Customer Reviews for

The Mill River Recluse

Average Rating 4
( 2217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1020)

4 Star

(720)

3 Star

(295)

2 Star

(104)

1 Star

(78)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

199 out of 220 people found this review helpful.

5 out of 5! Darcie Chan is an author to keep your eye on!

This story had me hooked from the moment I read the overview and kept me hooked through the last page. Chan's portrayal of the small town atmosphere and its citizens is dead-on...from the gossiping and nosy neighbors to the sense of community when something goes wrong. ...
This story had me hooked from the moment I read the overview and kept me hooked through the last page. Chan's portrayal of the small town atmosphere and its citizens is dead-on...from the gossiping and nosy neighbors to the sense of community when something goes wrong. She draws you into Mill River from page one, and you will quickly "recognize" your own neighbors throughout the pages.

The story is so good that my 15-year-old daughter started reading The Mill River Recluse the day I purchased it, and I didn't get the Nook back until she had finished. She couldn't put it down!

I can't wait to see what Chan has in store for us next!

posted by J_Greene on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Pass the Cheese

I don't recommend this book. It had a cheesy and predictable story line, cheesy and pedictable characters and even a little whine to go with the cheese. It belongs in a Guidepost magazine. Halfway through it, I started skimming just to get to the end. If I had a har...
I don't recommend this book. It had a cheesy and predictable story line, cheesy and pedictable characters and even a little whine to go with the cheese. It belongs in a Guidepost magazine. Halfway through it, I started skimming just to get to the end. If I had a hard copy, I'd put it in my garage sale for 25 cents.

posted by 17448127 on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Pass the Cheese

    I don't recommend this book. It had a cheesy and predictable story line, cheesy and pedictable characters and even a little whine to go with the cheese. It belongs in a Guidepost magazine. Halfway through it, I started skimming just to get to the end. If I had a hard copy, I'd put it in my garage sale for 25 cents.

    11 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Poor read

    Characters were never fleshed out. The great "secret" fell flat. I finished reading and was greatly disappointed. Don't bother to purchase.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Into the trash

    Trite, predictable plot. Simplistic, over the top, emotional pap. Unrealistic dialogue. Terrible read. Very hard to slog through. If you buy this book, you will see what I mean.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Trash

    This is, without a doubt, the worst book I have ever read. I kept reading it just to see if it would improve as the story progressed--it didn't. Don't waste your time; if you expect anything with depth and believability, you will be disappointed. No wonder it had to be self-published by the author--no reputable publisher would touch it.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Terrible book

    If you like brainless reads, this is the perfect "book"

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    If I wanted a sermon, I'd go to Mass

    See above

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Started out intreging.

    Started out intreging but lagged after the first highlight. Sub-plots dragged on and were too long and drawn out for the complexity of the story. Made me wonder how the subplots were ever going to tie in together. Ended up being sappy.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    are u kidding ?

    Poorly written. Had a hard time finishing it just to find out the Big Secret which was anti climatic.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Ugh.

    How do these things get published? The author writes like a ten year old.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Sugar, sugar

    A wholly unbelivable trite story of a recluse who spends her life and her fortune on buying things like colot tv's for everyone in town.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Good for .99 Cents

    Fairly predictable, a good quick read. Bothered by the whole religious angle.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Can I get my money back?!

    This book is complete crap...a complete waste of $.99. Why so many positive reviews, I'll never understand!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    I found the story line maudlin and overwrought in the extreme.

    I found the story line maudlin and overwrought in the extreme. It's a litany of bad things that happen to Poor Poor Pitiful Mary. And Poor Poor Pitiful Mary never manages to overcome and live a real life, because someone who felt sorry for her left her a whole lot of money and a big mansion on the hill. She spends her time spying on the town down below. Such a pointless read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    The characters lacked in depth and development.

    The characters lacked in depth and development.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Language

    The language is offense to me.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    I kept thinking it would get better the longer I read, but unfor

    I kept thinking it would get better the longer I read, but unfortunately it fell flat. Very predictable, very cheesy, and the characters are forgettable. It's an easy read if you want something simple, but it's not a gripping read. I'm surprised I even finished the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Corney

    Predictable and corney....waste of time to read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Predictable

    I found this story predictable and i skimmed through just to get to the end. Glad i only spent 99 cents on it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Boo!

    Poorly written and simplistic.Not worth your time or money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Sorry, I had to stop reading at the HORRIBLE animal abuse at the

    Sorry, I had to stop reading at the HORRIBLE animal abuse at the beginning of the book...it made me feel physically ill and I had to put it down, wish I'd never purchased it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4