Customer Reviews for

A Million Little Pieces

Average Rating 4
( 1023 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(584)

4 Star

(243)

3 Star

(84)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(65)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A Million Little Pieces

A Million Little Pieces by James Frey is an inspiring book about one man's journey through a rehab clinic for addiction to alcohol since he was 10, cocaine since he was 12, and many other substances since, such as PCP, glue, acid, mushrooms, meth, and pills. A Million L...
A Million Little Pieces by James Frey is an inspiring book about one man's journey through a rehab clinic for addiction to alcohol since he was 10, cocaine since he was 12, and many other substances since, such as PCP, glue, acid, mushrooms, meth, and pills. A Million Little Pieces is the story of James' journey to get, and stay, sober.
When 23-year-old James Frey first arrives at the treatment facility he has a hole through his cheek, his four front teeth knocked out, his nose broken and his eyes almost completely swollen shut. He woke up this way on a plane with no idea where he was going or how he had gotten there. He is covered in spit, snot, vomit, sweat, urine and blood and can barely remember anything about the past few weeks. When his parents pick him up at the Chicago airport he finally allows them to take him to Hazelden treatment center in Minnesota.
As you get through the book you learn that this is not the typical bad life, bad parents situation; Frey was raised in warm, loving home by an affluent family. His family had no idea of his actions, and he did a good job hiding it from them. During the book he sometimes seems normal and sometimes the farthest thing from it. The story is captivating and gripping, the kind you can't put down.
I would recommend this book to anyone in high school and above. There is language and violence, so if you have a hard time with gory or curel situations and dialogue this probably isn't the book for you. It is an honest and straightforward memoir, one of the best I've read in a long time. If you were looking for a meaningful book you'll want to read more than once, I would say check out A Million Little Pieces by James Frey.

posted by 1401324 on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I read this book and was suspicious of it authenticity immediate

I read this book and was suspicious of it authenticity immediately. It was well written, but seemed exaggerated and as we now know, the author lied about much of the details in the book. I would not recommend this book to anyone with common sense.

posted by scrappyqueen on June 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    I read this book and was suspicious of it authenticity immediate

    I read this book and was suspicious of it authenticity immediately. It was well written, but seemed exaggerated and as we now know, the author lied about much of the details in the book. I would not recommend this book to anyone with common sense.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    This is the worst book I ever suffered thru... I kept hoping it

    This is the worst book I ever suffered thru... I kept hoping it would be better, but it did not. Save your money. Don't waste your time.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Not true

    This writer has admitted that a lot og things that happened in the book, didn't. The entire dental scene is fiction

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    Graphic

    Quite graphic with the withdrawl symptoms. If vomit grosses you out this is not the book for you. I had to stop half way through this and read something lighter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Terrible writing

    No quotation marks; most sentences begin with nouns or pronouns! This book is a piiece of crap! And no airline would let someone as messed up as the story character get on their plane! Totally unbelievable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Liar Liar -- Pants on fire.  Those are the words that should sta

    Liar Liar -- Pants on fire.  Those are the words that should start this exaggerated tale.  My guess is that he attended speaker meetings for months only to garner the best "stories" he could string together into one neverending story of BS.  Don't bother yourself with reading this.  

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Not worth it.

    I was in the of reading this book when I found out that the author lied abiut most of the book. A good story but not authentic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Not Beliveable

    I have a 13 year old and I would NOT let her read this.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    It made me "sad" and its a "pitty party" #su

    It made me "sad" and its a "pitty party" #sucks

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Sucked

    This book was horrible, completely riduculous. He spends the whole book talking about how awesome and cool he is. Waste of time!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    NEVER DO DRUGS !!!!!!!!!!!! ;()

    Got that drugs will destroy yor hole life they will also kill you

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    Not worth my time

    I wasn't going to read this book after the whole Oprah thing. However, after several years on the shelf I thought I would give it a try. I'm sorry I did. The writing style of Mr. Frey is Choppy and Annoying. Chopping and Annoying. Choppy and Annoying. (The entire book is written like that). And to be honest, the whole plot seems too "big" to be believable. The only reason I stuck around was to see how it ended. It didn't - it just went away. What a let down. Don't waste your time or money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    LIES

    This guy confessed the book was a lie. A work of fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    not worth twelve dollars

    i was quite looking fotrward to this, true or not. i was very dissapointed in finding that james writing style was very hard to follow and quite slow. i only got through the first 100 pages before realizing i did not want to finish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    fraud

    this book was revealed as a fraud, be wary before purchase

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Horrible

    I was so looking forward to this read, didn't care if it was true or not. I was so disappointed. I didn't like his style of writing, thought it was terrible and found it terribly unbelievable. Really don't see what everyone liked about it. I suffered through to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    This is NOT a true story....

    I wanted to read this book and then found out from a friend that he conned Oprah. She added it to her book club reads and then found out he was lying about his drug addiction. This link talks more about it: http://www.thesmokinggun.com/archive/0104061jamesfrey1.html

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    James Frayker!

    The books is a big let down. When I opened this book, I expected an emoptional roller coaster filled book, but all i found was a pitiless, unenjoyable tea cup ride that i waited two hours in line for. I do not reccomend this book. James Frayker is hypocrticical and pokes fun at fake crack addicts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2006

    too bad you can't pick zero stars

    This is the worst piece of junk ever! I got sucked in because it was sold as a true story, and the more I read, the less I believed. None of it rings true, from the beautiful crack-whore, to the hole in the cheek, to the oral surgery without anesthesia. Turns out, NONE of it is true and the author was forced to admit that. Find real literature! Open your brain to the billions of well-written novels out there. Start with Twain, Vonnegut, Salinger and work your way up to James, Hawthorne, Eliot, but please, I'm begging you, PLEASE don't waste your time or money on this nonsense!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2006

    The Guy Who Conned Oprah and ME!

    I bought this book after seeing this guy on Oprah. Now I discover that the majority of the book is fiction, so any emotional connection I felt with the main character has vanished. As one customer reviewer wrote 'you will feel this can't be true' - well, it turns out it isn't true. I mean come on, he claims he spent 3 months in jail, when it was actually closer to 5 hours!! The utter lack of integrity is staggering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4