BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mila 2.0 (Mila 2.0 Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins Publishers and Edelweiss.)
16-year-old Mila’s life has been turned upside down by her father’s death and then moving away for her mothers work. But things are abo...
(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins Publishers and Edelweiss.)
16-year-old Mila’s life has been turned upside down by her father’s death and then moving away for her mothers work. But things are about to get even crazier when Mila discovers that she’s not human, and her memories, including those of her father are all fake.

Mila is actually ‘Mobile Intel Lifelike Android’ and her life is not her own. The government body that created her wants her back, and they’ll stop at nothing to get her.

With only her mum, and herself to depend on, can Mila evade the people who want to catch her? How many other people are after her? And will she ever be free?


This book wasn’t exactly what I was expecting, but I liked it!

This book starts off reading like a contemporary romance, and then some odd things start happening. What made this book so good was how human Mila was though. Even though she’s told she’s an android and she’s not really human, she is. Mila is so human, and her emotions are real, and believing that she’s an android is not easy, even with proof, because she just seems so normal! I totally got why she was so bewildered by the whole thing because I was right there along with her.

I loved how Mila felt about her mother. I know her emotions and memories were supposed to be fake, but Mila continued to fight for her mother, and love her mother even when she was told that it was all a lie. This was just more proof for me of how human Mila really was, because surely an android can’t love? I know in a lot of books when someone finds out that their parent(s) are not their biological parent(s) they rebel or turn against them, but Mila never did this, meaning that she must have developed feelings of her own towards her mother in the short time they had together.

I really liked Hunter (the love interest at the beginning). He was such a sweetheart, and I thought that he and Mila were so sweet together. I was a little apprehensive at times as to whether Mila could really trust him, but we’ll have to wait and see if I’m right to be apprehensive!
Again though, Mila’s feelings towards Hunter were something that she developed on her own, another thing to show that her feelings and emotions were anything but android.

I liked the storyline in this book, although I liked the beginning a little more than the end. By the end of the book I was getting a little tired of the chase (as I’m sure was Mila), and I was desperately hoping that Mila could get away from her pursuers and be left alone. There were some sad moments in this book as well as the action, and I did feel for Mila at times.
I can see why this book has been compared to the ‘Bourne Identity’ series as there is certainly no lack of action, with car chases and the lack of clarity for Mila over exactly what she is.
Things calmed down a little at the end, although it is obvious that Mila’s story will be continued in the next instalment. It will be interesting to see what happens to poor Mila next!

Overall; this book had romance, feeling, mystery, androids, and plenty of action!
7.5 out of 10.

posted by Sarah_UK1 on March 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Completely unexpected, this novel rather captivated me. Followi

Completely unexpected, this novel rather captivated me.

Following Mila and her adventures, I found myself having flashes of different sort of movies. 
In the first place, "DARYL" by Simon Wincer, where a young adopted boy learns of his extraordinary abilities...
Completely unexpected, this novel rather captivated me.

Following Mila and her adventures, I found myself having flashes of different sort of movies. 
In the first place, "DARYL" by Simon Wincer, where a young adopted boy learns of his extraordinary abilities that have an interest for the military. This is the first part of the story, when Mila peacefully live with her mother in the Minessota, and she discovers her android side.

Then, chases, fights and paranoia prevailing around the identity of the bad guys, who threaten the two women, reminded me of scenes from "The Bourne Identity" by Doug Liman. 
The story becomes darker, although gadgets discovered inside Mila bring a little levity. What woman has not dreamed of having a built-in GPS? 

Finally, trapped in the lab, I had impressions of "The Hunger Games" by Gary Ross mixed with an old movie played by Arnold Schwarzenegger: "The Running Man" by Paul Michael Glaser. In this part, the scenes are tougher. 
Particulary during the beating and the frightening obstacle course set up for the third test.

Is it bothered me to see different references through my reading? Not really because the mixture is well done and the narrative full of rhythm . Between espionage, combats, laboratory rats experiences, android and human feelings, the reader do not get bored.

In terms of characters, some are more interesting than others. Hunter and the place it plays in Mila's mind has perplexed me. And I a Lucas fan !

Hopefully, more revelations should be coming in the sequel...

A trilogy of science fiction to follow.

Lucie
newbooksonmyselves.blogspot.fr

posted by lucieparis2011 on April 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins Publishers and Edelweiss.)
    16-year-old Mila’s life has been turned upside down by her father’s death and then moving away for her mothers work. But things are about to get even crazier when Mila discovers that she’s not human, and her memories, including those of her father are all fake.

    Mila is actually ‘Mobile Intel Lifelike Android’ and her life is not her own. The government body that created her wants her back, and they’ll stop at nothing to get her.

    With only her mum, and herself to depend on, can Mila evade the people who want to catch her? How many other people are after her? And will she ever be free?


