Customer Reviews for

Millie's Fling

Average Rating 4
( 1747 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(546)

4 Star

(630)

3 Star

(327)

2 Star

(124)

1 Star

(120)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Jill Mansell is my new favorite author!

I have to confess that I am a big fan of Brit Chick Lit. I've read everything that Sophie Kinsella has written and loved them all (although some of the Madeline Wickham books weren't quite to my liking) still, I was bummed when I finished her latest book (Twenties Girl...
I have to confess that I am a big fan of Brit Chick Lit. I've read everything that Sophie Kinsella has written and loved them all (although some of the Madeline Wickham books weren't quite to my liking) still, I was bummed when I finished her latest book (Twenties Girl) and was wondering who I could read until her next book. I stumbled onto Jill Mansell through an Amazon recommendation. I've now read three of her books and have found each one of them to be as funny and endearing as Sophie's books. If you like Sophie Kinsella, you will like Jill Mansell.

posted by pcdrake on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

You (Usually) Get What You Pay For

This book was free & worth every penny I paid.

posted by catwak on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 630 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 32
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Fun romance

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Really more like 3 1/2 stars

    This is one of those books where you wish you could give a half star. In any case, I gave it four stars even though that feels iffy. I really liked the story. It has and honesty and hope to it that kept me reading even though there were a couple of times I could have put it down.

    The story itself isn't what is wrong. There are a couple of jarring point of view changes that left me behind a couple of times. Better transitions would have improved this story a great deal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Enjoyable

    An easy, fun read. Lovable characters. Allowed me to put the stress of my days behind me, which is what I like in a book. I recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Fun read

    I had no expectations coming in to this book, and once I started into it, I didn't want to put it down. Others have given you a synopsis, so I'll just say it's a quick, easy-flowing read - and actually makes me want to read more of Mansell's titles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Great Read

    Loved this book, could NOT put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    enjoyable

    Easy read, nice story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    A mix-good romance but slow and many unnecessaries

    I thought sometimes this book had too many things going on. It had a lot of characters, some I didn't care for, and the ones that I did care about didn't have enough time or material for further development. The author tried to wrap up endings for each person, sometimes making them seem too abrupt and leaving me feeling somewhat unsatisfied. I didn't find myself laughing out loud throughout the book, maybe the author was trying to hard. I enjoyed the main characters and their story, which was very sweet and cute. I consider it more a love story than a romantic comedy. Maybe the author didn't intend for it to be this way, but I would still pick up her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Summer read

    Good summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Fun!

    An easy funny read that will keep you entertained - start to finish!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Great Summer Read

    Entertaining, lots of humor. A great lighthearted book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Loved it

    Another chick flick worthy book. A fun and light read. Characters are all loveable. It just made me want to read more books from that author and i rarely read books like this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Good summer read.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful Read

    This light, airy book is fun reading. The main character reminded me a little bit of the Bridget Jones movies. Clumsy but adorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful Fun!

    Normally a fan of true crime/mystery, I tried this book thanks to Free Fridays. I'm in the middle of it, and I am enjoying this fun, light-hearted, humorous read about two modern young women with the same feelings and concerns as everyone else.

    Will definitely read more by Jill Mansell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Great Beach Read for the summer

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a fun quick read, the characters were engaging and the plot was entertaining. This would be a great book to pick up for the airlplane or a summer vacation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    Fun Read

    This is a great beach novel. The characters are fun and full of life. It has a few twist and turns in it that will surprise readers. I can not wait to read another book by Jill Mansell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Great read

    I really enjoyed reading it. I did see lots of parts at which she could have ended the story, but I have to say that I am glad that it did not end too soon. It was a differnr read since it was based in modern dsy England so some of the phrases and items were a little different but its ok that is what Google is for. Still take the time out to enjoy this romance it is a GREAT READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Great Read!

    Funny, smart, well-written! I would've finished it long ago but life kept getting in the way. If you liked Bridget Jones' Diary you'll love 'Millie's Fling'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Cute!

    Different from my normal read- I liked it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 630 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 32