Customer Reviews for

Milk in My Coffee

Average Rating 4.5
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

GREAT BOOK GREAT AUTHOR

I loved this book....I love all of his books...I have all of his books and reread them all the time...this book is so realistic you would think that you know the people in the book

posted by 5812511 on December 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

I read this book awhile ago...twice! I enjoyed this book very much.

posted by Anonymous on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 1999

    Very Entertaining and Thought Provoking

    Our bookclub, 'Sista Circle', enjoyed the book. We all agreed that the storylines in the book were interesting and unpredictable. The book also generated a heated discussion about interracial dating and depictions of white vs. black women.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Good Job!

    My asian girlfriend and I loved the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Milk in My Coffee is a twist after twist

    I thought it started out slow and typical, but after a few chapters it was entertaining. The last few chapters made you read faster and contained the twists. I end up really enjoying it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Good reading for a rainy day

    This book reminds us how we can all be very different and at the same time be very similar when we doubt about ourselves. This book narrates what happens to many every day and how couples get in sticky and even complicated situations without even looking for trouble.
    The story is fresh and very real to what happens to couples today. The twist in the story is how in now a days we still see such differences in thinking between interracial relationships and how the prejudice still remains among many. This story has a great ending and leaves you wanting more from this author. I enjoyed this book and would recommend it for a rainy day or beach read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    Awesome

    I like this book it is great. I would like to read his other books like Sister Sister also Friends and Lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    AN INTERESTING READ!

    I was a little surprised with this book. The plot was more than I could handle. But as with the other EJD books I have read thus far, this book was another page turner. I could not put the book down. The love in this book is bold and at the time this book was written it was forbidden. Great read. I cant wait to read another EJD book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    never allow yourself to believe that even your best friends will never betray you...

    two things i picked up from this book: 1)you must ALWAYS keep an eye on your man/woman, their friends as well as your friends... you never know what kind of trifling mess they could be doing behind closed doors... 2)we need to mature as people and get over interracial dating, if god only meant for one race to cohabitate then that would be the only race he created in this world period...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    A GREAT READ

    well,this is the fifth book that ive read by dickey and it's deffinitly a page turner although i didn't like the end and thats why i gave it four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2005

    Not disappointed

    When I first saw this book on the shelf, I had passed it up many times. After I read all of his other books, I decided to give this one a try and I was not disappointed. I am waiting for his next book since I have read them all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2004

    A Great book about Romance

    Wonderfully written! EJD is a genius. This is my first time reading his material but I'm making a goal to read all of his books within the next couple of months. The story was so real, so true to life and very personal that everybody can relate to it. You feel all the characters emotions; every pain, joy, sadness and betrayal. It's the type of book that leaves you asking, 'I wonder what they're doing right now'. The best part of the book was when Kimberly proposed to Jordon on the plane, then had a little action after that. The book was great and I can't wait to start another book of his on my list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2003

    untouched

    Eric Dickey has done it again. I love his prose towards his subjects. This book had me opening my eyes in 40 different directions. I Loved every minute of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2003

    Finally A Good Book!!!

    This book was an outstanding book it was by far one of the best books i have ever read. It has everything that a good book today should have, such as suspense, drama, action, love, etc. My friend told me to go and get the book and after i got it i could,nt put it down. It has that catch that most books are missing now days and thats what makes it an outstanding book. It shows that in todays society you can't worry about what people say about you, or the things that you do. In cetain parts of the book, jordan was on the verge of cracking but then came kimberly to help cheer him up. It also shows one can do anything that they put their mind to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2003

    OFF DA' CHAIN!

    This book is great. It was the first of his books that I read and I have been hooked ever since. I am waiting for his next major work, and like with all the rest of his books, this one is quite a page-turner. You will find yourself reading EJD's books late at night, early in the morning, and every extra moment you have in between!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2003

    Excellent Book

    This book was the bomb. I couldn't believe all the different twists and turns through out the book. I was trying to write the book whenever I got the chance. It was really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2002

    Pretty good

    This book was kind of boring at fisrt but started getting really interesting.I would have never expected Smoove's friendship to end up like that,but as I have said Solomon deserved what he had gotten, to me Smoove got the ultimate revenge!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2002

    Marilyn

    I love this book from beginning to end.I couldn't seem to put it down. When I try to put it down I found myself picking it up again. There was so many twist and turns in this book. That's what made this book a great read. Great story Dickey!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2001

    Drae, a college Student from Louisiana

    Read the book! It's a wonderful work by Dickey. It keeps you turning the pages wondering what's going to happen next. His characters come to life. You can picture yourself right there with them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 1999

    A Must Read!!

    Eric Jerome Dickey, completly explores every aspect of interracial relationships in the nineties. By the conclusion of the novel, Dickey, proves he's able to elevate our thinking, concerning myths, and taboos of interacial couples.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2001

    We all done this or know someone that has gone through some of the things that happen in this book

    Milk In My Coffee was a beautiful unbelievable story and the funny thing is that some of us have experience in our life some of the things that happen in this book. That is why we need to stop believing in friends and believe in ourselves. Milk In My Coffee is a book everyone should read. Don't let people talk to you or tell you about this book just read it for yourself. 'Hope You like it becuase I did'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2000

    Another one of Eric Jerome Dickey

    I thought this book was good. It shows the relationship between a white woman and a black man. Come to find out she is half black too. I look forward to reading more of his books. He is really a good and creative writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2