Customer Reviews for

A Million Little Pieces

Average Rating 4
( 1024 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(584)

4 Star

(243)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(65)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A Million Little Pieces

A Million Little Pieces by James Frey is an inspiring book about one man's journey through a rehab clinic for addiction to alcohol since he was 10, cocaine since he was 12, and many other substances since, such as PCP, glue, acid, mushrooms, meth, and pills. A Million L...
A Million Little Pieces by James Frey is an inspiring book about one man's journey through a rehab clinic for addiction to alcohol since he was 10, cocaine since he was 12, and many other substances since, such as PCP, glue, acid, mushrooms, meth, and pills. A Million Little Pieces is the story of James' journey to get, and stay, sober.
When 23-year-old James Frey first arrives at the treatment facility he has a hole through his cheek, his four front teeth knocked out, his nose broken and his eyes almost completely swollen shut. He woke up this way on a plane with no idea where he was going or how he had gotten there. He is covered in spit, snot, vomit, sweat, urine and blood and can barely remember anything about the past few weeks. When his parents pick him up at the Chicago airport he finally allows them to take him to Hazelden treatment center in Minnesota.
As you get through the book you learn that this is not the typical bad life, bad parents situation; Frey was raised in warm, loving home by an affluent family. His family had no idea of his actions, and he did a good job hiding it from them. During the book he sometimes seems normal and sometimes the farthest thing from it. The story is captivating and gripping, the kind you can't put down.
I would recommend this book to anyone in high school and above. There is language and violence, so if you have a hard time with gory or curel situations and dialogue this probably isn't the book for you. It is an honest and straightforward memoir, one of the best I've read in a long time. If you were looking for a meaningful book you'll want to read more than once, I would say check out A Million Little Pieces by James Frey.

posted by 1401324 on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I read this book and was suspicious of it authenticity immediate

I read this book and was suspicious of it authenticity immediately. It was well written, but seemed exaggerated and as we now know, the author lied about much of the details in the book. I would not recommend this book to anyone with common sense.

posted by scrappyqueen on June 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 584 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 30
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    A Great Read

    I first read this book before the truth about his exagerations came out. I loved it. I read it after the truth came out and still loved it.

    Yes, he writes with a sense of urgency. Which I thought was brillant. He is going through rehab...of course a sense of urgency is their. And you feel that.

    I think any one with an open mind and interested in a original read will enjoy this book.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Quick and wonderful Read

    James Frey writes so well that you feel like you are watching his story! I have been stopped numerous times on the subway by people telling me how much they loved his book as well. I would suggest it to anyone!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Good read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I don't care what Oprah says...

    This book is perfectly categorized as a memoir. While I understand the negative hype that came along with the classification of this book as a memoir (as some of the incidents, as I understand, were not entirely factual), I really think that memoir is a genre that is apart from the basic fiction/non-fiction classifications. No one person ever sees things or experiences things the exact same way another person does, so it's never entirely factual for two people that were in the same situation. It's like your childhood and what you remember, versus what your parent's remember.

    Overall, the story moved along a quite a quick pace. I loved the unique style and the choppiness of the formatting added to the general feel that the book was trying to give you. I enjoyed the perspective and the author's ability to take you into the action of the story. His characters are really fleshed out, as well, which makes you feel a part of the story, although, as someone who has never really done things like those in the book, it was liek I was a spectator inside the story instead of an active participant in the re-hab.

    I did lend it to my Dad, though, and he could only get about half way through it. I don't think he liked the raw reality and honesty that came along with the story. He was a little taken aback, although he did enjoy it. It might be a little too much for some with weaker stomachs, but I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    :)

    I find the unconventional writing style nearly as inspiring as the story. I have personally read this book three times and i recomend it to all of my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Great and Strongly Recommended Read

    A Million Little Pieces interested me in many ways and kept me hooked in. It was a fantastic story about the drug addicted life of James Frey, a 23 year old that woke up one day aboard a plane. Frey had been through something serious as he has his four front teeth knocked out, a broken nose, and a hole through his cheek. Without any memory of what had happened the past two weeks and clueless to the location the plane will be arriving. Upon his arrival he checks into a rehabilitation center and learns if he does not recover he will soon be dead. As you get through the book you learn that this is not the typical bad boy life growing up with bad parents situation; Frey was raised in a warm, loving home with a heartfelt family. His family had no idea of his actions. This was one of the most interesting books I have ever read, the life of James Frey is a never ending roller coaster. You learn about all of his addictions and what he has had to live with and how he has grown up over the years. Then there is his stories and a painful six weeks spent in there. The story is captivating and gripping, the kind you can't put down. I would recommend this book to anyone in the age group of high school and older. There is strong language and some violence, so if you are not a big fan with gory and cruel situations this probably isn't the book for you. It is an honest and straightforward memoir, one of the best I've read in a long time. If you were looking for a meaningful book you'll want to read more than once.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    An excellent memoir of addiction and recovery

