loved seeing the emotion between him and Danielle and seeing him willing to sacrifice his own freedom to keep her safe. Speaking of Danielle, I also enjoyed seeing a love interest that was just as interesting and strong as Ian is; he deserves that much.

    I thought the sex scene through the prison bars was a bit unrealistic, but this book was again full of hot sex scenes which I’ve come to expect from Grant.

    With all the talks of birth control from Danielle mentioning she forgot to have Ian use a condom, to the spell the women of MacLeod Castle use to prevent pregnancy, and all the mentions of why others have decided not to have kids, I thought for sure Danielle would end up conceiving (and my bet was on twins) so I was pretty surprised when it didn’t happen. I think it’s only a matter of time before there is another child on the way at MacLeod Castle, especially with the sex drives the Warriors possess.

    Overall this was a fun and exciting read and I’m anxious to read the next, Midnight’s Seduction.

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    Highly, highly recommended

    I loved it, one that I could not put down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely loved it! Now I have a new series to follow!

    Absolutely loved it! Now I have a new series to follow!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Midnight's Lover was exciting, thrilling,funny, and clever. it was also sensual and extremely exotic and sexual.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Love it!

    Ian and Danielle were a great combination. They funny and sexy together. I love this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Fantastic!!

    Everyone of her books are so hot, that once you pick it up, it is almost impossible to put down!!

    I can't wait for her next one!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME !

    came in the mail yesterday.. had to read right away.. Loved it ! waiting patiently for for the next book... Keep them coming !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Awesome

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Bhp

    Res five

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    To se.xy girl

    Go to next res

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Crystal Book provided by the publisher for review Re

    Reviewed by Crystal
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Midnight’s Lover is a great book and I love the new series.

    Danielle lost her parents at the age of twelve. She was then moved to Scotland with her father’s family. There she learns about her magic powers and how to use them from her Aunt Josie.

    Ian is a immortal that had a twin brother named Duncan. They both had a god that got released inside of them and tries to take them over. With the brothers working together they can fight him. They did good until Duncan is killed and all the power goes to Ian. Ian is having a hard time dealing with the god Farmire.

    I would hate to lose my parents at the age of twelve and have to move somewhere that was completely different from everything that I have ever know. I’m not good with meeting new people so if I had to deal with family members I’d never met before, I don’t believe that I would take it well.

    We all wish that we had some super powers. I don’t believe I could ever comprehend having to deal with a god inside me that gives me powers, super human strength, and immortality. To never have a life because there were evil people that wanted me to give into my god and use my powers for bad.

    I enjoyed this new series and it was something different than I had ever read before. I loved reading something new. I enjoyed meeting all the Warriors. It would be hard to know that you needed to save people that had Druid blood in them and keep them safe. You have to have a secret place to take care of everyone and let them learn how to use their powers,

    I felt sorry for Ian. He thought everyone had given up on him and lived in an icy cave to keep everyone safe from his god. He just didn’t know that he’d been sent hundreds of years into the future. I know that it would be hard to find out about vehicles, cell phones, indoor plumbing, and everything else to the future.

    With people like Deirdre, an evil witch, and Declan you have to watch everyone that you come into contact with because they could be using anyone for their evil deeds and you’d never know until it’s too late.

    Danielle has learned that with her power when she finds something and it tells her to take it to a certain place or person she better do it or she will be in a lot of pain. So when she found the key that she needed to take to MacLeod Casrle and give them the key but when she gets there it tells her to wait. Something bad is going on.

    I loved the way Danielle and Ian meet. Some creatures called Wyrran, which are orange creatures that shriek, are chasing Danielle to try to steal her powers and Ian saves her. Can you imagine a blue person that has talons and teeth like a vampire coming after you? From the first meeting, there is something about Danielle that calms the god in Ian.

    I can’t wait to read the next book in this great new series. There is so much intensity and I want to see what will happen next. I enjoyed the book from the start of the first page until the final of the last one. Thanks for such a wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     Can you give a book 10 stars??? Because I want to!!  OH MY GOD!

     Can you give a book 10 stars??? Because I want to!! 
    OH MY GOD!! I hadn't been reading the Dark Warrior Series because other books came up in my review list and I got swamped but I took a break to read this one and AAAhhhhh I am so glad I took time out of my other reviews to read this in between when I had my times because I sooo loved reading Ian's battle... Malcolm's seeming to not even....want.... to come around.. which is sad but I have hope for him. Ian saving Dani was so sweet... He was still fighting but she was brave and strong!! I held my breath through a few scenes in this book so I knew that the ending couldn't come soon enough.. I didn't want it to come because I was loving the story... but I knew that the end of the book would hopefully mean Ian gaining the control he thought he didn't have. I was not happy when Ian was put in the dungeon... I wanted to go to him just as Dani did! Charlie was such an ass!! OMG I sooo wanted Ian to be the one to get to rid the castle of him..! Had a ton of fun learning Danielle's power and how it knew where she needed to be. I love Donna Grant's Happily Ever Afters... just.... sometimes I wish she didn't have so many scares and sincerely OMG moments... (view spoiler) I look forward to reading Midnight's Seduction Even though We are supposed to read Dark Craving, Night's Awakening, and Dawn's Desire next... I have already read those... so I get to move onto Midnight's Seduction next :) EEEE Thank you Donna Grant for yet another wonderful story that made me wish I lived in your books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    So loving this series. In Midnight's Lover Ian is struggling wit

    So loving this series. In Midnight's Lover Ian is struggling with the loss of his
    twin bother Duncan and his god Farmire. Now that duncan has been killed Ian
    has ALL of the god Farmire. He struggles everyday to gain control, but yet he
    brother Duncan is still by his side.

    Danielle has had a sad and tragic childhood but has grown into a woman that
    is driven and determined. All she really wants is find someone she can count
    on. She seems to never find the man who she can truly be herself with. 

    When Danielle stumbles into Ian's life, their lives will change forever. But will it
    be for the best? 

    Next in the series is Midnight's Seduction. Happy reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2