Customer Reviews for

The Midwife's Confession

Average Rating 4
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Your next must read

In the blink of an eye a friend they thought they knew takes her own life and so Tara and Emerson embark on a journey to find out why. What they don't realize is that in their mission for information about Noelle and her suicide only leads them to more questions. They f...
In the blink of an eye a friend they thought they knew takes her own life and so Tara and Emerson embark on a journey to find out why. What they don't realize is that in their mission for information about Noelle and her suicide only leads them to more questions. They find that happiness was just a mask she wore to hide a darkest of secrets that will change every life it's touched when they learn "The Midwife's Confession".

Diane Chamberlain has given us a storyline that could be taken from the front pages of any news paper or from the headlines from any CNN or CNBC report, with one exception, she gives it that human touch and in doing so will take her readers on an excruciating trip down endless dark hallways of a troubled woman's mind. She tells it in the first person from the voices of several of her main protagonists and she does this with dialogue that's easy to read and will take her audience into the hearts and minds of her characters, characters who will become friends as you entwine yourselves into their lives. Her readers will be in awe of the intimacy she gives us into her characters especially Tara and Emerson along with their daughters Jenny and Grace and as we her readers get closer to solving the puzzle of this mystery she throws us a curve ball with Anna and Haley. Her co-stars of this drama are equally important to the telling of the story and couldn't be done without them. At the heart of this tale we find a love story, the love between friends, the love of children and the love of a spouse, but she fills the pages with twists and turns to get us there and at the end we will let go a breath we didn't know we'd been holding.

If you love a great mystery, a story of family drama, a drama in general and just really the telling of an incredible story by an amazing artist, mixed with angst filled scenes and nail biting edge of your seat drama, let this be your choice. You won't be sorry you did. Put this on the top of your next "Must Read" list.

posted by dhaupt on March 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Moving story

When I read the synopsis of this book I was torn. The premise was interesting enough but I was afraid I might find myself caught up in a story that was overly contrived or at best, a good premise for a so/so Lifetime movie. What I discovered was a book with a lot of emo...
When I read the synopsis of this book I was torn. The premise was interesting enough but I was afraid I might find myself caught up in a story that was overly contrived or at best, a good premise for a so/so Lifetime movie. What I discovered was a book with a lot of emotional depth. The story is told from multiple viewpoints and the characters all seem very real. I was shocked at Noelle's secret. So shocked, that I actually felt a little sick. This one mistake was something that affected so many people. People that knew and trusted her. The twists were mostly unexpected, though a few were obvious. Even though I had figured them out before they took place, it didn't lessen the emotional impact. The book did seem to drag in spots with what I felt was a little too much exposition, and I did find myself skimming over passages at times. All in all this was worth the read, and I did enjoy it, but it's probably not something I would read again.

posted by OtotheD on April 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    Moving story

    When I read the synopsis of this book I was torn. The premise was interesting enough but I was afraid I might find myself caught up in a story that was overly contrived or at best, a good premise for a so/so Lifetime movie. What I discovered was a book with a lot of emotional depth. The story is told from multiple viewpoints and the characters all seem very real. I was shocked at Noelle's secret. So shocked, that I actually felt a little sick. This one mistake was something that affected so many people. People that knew and trusted her. The twists were mostly unexpected, though a few were obvious. Even though I had figured them out before they took place, it didn't lessen the emotional impact. The book did seem to drag in spots with what I felt was a little too much exposition, and I did find myself skimming over passages at times. All in all this was worth the read, and I did enjoy it, but it's probably not something I would read again.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Your next must read

    In the blink of an eye a friend they thought they knew takes her own life and so Tara and Emerson embark on a journey to find out why. What they don't realize is that in their mission for information about Noelle and her suicide only leads them to more questions. They find that happiness was just a mask she wore to hide a darkest of secrets that will change every life it's touched when they learn "The Midwife's Confession".

    Diane Chamberlain has given us a storyline that could be taken from the front pages of any news paper or from the headlines from any CNN or CNBC report, with one exception, she gives it that human touch and in doing so will take her readers on an excruciating trip down endless dark hallways of a troubled woman's mind. She tells it in the first person from the voices of several of her main protagonists and she does this with dialogue that's easy to read and will take her audience into the hearts and minds of her characters, characters who will become friends as you entwine yourselves into their lives. Her readers will be in awe of the intimacy she gives us into her characters especially Tara and Emerson along with their daughters Jenny and Grace and as we her readers get closer to solving the puzzle of this mystery she throws us a curve ball with Anna and Haley. Her co-stars of this drama are equally important to the telling of the story and couldn't be done without them. At the heart of this tale we find a love story, the love between friends, the love of children and the love of a spouse, but she fills the pages with twists and turns to get us there and at the end we will let go a breath we didn't know we'd been holding.

