Customer Reviews for

Midnights with the Mystic: A Little Guide to Freedom and Bliss

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    AWESOME

    This book is a must read for those who are searching for spiritual growth & have been unable to connect with one who can give you a road map. The author's journey is one on which we have all embarked at some time & another, but have lost our way. Sadguru's clarity is like a laser beam, shoots perfectly on the spot needed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    Finally , the truth

    It answers many aspects of inner longing which each one of us experienced in different life situation.It is a promise and a relief to know the possibility of freedom exists! It is also an easy read for such an intense subject.i enjoyed it thoroughly,thanks cheryl.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    eye opening

    Everyone can recognize themselves in the trials and tribulation of the author's life, but how many of us have had the opportunity to sit down with a mystic master to try to make sense out of it all? Sadhguru's depth of wisdom and knowledge about life is quite stunning. The questions the author asks are the ones that matters and the answers Sadhguru brings are so powerful that it leaves you with a completely new perspective about life. This is a book I will go back to again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    Informative

    The best part of the book is the message and information that it brings. For those that seek enlightenment, this is another good perspective to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2008

    READ IT NOW! :

    This book really opened my mind to the world of Yoga and especially to Isha. I had never really practiced any sort of yoga before and do not usually gravitate towards spiritual books, so I didn't know what to expect from the book...but I am happy to say that I loved it!! I could relate to so many of the author's fears and questions, and her conversations with Sadhguru are spectacular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    What An Amazing Book!!

    At once, I found the book very accessible and quite a page-turner. Cheryl poses questions I've always wondered about. More, the book took me on a journey within myself that allowed me to become aware of my current limitations, like a light in the dark. I felt invigorated, freed, and intensely wanted to know more. I didn't want the book to end... and was therefore highly pleased that two appendices followed the book's ending. I soaked up every word!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    At last a book for the seeker.

    I was able to connect with the book immediately, and there is something magical about this enlightened mystic. His words mesmerize, and his examples hit home. This is not a lightweight book that you read to fulfill your intelectual curiosity. This book helps achieve a sense of clarity that is not of the mind. I am going to enroll for the courses mentioned at the end of the book. And what is truly exciting is, the mystic is going to be in our midst(Manhatan,NY) for a talk and book signing on August 2nd. Its free, but they require an RSVP. They have a website midnightswiththemustic'dot'com, when I went and RSVPed for the event. Can't wait to be there !! QS New York

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    Fantastic! There is no comparison...

    From love and soulmates to destiny and death, this book covers the gamut of our most pressing, fundamental questions about life. What is contained here are not flowery ideas, philosophical deductions, or new-age flights of fancy. This is the deepest questions of life answered by one of India's most accomplished yogic masters in a refreshingly clear, straight-forward, and pragmatic way. Are you ready to really know? This book will tell you what your life is really about, the enormous potential you may be missing, and where we're all really going when this brief journey ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    New perception, new awareness

    This is an excellent book for someone like me, who by no standards may appear spiritual in the literal sense but a seeker at heart. I have always been intrigued by the nature of the existence. As I was growing up, I remember of having only a few questions. Who am I? How I got here? Is the existence around me is real? It was very interesting to see that the author, Cheryl Simone, also had similar questions. Reading Sadhguru¿s wisdom filled answers was thought provoking and soothing at the same time. The author's conversation with Sadhguru were so simple and clear that it aroused and opened up a new perception within me. The discussions are spiritually thirst quenching and at the same time, make me yearn to seek this path. I look forward to more books from the authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Incredible

    I felt my heart opening more and more as I journeyed further into the book. An incredible read that I highly recommend for spiritual seekers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    A wake up call from life

    ¿Midnights with the Mystic¿ came out at time when I had already read a couple of basic books in this area and had also read Sadhguru¿s two advanced books. Besides this, I have been fortunate enough to sit in his presence on a number of occasions. Carrying all this baggage and a few presumptions, I thought it would be somewhat of a challenge for Cheryl to sustain my interest and curiosity through the book. I was in for a pleasant surprise, because I was quite impressed by her candid portrayal of her life and incidents and her insistent pursuit in search for inner realization. The story telling was timely and thought provoking. Her incidents and queries on life have reminded me of many of mine and could not help myself reflecting and wondering, if I would have lived them any differently today. The book succeeds in arousing questions and seeking, and also the little needed courage and boldness to pursue them. Can one keep the fire burning? Does this path have something for me -only time will tell? Finally, I'd like to salute Cheryl and express my gratitude to Sadhguru for their gentle nudging and wake up calls, yet once again- hoping that many of us readers are wide awake and the sleepy ones are now past their snooze times...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    A Gift for a Friend I Kept for Myself!

    This book tied together several other books I had previously read, in particular 'Be Here Now' by Ram Dass, 'Autobiography of a Yogi' by Paramahansa Yogananda, and 'Eat, Pray, Love' by Elizabeth Gilbert. I cannot express how much each of these books moved me internally to a new experience of life. And so having 'Midnights with the Mystic' start out with references to these three specific books made it feel like this story was about to be revealed especially for me. Looking back over the years, it now feels like the little bread crumbs of those other books were being left to lead me on my way to Sadhguru's profound perspective. While reading I was struck by how much Cheryl's journey could very well have been my own. It was easy to find myself examining my own life through the pages of the story of her journey. I had bought it first for a gift for a friend, but the foreword intrigued me so much that I had trouble putting it down. I read in a couple days flat, giving up my sleep to spend time delving into this book instead. Then having read my supposed gift for myself, I ordered another copy for my friend! I look forward to reading it a second time, much slower, so that I can sop up every morsel I might have missed racing through the first time. Thank you Cheryl!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Deeply Penetrating

    This book is truly profound and has sparked my flame! It is a quick and great read that is simple enough to introduce yoga to beginners. Yet it is also full of profound insight into many of lifes questions. I have returned to this book for a second read and I am already finding more and more depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    want to wake up?

    I have no words to describe the journey your book took me on. It shook me from deep within, made me cry, laugh, remember. Several times, while reading, I had to keep the book down after reading particular sentences which struck chords within. Several times I had to blink away tears just to keep reading on. Your own sharing, your own life journey felt like mine. ¿ Tina, Singapore

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1