    This book wasn’t exactly what I was expecting, but I liked it!

    This book starts off reading like a contemporary romance, and then some odd things start happening. What made this book so good was how human Mila was though. Even though she’s told she’s an android and she’s not really human, she is. Mila is so human, and her emotions are real, and believing that she’s an android is not easy, even with proof, because she just seems so normal! I totally got why she was so bewildered by the whole thing because I was right there along with her.

    I loved how Mila felt about her mother. I know her emotions and memories were supposed to be fake, but Mila continued to fight for her mother, and love her mother even when she was told that it was all a lie. This was just more proof for me of how human Mila really was, because surely an android can’t love? I know in a lot of books when someone finds out that their parent(s) are not their biological parent(s) they rebel or turn against them, but Mila never did this, meaning that she must have developed feelings of her own towards her mother in the short time they had together.

    I really liked Hunter (the love interest at the beginning). He was such a sweetheart, and I thought that he and Mila were so sweet together. I was a little apprehensive at times as to whether Mila could really trust him, but we’ll have to wait and see if I’m right to be apprehensive!
    Again though, Mila’s feelings towards Hunter were something that she developed on her own, another thing to show that her feelings and emotions were anything but android.

    I liked the storyline in this book, although I liked the beginning a little more than the end. By the end of the book I was getting a little tired of the chase (as I’m sure was Mila), and I was desperately hoping that Mila could get away from her pursuers and be left alone. There were some sad moments in this book as well as the action, and I did feel for Mila at times.
    I can see why this book has been compared to the ‘Bourne Identity’ series as there is certainly no lack of action, with car chases and the lack of clarity for Mila over exactly what she is.
    Things calmed down a little at the end, although it is obvious that Mila’s story will be continued in the next instalment. It will be interesting to see what happens to poor Mila next!

    Overall; this book had romance, feeling, mystery, androids, and plenty of action!
    7.5 out of 10.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    Mila 2.0 was a great departure from the glut of paranormal and d

    Mila 2.0 was a great departure from the glut of paranormal and dystopian YA novels. The read was intriguing, and while some elements strained plausibility, there was no joy lost in reading Mila. I really liked the military element of Mila's android side and her journey through that discovery and proving herself. Great actions scenes combined with emotional power that made this a very enjoyable novel.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    MILA 2.0 is non-stop action and thrills, but with so much heart.

    MILA 2.0 is non-stop action and thrills, but with so much heart. I loved Mila's voice-- so whip-smart, funny, and human. Her relationship with her mother is heartbreaking; I read the last few chapters with a pit in my stomach. I can't wait for the sequel!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I finished Mila 2.0 last night, and though the ending could have

    I finished Mila 2.0 last night, and though the ending could have worked better for me, I thought this was a fantastic debut from Debra Driza. I hated to put this book down, which was unfortunate as I have had little reading time this last week. But finish it I did, and what a page turner it was. Mila 2.0 is filled with suspense, excitement, and some pretty intense action sequences. 




    The book opens with a girl on a horse. She has a vision. Her mom yells at her for riding too fast, and you think, huh. This is not what I expected. But it's not all that normal for long. The book picks up after a couple of chapters, and from that point on, there is no slowing down. That's why it's so hard to walk away from the story. If you are the type of reader who loves to stop and go with a book, you almost can't do that with this one. So make sure you carve out a chunk of reading time, because you will need it.




    One of the things I enjoyed the most about this novel was the author's writing style. It's well-balanced, and a good mix of plot, characters, and description. Though I think the characters could have had a little more depth--I'll get to that in a minute--I do believe that the well-balanced type of writing is the kind that resonates with me the most. I love being able to picture things in my mind but I don't want so much sensory language that it bogs the story down. The book is well-plotted and the pacing is incredibly strong. 




    But flaws. This book has some. Unfortunately, though I loved Mila as a characters, after some thinking, I have realized I just couldn't connect with her as much as I originally thought I was. I realized this when I got to the end and something major happened and I totally should have been crying (because I am an emotional basket case) but I wasn't. I knew then that something was missing. If a book is supposed to make me cry--that scene was brutal--and it doesn't, I have to deduct. It's a small thing as the rest of the book was SOOO much fun to read, but the characters could have used a little work. Some of them are in and out of the novel so quickly, you don't get much of a chance to know them. That is unfortunate. 




    One other complaint. There is a lot of action in this book. And I loved it. But...in a few of the scenes I had a hard time picturing what was going on and the descriptions of locations and character movements didn't seem clear to me. Like in the obstacle course scene toward the end? The way some of the buildings and places were described left me confused and unable to picture where they were located. Again, not a very big deal, but something I had to mention because it did detract from my enjoyment a little bit. 




