Customer Reviews for

A Million Little Pieces

Average Rating 4
( 1019 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(583)

4 Star

(242)

3 Star

(84)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(63)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

A Million Little Pieces

A Million Little Pieces by James Frey is an inspiring book about one man's journey through a rehab clinic for addiction to alcohol since he was 10, cocaine since he was 12, and many other substances since, such as PCP, glue, acid, mushrooms, meth, and pills. A Million L...
A Million Little Pieces by James Frey is an inspiring book about one man's journey through a rehab clinic for addiction to alcohol since he was 10, cocaine since he was 12, and many other substances since, such as PCP, glue, acid, mushrooms, meth, and pills. A Million Little Pieces is the story of James' journey to get, and stay, sober.
When 23-year-old James Frey first arrives at the treatment facility he has a hole through his cheek, his four front teeth knocked out, his nose broken and his eyes almost completely swollen shut. He woke up this way on a plane with no idea where he was going or how he had gotten there. He is covered in spit, snot, vomit, sweat, urine and blood and can barely remember anything about the past few weeks. When his parents pick him up at the Chicago airport he finally allows them to take him to Hazelden treatment center in Minnesota.
As you get through the book you learn that this is not the typical bad life, bad parents situation; Frey was raised in warm, loving home by an affluent family. His family had no idea of his actions, and he did a good job hiding it from them. During the book he sometimes seems normal and sometimes the farthest thing from it. The story is captivating and gripping, the kind you can't put down.
I would recommend this book to anyone in high school and above. There is language and violence, so if you have a hard time with gory or curel situations and dialogue this probably isn't the book for you. It is an honest and straightforward memoir, one of the best I've read in a long time. If you were looking for a meaningful book you'll want to read more than once, I would say check out A Million Little Pieces by James Frey.

posted by 1401324 on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I read this book and was suspicious of it authenticity immediate

I read this book and was suspicious of it authenticity immediately. It was well written, but seemed exaggerated and as we now know, the author lied about much of the details in the book. I would not recommend this book to anyone with common sense.

posted by scrappyqueen on June 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    A Million Little Pieces

    A Million Little Pieces by James Frey is an inspiring book about one man's journey through a rehab clinic for addiction to alcohol since he was 10, cocaine since he was 12, and many other substances since, such as PCP, glue, acid, mushrooms, meth, and pills. A Million Little Pieces is the story of James' journey to get, and stay, sober.
    When 23-year-old James Frey first arrives at the treatment facility he has a hole through his cheek, his four front teeth knocked out, his nose broken and his eyes almost completely swollen shut. He woke up this way on a plane with no idea where he was going or how he had gotten there. He is covered in spit, snot, vomit, sweat, urine and blood and can barely remember anything about the past few weeks. When his parents pick him up at the Chicago airport he finally allows them to take him to Hazelden treatment center in Minnesota.
    As you get through the book you learn that this is not the typical bad life, bad parents situation; Frey was raised in warm, loving home by an affluent family. His family had no idea of his actions, and he did a good job hiding it from them. During the book he sometimes seems normal and sometimes the farthest thing from it. The story is captivating and gripping, the kind you can't put down.
    I would recommend this book to anyone in high school and above. There is language and violence, so if you have a hard time with gory or curel situations and dialogue this probably isn't the book for you. It is an honest and straightforward memoir, one of the best I've read in a long time. If you were looking for a meaningful book you'll want to read more than once, I would say check out A Million Little Pieces by James Frey.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    True Love for a Novel

    Once you're hooked up in a book, you can't stop reading. This is how I felt when reading the book "A Million Little Pieces" by James Frey. I am a very distracted person. It is very difficult for me to engage in a book, but this time it was different. The novel "A Million Little Pieces" is on of the most memorable pieces of writing I've read. When a book stays on your mind, it means that it was great.

    What made me love this book so much? Different aspects such as the perspective, tone, atmosphere and environment that makes such a wonderful piece. Reading and getting into James, the main character's head helps us comprehend what he is going through. The fact that this novel is based on a true story makes it more appealing. His serious tone, shows the reader how serious his story is. He deeply expresses his regrets, tragedies, feelings..etc. Without showing any shame. If I were in his shoes, I couldn't dare tell that story nor publish it. He probably had the courage to do this since he is content with the result, he is alive. Every drug and alcohol addict wants to get out of the road of incorrect choices.

    The novel "A Million Little Pieces" is basically about James Frey's life. He talks about his days in rehab and all those cravings for drugs and alcohol he had during his path to the total withdrawal form those addictions.

