Customer Reviews for

A Mighty Fortress (Safehold Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Advancement of Safehold Plunges Ahead

Having read the previous 3 books, anticipation was high for "A Mighty Fortress" on my end. I felt that the biggest draw-back in the book was one that was mentioned in other reviews -- the internal "introspective" narrative that seemed to be more present here than in mo...
Having read the previous 3 books, anticipation was high for "A Mighty Fortress" on my end. I felt that the biggest draw-back in the book was one that was mentioned in other reviews -- the internal "introspective" narrative that seemed to be more present here than in most of the other novels. With that being said, the book moved fairly quickly--despite it seeming to be "filler" in nature--and I did enjoy it, as we can see the level of technology having risen during the last five years on Safehold in a manner equivalent to that seen from the 1600's to the early 19th century on Earth. Also, the juxtaposition of the different nations on Safehold, particularly Siddarmark, is intriguing heading into Book #5 of the series. I, for one, wonder if the interests of Charis and those of Merlin will always align -- which, if not, could provide one of the great twists in "space opera" history. However, if you're someone who's committed to the other three books in the series, you'll enjoy this one--with eager anticipation toward the next novel.

posted by 1098397 on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

As fast paced as a boat anchor.

I used to really like David Weber's writing. Mutineer's Moon, On Basilisk Station - great books. I have read the Dahak series repeatedly. But this Safehold series is rapidly becoming a repeat of the Honor Harrington series. I debated for a while about buying this book, ...
I used to really like David Weber's writing. Mutineer's Moon, On Basilisk Station - great books. I have read the Dahak series repeatedly. But this Safehold series is rapidly becoming a repeat of the Honor Harrington series. I debated for a while about buying this book, as the pacing of the series is quickly heading for "All Stop". I feel I am out 20 bucks. I hate feeling that way about a book.

Tedious. Ponderous. Bloated with pointless text that does not seem to serve any real function except to try and impress upon the reader the "depth" of thought of characters. There are times when it takes a page to express a single thought.

The pacing of this book is glacial. A good book is something that I can finish off in a few days. This took me more than a week to read through. I kept hoping that as the book wound down, there would be an acceleration, moments of action and sudden revelation that would set the hook and excite me, make me wait in anticipation for the next installment.

I was quite disappointed.

The first book in the series moved well, the second slowed, but understandably, as the scope of the world broadened. The third was ponderous.

We get it. Charis Good (YAY)! Church Bad (BOO)! The villains have become cartoonish more than diabolical. The heroes have become oh so predictable. The attempts at poignant emotion fall flat. The action (what little there is) seems glossed over.

I really had thought the series would wrap up in 3 books. When it didn't I had hoped this would be the fireworks, the grand finale.

I have a feeling this is going to turn into yet another series of ponderous pacing that moves slowly, so dedicated fans will keep buying, in the hopes that one day, it will come to an end.

posted by Echo2112 on May 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    The Advancement of Safehold Plunges Ahead

    Having read the previous 3 books, anticipation was high for "A Mighty Fortress" on my end. I felt that the biggest draw-back in the book was one that was mentioned in other reviews -- the internal "introspective" narrative that seemed to be more present here than in most of the other novels. With that being said, the book moved fairly quickly--despite it seeming to be "filler" in nature--and I did enjoy it, as we can see the level of technology having risen during the last five years on Safehold in a manner equivalent to that seen from the 1600's to the early 19th century on Earth. Also, the juxtaposition of the different nations on Safehold, particularly Siddarmark, is intriguing heading into Book #5 of the series. I, for one, wonder if the interests of Charis and those of Merlin will always align -- which, if not, could provide one of the great twists in "space opera" history. However, if you're someone who's committed to the other three books in the series, you'll enjoy this one--with eager anticipation toward the next novel.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Weber continues to excel in Safehold series

    David Weber likes to revisit similar themes over the course of time and the many books he has written. One of those themes is the application and use of high(er) technology in times similar to the 1600s. The Safehold series, of which this is the fourth, again explores that theme. The human race has been obliterated by the alien Gbaba. A small remaineder go into hiding on the planet Safehold, where the leaders of the fragment long ago instilled a religion outlawing technology over a specified level. A dissident group thought that eventually humanity would have to face the Gbaba again, but had to be prepared. Thus, the personality of Nimue Alban, a young soldier, is loaded into an android body and keyed to wake up 900 years later. Her mission is to slowly help humanity back toward the technology they need. She chooses a king and a kingdom to help her, appearing in the guise of a seijin, sort of a mystical warrior monk, named Merlin Athrawes.