    If you love a great mystery, a story of family drama, a drama in general and just really the telling of an incredible story by an amazing artist, mixed with angst filled scenes and nail biting edge of your seat drama, let this be your choice. You won't be sorry you did. Put this on the top of your next "Must Read" list.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Excellent, gripping tale - a must read!

    A shocking suicide, an unfinished note and an unimaginable secret - these events form the basis of Diane Chamberlain's latest work, "The Midwife's Confession." A haunting, layered story told through flashbacks, as well as the current voices of several main characters, it grapples with the question of how well we really know those we love. "The Midwife's Confession" is Diane Chamberlain at her best. You simultaneously want to finish it, and never want it to end.

    I was sucked into this book from the first 2 pages. I couldn't put it down, until one of the twists was so emotionally wrenching I had to put it down and wipe away my tears. The tangled tale of Noelle, Tara and Emerson will speak to you, whether you are a mother, a friend, or a confidante. I have ready many of Ms. Chamberlain's titles, and easily put this book into the class of "The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes" (one of my all-time favorite books). I find myself replaying passages, looking for what I missed, or for why I was so sure the story was headed in another direction. A stunning, heart-rending tale, I am already looking forward to re-reading it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    The Midwife's Confession by Diane Chamberlain is a great read.

    The Midwife's Confession by Diane Chamberlain is a great read. There are twists and turns in this mystery about best friends. Just how well do you think you know your BFF?

    The characters are engaging and you find yourself pulling for them. The chain of events are written from the characters perspective. Well written and completely engrossing. A must read!

    Great topics to discuss for a book club selection. I cannot wait to read additional books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Good book

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel. It was heartwrenching and you can feel the love between friends....how strong bonds can truly be. Although I feel like the ending was a little lackluster, I wish it would have gone into the future and told us how the family dynamics changed and how they all came to cope. I would recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    Highly recommended-awesome read!

    I had all my friends read it & everyone was pleased. If you like Jodi Piccoult, you will like this. Can't wait to read another of Diane Chamberlain's books!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Loved it!

    Great characters and great suspense! I couldn't put this down! Loved it from cover to cover! Based on other reviews, I was careful to memorize each character's story as they came up in the book and I had no problem following the plot or flashbacks. A great read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Twisted plot!

    Excellent story of three friends as they become to know one another even further after a tragic event. Noelle's choice haunts her for the rest of her life. As you begin to question her character, you are also filled with compassion towards her. Great book club read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Highly recomended

    I couldn't put it down! Luckily I was on vacation and read it cover to cover in 48 hours!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Awesome!! A great read!

    This book reminded of Jody Picoult's style of writing - psychologically deep, thoughtful story where you never knew what would happen next. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Well written

    The characters are really well developed. I had a feeling about the ending and was correct. But seriously a fab read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Great, great book!!!!

    Edge of your seat story about real love and friendship....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Very powerful. Loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Love

    I loved this book! So good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Wow!

    What a page turner-hard to put this Nook book down, even though as a good wine or gourmet meal, you want to make it last and savor every part of it until the end! “Confessions of a Midwife”, as good or better than Chamberlain’s “a Good Father and “the Secret Lives of Cee Cee Wilkes”, which were all outstanding and did not think another one could live up to my 5 star reviews; however, it did, as each of these books were different with many characters and twists, turns, plots, which leave you wanting more.

    Noelle is a powerful woman and even from the grave, every character in the book has been hurt by her actions in some way. Ultimately this is a story of forgiveness and the strong and complicated friendships between Tara and Emerson as they make peace with Noelle’s actions. In addition, there was much growth from Grace, as she finds out love is right in front of her. (love the usage of taking each character within sections to get to the raw feelings of the individual). Very powerful!

    Love the NC setting, as a native and love the strong southeast writers –Emilie Richards, Mary Kay Andrews, Charles Martin, Nicholas Sparks, and Dianne Chamberlain as each are very highly talented writers, each with their own writing style and character. I have read all the authors' books except for Dianne’s---currently trying to play catch-up buying her Nook Books as fast I as can read them. I am excited about reading her other works, as have a feeling each one will be as amazing as the previous one. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Great read

    My first chamberlain book. Im hooked

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Unexpected

    Interesting read. Not what I expected.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Wonderful read!

    This is the first Diane Chamberlain book I read - wow, I couldn't put it down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Good read

    I read it in one day

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Highly recommend this book

    I enjoyed reading this book. It was well written with well defined charecters. The story line kept my interest from start to finish.
    A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9