    One who is interested in reading about someone's path to success should read it. Seriously, this novel can show you that even if your life is going the wrong way, you can make everything go right if you try.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Raw and real

    Very compelling

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Amazing attention to detail

    Although it seems the author embellished and fabricated the story, it is still worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    ¿A million Little Pieces ¿by James Frey was an all out heart pum

    “A million Little Pieces “by James Frey was an all out heart pumping, and thrilling book.
     Even though this book is fabricated in some areas it does share an inspirational story about a man
     struggling with drugs, while going in and out of rehab.
    Being involved with drugs since the age of 10 this is James’ long and hard struggle to stay clean.
     At the beginning of the book James finds himself on a plane.
     Not completely sure where he’s going, but there’s a whole in his cheek, his nose broken,
    and his eyes where completely swollen shut.
    At the age 23 James finds himself in the Hazelden treatment center in Minnesota
    . As you find out that James life story isn't the typical story of a drug addict.
    He actually had a nice family and childhood, and an overall good upbringing.
    A major message that I feel this story tried to display is that he gave an honest and true perspective
     on the whole situation. He gave true stories and perspective on things that happen every day.
     I do enjoy how in detail the book goes; it seems as if he left nothing out.
     As I was about half way through the book, doing some research I found that some
    of the story was fabricated and if anything that would be the one reason to not read the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2014

    A Million Little Pieces is a very riveting and graphic memoir.  

    A Million Little Pieces is a very riveting and graphic memoir.  James Frey's story is a little disturbing but it's worth the read.  I was inable to put it down. Watching him work through his struggles of his past while also trying to start fresh is intriguing. If you are into the type of book that gives you a warm and fuzzy feeling at the end then don't read this book.  But otherwise I encourage you to read A Million Little Pieces.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Reassembling the puzzle This book, A Million Little Pieces is on

    Reassembling the puzzle
    This book, A Million Little Pieces is one of those books where it’s hard to put down because it is so interesting and fascinating. The author James Frey wrote about his roller coaster life as it started with him as a young adult. James was a drug addict, and alcoholic, and substance abuser and this novel tells his story about what all he had to go through in order to sober up and actually begin taking good steps into his life. 
    When reading this book I thought to myself “wow this is what some people have to go through every day and some are less fortunate with others when receiving help.” It is crazy to think what some people are willing to put themselves through as an “easy way out” of situations. This book was very well written and eye opening as it went into major detail about his life, painted a picture in your mind and was able to pin point specific topics and then come back to them later. The tone James uses is wonderful to me as he isn't trying to make anyone feel bad for him but rather he is trying to help others see what pain he put himself through and that it isn't worth it. Books always become a lot more interesting when they are a true story and one that is set very seriously and really is able to grab your attention. 
    James has a way about his writing that is very appealing to anyone who is a teenager or above. It is difficult to understand how he writes in the first few pages but it all runs more smoothly and it is easier not to lose focus when reading this form of wiring. As I read this book I didn't just read it to read it and get it over with, it kept me hooked and didn't jump around. It followed a nice pattern and told a story the whole time which is usually difficult to do without jumping around to different topics here and there. 
    Overall, I think that James Frey wrote a very astonishing story that is very appealing and keeps one very interested the whole time. It was different to see his style of writing but it also was a writing that was easy to pick up on and made you follow along closer and closer with every sentence. He is a spectacular author and I recommend this book to anyone, as it is very mind opening and a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    A Million Little Pieces by James Frey is a true story of himself

    A Million Little Pieces by James Frey is a true story of himself at the age of 23 trying to overcome his addiction. His has been an alcoholic for ten years and a crack addict for three. When the story starts off his is on an airplane with four front teeth knocked out, a broken nose, a hole through his cheek and zero idea how he got on the plane or where he is going. This memoir goes on and explains the struggles he had to go through during these six weeks in rehab to be able to overcome his unsurvivable addiction. The biggest question of all, does he overcome his addiction or never relapse? A huge theme throughout the story has to do with food and that becomes very apparent at the end. Whenever James starts feeling himself get angry he shoves food down his throat, almost like feeding the addiction but in a sense to get rid of it. At the end, he realizes it’s not only him who does this but the other patients when they start shoving a steak and lobster feast down their throat in a sense of relief. I thought this memoir did an awesome job of putting yourself in someone else’s shoes to see what overcoming in addiction is like. The way James Frey goes into such detail about his experiences almost makes you feel like you are experiencing it with him. At some parts it is very hard to follow because there are no quotations which can make it harder to read and know who is talking. There are also a lot of run of sentences a grammar mistakes, but this shows how throughout the book he fails to follow any sort of rules given to him. If someone was an addict, looking for how absolutely horrible it can be to overcome and addiction but how absolutely possible it is, this book could give them hope. If he stuck through all of it, then anybody can. This book gives anybody in general hope to overcome a challenge. If you really set your mind to it, you can make it happen. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Long and detailed review

