Customer Reviews for

The Mill River Recluse

Average Rating 4
( 2217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1020)

4 Star

(720)

3 Star

(295)

2 Star

(104)

1 Star

(78)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

199 out of 220 people found this review helpful.

5 out of 5! Darcie Chan is an author to keep your eye on!

This story had me hooked from the moment I read the overview and kept me hooked through the last page. Chan's portrayal of the small town atmosphere and its citizens is dead-on...from the gossiping and nosy neighbors to the sense of community when something goes wrong. ...
This story had me hooked from the moment I read the overview and kept me hooked through the last page. Chan's portrayal of the small town atmosphere and its citizens is dead-on...from the gossiping and nosy neighbors to the sense of community when something goes wrong. She draws you into Mill River from page one, and you will quickly "recognize" your own neighbors throughout the pages.

The story is so good that my 15-year-old daughter started reading The Mill River Recluse the day I purchased it, and I didn't get the Nook back until she had finished. She couldn't put it down!

I can't wait to see what Chan has in store for us next!

posted by J_Greene on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Pass the Cheese

I don't recommend this book. It had a cheesy and predictable story line, cheesy and pedictable characters and even a little whine to go with the cheese. It belongs in a Guidepost magazine. Halfway through it, I started skimming just to get to the end. If I had a har...
I don't recommend this book. It had a cheesy and predictable story line, cheesy and pedictable characters and even a little whine to go with the cheese. It belongs in a Guidepost magazine. Halfway through it, I started skimming just to get to the end. If I had a hard copy, I'd put it in my garage sale for 25 cents.

posted by 17448127 on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Not my favorite

    I heard of this book in an article about how it was self-published. Read it out of curiosity and I can see why it was rejected by publishing houses. The characters never came to life for me, and I found the plot predictable and not too interesting.

    However, I've read books by established authors that weren't any better. I think Darcie Chan could be very successful in this genre, especially with help from a good editor.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    All the 3 and 2 star reviews are spot on. but it doesn't deserve

    All the 3 and 2 star reviews are spot on.
    but it doesn't deserve only one star,
    The author does have some writing talent.
    but I got really sick of Mary's lame anxiety,
    and the Father stealing spoons was just annoying:
    if he'd done it impulsively,maybe, but he premeditates it to
    the point that he sews secret pockets inside
    his jacket sleeves? oh please, Spare Me!!

    the flipping back and forth in time wasn't
    the best way to write this, and the story does drag in places.
    the different subplots really didn't mesh well enough, sometimes
    I felt like I was reading two different books entirely.

    the conflicts were always solved prematurely and too easily,
    they mostly solved themselves, and revealing all the secrets
    at the end just kind of felt like a cheap way to keep the
    suspense. but hey it was 99 cents.
    I do not know how this book got so many 5 star reviews...
    Darcie must really have a LOT of friends.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    not worth the time to read

    To simplistic, to repetative, characters had no depth. Author tried for a plot twist at the end but it felt unrealistic. I skimmed. A lot.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Boring

    Very predictable and boring. I really thought this would be a good book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Just ok

    No heavy reading here. My advice would be to save your money but it was not horrible. Had some interesting elements.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No rave whatsoever!

    Actually boring in many sections. The priest would have been subject to gossip in any other small community with all the time he spent at the recluse's house, but of course that didn't happen in this book. It was not realistic. The end was poorly executed with the priest admonishing her past sisters-in-law for abandoning her all throughout her life. The news about Daisy conveyed at a town meeting was way too impersonal and tactless. Not enough thought went into this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Lifetime Channel Cr@p

    Predictable, embarrassingly sappy, unbelievable. Female characters are silly weak simps and Hollywood ending so saccharin I nearly gagged. No character development. Sorry, I like my reads with a little more meat on them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Not bad, not great

    I usually read memoirs, but this story sounded interesting, so I tried it. It was getting good but about 2/3 of the way through it started to lose my interest. I did finish it and it was okay, but a little fluffy for my taste.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Simple

    The story is interesting in plot, but the writing is simplistic. The characters have inconsistent personalities, the occassional cuss word that's thrown in seems out of place or odd, and the plot is extremely predictable. I came to the conclusion that it's something that can please you if you're into light reading, but if Diana Gabaldon is your favorite writer, this is going to drag and feel like a "B" movie with very odd characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Wish I Had Read More Reviews

    This book was lame and the writing was poor. Not to mention that people don't normally act this way.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Not

    Did not care for this book. Not really a believable story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Very boring

    I have no idea why people liked this book. I am glad it only cost me .99 but I do regret the time I wasted reading it. It was very boring and super cheesy. All the desriptions about food fantasies and cops who steal underwear and priests who steal spoons was pretty silly to me and it felt like the author was just trying stretch the story out to make this a real book instead of some readers digest short story. Do not wasteyour time with this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Okay

    This book was just okay. Ending left some subplots unfinished. Read only if you have nothing else to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Well the Price Was Right

    Sorry this one just did not catch my interest. I read more than a few pages hoping that this book would spark my interest but I finally gave up. For some reason or other I just wasn't pulled into the story. It was like waiting for the other shoe to drop but it never did. Fortunately I only paid 99 cents for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Just ok

    I am glad it only cost me .99 as I struggled to finish this book. I found it all very preditable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Sappy

    Ugh! Thought it would never end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Boring - predictable

    I couln't get into this book I found that I just skimmed to the end. There was no excitement to this book that made you want to read it from cover to cover. I skimmed through to the end in hopes I hadn't predicted the books ending from the first 20 pages, but no.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Not good

    I found the peripheral characters dull and had a difficult time "caring" about their lives. They felt like filler material that was included to lengthen the book and keep it from being just a short story. It felt like the underlying moral of the story was preachy and forced. Glad I only paid 1.99 or else I would have been more annoyed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Way too "fluffy" for me

    Started out good but turned out very simple and silly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Cloying

    If you're okay with a sweet-tea heroine, you may enjoy this. I didn't.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6