BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mighty Be Our Powers: How Sisterhood, Prayer, and Sex Changed a Nation at War

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Outstanding Book

    I ordered this book based on a friend's recommendation and it is wonderful. The story of women fighting for peace and freedom in Liberia is powerful reading. The subject of this story is now a Nobel Peace Prize winner which is even more exciting after having read the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Powerful! Read this.

    It is very difficult sitting comfortably in my house with my pets to read this book. The succinct, straightforward simplicity of writing increases the horror of what happened in Liberia. There is nothing to divert one's attention. The intricacies of the political, economic situation, the fact of two women's movements that take forever to trust each other and to begin to work in tandem, the grotesque violence on the part of all political forces against women and children are set forward in unvarnished form. Leymah Gbowee exhibits the power of her leadership in her unwillingness to shellack or in any way cover over her own failings of dependence on alcohol and men and the suffering of her family, especially her children. Her honesty about herself reveals how she was able to lead women to discover their individual and collective power in the midst of mind-numbing, horrific circumstances in order to make a difference in Liberia. While there were times I almost wanted a little sugar coating, not receiving it left me more educated, more aware, more in awe of all who survived. One question haunts me: why was the 2011 Noble peace prize divided among three women, each of whom is deserving in her own right? There is still much work to be done, not only in Liberia, but on the part of all inhabitants of this earth to building peace based on mutual respect and shared suffering. Read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    I'll be honest with you, while I had heard of the African nation

    I'll be honest with you, while I had heard of the African nation of Liberia prior to my picking up Mighty Be Our Powers I didn't know too much about the country and I had no idea that it had suffered a brutal civil war that waged on and off for about two decades. However, by the time I finished this remarkable read by Leymah Gbowee about her experienced during that turbulent time in her country's history.

    In this powerful memoir Leymah describes her life before, during and after the war in Liberia. The account starts off not long before the war started when she was just a teenager starting college in the 1990's. She describes the care free life she lived before she moves on to retracing her life from after the war started and her life changed dramatically.

    At 19 years of age Leymah found herself pregnant and in an abusive relationship with an older man that was taking advantage of her youth and her naivete. Battling feelings of hopelessness and loneliness she takes the first step to better her life for herself and her little ones by leaving their father and moving home where after some time she begins the rough journey of piecing her life back together again.

    Leymah Gbowee's memoir is an inspiring read. Amidst a brutal civil war with many cards stacked against her she rises above many adversities to become a woman who leads others like her in the fight against poverty, rape and most of all the fight to bring international attention to the fact that women and children are often the ones who suffer most in times of war.

    I learned a lot about the country of Liberia and about this one woman's experience during the civil war that struck her homeland. The writing of this memoir was easy to read, she told her story like it happened and didn't once make her role in various organizations seem like she was the most important person. There was not one ounce of vanity in her depictions which I truly appreciated. I loved the fact that while she focused on her role as a leader that she is just one of many who are making strides to better the lives of her fellow Liberians and that they not she, are the unspoken heroes of the war.

    This book definitely sparked an interest in me to learn more about the people. culture and history of Liberia as well as the politics in the country. It also has me interested in checking out some of the NGO's that are in the country that are working to re-establish it's infrastructure and better the lives of the people.

    I highly recommend this memoir to anyone wanting to learn some amazingly hard life lessons from a woman who thought that she wasn't good enough to raise her own children to leading thousands of women. It's an inspirational read and while she does talk about her faith in the book she only does it in passing and doesn't force her religious beliefs upon the reader which is another thing that I liked about reading her memoir. If you want to learn a little bit and broaden your horizons I suggest you check this one out and it is one of the best memoirs I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    ++++picked it up

    and didn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Highly, Highly Recomment

    The book was outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Inspiring

    I learned much from this book! It was fascinating to read about the downfall of Liberia, and I emerged newly enlightened about the turmoil in other parts of the world. The resiliency of Leymah and those she worked with made me realize how fortunate we are, and how easily a comfortable life can be turned upside down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Inspiring and uplifting.

    I've never been to Liberia or had a complete awareness of the issues, I now have a better understaning of the issues and struggles. I identify with the author, her life choices and triumphs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    A hard story to read but well worth the effort

    The pain, struggle, heartache and devastation that Leymah Gbowee and her friends and family lived through is conveyed with such brutal reality that you feel as if you are experiencing it yourself. A few times I had to switch to lighter fare for a day because Leymah's story is so emotionally overwhelming. To say that I highly recommend this book is a understatement. What brave, strong, unbelievable women!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Every Woman Should Read This Story

    This powerful, human, inspirational book was too riveting to put down and I read it in one sitting. I was exhausted, empowered, awed, hopeful, - and then ashamed. Those women, who had nothing, least of all power or resources, accomplished peace. Here I sit in my comfortable home, with a good education, lots of technology, some power within my world, and what have I accomplished towards peace? Every woman in the United States and Europe should read this book. And then go out and make peace happen - this book makes the convincing case that there is nothing that can stop us if we join together as women. What are we waiting for? Start by reading this book and then sharing it with other women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Highly recommended

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2