Customer Reviews for

Millie's Fling

Average Rating 4
( 1744 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(546)

4 Star

(629)

3 Star

(326)

2 Star

(124)

1 Star

(119)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Jill Mansell is my new favorite author!

I have to confess that I am a big fan of Brit Chick Lit. I've read everything that Sophie Kinsella has written and loved them all (although some of the Madeline Wickham books weren't quite to my liking) still, I was bummed when I finished her latest book (Twenties Girl...
I have to confess that I am a big fan of Brit Chick Lit. I've read everything that Sophie Kinsella has written and loved them all (although some of the Madeline Wickham books weren't quite to my liking) still, I was bummed when I finished her latest book (Twenties Girl) and was wondering who I could read until her next book. I stumbled onto Jill Mansell through an Amazon recommendation. I've now read three of her books and have found each one of them to be as funny and endearing as Sophie's books. If you like Sophie Kinsella, you will like Jill Mansell.

posted by pcdrake on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

You (Usually) Get What You Pay For

This book was free & worth every penny I paid.

posted by catwak on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1747 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 88
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Jill Mansell is my new favorite author!

    I have to confess that I am a big fan of Brit Chick Lit. I've read everything that Sophie Kinsella has written and loved them all (although some of the Madeline Wickham books weren't quite to my liking) still, I was bummed when I finished her latest book (Twenties Girl) and was wondering who I could read until her next book. I stumbled onto Jill Mansell through an Amazon recommendation. I've now read three of her books and have found each one of them to be as funny and endearing as Sophie's books. If you like Sophie Kinsella, you will like Jill Mansell.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    British Chick Lit at it's best

    Millie's Fling is Jill Mansell's latest North American release from Sourcebooks.

    Millie Brady is just trying to figure out how to avoid what she thinks may be a marriage proposal from Neil, when she spots a woman standing near to the edge of a cliff. She can't be thinking of....Millie hops out of the car and runs to the woman. Author Orla Hart was indeed thinking of jumping, but Millie's intervention changes her mind. Orla is so taken with Millie that she decides to make her next novel reality based. Millie's reality that is - with the names changed of course. And Orla just might help the plot along a little bit.....

    Tangled love lives, missed opportunities and signals, mistaken cues and Millie's job as a rollerskating gorillagram all combine to create a wonderfully charming, humorous and absolutely delightful tale. We know what's going on (or not as the case may be) and the plot pieces fall neatly into place by the end, but it is the ride (read) there that is so much fun.

    Mansell has created yet another warm, wonderful lead character in Millie. She is quirky, endearing and someone you would love to have as a friend.

    The supporting cast is no less appealing. Everyone knows someone just like Millie's best friend Hester - not quite content with what she has until it's too late. Millie's ex-employers - the couple that do everything together had me laughing out loud. Lothario Lucas turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Being a fan of all things British, I instantly had a mental image once Lawrence Llewellyn Bowen was used as a reference. I enjoyed all the references, although one left me stymied. Jill is a MEND a combo of mate and friend?

    This is a great read that will have you laughing out loud and wishing you lived in Newquay with Millie and her friends. Fans of chick lit - if you haven't read Mansell yet - what are you waiting for!?

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    very cute

    The cover says you will not be able to get a thing done untill you have finished this book, and it is true. Mansell is a very creative, whitty author and this book was an easy, delightful read. I choose this book on a whim because the cover sparkles and was not disappointed. I am looking forward to reading more by Mansell.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    New to Romance Novels

    I have never really read any romance novels, until I read the Twilight Saga. I stumbled onto Jill Mansell's Millie's Fling because I got it for free. I thought I would read it and see what I thought and like the Twilight books, I was unable to put it down. Mind you Ms. Mansell's books are NOTHING like the Twilight Saga and I love Ms. Mansell's books even more!

    She is creative and heartwarming with just enough humor to keep you laughing and craving more balanced with your heart strings being tugged at.

    I love the fact that each book has more than one story to tell and that they all revolve around friendship and love. She is a fab writer and its nice to get out of the country when you read! I've fallen for England because of her books and have read about 15 or so books. I highly recommend them for sheer escape and relaxation.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Millie's Fling was an enjoyable story, but I did think Millie and Hester were rather flighty. I was often bemused by their antics. The actions that they undertook frequently were quite odd to me. It didn't seem as if they considered anything in a logical manner. Even so, I did like the story and the characters.

    P.S. This is the same review I submitted to GoodReads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Adorable

    Fun quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Finally........

    ......i found the best and cutest romance ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I recommend this to everybody looking for a cute read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Fun read

    If you are looking for a fun read I can recommend this one.. Lighthearted and enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    great book

    Great book. I will download more Jill Mansell books now. Couldn't put the nook down. I just could not wait to see what Millie was going to get into next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good love story that you could hardly put down!

    Millie lives with her best friend Hester. Hester's boyfriend left Newquay so he could work as a chef. Millie gets dumped by her boyfriend so she decides to quit dating men and stay celibate. Millie and Hesteer end up finding Hugh Emerson's lost wallet. Millie finds a picture of Hugh and his wife Louisa in Hugh's wallet, Hester talks Millie into calling Hugh and to do a joke on the phone when she calls him. Millie calls Hugh and says that he has been cheating on his wife and that he got Millie pregnant. Hugh gets upset because he did not cheat on his wife and that his wife died. He asks Millie how she got his number and she says that she found his wallet and that his phone number was on his drivers license. Millie does another joke call to Hugh and lies about there being a crossword puzzle she cannot figure out and that she needs Hugh's help. Hugh recognizes that this is the same person that called about his missing wallet. Hugh asks Millie if she wants to have a drink with him as friends not as lovers. Millie decides to go with Hugh for a drink. Millie and Hugh end up seeing each other at a party, bar, and beach. Millie and Hugh end up falling for each other and decide to get together. Hester's boyfriend Nat comes back to Newquay to be with Hester forever.

    I loved this book. I thought the love story was interesting and I liked the characters. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes love stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    You (Usually) Get What You Pay For

    This book was free & worth every penny I paid.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommended

    Best book I have read in long time. It was funny, the characters were believable and likable. I really enjoyed it and look forward to reading more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    Picked this up and finished within a week. Love the story line. Will definitely read more books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Entertaining read

    Entertaining read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    GentlenRomance

    Not a bur ing love story but quite entwrtaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Pretty good read

    Enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Awesome

    It has taken me forever to read this book. I got it as a freeby, but after reading it, I will definitely be reading more from this author. This story constantly surprised me, and had me laughing as well. A truly great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    A fast fun read

    Another fun story by Jill Mansell. She never fails to make me laugh out loud while still enjoying a good romance with interesting characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Just as expected!

    Jill Mansell has turned into one of my favorite authors. Millie's Fling was cute, funny and once again Mansell created super lovable , quirky characters w/ all kinds of crazy things happening to them. This is another great read that will make you smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Fun, fluffy romance

    Sometimes a woman just needs a bit of a fluffy romance and this delightful, little thing fit the bill perfectly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1747 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 88