Customer Reviews for

Million-Dollar Throw

Average Rating 4.5
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A great writer at his best!

Nate Brodie is the star quarterback of his eighth-grade football team,and the world's biggest Tom Brady fan.When Nate goes to buy an autographed Brady football,he enters a contest and wins the chance to throw a pass for one million dollars at halftime of the New England...
Nate Brodie is the star quarterback of his eighth-grade football team,and the world's biggest Tom Brady fan.When Nate goes to buy an autographed Brady football,he enters a contest and wins the chance to throw a pass for one million dollars at halftime of the New England Patriots' Thanksgiving night game.But just when he should be flying high,Nate comes crashing down to Earth.His dad's unemployed,his family may lose their home,and his best friend Abby is slowly going blind.Then his golden throwing arm deserts him.Can Nate overcome adversity?You will find out in this marvelous book.Mike Lupica has done it again.A strong and moving story,beautifully crafted and written,with well-drawn and fully realized
characters.Ignore the age range-adults and kids alike will all enjoy this one!

posted by metfan on November 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

bw3

Book title and author: The Million Dollar Throw by: Mike Lupica
Title of review: The Boy with the Golden Arm
Number of stars (1 to 5): 4 out of 5

The Million Dollar Throw by Mike Lupica. This is a very good book. It¿s the perfect book for middle school boy. Especia...
Book title and author: The Million Dollar Throw by: Mike Lupica
Title of review: The Boy with the Golden Arm
Number of stars (1 to 5): 4 out of 5

The Million Dollar Throw by Mike Lupica. This is a very good book. It¿s the perfect book for middle school boy. Especially if you like football or play football, then this is a book you want to read.

Nate Brodie was your average kid, but when it comes to football he is becomes no averaged kid. He was the star quarter back in the league. Nate and his best friend Abby went to this sport store to see what new things they got. While they were in the store Abby signed Nate up for a contest to make a throw on an NFL field and try to get it through a little hole to win one-million dollars. Now Abby has a problem with her sight, she is completely blind at night and in the future could become blind if she doesn¿t get this very expensive surgery. The money could help Nate¿s parents and Abby.

There aren¿t a lot of characters in this book. The characters are Nate Brodie, Mr. and Mrs. Brodie, Abby, her mom, coach, and Nate¿s teammates. The theme of the book is you can do anything if you believe. The story takes place in Boston, Massachusetts in present day.

The reason I wrote a review on this book is because it is a good book to read. Hopefully from my review I will get more people to read this wonderful book. Also it is a great book for football players. This could change the way people think about football or just the way you think about things in general.

I gave this book four out of five stars. I didn¿t give it five out of five because there were places in the book that could have been better. What I mean by this is that in some places the book was being too descriptive, and in other places it didn¿t describe things enough and would leave you confused. In some parts.

posted by 10268251 on December 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great writer at his best!

    Nate Brodie is the star quarterback of his eighth-grade football team,and the world's biggest Tom Brady fan.When Nate goes to buy an autographed Brady football,he enters a contest and wins the chance to throw a pass for one million dollars at halftime of the New England Patriots' Thanksgiving night game.But just when he should be flying high,Nate comes crashing down to Earth.His dad's unemployed,his family may lose their home,and his best friend Abby is slowly going blind.Then his golden throwing arm deserts him.Can Nate overcome adversity?You will find out in this marvelous book.Mike Lupica has done it again.A strong and moving story,beautifully crafted and written,with well-drawn and fully realized
    characters.Ignore the age range-adults and kids alike will all enjoy this one!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    MIllion-Dollar Throw is a slam dunk

    I must admit we listened to the book on audio tape while going on a trip. It was hilarious and a wonderful life lesson book. It touches on relationships between friends and family members as well as the challenges life can throw you. It's a book ideal for both boys and girls-don't let the cover fool you.

