Customer Reviews for

Milkweed

Average Rating 4.5
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(224)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

ONE THE BEST BOOKS EVER!

One word, WOW! That was heartbreaking,at times funny,outstanding, how else can I describe this book. Milkweed really got inside of you, made you feel , and when I was done with the book I was still left in aw. It is amazing how this book ended, the very last words were...
One word, WOW! That was heartbreaking,at times funny,outstanding, how else can I describe this book. Milkweed really got inside of you, made you feel , and when I was done with the book I was still left in aw. It is amazing how this book ended, the very last words were amazing, everything, amazing. One of my favorites.

posted by Anonymous on March 29, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

the bestt book everrrrrrr[:

The book Milkweed; covers the theme of how friends and family help you out when you need it most.
The caracoter in this story Misha had a survival of the finish; he had the steal everything he needed: clothes, food, and anything he could get his hands on. He never ha...
The book Milkweed; covers the theme of how friends and family help you out when you need it most.
The caracoter in this story Misha had a survival of the finish; he had the steal everything he needed: clothes, food, and anything he could get his hands on. He never had a family or at least that he knew of. He was a very fast runner, very small, and could fit throw the crowds of the Warsaw. He didn't know that much. He got picked up off the streets to live with Uri, who washed him up and took care of him. They all ended up in the Warsaw Ghetto.
He survived many cold nights, fights, shortage on food, and cruel treatment. I really like this book, because it showed passion.
Jerry made this book understandable for a 10 year old. He gave you a mystery of what was going on next. There are a lot of things that go unexplained.
Friends and family help you out with a lot, and are always there when you need them the most. I really loved this book.

posted by 24717 on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    milk weed review

    I thaut that the book was ok. I liked it I thaut that it was a prety good book. it was an ok book but i still liked it . i thaut that the ending was rushed but other then that i thaut that it was ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Milkweed

    When I first found out I had to read Milkweed for my 9th grade English class, I thought I was not going to like the book. But then once I began reading it I was very interested in it. I wanted to keep reading it. I thought the story was very interesting and I learned a lot from it. The book reallty helps me understand how it was during the Holocaust. I didn't think the conditions were that bad before I read Milkweed. Personally, my favorite part was when Misha snuck out in the middle of the night and went to the merry-go-round. Then he told Dr. Korczak to bring the kids out, but he dragged him in the house and made him stay there for the rest of the night. I would definitely recommend Milkweed to anyone of any age. It is a great book for any occasion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    Great

    This book was a darkly humorous tale about an orphan boy in Warsaw during the Holocaust. It was a good portrayal, but the end kinda stunk. It was like Spinelli just forgot what he was writing and just decided to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    Great Book

    This book was very good. I thought it was very interesting to see in the point of a child and also a gypsy. I liked how the book showed how different kinds of people suffered rather than just the Jews. Basically the book is about a gypsy boy who finds himself in the middle of the holocaust. He uses all his recources and stealing techniques to survive. It was exciting but the end just destroyed the great story before. Its this huge amount of drama and action when all of a sudden its just this information after the war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    Neelam, Ms. Lyon's C Block

    Set during the Holocaust, Milkweed captures the essence of the time period. At first, Misha seems a bit too ignorant, but as the plot progresses, he begins to understand what is going on in the world. In the beginning, he seems selfish, stealing everything in sight, but by the end of the book, the the reader realizes that he is indeed selfless. When everyone was starving, and only he could get food, he shared with others. This is a great book to read, for fun or just to understand the Holocaust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    Kaila, Ms. Lyon's class

    Milkweed is an amazing book about a boy living during the Holocaust. He has no family and steals just to survive. Until one fateful day when he meets a man named Uri. Uri takes this boy, who he later names Misha, to live with a group of other boys similar to him. Eventually, Misha ends up in a ghetto, which he can leave and return to through a hole. By doing this, Misha can bring food to orphans. I absolutely recommend this book to anyone interested in learning about the Holocaust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    Milkweed

    Milkweed is a stunning piece of literature that depicts the life of a boy called Misha Pilsudski as he experiences the horrors of the Holocaust. Though he initially admires the Nazis, he comes to realize that their tall shiny jackboots only disguise their vile, cowardly selves. Hope is the one possession that Misha cannot lose, and it is the key to his survival. I cannot exactly express that I enjoyed this novel, because the content is absolutely horrific. However, I can truthfully state that the descriptions and imagery were beautifully crafted and alarmingly vivid. Although the narrator, Misha, was young and naïve for most of the book, his innocent notions conveyed incredibly powerful insight. Still, at times I found it difficult to resume my reading because there was such constant, relentless tragedy. Overall, I recommend this book to anyone who wishes to see the Holocaust through the perception of a small child. Milkweed is a riveting novel that will touch anyone who reads it - it¿s like the text leaps from the pages, dances around your heart, and then brings tears to your eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    A reviewer

