Customer Reviews for

A Midsummer Night's Sin

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    An exceptional hot book- hard to put down. Enjoyed it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Devil

    It fine we all need to have those moments *xhills back and drinks some monster.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Maple

    She chases the maple leaf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Fox 嫘 to bloodclan rules and requirements

    Darkfur. Never post anything like that again. I have some changes. Kits are students (apprentices) at four moons. They are trained by a killer (warrior). They will become killers when their mentors inform me that they are ready. The only other breeds that are acceptable are half fox half cat half dog half cat half big cat half cat. the rankings are Fox is leader. Silverfang is right hand dep (RHD). Darkfur is left hand dep (LHD). Virus is genral. The general is in charge of raids. He trains killers to kill if they need to brush up. He is the only one beside leader rhd and rhd to lead raids. However if the leader disapproves of a raid it will not be launches. During battle or training everybody except leader rhd and lhd will obey him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Snakeweed

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    BLOODCLAN'S RULES AND REQUIREMENTS!!!!

    RULE #1- ALL cats must obey ONLY Fox, Silverfang, Darkfur, and Aspen. RULE #2- If deputy and leader are off, lower ranking deputy is in charge until they get back. RULE #3- if the LR deputy is the only one of the three thats on and they have to go, a specific cat will be apointed in charge until one of the three get back. RULE #4- NO OTHER ANIMALS OTHER THAN A NORMAL DOMESTICATED CAT MAY JOIN!!!!!!!!!(this is to help with the godmodding problem.) RULE #5- No powers unless we are raiding a clan with powers. Then and only then will powers be permitted. RULE #6- only weapon allowed is dogteeth over claws and a collar with dog teeth. Anything other is a no. Like snake fangs covered in venom on your tail. Thats a no. Or bear teeth over your claws. No. ALSO NO RIDICULOUS PREY KILLS! like soandso killed a bear and dragged it in. RULE #7- Have a problem? Post in res 4. Have a suggestion? Post in res 3. RULE #8- raids are to be organized by groups. For more information, ask Darkfur. RULE #9- Apprentices are made apprentices at age 6 moons. warriors are made warriors at age 12 moons. RULE #10- ALL cats must obey ONLY Fox,Silverfang, Darkfur, and Aspen. Information on half breeds and other animals currently in the bclan will be discussed. RANKS- leader: Fox. HR deputy: Silverfang. LR deputy: Darkfur.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Dakota to outcast

    You responded to a two day old post at res. 8"! XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Pearlpaw

    Wakes up and walks to camp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Burningpaw

    Stretched and paded to camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Read this

    Kiss your hand 3 times than post this 3 times somewhere different each time. Check under your pillow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    APPRENTICE DEN

    A small den with 7 nests.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    the series is good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Loved it

    A fast paced book that I couldn't put down. A mystery, wonderful self-discovery, and sweet romance. Romances seldom get better than this. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Puck will get up to mischief and uncover a horrific secret.

    Kasey Michaels is a consistently good writer who can be counted on for a wonderful read. She manages to combine humor and sad situations in a way which keeps the reader from getting overwhelmed.

    The story is a perfect example of her abilities. Puck Blackthorne is illegitimate but wants to establish himself in London society. On his first night, he meets a young women who will change his life. First, he is intrigued by her combination of common sense and beauty. Then she drags him into a search for her missing cousin. Along the way, they will discover a truth about her father which has the potential to destroy her family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing story, charming characters and good writing.

    What a great thing it is, when a an intriguing story meets charming characters under the loving lead of good writing and delectable wit! I've had SO much fun reading this book! It wasn't really a midsummer's night sin since it's midwinter more like right now, but it certainly was a night's sin, I'm writing this at 11 AM after a sleepless but readingly rich night (yes, one is entitles to create words whenever the inspiration strikes, lol)! I just couldn't stop reading it, I was having too much fun to take a break for mundane issues like sleeping and such. What I liked the most was how the chemistry of the main couple was built; though this a historical romance, Regina is not exactly the ever-trembling flower eagerly awaiting to be picked, and Puck is not your regular knight in shining armor trotting in on his white stallion to save the day; though there was of course some delicious tension to their relationship, the mystery wasn't if they did or did not fall for each other, or if they would or would not want to fight to remain together - no sir! The mystery was decidedly more along the lines of crime-mystery then romance-mystery, though of course there were things to surpass and hardships to be conquered in order for our darlings to have their happily ever after. Puck was completely irresistible, though his brother Jack was every bit as much a charmer, and Regina was fun and witty and a great match for the darling Mr. Blackthorn. I could distinctly see types of characters perfectly suited to their time-frame, and yet each one of those types was a character and not a type, you know what I mean? They felt totally real, and vivid in a way I completely loved. Of course, the theme of the evil father standing in the way of his daughter's happiness and plotting to marry her off like negotiating cattle in the market was taken a step (or two) beyond in our case, I mean Mr. Reginald Hackett was something like the daddy of all villains, like the North Pole of villains or something, and in this particular case I was definitely not rooting for the villain!! I will admit to fancying Jack quite a bit though, and he's pretty bad-boy style, a dude of sharp words and swift action, something that seems to be running in the Blackthorn family...xDD But much as I liked the characters, the plot, (the disguises - especially the wart moment, I was so laughing right about then picturing that scene), what I liked the most would have to be the writing, that classically beautiful style, particularly Puck's voice I will admit, I totally and absolutely adored that. For me this was a perfect mix, a crime-mystery with witty and unexpected investigators, beautiful wording, fun characters, old-school sigh-inspiring metamorphosing romance - the works. A lot of fun!! If you like any of the before mentioned, but even more so if you like them all, I say give this darling novel a try, I'm thoroughly glad I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly enjoyable romp!

    This entire series, by Kasey Michaels, has lived up to her reputation for writing witty, and fun stories. I especially like how she is utilizing Shakespeare as a jumping off point for her heros. If you have never read her novels before, I recommend you give her a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Romance & Humor!

    Historical Romance is not a genre I read. I believe this is the second one I've read. Even though it is not my go-to genre I must admit that I enjoyed A Midsummer Night's Sin. Robin ¿Puck¿ Blackthorn is mostly reason as to my enjoyment. His character has a relax tone and wild sense of humor. Puck is infectious and I'm ready and willing to be contaminated.

    A Midsummer Night's Sin starts with two young lady's grasping at an opportunity to be reckless, spontaneous and to hide behind the anonymity a mask provides. A masquerade ball! Beautiful Regina and her equally lovely cousin make a detour to the masquerade ball and what starts off as a harmless let-loose night turns to be a nightmare in the making. Thankfully Regina is not the type to cower. She enlists the help of Puck even after a quite embarrassing debacle.


    Regina lives among parents who have no care for her. A mother who wallows at the bottom of the nearest alcohol bottle and a gruel father that sees dollar signs and a title when looking at his daughter. Regina, even though falling for Puck's charms still makes Puck work for his heart's desire. She is quick to reply to his advances and throws attitude right back. She is on the same playing field as Puck and I admire her character because of it. It is all to easy to be over shadowed but Regina shines.


    All in all, despite A Midsummer Night's Sin being the second book in the series and I not having read book one, I was easily able to fall into step. In fact, now I want to read book three because Black Jack makes quite the impression in this installment. I will even have to look up book one. Thanks to Jen, who asked me to double review this title with her, I have read another Historical Romance and was fully entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Macho!

    Pangit yung nasa monitor!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2