Customer Reviews for

The Mill River Recluse

Average Rating 4
( 2216 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1021)

4 Star

(719)

3 Star

(295)

2 Star

(104)

1 Star

(77)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

199 out of 220 people found this review helpful.

5 out of 5! Darcie Chan is an author to keep your eye on!

This story had me hooked from the moment I read the overview and kept me hooked through the last page. Chan's portrayal of the small town atmosphere and its citizens is dead-on...from the gossiping and nosy neighbors to the sense of community when something goes wrong. ...
This story had me hooked from the moment I read the overview and kept me hooked through the last page. Chan's portrayal of the small town atmosphere and its citizens is dead-on...from the gossiping and nosy neighbors to the sense of community when something goes wrong. She draws you into Mill River from page one, and you will quickly "recognize" your own neighbors throughout the pages.

The story is so good that my 15-year-old daughter started reading The Mill River Recluse the day I purchased it, and I didn't get the Nook back until she had finished. She couldn't put it down!

I can't wait to see what Chan has in store for us next!

posted by J_Greene on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Pass the Cheese

I don't recommend this book. It had a cheesy and predictable story line, cheesy and pedictable characters and even a little whine to go with the cheese. It belongs in a Guidepost magazine. Halfway through it, I started skimming just to get to the end. If I had a har...
I don't recommend this book. It had a cheesy and predictable story line, cheesy and pedictable characters and even a little whine to go with the cheese. It belongs in a Guidepost magazine. Halfway through it, I started skimming just to get to the end. If I had a hard copy, I'd put it in my garage sale for 25 cents.

posted by 17448127 on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2217 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 111
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    5 out of 5! Darcie Chan is an author to keep your eye on!

    This story had me hooked from the moment I read the overview and kept me hooked through the last page. Chan's portrayal of the small town atmosphere and its citizens is dead-on...from the gossiping and nosy neighbors to the sense of community when something goes wrong. She draws you into Mill River from page one, and you will quickly "recognize" your own neighbors throughout the pages.

    The story is so good that my 15-year-old daughter started reading The Mill River Recluse the day I purchased it, and I didn't get the Nook back until she had finished. She couldn't put it down!

    I can't wait to see what Chan has in store for us next!

    199 out of 220 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    excellent

    This was a fantastic read. Very hard to put down. Highly recommended

    125 out of 147 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Terrific for the human spirit!

    The Mill River Recluse is a well-written and compelling love story about human compassion set in a charming New England village, in the 1940's. The storyline is a lot of flashback in nature but smartly begins at the end to bring questions to mind that are answered in an exciting and anxious way. I connected with the flawed and realistic and interesting characters, especially Mary McAllister. This feel-good storyline is built around Mary who has spent almost six decades secluded in a white mansion overlooking Mill River. She suffered dreadfully her entire life with an anxiety disorder that pretty much limited her socially to mail and an elderly priest, Father O'Brien. Few have seen the reclusive Mary as she upholds a reputation of being peculiar to the town. Only Father O'Brien knows the secret she keeps, that if revealed will change lives forever. This is a wonderful novel of tragedy and triumph, human values and all facets of love. Terrific for the human spirit!

    85 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    I can't put it down! I am writing a reveiw to say buy it and be prepared to read. You just get attached to the characters and feel concern for them. You want to know happens next and then realize it is three hours later. Buy this book today. The characters have true depth and keep evolving. This is a wonderful escape into fascinating book.

    74 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    WONDERFUL

    I do not normally write a review on books that I have read. I read on average 15 books a week. This time however I must. As this book has made me laugh, cheer, feel their pain and sorrow and well let's just say the last 45 pages I cried like a baby, using 2 boxes of tissues. Big Kudos to Darcie Chan for writing an amazing story. I fell in love with all of these characters; they came alive and leapt of the page and became real. I would defiantly recommend this book to any avid reader. I paid $0.99 for this amazing book, I would have gladly paid a lot more for it. This book has become my favorite. I will reread it again and again if for nothing more than to make me feel better.

    63 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Great book!

    This book was FABULOUS, it had me in tears!! I hope this author writes more, more, more! I cannot believe that this one was .99, it was the best book I have EVER read that was that cheap!! A must read.

    45 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    I couldn't put it down!

    I was immediately drawn into the town of Mill River, and captivated by the story of the widow McAllister. This is an excellent read... I couldn't put it down!

    40 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    A lovely story of loss, loneliness and redemption

    Wonderfully fleshed out characters in a small town you will come to love. A must read.

    29 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Surprisingly good

    I bought this book because it was .99 and i figured i had nothing to lose. I was not expecting to enjoy the story and charachtets so much. The storyline is predictable, but one that kept my interest until the last sentence. If you are looking for an easy read with compelling characters, this will fit the bill.

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    Great book! Easy read!

    Bought on a whim and couldn't put it down!

    20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Wonderful story

    How great it is to read a captivating story that is clean and well written. The characters came alive on the pages as I grew to admire, or dislike, each one. I have paid much more for books that turned out to be awful, so I am amazed that this delightful book was only .99. I hope Ms Chan writes many more.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    wonderful book!

    very good, without all the sex.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Check it out!

    This is a very good read for $.99, I could hardly put it down. It has love, mystery and sadness but the ending is really good. READ IT!

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Pass the Cheese

    I don't recommend this book. It had a cheesy and predictable story line, cheesy and pedictable characters and even a little whine to go with the cheese. It belongs in a Guidepost magazine. Halfway through it, I started skimming just to get to the end. If I had a hard copy, I'd put it in my garage sale for 25 cents.

    11 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Great book!

    Great story of doing the best we can with what we're given. I hope this author will write more soon!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Not my favorite

    I heard of this book in an article about how it was self-published. Read it out of curiosity and I can see why it was rejected by publishing houses. The characters never came to life for me, and I found the plot predictable and not too interesting.

    However, I've read books by established authors that weren't any better. I think Darcie Chan could be very successful in this genre, especially with help from a good editor.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Heartwarming

    What an unexpected treasure and gift I was given in the reading of this! The characters were friends whose lives I was allowed to be a part of, to watch through the window of my imagination through a heartwarming tale.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Great!

    I enjoyed the way this book was written. I cried at the end ; )

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Read it til I finished!

    I literally couldn't put this down until I finished it. Best book I have bought for 99 cents on my nook since I got it. You will not be disappointed!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Poor read

    Characters were never fleshed out. The great "secret" fell flat. I finished reading and was greatly disappointed. Don't bother to purchase.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2217 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 111