Customer Reviews for

Millie's Fling

Average Rating 4
( 1748 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(547)

4 Star

(630)

3 Star

(327)

2 Star

(124)

1 Star

(120)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Jill Mansell is my new favorite author!

I have to confess that I am a big fan of Brit Chick Lit. I've read everything that Sophie Kinsella has written and loved them all (although some of the Madeline Wickham books weren't quite to my liking) still, I was bummed when I finished her latest book (Twenties Girl...
I have to confess that I am a big fan of Brit Chick Lit. I've read everything that Sophie Kinsella has written and loved them all (although some of the Madeline Wickham books weren't quite to my liking) still, I was bummed when I finished her latest book (Twenties Girl) and was wondering who I could read until her next book. I stumbled onto Jill Mansell through an Amazon recommendation. I've now read three of her books and have found each one of them to be as funny and endearing as Sophie's books. If you like Sophie Kinsella, you will like Jill Mansell.

posted by pcdrake on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

You (Usually) Get What You Pay For

This book was free & worth every penny I paid.

posted by catwak on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 327 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Millie's Fling was an enjoyable story, but I did think Millie and Hester were rather flighty. I was often bemused by their antics. The actions that they undertook frequently were quite odd to me. It didn't seem as if they considered anything in a logical manner. Even so, I did like the story and the characters.

    P.S. This is the same review I submitted to GoodReads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Just OK

    This book was ok. I couldn't keep my interest for long. Went on forever. I kept looking to see how many more pages I had left. Glad was for free. I won't purchase any of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Kinda boring

    Kinda boring and predictable. Glad it was a free friday book. quite an unrealistic story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Too slow

    I usually get through a book in about a week. I've been reading this one for over a month & I still can't bring myself to finish it. The story line is cute but get to the point already!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Cute

    A sweet, funny book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cute

    Cute%2C+fun+read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Cute but Predictable

    This was a Free Friday book otherwise I probably would not have read it. Very predictable in plot and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Fun, but not the best of its kind

    Since I love Sophie Kinsella and Helen Fielding, this seemed made to order. It fit the mold pretty well, and was somewhat amusing, but it tried too hard. I felt like the author was trying to be witty in every sentence and line of dialogue and it was just too much. Because there were too many of them, the witticisms just fell flat after a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Fun read

    A fun, light story in the style of Jane Green or Sophie Kinsella. A great free Friday selection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    Delightful

    I am not a fan of romance novels. I find them too predictable. This one however had me laughing out loud. A good summer read. Take it to the beach with you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    A Fun Read

    I really enojoyed this book. It started to slow down toward the end of the book and the author kept using the same phrases more and more as the book came to a close which was a mood breaker for me. But all in all I really like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    good read

    Heartwarming, sweet, funny. Jill is becoming one of my favorites. Her humor is just delightful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Mediocre book

    Very long drawn out storyline! Kind of boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Good but.....

    I really liked this book except the ending was awful! Everything worked out ok I just think the author could have expanded a bit more rather then just abruptly ending! Dissipointed...unless there is a sequel in the works....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Well turned out better than expected.

    The first chapter grabbed my attention then it dropped off for several chapters. I found myself wondering why I was still reading and when was everything going to come together. But I stuck it out and was delighted with the story by the end and the characters. Didn't get all the British slang but found it to be very funny. Overall I enjoyed reading this. And hey it was Free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Fun and lighthearted

    This was a fun story with a happy ending. The writing is entertaining and funny. It is a successfully integrated narrative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    me

    I really enjoyed this book especially since it was free!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good

    this book was good, although the storyline dragged for while in the middle... not a huge fan of the ending but i liked it for the most part

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    funny

    easy read esp if you are from the uk. not sure if all the funny bits 'translate'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Light, fun, easy read!

    I really enjoyed this book, all of the characters were great. It was a fun read perfect for Summer, sipping on cocktails poolside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 327 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17