    Ultimately though, clocking in at 480 pages, this book was one wicked ride that did not even feel close to that length. And I wanted more. So much more. I have to applaud the author for her ability to weave a story that kept me excited and flipping those pages until the end. I may not have been surprised by the ending, and there's not really a twist, but I enjoyed the entire book and cannot wait for the next.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    Disclaimer: I LOVED this book. The only reason that graphic up t

    Disclaimer: I LOVED this book. The only reason that graphic up there doesn't show a full 5 birdies is that I purposely strung it out because I wanted to be able to sit in the story longer. This is a hefty YA at 480 pages, true. MILA 2.0 is such a fun, engaging story, though, that I had to work to pace myself; I really wanted to sit and chew through the pages until I reached the end. Since our 5 graphic says "couldn't put it down", I opted for 4.5.




    MILA is an acronym, though at the beginning of the book, the character is just Mila, the new girl in town whose dad died recently and whose mom is seriously overprotective. She's a sweet girl who's trying to find her spot in her circle of friends while struggling to gain her freedom, just like any other teen. The problem is, she's not a teen at all.




    Mila's journey here in volume 1 of the series is pretty dramatic and action-packed. There are several locations, fight scenes, and characters who may or may not be potential allies. She learns that her humanity is not necessarily a deficiency- nor is her android side. She grows to the point of being capable of independence, but not necessarily wanting it.




    My favorite novel of all time is Mary Shelley's Frankenstein. This novel shares many of the same questions about what exactly comprises our humanity, yet is in the much-more-accessible format of modern YA sci fi. Mila, like Shelley's monster, feels human, yet has inhuman abilities. She feels isolated, even when she meets another like her, because she is so acutely human-like. Instead of being horrifically ugly, she is perfectly beautiful- lacking the small imperfections that mark our individuality. And of course, the whole ethics of creating life issue is wide open for exploration. Oh, to be back in the classroom- this would be SUCH a fun comparison study! 




    I've read that this may be a tv series in the fall- and if it is, it's going to be top on my DVR list. I can see it in my head, and it's going to be fantastic!




    Don't miss out on this one! I'm betting it will appear on several "best of 2013" lists.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Well written and a must read

    As I read this amazing novel, I kept picturing what Mila was doing as my own actions. Well most of it anyways. Im a man and this book has some great sci fi action as well as romance where like most guys, its not my favorite part but it makes the book more well rounded. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    A Gga A Gaglbdffffy Ahhgfgdgehheyeheyehfyfjeiejbgehdywjfjfudjsusjdnxjdjfjbdhdusjdjyttftftftftfygrgggfgygygygytgyyrrrgtttfyrrtryr

    Rrdgg
    Gggugygtgygyytyghujyyshshxh hdhshshdvdgdhh

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Very good

    My friend reccomended this book to me, so i decided to give it a go. I really enjoyed it, i loved that she was is a robot becuse the story line seems original to me, and the book kept my interest utill i was reading non-stop until 1 in the morning!! Overall i love this book, but i will probably crawl under a rock and die if there is no second book!! "WE NEED A SECOND BOOK!!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    Completely unexpected, this novel rather captivated me. Followi

    Completely unexpected, this novel rather captivated me.

    Following Mila and her adventures, I found myself having flashes of different sort of movies. 
    In the first place, "DARYL" by Simon Wincer, where a young adopted boy learns of his extraordinary abilities that have an interest for the military. This is the first part of the story, when Mila peacefully live with her mother in the Minessota, and she discovers her android side.

    Then, chases, fights and paranoia prevailing around the identity of the bad guys, who threaten the two women, reminded me of scenes from "The Bourne Identity" by Doug Liman. 
    The story becomes darker, although gadgets discovered inside Mila bring a little levity. What woman has not dreamed of having a built-in GPS? 

    Finally, trapped in the lab, I had impressions of "The Hunger Games" by Gary Ross mixed with an old movie played by Arnold Schwarzenegger: "The Running Man" by Paul Michael Glaser. In this part, the scenes are tougher. 
    Particulary during the beating and the frightening obstacle course set up for the third test.

    Is it bothered me to see different references through my reading? Not really because the mixture is well done and the narrative full of rhythm . Between espionage, combats, laboratory rats experiences, android and human feelings, the reader do not get bored.

    In terms of characters, some are more interesting than others. Hunter and the place it plays in Mila's mind has perplexed me. And I a Lucas fan !

    Hopefully, more revelations should be coming in the sequel...

    A trilogy of science fiction to follow.

    Lucie
    newbooksonmyselves.blogspot.fr

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza A lot of people raved about this book,

    Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza

    A lot of people raved about this book, so when I saw the opportunity to read it, I couldn't give it up. Mila 2.0 was quite an interesting science fiction read. I love reading about science fiction books, especially things that take place in the future. Although I'm pretty sure Mila 2.0's setting is modern, all the human android idea is probably futuristic.




