Customer Reviews for

Milkweed

Average Rating 4.5
( 313 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(219)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

ONE THE BEST BOOKS EVER!

One word, WOW! That was heartbreaking,at times funny,outstanding, how else can I describe this book. Milkweed really got inside of you, made you feel , and when I was done with the book I was still left in aw. It is amazing how this book ended, the very last words were...
One word, WOW! That was heartbreaking,at times funny,outstanding, how else can I describe this book. Milkweed really got inside of you, made you feel , and when I was done with the book I was still left in aw. It is amazing how this book ended, the very last words were amazing, everything, amazing. One of my favorites.

posted by Anonymous on March 29, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

the bestt book everrrrrrr[:

The book Milkweed; covers the theme of how friends and family help you out when you need it most.
The caracoter in this story Misha had a survival of the finish; he had the steal everything he needed: clothes, food, and anything he could get his hands on. He never ha...
The book Milkweed; covers the theme of how friends and family help you out when you need it most.
The caracoter in this story Misha had a survival of the finish; he had the steal everything he needed: clothes, food, and anything he could get his hands on. He never had a family or at least that he knew of. He was a very fast runner, very small, and could fit throw the crowds of the Warsaw. He didn't know that much. He got picked up off the streets to live with Uri, who washed him up and took care of him. They all ended up in the Warsaw Ghetto.
He survived many cold nights, fights, shortage on food, and cruel treatment. I really like this book, because it showed passion.
Jerry made this book understandable for a 10 year old. He gave you a mystery of what was going on next. There are a lot of things that go unexplained.
Friends and family help you out with a lot, and are always there when you need them the most. I really loved this book.

posted by 24717 on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    ONE THE BEST BOOKS EVER!

    One word, WOW! That was heartbreaking,at times funny,outstanding, how else can I describe this book. Milkweed really got inside of you, made you feel , and when I was done with the book I was still left in aw. It is amazing how this book ended, the very last words were amazing, everything, amazing. One of my favorites.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Love it

    I read it i 6th gread and it was awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Absolutely Amazing! I loved this book so much. I picked it up on

    Absolutely Amazing! I loved this book so much. I picked it up on a whim but the very first pages pull you in and you can't put it down. It was so raw and the characters were so real. You felt everything with Misha and throughout the book you felt this young boys inoccence in a world he has come to accept as normal. Read this! You will not regret it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    B.R for bill

    This is the book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    You should read it....

    I am reading it for reading... i think it is amazing because he seems really fun and interesting..... i also love how the author gets in detail about life in Warsaw.....love it!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    ABSOLUTLEY AMAZING

    This has to be the most touching and amazing book i have ever read in my entire life... it had me in tears at the end !! I loved it ! Definetly worth reading !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    I loved this book so much.

    I'm in 8th grade and we didn't have enough days left of school to finash the book so I stole it, finashed it that night, and brought it back the next day. I cried off and on throughout the book, but was surprised by how much I was sobbing. I was at least glad we didn't end up reading it in school. This book surprised me by how interested I was. I had alot of backround knoledge about WW2, it being a topic that interested me, but who would have thought a book from school could be so cool. I still don't understand why Uri shot Misha, though...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Loved it

    This book is amazing its heartbreaking an funny! Get this book you wont regret it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Good

    Great book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Read this:) :)

    This book is about the holoucaust and it is VERY sad. And dark. And creepy at times. But it is heartwarming and pleasureable, and thankfuly, a quick read. Everybody should experience the pain in this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Kscvbccbbih

    This is my favorite book ever. I read it in 5th grade for the first time and I'm still reading it over and over 7 years later

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    The best!

    Myteacher started reading this book in class to us and when she said its by jerry spinnelli i was like NOOOOO!!!! But then it tirned out to be REALLY REALLY good i recomend for people 10-14

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Overall, one of the best books I've ever read.. -Madison Gale

    Milkweed, by Jerry Spinelli, is an amazing book. it is full of hope, compassion, and a gripping story plot. everything that makes a great book is included. one of the best things about this book is the characters. they are all so real to life, and all full of personality and their own spunk. my favorite character in the book is the young boy, the main character. at the beginning, he doesn't have a name, but at the end of the book, he finally receives one, but to find out what it is, you will have to read the book;) this book really, really, helped me understand the emotion and suffering in the Holocaust. sure, in school we read about it, and we studied it and had speakers talk to us, and I understood it was a horrible, horrible thing. but jerry Spinelli puts such.. emotion, such passion into every chapter, its like the words come to life with a stronger meeting, and they really move you. it made me believe that people really did have hope and courage during the Holocaust. this book gripped me and made me want to keep on reading, to find out if there would be a happy ending. imagine you are in a bookstore, and you are looking for a good book. does one book ever just, catch your eye? and you don't know the reason? that's just how gripping this book is. another great thing about this book is it is written from a child's point of view, so there are things in is that usually wouldn't be included. you really have to get into this book to understand it, because jerry Spinelli writes in a very.. intellectual style. I don't really have words to describe the way it is written, so you'll just have to read it for yourself. so what are you waiting for?? stop reading this, and read the book already:) because believe me, you will not be sorry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    milkweed

    a story about a different boy in a different and changing world. this book will leave you laughing and crying. telling about the nasty horrible things that the Nazis or "jackboots" as called in this book did to the innocent people of the world. a story of hope, sadness, and remembrance. A story of how a boy living in the streets can suddenly belong to a family and have friends and then suddenly lose it all together. How the coming to America was a symbol of a new begging and a family start again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Milkweed

    This is a spectacular story about a boy who learns about the good, bad, and the ugly in this world and the worst part...he learns about the ugliest part of the world during the ugliest phase in history. However, he never stops remembering...
    This story will leave you dazed and feeling for those who endured the Holocaust. It really gets you inside the head of a little boy who grows up during this tragic time. This is a very realistic fictional story, and you will never forget it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Milkweed Review

    Milkweed is the story of a young, gypsy boy who grows up in the middle of war-stricken Warsaw. He is thrown into a ghetto were dead people equal new shoes and Nazi soldiers walk around in shiny, black, beautiful boots. It is a story about growing up as a gypsy, a Nazi, a Jew and a nobody.

    Normally, when I pick up Holocaust-era books, other novels like Number the Stars and The Diary of Anne Frank come to mind, and I immediately hesitate to pick it up. With Milkweed, it was somehow different. The book just looked attractive and interesting, so I made an exception to my hatred for cliché 'children of the Holocaust' books, and decided to read it, and boy did I make the right decision.

    I loved Milkweed from beginning to end. I loved the fact the main character was not another stereotypical Jewish kid, and how the writing came alive in each page, making me laugh, cry and enjoy every single word. Milkweed is written beautifully, and is for sure a book that will have you reaching for the tissue box more than once. Jerry Spinelli somehow manages to make the story realistic, while maintaining the fantasy and innocence a child feels towards many aspects of life.

    I realize that I just wrote a whole paragraph praising this book, but I don't whole-heartedly recommend it. This is a book that should be read by someone who has an idea of the events that occurred during the Holocaust, but who is also eager to learn about it, since an avid Holocaust reader might find minor in-congruencies that they might find annoying. I also recommend this book for strong people who can take in all of the pain and tragedy of the Holocaust era.

    As a last thought I would like to add that I would not mind reading this book again, and hope anyone who will read it enjoys it as much as I have. ?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Loved it.

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Ok



    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Great book!

    Sad but makes you think and want to read on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11