Customer Reviews for

The Midwife's Apprentice

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Book title and author: The Midwife¿s Apprentice by Karen Cushman

Book title and author: The Midwife’s Apprentice by Karen Cushman
Title of review: Could’ve Been Better
Number of stars (1 to 5): 4 and ½

Introduction
This book was about a poor girl without a name, a home, and without love. She walks from town to town working for bar...
Book title and author: The Midwife’s Apprentice by Karen Cushman
Title of review: Could’ve Been Better
Number of stars (1 to 5): 4 and ½

Introduction
This book was about a poor girl without a name, a home, and without love. She walks from town to town working for barely to no food and a night in the stables. She found herself in a new little town where she crawled into a dung heap for warmth. The village boys then decided her name was beetle because of how she burrowed into the dung heap. Jane Sharp, the midwife of the town, found beetle in the heap and commanded the boys to stop, then gave beetle a job as her apprentice, beetle was now the midwife’s apprentice. I loved this book due to its drama and surprises.

Description and summary of main points
This book was very well written and the author really knows how to put herself into another’s shoes and tell a very vibrant yet extravagant story. Alice was a poor girl, without a penny to her name, worked her way up until she could actually help as a midwife. She was a very emotional girl, who risked her own life to save a cat after the village boys tried to drown it in a bag with an eel. She saved the cat and then ended up saving one of the boys after he fell in and was left by his so called ‘friends’. This was merely the start of her amazing adventure through life and dealing with trouble, sinful villagers, a promiscuous baker, and her new friend Purr.
Evaluation
I loved this book because of how the vivid details all melted in with the action and drama that happened around every corner. There was always something going on and it was well described and detailed to the point of reality. The way the words would drag you into the book and the way the author kept the medieval time scale at hand throughout the entire book. The author never strayed too far into our time and was very equal with her writing. The way she described Alice when she found poor Edward laying in the stables nearly frozen to death, and then Alice’s heroic and bravery as she ran from the midwife in failure and nearly died sleeping in a rock crevice, was very well put.
Conclusion
In conclusion, this book was very well thought out and the way the author wrote the words really put the images into your mind, and made you feel as if you were standing in that little town beside the woods and feel the pain, grief, and happiness that flood through the pages like water from a broken damn gate. The author is very talented at creating vibrant images and a broad story about a little girl that has tried to make her life better and work very hard to achieve her goals. She has made many friends and enemies on her long journey from a poor girl to a well mannered woman.

Your final review
This book was very good in my opinion, and is a very good use of time and will open your eyes to many new genres and words. The vocabulary in this book is amazing and really sets the time and era of the book. The drama and action will keep you on the edge of your seat and will keep you turning the pages. The surprising twists and turns in the book will always keep your interest. Beetle’s journey through life will surprise you many times and how cunning and smart she is will surprise you all throughout the story. Good readings!!!!!!!


Good readings!!!!!!!



posted by jamin0610 on February 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

In medieval England, an abandoned and abused girl, about twelve

In medieval England, an abandoned and abused girl, about twelve or thirteen, known as Brat wanders from village to village. At one place she sleeps in a dung heap for warmth. The local midwife, Jane Sharp, finds her, calls her Dung Beetle, and, recognizing the potenti...
In medieval England, an abandoned and abused girl, about twelve or thirteen, known as Brat wanders from village to village. At one place she sleeps in a dung heap for warmth. The local midwife, Jane Sharp, finds her, calls her Dung Beetle, and, recognizing the potential for free labor, allows Beetle to work for her as an apprentice in exchange for food and lodging. Not liking her previous names, the girl begins to call herself Alyce when she is mistaken for another girl named Alyce while attending the St. Swithin’s Day Fair at Gobnet-Under-Green. However, a crisis develops when Jane is out and Alyce is called upon to help a woman giving birth, and Alyce feels that she has failed so she runs away. Where can she go? What can she do? What will happen to her?

From a positive standpoint, Alyce is a strong and surprisingly compassionate character who learns not only all about the art of midwifery, but also about herself, human nature, and the resilience of the human heart. In addition, the book is historically true to the time and gives a lot of good information about herbal medicines. However, there are some pretty big negatives. As to language, there is a statement that pigs fart, and Alyce said that she near “pi**ed” herself. Furthermore, the “d” word is used once, and expressions such as “by God’s whiskers” are found. There are copious references to drinking ale, wine, “brewed [i.e. hard] cider,” and beer, and a group of boys—not men but boys--is pictured as being drunk. Given the problem of alcoholism, especially among youth, today, do we really want children reading about things like this, even if they are “historically accurate”?