    Mila 2.0 is about is girl named Mila. She lives in a small countryside city that she just moved to not long ago because of her father's death. Or so she thought. Everything seemed perfect. She found a guy she likes. She have some friends. Some school drama. Typical of a teenage girl. But when she fell off a truck and should have gotten really hurt, she didn't. She didn't bleed. She didn't even scrape herself. Non-typical of a teenage girl.




    Her so-called mom, Nicole, finally gave her the big news. Yeah. That Mila is an android. In fact, she's version number 2. Human androids aren't supposed to feel emotions, but Mila feels it. Apparently, her "mom" stole her out of the laboratory because she feels Mila deserves better than to just be an experiment. Before long Mila knew about her true self, she had to be on the run, away from her creator who wants her back and away from the people who wants to sell her for money. 




    As much as she ran, she still ended up being caught. And in the laboratory, she either listen to them and do whatever they tell her to or to rebel and try to run away again. 




    This book was a stunning read filled up with suspense. Can't wait to read the next book! If you like science fiction romance, this book is for you. ;) 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Can a machine be human?

    If you've watched Star Trek Next Generation, D.A.R.Y.L. and other similar shows then you know what this story is about. This story also compares to James Patterson's Maximum Ride series.

    This book is a compelling read and I think that any teenaged girl or any woman can identify with MILA. The questions MILA asks herself are no different than any person or girl would ask. How we answer those questions helps define who we are.

    These internal debates help define the character and draw the reader into the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Great.

    Great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Did I like it, love it, or think it was just okay? I loved it!!

    Did I like it, love it, or think it was just okay? I loved it!!




    The characters: I really felt for Mila, and I connected with her because her emotions were so real and vivid. Driza wrote her with passion and where what she is feeling and thinking really jumped off the page. I think that her struggle when she found out that she was an Android was so compelling, and very realistic. I can't imagine finding out something like that when my whole time I thought that I was a human. She feels, thinks, and has friends, sure there are some hazy memories, but everything seems so real. 
    It draws up an interesting question for me of what makes defines real. I never failed to connect with her, and she was always fighting for the person that she loves, so what really makes her different from me? What's inside? Metal vs not? It is just weird if you really think about it. 
    I liked Lucas, he was well written and though I can't say a lot about him without being a spoiler. But how he questioned things and then became loyal to what he believes in really inspired me. 
    As for her friend, Kaylee... Well, I can't believe the changes in her. I really don't understand how she was so friendly and including, and then NOT. I hope that there is some explanation in the next book. 
    I loved Mila's relationship with her mom, and how it changed several times with the circumstances. I think it reflects a real mother/daughter relationship because they aren't usually always good or bad, but fluctuating. But I think that how they learned to talk to one another and really learned that they could trust each other was beautiful. 




    The romance: I just wasn't feeling it. Friendship yes, the possibility that more could be there, sure... But hopefully the next book will pick a guy and really develop that, because I think I will have a hard time if they are both developed and fleshed out and then one of them won't be with her. 




    The cover: I like the colors, and the parts of her face. It catches my eye, and I think that it is a good fit for the story. 




    The ending: I think it ties up well enough and stops at a decent point, although I am very eager to read the next one. 




    The pacing: It kept me wanting to keep flipping pages, there was always some 




    The world/setting: I felt like it was authentic--the high school experience as well as when she ends up in the lab. 




    Bottom Line: Great start to a series that I can't wait to keep reading. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    Amazing, i never thought i would ever end up reading it

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    Otjrs Good book

    Good chap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    I had been really excited for this book when I first heard about

    I had been really excited for this book when I first heard about it. Even better was getting my hands on a copy and finally getting to dive in. I mean look at that cover. It is a book that screams "I AM GOING to blow you away!"and then it didn't. It was nothing special. It fell short of everything that I wanted it to be, but even with that, I am excited for the next book to hit the shelves in hopes that it is going to give us more to love.

    What made me fall off the bandwagon? For starters there was a weak attempt at a love triangle. I wish that since Driza had decided to make it happen, it would at least be interesting, but no, there was a hick boy that she met while in her new home and then there was the boy working with the bad guys. They never interacted and they were very different kinds of boys. They weren't even interesting boys, well maybe Lucas was, but still.

    I also wasn't thrilled with the people that Mila was keeping company with especially after one of them almost killer her. Some people man...other than that I think my biggest problem would have been the length there was too much going on, I think that this book would have been better suited to be two books and not one, but I suppose in the interest of preserving it being a trilogy, that it somewhat important.

    I really liked Mila, she tried to like people and to grow and adapt once she knew who she was and what she was capable of. I will be reading the next book, and I am hopeful that some of these issues will be worked out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Excitingling nee

    Refreshing exciting new outlook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Mila 2 . O

    Amazing!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    There is going to be a 2 book right?

    There is going to be a 2 book right?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Loved it

    Crazy story, but i absoluetly loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2