Customer Reviews for

Millie's Fling

Average Rating 4
( 1744 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(546)

4 Star

(629)

3 Star

(326)

2 Star

(124)

1 Star

(119)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Jill Mansell is my new favorite author!

I have to confess that I am a big fan of Brit Chick Lit. I've read everything that Sophie Kinsella has written and loved them all (although some of the Madeline Wickham books weren't quite to my liking) still, I was bummed when I finished her latest book (Twenties Girl...
I have to confess that I am a big fan of Brit Chick Lit. I've read everything that Sophie Kinsella has written and loved them all (although some of the Madeline Wickham books weren't quite to my liking) still, I was bummed when I finished her latest book (Twenties Girl) and was wondering who I could read until her next book. I stumbled onto Jill Mansell through an Amazon recommendation. I've now read three of her books and have found each one of them to be as funny and endearing as Sophie's books. If you like Sophie Kinsella, you will like Jill Mansell.

posted by pcdrake on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

You (Usually) Get What You Pay For

This book was free & worth every penny I paid.

posted by catwak on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 629 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Fun read

    If you are looking for a fun read I can recommend this one.. Lighthearted and enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    great book

    Great book. I will download more Jill Mansell books now. Couldn't put the nook down. I just could not wait to see what Millie was going to get into next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Entertaining read

    Entertaining read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    GentlenRomance

    Not a bur ing love story but quite entwrtaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Pretty good read

    Enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    A fast fun read

    Another fun story by Jill Mansell. She never fails to make me laugh out loud while still enjoying a good romance with interesting characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Fun, fluffy romance

    Sometimes a woman just needs a bit of a fluffy romance and this delightful, little thing fit the bill perfectly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    What a fun READ! Millie is a blast and so is her roommate and fr

    What a fun READ! Millie is a blast and so is her roommate and friend, Hester! I was laughing right up to the end. There were some serious parts, but on a whole, this is a fun, cute, and entertaining book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book.

    This was not the great novel but it was an interesting and fun story. I actually enjoyed this story. It was so good that I will read other books by this auhor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Brilliant Brit Chick Lit!

    I do not venture into the Chick-Lit category often...every now and then, I'll get in a mood and like a good chick flick, I just need some chick-lit in my life to lighten my heart and my mood. Millie's Fling was a B&N Free Friday a while back, and while I stockpiled on the freebies, I just now got around to read it. Not disappointed at all. This book was so fun and fast paced, I found myself unable to put it down at times! It was like Bridget Jones' Diary meets Mr. Bean (and funny Millie refers to herself as Mr. Bean at some point in the story!). If you are looking for a quick, light read about romance (or lack there of), friendships, and sour turns in life, this is the perfect book to get you through

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    Millie’s Fling by new to me author Jill Mansell delivers a

    Millie’s Fling by new to me author Jill Mansell delivers a fresh, funny and enjoyable story about a very likeable girl looking for love and finding it in the most unexpected way. This story is set in England, which pleases the anglophile in me. When an author writes a great lead character that the reader can relate to and empathize with, it forms a bond with the story. When an author writes great supporting characters, it enhances the story all the more with flavor and detail and takes the reader on a journey that they don’t want to come back from. I felt that way while reading Millie’s Fling. I didn’t want it to end and was cheering for a happy ending for Hester, Orla, Lucas, Con and Millie’s parents.

    The only thing that didn’t work for me is the book ended a little too abruptly for me with many loose ends for a lot of the characters. After connecting with so many of them throughout the story, not having the closure on them at the end left me with a feeling of unfinished business.

    I will be looking for more of Jill Mansell’s books to add to my Nook. As a long time fan of the chick-lit genre, I wish I had found her sooner. If you are looking for some light reading that tickles your funny bone while entertaining you, look no further and pick up Millie’s Fling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Hilarious and heart-warming.

    I found myself thinking I would quite like to live Millie's life. Except I could never make a living as a singing, roller-skating gorilla.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    This was the first Jill Mansell book I read. Like someone else s

    This was the first Jill Mansell book I read. Like someone else said it starts off a little slow. Took me forever to get through the first few chapters but once I got started I couldn't put it down. very cute story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Like!

    I really like Jill Mansell. This was a fun read set in England.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Recommended book. Jill Mansell is great!

    I really enjoyed this book. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes authors such as Jennifer Weiner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Slow start

    It was a slow start for me but picked up pretty quickly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Soo good

    This was my favorite book so far. I really enjoy reading her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Fast and Enjoyable Read

    Although based in Britain and has all the flair of British terms, this novel is still a great read for an American. Had to keep reading to find the truth of the characters and how each of their lives would unfold. Laughed hysterically through one of the character's most embarrassing moments. Truly a book that is hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Do it! I mean, you should read it.

    I really liked this book. It's charming, funny, and quirky. My only complaint is that the main characters take long to become an item, and it was a bit rushed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 629 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32