Worse yet are the hints of immorality. Alyce discovers the midwife having an adulterous affair with the Baker, who has a wife and thirteen children. Also, a couple is caught in the act of fornication. While there is no lewd detail, it is clear that the young people were doing more than just smooching in the hayloft. “The boy gathered his breeches and flung himself out the barn window.” This is hardly wholesome reading. And other expressions of latent sexuality are mentioned. There could have been a good story here with some beneficial lessons, but it is marred by the objectionable elements. Therefore, because of the mature content, the book can be recommended only for older readers. One source gives the age range as 9-12 years, where another says 11 and up. I would say no younger than 13+. Cushman won a 1995 Newbery Honor Award for Catherine, Called Birdy and the 1996 Newbery Medal for The Midwife's Apprentice. That doesn’t surprise me because it seems the more “adults only” content a children’s book has, the more likely it is to win a Newbery prize nowadays.

posted by HomeSchoolBookReview on December 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    Book title and author: The Midwife¿s Apprentice by Karen Cushman

    Book title and author: The Midwife’s Apprentice by Karen Cushman
    Title of review: Could’ve Been Better
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4 and ½

    Introduction
    This book was about a poor girl without a name, a home, and without love. She walks from town to town working for barely to no food and a night in the stables. She found herself in a new little town where she crawled into a dung heap for warmth. The village boys then decided her name was beetle because of how she burrowed into the dung heap. Jane Sharp, the midwife of the town, found beetle in the heap and commanded the boys to stop, then gave beetle a job as her apprentice, beetle was now the midwife’s apprentice. I loved this book due to its drama and surprises.

    Description and summary of main points
    This book was very well written and the author really knows how to put herself into another’s shoes and tell a very vibrant yet extravagant story. Alice was a poor girl, without a penny to her name, worked her way up until she could actually help as a midwife. She was a very emotional girl, who risked her own life to save a cat after the village boys tried to drown it in a bag with an eel. She saved the cat and then ended up saving one of the boys after he fell in and was left by his so called ‘friends’. This was merely the start of her amazing adventure through life and dealing with trouble, sinful villagers, a promiscuous baker, and her new friend Purr.
    Evaluation
    I loved this book because of how the vivid details all melted in with the action and drama that happened around every corner. There was always something going on and it was well described and detailed to the point of reality. The way the words would drag you into the book and the way the author kept the medieval time scale at hand throughout the entire book. The author never strayed too far into our time and was very equal with her writing. The way she described Alice when she found poor Edward laying in the stables nearly frozen to death, and then Alice’s heroic and bravery as she ran from the midwife in failure and nearly died sleeping in a rock crevice, was very well put.
    Conclusion
    In conclusion, this book was very well thought out and the way the author wrote the words really put the images into your mind, and made you feel as if you were standing in that little town beside the woods and feel the pain, grief, and happiness that flood through the pages like water from a broken damn gate. The author is very talented at creating vibrant images and a broad story about a little girl that has tried to make her life better and work very hard to achieve her goals. She has made many friends and enemies on her long journey from a poor girl to a well mannered woman.

    Your final review
    This book was very good in my opinion, and is a very good use of time and will open your eyes to many new genres and words. The vocabulary in this book is amazing and really sets the time and era of the book. The drama and action will keep you on the edge of your seat and will keep you turning the pages. The surprising twists and turns in the book will always keep your interest. Beetle’s journey through life will surprise you many times and how cunning and smart she is will surprise you all throughout the story. Good readings!!!!!!!


    Good readings!!!!!!!



    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    The Midwifes Apprentice

    The Midwifes Apprentice<BR/>Karen Cushman <BR/>Clarion Books<BR/>Realistic Fiction<BR/><BR/> The ever changing experience of The Midwife's Apprentice is a fun learning experience written by Karen Cushman. A poor girl who was known to the town as Dung Beetle slept in a dung heap in Jane Sharp's barn, eating nothing but what they threw out. Everyone teased her and called her filthy names and cursed at her until one day she worked for Jane Sharp, as the midwife's apprentice. But that wasn't much better, Jane Sharp didn't treat her well either. She ordered her around and made her do all the things that she was too lazy to do herself. Then Dung Beetle found her first friend, Purr the cat, he meant a lot to Dung Beetle. Soon after Dung Beetle was feeling delight in herself, so she changed her name to Alice and spread it through the village hoping that people would then treat her well. After that they did treat her better but the midwife was jealous. Alice was happy.<BR/><BR/> Alice, the primary character, changes frequently throughout the story. She is a brave and loving girl who does everything her midwife, Jane Sharp, tells her to do. Jane Sharp is a completely static character, she is also the antagonist. She is very mean and bossy towards Alice and doesn't appreciate anything or anyone. Alice's best friend Purr (the cat) is very loyal to her and follows her everywhere, Purr even sneaks bread and cheese for her sometimes. Edward, Logan, and the hotel manager are all supporting characters to Alice, giving her hopes and ideas.<BR/><BR/> The Midwife's Apprentice is a fun filled story with humor. This is an action filled book that makes the reader want to keep reading. I liked this book because it made me think and it's really a good book with character for children. When I read The Midwife's Apprentice it took me back to a time, a time when there were no doctors to deliver a baby, give medicine, and tell someone if they were sick. It really made me think and learn what people had to go through. Read The Midwife's Apprentice and see what Alice went through.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    This book is so good it took me only a day to read! I was hooked