    For anyone interested in life changing stories or autobiographies of people struggling to get their lives back on track, "A Million Little Pieces" is a must read. James Frey, the author and the main character of the book really personifies the life of a drug addict and takes the reader through horrific accounts that he once experienced before becoming sober. The suspenseful writing that James Frey portrays in this book makes the reader want to know more about what is next for him. Drug addicts have a high tendency to relapse and knowing that this book is about the steps towards sobriety, putting this book down will just prolong the question that remains in reader's heads while reading which is, "will James Frey relapse?" Like many books, they all have a fairytale ending but this book does not. It's a must read because of this sole reason. Had James Frey ended this book as if he got out of rehab and lived happily ever after, no one would think it's a credible source. Those that choose to read this book may be reading it for inspiration in their lives to get better and live a healthier lifestyle. James Frey leaves out no information and as you read, it is as if you feel the pain he went through in yourself. If I were in his position, there is no way I would be able to be as strong or have as much courage as he did. After finishing the book, it makes you consider what you have done in your life and it makes you look at other people and think that they might be going through the same thing. If you don't believe that you are strong enough for recovery then you will never get better. Many addicts who try to become sober know that if you are not willing to get the help you need, then rehab will not work out. James Frey was the complete opposite. His parents enrolled him into a rehab facility as soon as they realized that he was about to hit rock bottom. Throughout the book it is evident that he may leave the facility but with a good heart and his emotions towards his family and to get better, he stays through it and overcomes many things. It is important for a reader to enjoy the book that their reading and although "A Million Little Pieces" is gruesome and at times hard to read, you will never want to put it down. James Frey's "A Million Little Pieces" is not only an inspirational book to readers who appreciate reading about hard times, or addicts who are trying to recover but also to Oprah Winfrey. Oprah Winfrey, a prestigious talk show host made a list of her favorite books and in 2005 "A Million Little Pieces" was featured in her book club. For anyone looking for a good read, I highly recommend this book whether you're an addict looking for inspiration or not it will keep you on your toes and you will surely be entertained from beginning to end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2014

    Good Read

    Good Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    Favorite book of all time!

    Favorite book of all time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    True or NOT... This is an amazing book with an amazing story and

    True or NOT... This is an amazing book with an amazing story and a main character you find yourself attatched to and rooting for. I absoloutely adored this book and shamelessly cried at the end. This book changed my perspective on a lot of things and i would reccomend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2014

    I think this book was a detailed picture of one person's life st

    I think this book was a detailed picture of one person's life struggling with addiction. I was able to keep reading and felt like I never wanted the book to end. I would recommend this book to anyone. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2014

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    A Million Little Pieces, written by James Frey, is a great littl

    A Million Little Pieces, written by James Frey, is a great little memoir that really inspires one to think about how life is for a lot of others in all walks of life. James Frey was an alcoholic and drug addict that was given the chance to become clean by going to a rehab center in Minnesota. Through the book he becomes more and more emotional to those whom are around him especially some of his new friends that he met in Rehab including: Leonard, Miles, Matty, Ted, John, and those whom helped him through the rehab center.
    This book gives a new point of view of ones emotions and how to control those emotions to be a functional human being and how those self-feelings can truly affect a person like how James was driven into all his drug use and all his alcoholism by what he calls “ the fury” in which drives his pain and anger towards his parents and life in general. Over time the Fury is controlled by him and its one of my favorite parts of the book because James fights his demons and fights for his life.  
    I think everyone should read this book once and it’s a good book for those who are at a high school reading level and above and lets different points of view come up. Overall rating- its an amazing book and even with the discrepancies that run with the book, the book is still amazing and is a great read and is highly recommended from my point of view. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    Best memoir I've ever read!

    Best memoir I've ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    i love it it is the best book that i have ever read it got me in

    i love it it is the best book that i have ever read it got me into it and it was very interesting and it was sad and funny at times and i just loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    This book introduced me to the world of reading, i have never re

    This book introduced me to the world of reading, i have never read a book for fun and then i found this. Great story and easy read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Heart wrenching

    It is very wordy butstill a good read lots of insight into world of recovery and addiction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Winter

    Not wroth it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Amazing amazing!!

    The book was truely inspirational, i cried alot, i laughed, i was shocked a few times, impressed. Wow i was sad to hear most of them died.. and lilly damn.. very touching, a deffinite favorite! No words can describe, its just a book that has be read to feel that. God Bless <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Wonderful

    Amazing book!!! Just read ir

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 584 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 30