Customer Reviews for

Millicent Min, Girl Genius

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    High IQ Is A Pain

    This book is about an 11 year old girl name Millicent. She is only 11 years old and has a really high IQ for her age. She's 11 and going to senior year in high school. AH-MAZING! She had no friends,well except for one but that didn't turn out to well. The only friends she used to have was her grandma. She found a friend but she messed up. She didn't tell her the truth. I think Millicent is awesome and highly confident and happy with the life she lives so she's like a star in my world. I loved this book because it was so descriptive and it was written in diary form. It seemed like a real person something that happens in real life and not just a story in a book. You should read this book. its AWESOME and it just shows to say that sometimes when you don't tell someone something maybe its not because of the content but because of the fact that you didn't tell them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy to relate to

    Lisa Yee makes Millie easy to relate to, so through her bad mistakes, friendship, and lies, you stick with her and root her through it the whole time. This book can relate to the every day life of a pre-teen (which is why it's so easy for them to relate to it), and so can the writing style, and the voice of this book. I read this book a few years ago, and it was so memorable, I'm still in love with it! The author's writing style also contributes to the quality of this book, and makes it flow easily. This book is definitely a must read for people looking to stop worrying about their lives, or just plain relax and have a good read. I recommend this book to all ages! This book is so great, I feel as though I still didn't do it justice in describing how great it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    READ THIS BOOK!!!!

    11 year old Millicent Min is in high school, and is taking a college class. In this book the author tells a story about a young girl who knows just about everything. She¿s tutoring, playing volleyball, and other things her mom is making her do to be more social. The author does a marvelous job of grasping the readers, around the ages of 10-14, into the book. The author, Lisa Yee, carefully wrote this book so pre-teens and young adults could comprehend it. She made the information easy to understand, but some of the content has some big words in it to express the main characters thoughts and feelings. Because the author uses a serious and realistic tone, readers could make this book seem like everyday life. She also uses a little bit of humor. Some of the chapters may seem a little boring at first because of the tone and emotions from that author. Though this book has great sentence structure, it still has some words that you may not know. This book is presented fairly. It includes plenty of information, even the exact date and place. It is organized very well. She also stays on topic which is a great thing to do. Readers will love this book and may also relate to some of the characters and events. It teaches a lesson to young readers. The lesson is that you should treat everybody the same no matter how smart or dumb they are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    8th graders loved the book!

    My 8th grade s loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    Super Good!!!!

    Millecent Min is such a interesting book and i felt a little bad for her at times too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2008

    Millicent Min Review

    This is the best book i have read!! it compares to what it feels like to be left out which i have felt and it is very funny and exciting, keep making more of these kinds Lisa Yee!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    GREAT BOOK!

    this book is great! i read it in my 5th grade class and loved it! i would recommend it to 10-12 year olds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2007

    Very Good

    I loved this book, after I started reading it, I couldnt put it down! I recommend this book to mostly kids 4-7, and even 8. A really, really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    Awsome!

    I read this when I was in fourth grade! I loved it so much!!! Well I think it is ment to be for 4 th grade through 7th grade! I t is one outstanding book! I loved it then and I still love it now! It is one of my favorite books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2006

    OUT STANDING!!!

    This book is really good. You should buy it!!!!!! I read it for my bookclub, after that I urge my mom to buy it for me... Now i read it over and over again... BUY IT!!! IT IS WORTH YOUR MONEY!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2006

    This book is AWESOME!

    Millicent wasn't worried what other people thought which makes her soo outstanding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2006

    ~Kats Opinion~

    I think this book would interest the minds of a 5th,6th,or7th grader. Millicent Min is an 11 year old genius, who just finished her junior year in high school. During her summer she takes a college poetry summer class just for fun. Her parents then enroll her on a volleyball team, because they have been told that Millie has to enjoy her childhood and not keep her face stuffed in books or homework. So when she goes to volleyball practice she meets a girl named Emily. She doesnt want to tell Emily her IQ because then she thinks she would think shes a 'GEEK'. So Millie has to lie to her 'BEST' friend,enjoy volleyball, study for school, and take the advice from her friend/grandmother, Maddie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    It just shows how determined someone is!

    I bet the only reason why people don't like this book is because they don't make perfect grades and think that anyone who does are just posers. Well I used to be like that until I read this book, I mean think about it is about one determined girl trying to go somewhere in her life. I think we should all take a leaf out of her book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    Milicent Min Is Mindblowing!

    Milicent Min Has A Great Personality. It is actually amazing how she is in the grade that is as same as her age. This is an book which people should buy. It can tell you how it is life when you go to grades higher than people your age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2005

    Hilarious Read

    This book was hilarious front to back. I have read it a bijillion times and plan to read it a bijillion more. A interesting plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2005

    Smart Book!

    I read this book twice and it was fun to read! Millie can make you mad, but you still like her anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2004

    Sheer Genius!

    I read this book and thought it was great. I was glad when she finally found a friend. I think this book is inspiring to take chances and make friends on matter what. I love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2004

    You have to read this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I thought the book was really good. I thoungt I could really relate to the main chacter in some ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2004

    This book is awesome!

    This is my new all-time favorite book. I could relate to a lot of things in this book such as being Chinese.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    Smart and Funny Book!

    I loved this book! I'm an adult and it brought me right back to my childhood. The pain of growing up and the humiliations of school. But what really made this book great was the humor. While I felt bad for Millicent (who's a genius) and her attempts to act 'normal', I couldn't help but laugh at her trials and tribulations!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2