    This book is so good it took me only a day to read! I was hooked on it and I couldn't put it down. I can't imagine living back then and having no home. It's an awesome book for people who like historical fiction.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Buy this book!!!!

    I'm reading this in class and we are on chapter 11 and already love it!grest book for kids ages11 and up! Totally recommened it! (:

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    You really should read this book

    What would you do if you thought you were never good enough? That's the way Alyce felt in Karen Cushman's, The Midwife's Apprentice. The genre is historical fiction.
    This book is about an orphan girl named Beetle. She eventually changed her name to Alyce. Jane, the midwife, found Alyce in a dung heap and offered her food for work. Alyce wanted to be a midwife so she was working as an apprentice for Jane. Jane was not a very nice person. She made Alyce feel like she wasn't good enough. Will Alyce become a midwife? You will have to read the book to find out.
    I liked the whole book. The best part was when Alyce found Jane kissing the baker. The baker was married with 13 children! I also liked the ending, but you will have to read that part yourself.
    I would recommend this book for kids learning about the medieval period. I would recommend it to mostly girls 11-15 years old. It has some weird language, so if you have trouble with that, this is not the book for you.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    In medieval England, an abandoned and abused girl, about twelve

    In medieval England, an abandoned and abused girl, about twelve or thirteen, known as Brat wanders from village to village. At one place she sleeps in a dung heap for warmth. The local midwife, Jane Sharp, finds her, calls her Dung Beetle, and, recognizing the potential for free labor, allows Beetle to work for her as an apprentice in exchange for food and lodging. Not liking her previous names, the girl begins to call herself Alyce when she is mistaken for another girl named Alyce while attending the St. Swithin’s Day Fair at Gobnet-Under-Green. However, a crisis develops when Jane is out and Alyce is called upon to help a woman giving birth, and Alyce feels that she has failed so she runs away. Where can she go? What can she do? What will happen to her?

    From a positive standpoint, Alyce is a strong and surprisingly compassionate character who learns not only all about the art of midwifery, but also about herself, human nature, and the resilience of the human heart. In addition, the book is historically true to the time and gives a lot of good information about herbal medicines. However, there are some pretty big negatives. As to language, there is a statement that pigs fart, and Alyce said that she near “pi**ed” herself. Furthermore, the “d” word is used once, and expressions such as “by God’s whiskers” are found. There are copious references to drinking ale, wine, “brewed [i.e. hard] cider,” and beer, and a group of boys—not men but boys--is pictured as being drunk. Given the problem of alcoholism, especially among youth, today, do we really want children reading about things like this, even if they are “historically accurate”?

    Worse yet are the hints of immorality. Alyce discovers the midwife having an adulterous affair with the Baker, who has a wife and thirteen children. Also, a couple is caught in the act of fornication. While there is no lewd detail, it is clear that the young people were doing more than just smooching in the hayloft. “The boy gathered his breeches and flung himself out the barn window.” This is hardly wholesome reading. And other expressions of latent sexuality are mentioned. There could have been a good story here with some beneficial lessons, but it is marred by the objectionable elements. Therefore, because of the mature content, the book can be recommended only for older readers. One source gives the age range as 9-12 years, where another says 11 and up. I would say no younger than 13+. Cushman won a 1995 Newbery Honor Award for Catherine, Called Birdy and the 1996 Newbery Medal for The Midwife's Apprentice. That doesn’t surprise me because it seems the more “adults only” content a children’s book has, the more likely it is to win a Newbery prize nowadays.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Couldn' t put it down

    I read it in school for a reading group and we stoped halfway. I was really angry because i was hooked on the book. So I got it on my nook and read the whole thing it ended well.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    By Far the worst book I ever read!

