BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Midwife of the Blue Ridge

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Fabulous Read!

Christine Blevins is an amazingly gifted storyteller - it's hard to believe that this is her very first novel! Her endearing characters come to vivid life against the exciting and tumultuous backdrop of colonial Virginia in Midwife of the Blue Ridge. Maggie's fierce d...
Christine Blevins is an amazingly gifted storyteller - it's hard to believe that this is her very first novel! Her endearing characters come to vivid life against the exciting and tumultuous backdrop of colonial Virginia in Midwife of the Blue Ridge. Maggie's fierce determination and moxie will have you laughing at some of her seriously funny one-liners. If you are looking for a book that runs the full gambit of human emotions - love, laughter, excitement, and sorrow - then Midwife of the Blue Ridge is the book for you!

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

alright, but nothing special

I bought this book wanting to be blown away, but I'm still standing. This book combines three of my favorite things: the Blue Ridge, the early colonial times, and early immigration from Scotland, but I feel very let down. Overall, the characters are believable and the p...
I bought this book wanting to be blown away, but I'm still standing. This book combines three of my favorite things: the Blue Ridge, the early colonial times, and early immigration from Scotland, but I feel very let down. Overall, the characters are believable and the plot interesting, however, hailing from the Blue Ridge, there are a few points I found difficult to overlook, though they were very minimal. Case in point, you cannot see the Blue Ridge Mountains from Richmond. I've tried.

posted by Celticfergie on March 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    A Fabulous Read!

    Christine Blevins is an amazingly gifted storyteller - it's hard to believe that this is her very first novel! Her endearing characters come to vivid life against the exciting and tumultuous backdrop of colonial Virginia in Midwife of the Blue Ridge. Maggie's fierce determination and moxie will have you laughing at some of her seriously funny one-liners. If you are looking for a book that runs the full gambit of human emotions - love, laughter, excitement, and sorrow - then Midwife of the Blue Ridge is the book for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Great read. Has it all... history, excitement, anticipation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved every page!

    It wasn't what I expected, it was better. Rarely a boring moment through the entire book. It's very hard not to fall in love with these characters. Wonderfully written! A must read for anything who enjoys historical fiction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    Best ever!!!!

    Blevins set me on a road to a time and place I have never been.
    It was like watching a movie in my mind because she had her characters so vivid and clear as well as the landscape that the time had preserved just for me!
    Her writing was so easy to connect to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Love this story

    It was a great story and I hated to see it end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    Absolutely fantastic

    This was an amazing story. It covered all of my basic "wants" in a great book-character development, plot, historic events, etc. While I wouldn't classify it as a "romance" it had a wonderful romantic story line. Have your tissues ready. May be too graphic for some due to the realistic descriptions of life back then but that was one of my favorite things about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    A

    This a wonderful book. Happy and sad at times, great writing and heroine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    Fascinating

    Absolutely loved it! Talented author to say the least. Story was exciting, beautiful, interesting and just well put together. I was fascinated by the author's research on American Indians and midwifery. A must read and looking forward to her next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    Adventure, romance, great writing

    Midwife of the Blue Ridge has easily become my favorite historical fiction novel. The characters are all unique and interesting and the thrilling plot line kept me reading until I had finished the book in 3 days. The romance keeps the story compelling but it's Blevins's graphic writing style that separates this book from standard romance/adventure stories. I'd recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    Wonderful book!

    Midwife of the Blue Ridge is an amazing book full of memorable characters and intense action. Ms. Blevins has created a vivid picture or early American life which captivates the reader. I really enjoyed reading this book, and I feel that people with various reading tastes will enjoy this rugged story of survival in a new world. I couldn't put it down. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    Excellent book!

    Loved it. Looking forward to more from Blevins. Midwife of the Blue Ridge was almost on par with Follet's Pillars of the Earth. 4-1/2 stars from me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    Amazing

    Best book I have had the pleasure of reading in a long time. Take your time reading it because you will be sorry when it's over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1