    I picked up this book off the shelf at my sister's house. Reading the back, i was very captivated to read it. I am now half through the book and I have to say, what an adventure! Frey uses a very unique way of telling his story. He writes his book in a sort of poem format, with the type in the left alignment. In my opinion, he focused details on alot of the wrong things such as his emotions and not on characters. This factor made my reading experience very confusing since i didnt really know what the characters looked like and how they related to him. Also Frey does not use quotation marks for his dislogue so its kind of a rough ride. But eventually you get the hang out of it. The story has ALOT of swearing in it so i do not recommend it for younger audiences. It also has some breif sexual references here and there. This book is very addicting. There has been many articles and theories written about how unbelievable the plot of this story is, but remember this story takes place in the 80s. This book is actually a very slow read for me because Frey uses alot of run on sentences and fragments to set the scene and atmosphere. I always have to go back and read it twice to understand it. This book also does not have chapters,but kind of sections. I think it is worth getting this book, for the plot and details are great. Have fun reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Definitely recommend!!

    A glimpse into an addicts life both disturbing and educational.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    akatskee@yahoo1.com

    Thats me.so friend me right now when you see this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Good... click here dorothy!

    I think this is a very good book so far... i think the only reason i dont is because the book is so long!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    A Million Little Pieces is extremely captivating and will leave

    A Million Little Pieces is extremely captivating and will leave the reader wanting more. James Frey's unique writing style and complete bluntness throughout the book will keep you reading cover to cover. It starts out with James, the main character, waking up in a plane that he doesn't remember getting on and no clue where he is going. He finds himself covered in vomit, urine, and sweat. On top of that he has a broken nose, a black eye, all of his front teeth are missing and there's a gaping hole where his cheek should be, which he also has no memory of. All he knows is that he is an addict and he is a criminal.
    The rest of the book takes place in the treatment center James was taken to immediately after his arrival. Here he is told that if he continues his destructive lifestyle he will die within the next month. This is not a shock to James considering he has been an alcoholic for the past ten years and a crack addict for the past three, along with using other drugs such as Meth, pills, and acid.
    During his six week stay at the treatment center James comes across a handful of friends that have huge impacts on his life. Without one of his best friends, Leonard, he would not be alive today. James stresses the importance of friendship repeatedly.
    Throughout the book James' perspective and outlook on life changes drastically. It's truly incredible seeing him go from being a cynical jerk to a caring friend. His detailed writing makes you feel as if you are struggling along with him through recovery. James' perseverance is admirable and inspiring.
    I would recommend this book for anyone that's in high school or older and doesn't mind some disturbing events and bad language. If that's not your cup of tea, do not read this book. Also, the entire book is written with no quotation marks and many sentences run together with no punctuation. It's up to the reader to decide if it's more interesting written that way, or if it's distracting. Otherwise, it's just a truthful and straightforward biography of an Alcoholic crack addict's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    The Struggle to Stay Clean James Frey takes you along his endeav

    The Struggle to Stay Clean
    James Frey takes you along his endeavor of rehab in his book A Million Little Pieces. By the age of 23, Frey had already become reliant on alcohol and illicit drugs to survive. These substances were killing him while he was relying on them to survive. He is checked into one of the top rehabilitation centers in America where he struggles day to day to follow the rules. His rebellion towards the system nearly gets him kicked out twice, yet his apparent effort to get clean grants him second opportunities. He is fathered and mentored by other patients on his successful journey through rehab.
    A majority of the book focuses on James’ self reliance. His predisposition to family genetics becomes a viable excuse for the addiction, but he does not accept that reasoning. Frey does not allow the root of his addictions rest on the shoulders of others. Throughout his stay, he is force fed that the twelve steps of AA is the only possibility for him to become sober. The main focus of the twelve steps is to “Let go, and let god.” Due to Frey’s lack of religion, the only way he believes he can stay sober is by his own will. He prides himself throughout the book that the force of a higher power is not going to keep him sober, but the will power to be able to say no will keep him alive.
    Frey tells the story how it actually happened, he doesn’t sugar coat it. With that put into consideration, there could come points in the book when you are rooting against James. At times it appears as if he has no determination to get clean. The overwhelming want to fuel his addiction controls his thoughts and actions. His use of vulgar language keeps you on the edge of your seats, while it may be a little to much for some readers.
    Not everyone enjoys a story about harsh reality, but Frey’s underdog success story makes the book a great read. The odds are greatly against him and his journey to get sober. Many times in the book you are forced to believe that he will relapse and eventually kill himself with his addiction. With the odds so far against him, his ability to say no to his first drink out of rehab makes the whole book worth reading. He takes you through life struggles that thousands are facing everyday, and his success in defeating these struggles makes A Million Little Pieces a book worth reading for anyone.
    This is the only book that Frey has written, but if you enjoy reading about the everyday struggles people face and their success in defeating them, then Beautiful Boy by David Sheff would be a good read for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    A Million Little Pieces by James Frey is a semi-fictional memoir