    I am in sixth grade I love to read an dfor a summer reading project i picked the midwifes apprentice. I am warning you don't get it, its boring and it truly is of money

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Worst Book Ever

    This book i had to read was for 6th grade, and it was the worst book ever. Reason being, is that the vocabulary was so bad and i had to know what they meant but the definitions were not even in the dictionary. When i took the test i failed because of the definitions!! This book is boring on the otherhand. Don't get this book t it made me fail!

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    It was great but a little too short for me, but a GREAT ending..

    It was great but a little too short for me, but a GREAT ending...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Siera Bergeron

    It was gross and good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Omg i jusy read it and i loved it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    Very well written with a style The Elements of Style would approve of.

    The book was very well written; the style of a collection of short stories is always enjoyable to read. It is also excellent historical fiction, and for a fairly untrained writer, I was surprised at how well the book turned out. it is a jewel, and i say the reading range is about 12+. I suggest everyone should read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    slow

    i had to read this for a book report in 5th grade. the worst book EVER! the beginning is sooo sloww i hated it dont buy this, not worth it

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2006

    a good read for any age

    I personally read this in the seventh grade about three months before my twelth birthday and I completely adored it, I am now eighteen and I can still remember almost the entire book. Nothing in this book was beyond what children hear and see everyday in school. If you are worried about the content read it BEFORE your child does.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    A good book for your library

    The Midwife's Apprentice, the story of a young poverty stricken girl with no family finding her place in life. It is set in medieval times. This well written story describes well the hardships, occupations, and costs of living of the time. It is told through the eyes of a young girl who begins with nothing and overcomes by answering the question we ultimately ask ourselves. This book is outstanding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    A student

    I thought this book was ok but not great. It was good enough to keep me entertained, and into the book but not enough that I would read it over and over again. I think this book deserves 3 stars because it was fine, but it had flaws. I would recomend this book to people that can read through a whole book and not just stop in the middle and never start reading it again. And people that are easly entertained by things.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2004

    Karen Cushman, a great author

    The Midwife¿s Apprentice by Karen Cushman is set in medieval times in a village. It is about a girl called Beetle, who is an understudy of Jane Sharp, the village doctor. Beetle has a cat that she names Purr. Jane is called on to deliver a baby, but goes off and leaves Beetle. Beetle though told not to delivering the baby succeeds. Beetle feels that she isn¿t important until one day she gets to go to a festival. She buys Jane what she was sent for, but she gets a free comb. She then changes her name to Alyce because she feels its is prettier. A few weeks later she is asked to deliver a baby. She fails and runs away to an inn. She works there and gets food for her and Purr. She meets Magister Reese, who teaches her to read and write a little. Time passes and she sees some old village friends and realizes how she misses them. The Midwife¿s Apprentice is a fictional book. Karen Cushman in this book gives realistic details and a hopeful ending. I think that those who prefer books that they can get a mental picture of would like this book. I think this because that is how I like books. If I can draw a mental picture, relate, or if it is about real people, I find them good. This book is different from other fiction books because some fiction books are so out there or fake, but this book is realistic in its own way. I find that those of you that have read The Old Man and The Sea will like this book because it is similar. It is similar because it is about real things, not stuff that is so far out there. I thought this book would be something a girl would read or like at first but after I read it I now feel like it was so great. I recommend this book to everyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    this book is a really well written book.

    this book is really good because it shows no matter what anyone says you can make somthing of yourslef.this book just says you can do anything and that is why i like it so much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    Bookworm

    <p>Karen Cushman writes a novel based on the Middle Ages and how The Midwife¿s Apprentice must find her place in the world. <br><p>She is found in the dung pile outside of town, the others shun her, but the midwife sees a slight intelligence. Naming her Dung Beetle the midwife takes her in as free labor giving her meager food and bed. Beetle finds herself in hard situations throughout the book; this includes leaning special medicines from the midwife to the actual conception of children. Later Beetle discovers her beauty and names herself Alyce; this improvement set the midwife off into harsh remarks about Alyce. She runs to get away from the pain and suffering. <br><p>Alyce finds a new life at an inn. No one knows her, so she has no fear of being branded as a failure by others. Then a woman comes to the inn; she is suffering from great stomach pains. The doctor said it was just her bowls but Alyce, from knowledge taught by the midwife, knows that a baby is coming. She succeeds in brining a child into the world. This sets Alyce¿s mind back to the past, should she go back, and not give up, to be a midwife? This is a story of finding true self and having no fear of something new. Every person who reads this book will have a new aspect of what they can do through their willpower and God¿s hand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5