    We highly recco. this book. It's a great winter break read and is most likely in the AR reading programs at schools.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    I love this book

    Aweasome great book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    Great Book for young boys

    I bought this book for my grandson who just turned 11 in December. He had read this book 'Million Dollar Throw" from his school library and really like it and wanted this book for himself. He love this book and wants 2 more of his books that has to do with football. He was so happy that I was able to find him the book in hard copy. I will be purchasing the other 2 books he has out for him.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    bw3

    Book title and author: The Million Dollar Throw by: Mike Lupica
    Title of review: The Boy with the Golden Arm
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4 out of 5

    The Million Dollar Throw by Mike Lupica. This is a very good book. It¿s the perfect book for middle school boy. Especially if you like football or play football, then this is a book you want to read.

    Nate Brodie was your average kid, but when it comes to football he is becomes no averaged kid. He was the star quarter back in the league. Nate and his best friend Abby went to this sport store to see what new things they got. While they were in the store Abby signed Nate up for a contest to make a throw on an NFL field and try to get it through a little hole to win one-million dollars. Now Abby has a problem with her sight, she is completely blind at night and in the future could become blind if she doesn¿t get this very expensive surgery. The money could help Nate¿s parents and Abby.

    There aren¿t a lot of characters in this book. The characters are Nate Brodie, Mr. and Mrs. Brodie, Abby, her mom, coach, and Nate¿s teammates. The theme of the book is you can do anything if you believe. The story takes place in Boston, Massachusetts in present day.

    The reason I wrote a review on this book is because it is a good book to read. Hopefully from my review I will get more people to read this wonderful book. Also it is a great book for football players. This could change the way people think about football or just the way you think about things in general.

    I gave this book four out of five stars. I didn¿t give it five out of five because there were places in the book that could have been better. What I mean by this is that in some places the book was being too descriptive, and in other places it didn¿t describe things enough and would leave you confused. In some parts.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Mike Lupica Million-Dollar Throw

    My 11 1/2 year old grandson, Andrew enjoys sports, especially baseball. This book was very good and kept him reading. Mike Lupica is a favorite author for him, he has read many of his books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    amazing book

    Loved it! Shows how everybody, (even if you think they are the coolest or the smartest kid) has their own story. It also shows that you usually only get one shot at being the best at what you love. Even athletes go through hardships in life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Detailed

    It goes very in depth. I dont read much and yet, i would open to read a few pages and i end up reading a few chapters. It reminds me of when i play football and it gives you that feeling you get when you make a touchdown. It will make your heart race in anticipation! Great for teens in school sports! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    This book wasn’t very good, it got boring in the middle o

    This book wasn’t very good, it got boring in the middle of the book but the rest was alright. I should of known not to read it because the other Mike Lupica books were pretty bad, like heat and travel team. The first thirty pages were ok but the middle was not good but the last part was ok. I guess it wasn’t that big of a mystery that he was going to make the throw good

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    This is AMAZING

    I couldn't take my eyes off of this book. It has an amazing storyline that glue you to everysingle word. It really captures what is going on with the econemy and shows passion and support. The ending makes you jump out of your seat with anxioty. Trust me, anyone who understands football and the world will love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Great book

    Nates dad lost his job and now there family is desperate. But can nate change there fortune?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Good

    A great book! I loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Beast

    'Brady' is beast bro!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Awesome

    Best book in the world if havent read its a must read!!! :)
    Nook readrler that is awesome

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    this is a good book check it out

    The Million Dollar Throw was the best book i ever red

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Very Good Read

    I am 14 years old and I am not a huge fan of reading, but I just could not put this book down. Thank you Mike Lupica!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another hit by Mike Lupica

    Another great read by Mike Lupica. Eighth-grader Brady is following in his idol Tom Brady's footsteps, quarterbacking his team to stardom. Life should be good, but his dad las lost his job and his best friend, Abby, is losing her eyesight. When Brady is selected to compete in a contest at a Patriots' game, attempting to throw a football through a target to win $1 million, he thinks winning the contest will help out both his family and Abby. But the pressure becomes overwhelming and Brady can't get his ball to connect with a receiver. Middle school boys will enjoy this book, as will girl athletes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    million dollar throw!

    this book is one of the best books that i have ever read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Anonymous

    Beast book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Ok

    I was very disappointed with this book. I found the ending very predictable, and thought that his whole situation was unreal. It was an extreamly slow read, and the worst Mike Lupica book i have ever read. It was just too fake and did not mirror real life. Mike Lupica is a very good author, but he tried to make this book something it is not, intresting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11