    A Million Little Pieces by James Frey is a semi-fictional memoir of his time in rehab.  The genre was nonfiction memoir before it was discovered it was a semi-fictional memoir. The book was originally thought to be a true story, but it was later discovered that it was partially fictionalized. Now James claims that the book is nonfiction, with a few changes to protect the identity of the characters.  A Million Little Pieces is one of the great memoirs of our time, regardless of its veracity.
    First, Frey wakes up vomiting on a plane with his teeth knocked out and a hole in his cheek.  He has no recollection of how he got there. He states, “I’m scared to see myself,” (21).  He shows he can barely even look at himself because of how bad he has let his life get.  He gets to Chicago and his parents bring him to a rehab center to get clean.  While there, he meets a lot of great friends and a woman that changes his life. His struggle to stay clear from the substances that got him there force him to make a decision: himself or his pipe.
    The style of this book is a memoir.  Parts of it are in paragraph form like a novel, but parts of it, mainly the dialogue are in a journal type form.  The quotes in this book do not have quotation marks either, which makes it seem more like recorded notes, rather than speech.
    The imagery is very vivid.  Frey is not afraid to include graphic scenes where he describes the intensity with lots of swearing.  In this case, it feels appropriate because of the way it is presented.  The audience for this book is adults because of the graphic drug use, sexual abuse, and swearing.
    This book has a few complex themes.  One theme is you can find love in a desperately horrible situation.  James is recovering from just about anything you can get high or drunk off of when he met  the girl he ends up loving for the rest of the book, Lilly. This quote explains their relationship really well, “You’re all I’ve got James. In the whole goddamn world you’re all I’ve got” (337). She finds hope in him and he finds hope in her.  They find love in each other when they have no real love in their situation.  Lilly is also a symbol throughout the book. She represented his addiction and hope.  She represents this because all they really have is each other.  
    Another theme in this book is the gap between addiction and normal life.  The addiction part of James will be tempted for the rest of his life, but he decided about half way through the book that he was not going to give in to AA or other programs for recovering addicts.  He decided to be strong and buy a glass of hard liquor and dump it out, to prove he can do it.  One symbol is a book James carries around called the Tao.  It represents his inner struggle for peace and sobriety.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Million little pieces

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Universal Addiction

    Loved this book! With all the scrutiny behind the book, I wanted to see what it was all about. SOOO glad I did. An excellent explanation on addition regardless of the form. His novel was surprisingly motivating due to the nature and outcome of the book. While it was darker for the majority of the book, there was lightness in the humor and slow forming relationship you create with the character. Definitely worth the money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    James Frey's story of his ascent from crackhouse ground zero. &q

    James Frey's story of his ascent from crackhouse ground zero. "I lift my hand and feel my face. My front four teeth are gone, I have a hole in my cheek, my nose is broken and my eyes are swollen nearly shut." His clothes are covered with spit, snot, vomit and blood. He doesn't know how he got on the plane or where he is going, but as he soon finds out, he's on his way to rehab. Certain words are capitalized for no reason (the Bathroom, the Nurses) Perhaps to suggest that old cosmic paranoia feeling that comes with over-indulgence in hallucinatory substances; perhaps to be literary and cute. And to make the importance of those things seem much more important. James Frey operates in a literary zone where the worst case rules to the exclusion of all others. You can't write about the masterpieces that are created while enraptured, the psychological knots untied, the revival of the sheer joy of living.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Awesome! You'll never wanna put it down until you're finished

    Awesome read! Anything James Frey is awesome!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Unture

    I loved it . To bad he lied and said that really happened and it didnt. But its still a great book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13