    The kingdom, Charis, breaks wiht the Church, which is now hopelessly corrupt and power-mad, and ignites what essentially comes to be a world war. The books explore the politics and philosphy of church/state interaction and conflict. In this book, the Church is bending all its efforts to duplicate the Charisian technology (sloop-rigged ships, better cannons, better rifles, etc.). It has declared Holy War on Charis, and vows to exterminate it.

    Merlin, King Cayleb, Queen Charleyan, and their advisors battle to keep Charis from being overwhelmed by the larger Church forces, help refugees from the Church-controlled lands, and continue to push the boundaries of new technology.

    Weber can get talky and too-detail oriented at times, but nobody writes better battle scenes or inspiring dialogue.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    Safehold #4

    Weber continues his "Safehold" series with "The Mighty Fortress." The reader is returned to the world of Safehold, where the "good guys" of the Charisian Empire continue their struggle against the "bad guys" of, essentially, the rest of the planet.

    There was lots of politics in this novel, as the Charisians deal with an insurgency in Corisande, and with the fact that the Holy Lands finally start getting some military decisions right. Normally, I love the descriptions of battles in Weber's books, and while the battles here certainly didn't disappoint, the continuing evolution of the world and the politics in which those battles take place is actually more interesting to read, even though it doesn't stir the blood nearly as much.

    If I have any complaint at all, it's that there doesn't seem to be a whole lot of stuff that's changed from the start of the novel to the end. It's very much not inaccurate to say that the quick summary is simply, "things continue". Or at any rate, that's the feeling I got while reading it. Upon reflection, it's not that things have changed as much as things have grown. There's an undercurrent there of bigger things building, making the anticipation for future books very real.

    And so that's a pretty minor complaint. I certainly kept reading, and I'm excited for what will come next as Weber continues work on the series.

    4 of 5 stars.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great science fiction thriller

    Not yet thirty years old, many believe that Cayleb Ahrmahk is the greatest naval officer in history. His victories are legendary as he defeated handily the combined forces of five princedoms. On a personal level, his success at sea enabled him to meet, court, and marry Queen Sharleyan of Chisholm. On Safehold, the pair forge the Charisian Empire built on his naval prowess.

    However, their most powerful adversary on Safehold, Church of God Awaiting, has declared the regime's rulers heretics and must be destroyed. Their first endeavor failed as the Church faithful failed to use the technology of the Charisian Empire. The second assault is an armada unlike anything in the history of Safehold. However, their foes do not have warrior-monk named Merlin Athrawes on their side. Merlin is the cybernetic avatar of a long dead female Nimue Alban, who died while watching the Terran Federation on numerous planets destroyed; Safehold is the last human stronghold and inadvertently the Church is leading the final extinction.

    The latest Safehold science fiction thriller (see By Heresies Distressed) is a great continuation of the struggle for First Amendment type rights and freedoms from a church controlling society. The world of Safehold is incredibly developed as readers obtain a deep look at a culture run by a religious dominated caste system that compares unfavorably to the freedom of the relatively small Charisian Empire. With a strong cast (though the hero feels like a Harrington clone) fans will relish David Weber's powerful condemnation of church equals state; or for that matter any oligopoly controlling all aspects of society by oppressing freedom.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    another good David Weber novel

    If you have enjoyed the other safhold stories than you are sure to enjoy this one. For those of you that this is the first time reader for David Weber or just new to this series let me say that he is an excelent author of borh science fiction and fantasy. He keep the character real and doesn't just always keep the good guys winning at least not without losses. He also shows you the faces of evil men and how good men follow them while fighting with their own thoughts and feelings. In other words his makes the characters real.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3