Customer Reviews for

Milkweed

Average Rating 4.5
( 314 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(220)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

ONE THE BEST BOOKS EVER!

One word, WOW! That was heartbreaking,at times funny,outstanding, how else can I describe this book. Milkweed really got inside of you, made you feel , and when I was done with the book I was still left in aw. It is amazing how this book ended, the very last words were...
One word, WOW! That was heartbreaking,at times funny,outstanding, how else can I describe this book. Milkweed really got inside of you, made you feel , and when I was done with the book I was still left in aw. It is amazing how this book ended, the very last words were amazing, everything, amazing. One of my favorites.

posted by Anonymous on March 29, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

the bestt book everrrrrrr[:

The book Milkweed; covers the theme of how friends and family help you out when you need it most.
The caracoter in this story Misha had a survival of the finish; he had the steal everything he needed: clothes, food, and anything he could get his hands on. He never ha...
The book Milkweed; covers the theme of how friends and family help you out when you need it most.
The caracoter in this story Misha had a survival of the finish; he had the steal everything he needed: clothes, food, and anything he could get his hands on. He never had a family or at least that he knew of. He was a very fast runner, very small, and could fit throw the crowds of the Warsaw. He didn't know that much. He got picked up off the streets to live with Uri, who washed him up and took care of him. They all ended up in the Warsaw Ghetto.
He survived many cold nights, fights, shortage on food, and cruel treatment. I really like this book, because it showed passion.
Jerry made this book understandable for a 10 year old. He gave you a mystery of what was going on next. There are a lot of things that go unexplained.
Friends and family help you out with a lot, and are always there when you need them the most. I really loved this book.

posted by 24717 on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    Excelent story

    A story about a young boy who is living through WWII trying to stay alive

    Misha Pilsudski is the boys name he runs the streets of Warsaw with his friend Uri. Uri is an older boy who is trying to help Misha steal food and keep him out of trouble. Until Misha is taken to the ghetto along with the Milgram family. In the ghetto he smuggles food for his family to keep them from starving.

    Misha tries his hardest to keep food on the table but as the war goes on supply of food becomes lower and he really doesn't understand why.

    They survive through the ghetto but Nobody knows how much longer they will live.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Heart Renching & Action packed book

    I personally believe that Jerry Spinelli's purpose for writing Milkweed was to show the reader the holocaust in a child's prospective. In the book the main character, Misha an orphan boy, doesn't quiet grasp the concept that Nazis a.k.a. Jackboots are killing his kind. In fact Misha wants to be a Jackboot! Misha loved their uniforms. "His boots came to my shoulder, and his uniform was piped and spangled with silver. The brim of his hat was black and shinny like the boots; above it glistened a bird." You can just tell by the way Misha explains in such detail and 'Ah' that he is truly amazed by this human. Misha also says, "They don't hate me. They say, 'Very good, little Gypsy.' They salute me. I want to be a Jackboot." Poor child doesn't even know the pain he will endure from them. Misha absolutely loved 'parades'! One of the first he saw was filled with Jackboots. There was so many that it was wide enough to be called a boulevard of Jackboots. Then followed the tanks. Misha described them as, "colossal gray long-snouted beetles." The greatest parade Misha saw was the march to the ghettos. Misha used the word Wonderful to describe it. He saw many people from different places going in the same direction. Little children pulled wagons full of toys. Grown-ups pulled carts of furniture and clothes. It was a blur of blue and white armbands. I really enjoyed this book. I think the author did a good job telling the holocaust not through the eyes of a Jew or Nazi but a child. How they had to grow up in war torn Germany fighting for survival.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I'm a Gypsy not a Jew. -Kyona

