Customer Reviews for

The Million Word Crossword Dictionary

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

THE Crossword Puzzle Dictionary

This is what I have found to be the best crossword puzzle dictionary. It costs a bit more, but you must be careful. It may give you too many answers if you prefer "working" your puzzles. Tony Schneider

posted by adps1949 on August 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Many words but gaps, good presentations

I was surprised that some clues were not answered, given how many words were in this huge volume. In several cases I did not find an answer here but did findit in the ABC crossword dictionary. I did like the way the answers were organized.

posted by WaldoWN on October 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    Million Word Crossword Dictionary by Stanley Newman, Daniel Stark (Paperback)

    Thank you for this book. It was a gift for my mom.

    The paper was of lighter weight but relatively thick pages. My 80 year old mom can at least lift it because of this.

    The references were easy to figure out for me who has never used this type of book before.

    Mom likes it....which is REALLY saying something!!!!
    Trust me... She would have said she didn't like it if she didn't.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE Crossword Puzzle Dictionary

    This is what I have found to be the best crossword puzzle dictionary. It costs a bit more, but you must be careful. It may give you too many answers if you prefer "working" your puzzles.

    Tony Schneider

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2006

    The only crossword reference book you will ever need

    My husband makes a copy of the Houston Chronicle crossword puzzle every day and we do the puzzle together. At seventy one we need all the help we can get and if we don't know the answer Million Word does!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2005

    The Best of Crossword Dictionaries

    This is the very best crossoword dictinary I have ever purchased. Have no difficulty finding answers to the hardest clues. A BIG thank you to the authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    2nd edition is wonderful

    We have purchased the first edition of this reference twice. When the second one was worn out, we couldn't find a copy in stores. I then went to B&N online and learned it had been updated. Useful changes were made from the first edition, and it remains our go-to resource for working cross-word puzzles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    This book is the best crossword dictionary I have every purchase

    This book is the best crossword dictionary I have every purchased.
    I only wish it had not had a Paperback cover for this is quite a large and heavy volume. My volume has split  into two pieces.  I paid in  
    $30 - $33 range when I purchased it.
    In fact even with the cost of the Hardcover edition I wonder if that would stand up any better with continued usage.
    This book  is almost the sole one I use  looking for answers.
    Most  of what I had  before were very old editions (circa 1995,etc).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Amuulai

    Dajgvi nom bn mongolor bol bvr goe bxgvi yu

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    Received as a gift. Best dictionary, by far. If your serious abo

    Received as a gift. Best dictionary, by far. If your serious about crosswords, a must for your library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Highly recommend

    If you enjoy working crossword puzzles, this is the book for you. I had purchased the first edition several years ago and used it alot. I was looking for a more up-to-date dictionary when I saw that the second edition was available. I hate to give up on solving a puzzle and don't want to look at the answer section, so this book has really helped me do just that many, many times. This edition also has yearly updates that you can sign up to receive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent book. Very helpful once you figure out how to use it. Definitely worth having.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Best Reference Book Ever!

    This is the easiest, most comprehensive reference book I have ever used. I would recommend it to anyone who uses crossword puzzles on a daily basis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    My 89 year old Mother uses this all the time

    I have now bought 3 of these Million Word Crossword Dictionarys for my 89 year old Mother. She uses this all the time and has worn out 2 others just like it. She works crossword puzzles all the time and her vocabulary and knowledge of the words and puzzles are so for above me I cannot compete. This to say, the Million Word Crossword Dictionary is a grest book .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    I do daily crossword puzzles and without this book I would be lost. It helps so much!

    This is a very helpful, comprehensive Crossword Puzzle Dictionary. Everyone can benefit from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    FANTASTIC!

    My husband and I (both retired) work crossword puzzles every day. This book is by far the BEST crossword dictionary. We can't imagine the work that went into producing this dictionary but we are always amazed by its contents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    Best on the Market

    Had to old version, updated very pleased, have tried others - this is the best by far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    The Million Word Crossword Dictionary

    This is the best crossword dictionary I have used, with words and events
    that I haven't found in other dictionaries. I'm now able to complete more complex crosswords.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    The ultimate in crossword puzzle dictionaries!

    This is the best dictionary that I have ever used. You can find practicaly anything that you need to complete those hard to complete puzzles. I would recommend it to everyone that is a serious crossword puzzler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    It should be called The GREAT Million Word Dictionary,

    The format of this 'word book' is very helpful to the avid crossword solver. I usually do not enjoy looking for the answers in a resource book, but I find this dictionary to be interesting to read. I start to look up one thing and the next thing I know I am reading the rest of that page! Thanks for creating such an informative book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    a must buy

    I love doing crosswords and have purchased dictionaries before, but the million word crossword dictionary gave me the ability to solve puzzles, and it was very easy to use. There were clues in the book that have never been in dictionaries before. This book is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3