Customer Reviews for

Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel: Board Book Edition

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A classic in the truest sense of the word

    I'm probably dating myself, but I love this book and remember precisely the first time I discovered it. Long ago, in a much less tech-savvy world, there was a beloved television show for children called "Captain Kangaroo" - I'll let whoever else might remember Bunny Rabbit, Mr. Moose, ping-pong balls and Mr. Green Jeans tell their own kids about it, if they dare...my daughter swears I had to have been hallucinating! They often had books that the Captain would read, and they somehow "animated" the actual illustrations from the books - at least you believed things were moving, although most times it was just moving from one image to another.

    It was really a kind of serious topic for a children's book...Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel (whose name was Mary Anne) are hard workers that lose their job when progress comes marching into town. Progress means faster, better, sooner and Mike and Mary Anne can't keep up the pace. They take on one last job as a challenge - to dig out the town cellar for the city of Popperville.

    This book is definitely to be kept with other classics, like "Bedtime for Frances" and "Corduroy" - people from my generation will delight in seeing the old illustrations and stories, and I guarantee that anyone who reads this book will never forget how it ends. Perfectly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    One of my favorite books from about 70 years ago. Still remembe

    One of my favorite books from about 70 years ago. Still remember the story line and am looking for a copy for our 8th grandchild. still have my copy somewherein this house we have lived in for 40 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    love this book

    one book i remeber from childhood and enjoy reading with my kids. It still akes me choke up at the sweet ending and the enduring spirit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    A Classic for Kids of All Ages

    I love this book. It has a great message of heart and environmentalism. What a great way to recycle! I purchased this book for my best friend's son and I hope it becomes one of his favorites (he's only 2 months old).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    Wonderful!

    Bought this for my nephew. He loved it! Wanted to read it over and over. Especially great for boys who are fans of all things construction-related. But it's a wonderful story for all. I was a fan as a little girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    read this story uncountable times

    Is there anyone who doesn't like this story? It is a great lesson for kids of all ages. I read this to my kids 20some years ago and I purchase it as a gift for baby showers, birthdays and this year as a donation to underprivilaged families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Great for reading to a child

    Terific old fashioned kids' book with great sound effects. Children love this book. It should be used to read aloud to a child. Teaches the good old fashioned ethic of hard work being rewarded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    We Like Mike!

    Mike Mulligan never grows old. I read it as a child, and have read it over and over and over again to all of my own children. It is a favorite regardless of gender. The language has a wonderful rhythm to it that makes it a pleasure to read aloud, and the timeless story is captivating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Mike Mulligan

    This was one of my favorite books in grade school. I was thrilled to find it so I can share it with my grandkids!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    Great for a child who loves machines

    My son is totally captivated by Mike Mulligan. He is perfectly happy to have me reading this book to him every day. Introduces the concept of new technology replacing old, but also looking at ways that old technology can be adapted for other uses. Charming book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2009

    Childrens' books

    I was delighted with this order. Actually it was for my great-grandchildren but I had fun reviewing them. Brought back many memories of reading, repeatedly, Mike Mulligan to my own. My son even remarked about the bedtime stories that he remembered. I'm so happy I found that you have so many available.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Great Classic

    Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel is a timeless classic, eventhough steamshovels don't exist anymore. The story tells about how time is passing Mike and his steamshovel by, and how the two of them solve the problem. It is also a great lesson in ecology...how things can be re-purposed rather than scraped, just because they are out dated. But mostly, it's a great story to read to kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Good Book

    I'd definitely recommend this book. It was a favorite of my husbands growing up, so I bought it for our son. It's a good story, and we enjoy reading it over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    Don't doubt old machinery

    Mike Mulligan proves a good point with his steam shovel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2006

    From Mike Mulligans Mom

    This book was so wonderful because my son IS named Mike Mulligan, and now I get to read this book to my grandson, yes he is also Mike Mulligan..We never get tired of this story and try to share it with everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    Mike Mulligan and his Steam Shovel

    Mike Mulligan and his Steam Shovel, written and illustrated by Virginia Lee Burton, is an intriguing book for young children. Mike has a steam shovel that is little bit out of the ordinary. For example, she talks. Mike and Mary Anne dig many passageways around their town until one day, improved gasoline and electric shovels arrive. Steam shovels such as Mary Anne are now no longer wanted, and so Mike and Mary Anne become very depressed. One day, they discover that the town of Popperville is going to build a new town hall. Eager to return to work, Mary Anne and Mike announce that they will dig the cellar for the town hall in a day. ¿Impossible,¿ the townspeople say, ¿It takes a hundred men to dig it in a week.¿ Will Mike and Mary Anne complete their job before the day is over? Virginia Lee Burton¿s novel is an excellent book for young readers. Its colorful pictures, including many picturesque landscapes that range from junk yards to town squares, bring the book to life. The writing on the page corresponds to the pictures which are perfect for young readers so they do not have to flip back a couple pages to understand what¿s going on. Lastly, this book has a moral at the end of the story: Everyone has more to offer the world than he or she can possibly imagine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2001

    This book is WONDERFUL

    This book brings back so many fond childhood memories. I fell in love with Mike and his steam shovel from the first page. No child should grow up with out reading this story. My children will read this book and I hope some day they look back when ever they see this book and remember all the good and care free times of childhood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2001

    Most memorable book!!!!!

    I loved this book when I was a kid and I still have the original beaten up/slept with copy. I decided that it is time to get a new one (same paperback version but better condition) so my kids can get as much enjoyment out of it as I did. I can still recite most of the book from memory I read it so many times. :o)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2000

    What? No More Steam Shovels? Can't Get Enough!

    Mike Mulligan has a great adventure as he finds a tough time of pleasing the crowd and his boss when he tries to meet a big deadline. Luckily, there is a perfect place for a well loved steam shovel. I loved it as a kid and I still love reading it to my kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2