    A crowd was running. We turned a corner. There was a large truck with the back open. Soldiers were tossing loaves of bread. The people grabbed and scrambled. We munched our cheeses, watching. I was fascinated. I had not known bread could be given! You know what the Holocaust is and when it happened right? A lot of people have read books about the Holocaust, for example Night by Elie Wiesel. The book Night told the true story of how a Jewish boy survived years in a death camp and was freed at the end of the war, there are other books like this out there. Imagine you live in a horse stable with over 5 other young boys, living off of stolen food, with no family, saying things like, "I don't believe in mothers". Milkweed tells the story of a tiny boy without an age or name who knows nothing of the world around him, and the happenings of the years of the Holocaust from his naive eyes. Yellow gypsy stone given by a father, bread, imaginary horse Greta, butter cream with hazelnut heart, Uri, smuggling, and jackboots he looks up to in awe but should actually shudder at the sight of. Those are the few things the child has to be able to care about. Milkweed with only 208 pages or so out of an average of about 300 pages in a book, packs so much emotion and meaning into it that you'll be tearing up with a smile on your face at the end. This book is so incredibly moving that it'll be embedded in your head for the rest of your life so if you don't want the average holocaust story of going to a death camp and surviving at least try reading this book because I promise you, you'll love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    A good read with a twist ending

    I really enjoyed this book. The story takes you from What? to Wow! Can easily imagine this as a non-fiction. Author captures the time, events, and horrors of war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Not what I expected

    This book is ok... I was expecting to learn something about the Halocost but I didnt. Interesting to read how Mishka joins a jewish family and leaves the ghetto to steal. But the ending was very dissapointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Milkweed by Jerry Spinelli was one of the best books I¿ve read t

    Milkweed by Jerry Spinelli was one of the best books I’ve read this school year. I’m very glad that my friend recommended me to read this! This book covered many different emotions and I felt as if this was a quick, simple read as well. Throughout the book, Misha struggled in many different ways including having to steal and scavenger which caused suspension. There were a different number of feelings and emotions that I had for Misha. Not only was this book great, it covered a theme that stood out. The theme I found in this book was that family and friends can help you out in a time of need. I believe that this is just a true theme that people need to recognize. Out of five stars, I would rate this book four out of five stars for many different reasons. I would also recommend that everybody should read this because it was just an amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Cool beans!

    I read this book for social studies and it was really borin in the beginning but it got more interesting close to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Very good read.

    Very true. This book gives good insight into both times of poverty during WWII and modern day third-world countries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Great book

    This book is the best that i have read for school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Ok!?????????????-??????????????

    Soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo-oooooooooooooooooooooooooo incredibly sad for me besides that good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Briliant

    Awesome book i have read it like five time i love it so much. There is just such a good plot to it I can't put it down when I read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    AMAZING!!!!!!

    A great book about the holocaust experiences! Although it isnt true, it is a heartwarming story that i would recommend to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Incredible Book

    This book was reccomended by a teacher a few years ago, and all I can say is that it gave me a new understanding of what true hardship is, and the meaning of hope and survival.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book - Delightful Read

    This novel is very touching and emotional. It presents a different view of the Holocaust that one will never forget. With it's simple language, it's an ideal novel for most ages and readers of all genres. You will not regret the time you spend in the life of this book, and will emerge from it's pages a more experienced and wise human being.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Interesting

    A book that I enjoyed reading. It made me laugh and have sympathy for the chraracters. However, if you can't stand endings that are way less than perfect, you might be wasting your time reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    fantastic!

    first of all to the awsome tale person, this is milkweed not the red pyramid and TO ALL OTHERS! READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!! read it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Milkweed

    This book was mainly about the Holocaust. It features a kid that has no parents and lives with some kids in Warsaw he meets in the book. He steals food, clothes, and lived in many places including a barn and a deserted barbershop. One day he decides he wants to be a Nazi but changes his mind after he sees wat horrible things they were doing to Jews. He decides it's best of to just be himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Magnificent Book!

    This book was outstanding from the beginning to the middle. I read it all in one sitting and I usually do not do that unless the book is really keeping me interested. The only thing that really bummed me out was the end of the book. I did not like it. The book had a few loose ends that could have been tied up. I had also wished the book was not as short as it was. I wanted to keep reading but unfortunately, all books have to end at some point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    loved it

    okay so i picked this book up because i wanted something different to read. it went beyond my expectations. there were a few times when it got kinda slow but other than that the book was great. if you're sick of reading the same old stuff then pick this book out :]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    milk weed review

    I thaut that the book was ok. I liked it I thaut that it was a prety good book. it was an ok book but i still liked it . i thaut that the ending was rushed but other then that i thaut that it was ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4