    He does not know who he is or any of his family. All he knows is that to survive he has to steal from others.The story is of a young jewish boy who is living during the holocaust. He makes friends only because he does not know how to be inconspicuous. The only name that he knows is what he hears everyone call him 'stoptheif'. This novel is a heartwarming story that I reccomend for readers of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2008

    A great story

    This book was an amazing story. Misha Pilsudski is a young orphan who had to endure the terrible surrounding of World War 2. Uri and all of Misha's friends have a pretty acurate understanding of what is going on around them, but Misha just thinks of the Jackbbots, who are causing him so much pain, as cool people that he wants to be one day. This story has many emotions. It is heart-breaking, funny, sad, and entertaining all throughout the parts of the book. The ending was very satisfiying, but I wont say what it is. :) But this book is very well written and I would recomend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Abhishek, Ms. Lyon's class

    Milkweed was a book that I needed to read for schoolwork. But, later I sank into the book and was very intrested by it. Milkweed was about a boy who struggles to live during the time of the Holocaust. He finds a man named Uri, who takes care of him. Uri makes a story up, so the boy got the name, 'Misha'. Misha still steals food, to feed himself. Later, he goes to the ghettos, because he said he was a Gypsy. The ghetto has a hole in it, and Misha goes to steal food from hotels and houses. I thought this was a good book, and I recommend it for Holocaust researchers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Milkweed is it good or bad?

    In the book Milkweed by Jerry Spinelli. The main character in the book is a nine year-old boy named Misha. Misha is homeless and he has no family. Misha lives on the streets of Warsaw and he survives by stealing food. Once when Misha was stealing food, he met six boys about the age of 18. The six boys are just like Misha so they invite Misha to stay with them. Misha now steals food with the other six boys and Misha now has tons of food to eat. Until the Nazis come and invade Warsaw. In the story, Misha meets his best friend which is a girl named Janina and she has a family. Janinas family gets herded into a Jewish ghetto and Misha then goes with them. In the ghetto, Misha is able to sneak out of the ghetto and steal food and then come back to the ghetto to feed him and Janinas family. This was working fine for a while until the Nazis started sending all the Jews on trains to a place called the ¿New Land¿ the Nazis called it. One of the six boys named Uri told Misha not to go on the train or he would die. Now Misha has to decide if he should go with Janina¿s family or hide from the Nazis. I would dedicate this book to kids and adults 11 and up. If you like adventure, action, and a lot of history about the holocaust. This is the book you have been looking for your whole life. In the book, the characters make huge decisions that we will probably have to make in our life. Also, the book shows you never to give up and always keep trying until the very end. Some conflicts I have with the book are I thought the book was to short, which made it a very short end. Another conflict I have with the book was I thought that there wasn¿t tons of information on the main man of the battle in Warsaw and his name was Hitler. In the book, I thought Jerry Spinelli was very detailed and used very interesting word imagery. Out of 5 stars, I would give these book four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    Definate Voice

    Personally, I think that this is one of Jerry's best books. As a 'fan' e-mail acquaintance, I've read nearly all of his books. I think he can really put a lot of voice into his writing when his books are a little on the higher scale of age level. His younger aged books are excellent but it seems that ones like Milkweed really have depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    MilkWeed is a great book

    I thought Milkweed by Jerry Spinelli was a really good book if you like reading about the holcost. The book was very informitive but a little slow. I would suggest this book to people who want to learn about the holocost from a Jew's point of view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    Milkweed

    Milkweed by Jerry Spinelli, takes you to the war torn, Nazi-occupied town of Warsaw, Germany and tells a story of courage about a boy who¿s called a gypsy, Jew, stop thief, filthy son of Abraham. He is a boy named Misha Milgrom who lives upon the streets of Warsaw. He steals food for himself and other orphans to survive. He wants to be a Nazi but soon finds out that they are only there to get rid of him and other Jews. This historical fiction book is based on the times of the holocaust when towns like Warsaw were invaded by the Nazis and torn apart by bombs. This only left rubble of buildings, craters, and dead bodies lying across the streets. While on and escape from stealing food one day, Misha encounters a girl named Janina who is part of a Jewish family, which is soon taken to the ¿ghetto¿. Now Misha, Janina, her father, mother, and uncle try to stick together and fight through the tough times. I think that this book is action packed and I would recommend it for anyone who enjoys suspension and loves thrills!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4