Customer Reviews for

Mind Games (Mind Games Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins Publishers and Netgalley.)
17-year-old Fia, and 19-year-old Annie are sisters. Annie is blind, but she also has visions of the future, her first being one of thei...
(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins Publishers and Netgalley.)
17-year-old Fia, and 19-year-old Annie are sisters. Annie is blind, but she also has visions of the future, her first being one of their parents being killed in a car accident.

Fia and Annie both attend a ‘school’ – The Kessler School for Exceptional Girls, but this is no ordinary school. This school is run to find girls with special talents, and to then exploit them.

There are several distinctive talents that the school has found – feelers, who can feel other people’s emotions, readers, who can read other people’s thoughts, and seers, who can see the future. Annie is a seer, but Fia is something that nobody has come across before. Fia has perfect instincts. No matter what the question or the situation, Fia knows what is right and wrong.

Because of this Fia is very valuable; for picking which shares to invest in, picking people’s pockets, knowing who can and cannot be trusted, and even killing people. But Fia doesn’t want this life, she just wants for her sister to be safe.
What more does the management want from Fia? Will they really harm Annie if Fia misbehaves? And how long can Fia keep going on like this?


I really enjoyed this book. Fia was so bad-ass, but so broken all at the same time, and at times I wondered what all the stress and constant not-planning, not-thinking (so the seers and readers could affect her) was really doing to her. She was so good at what she could do, but so conflicted by what she was forced to do, and this showed itself in so many ways. I have to say that Fia did worry m eas at times it seemed like she was heading for a real breakdown, and the added pressure of keeping Annie safe, was really pushing her to breaking point.

Annie was an interesting character, and the fact that she was blind only added to Fia and Annie’s troubles. I liked how Annie always tried her best, although I think she was hiding from herself just what Fia was going through, and how the ‘school’ were using her.

I liked the storyline in this book. It was very difficult to work out what was going to happen next, it was fast paced, and there was tension all the way through.
I was a little unsure of how this book was going to end, but it turned out to be okay. The ending was left open for the next book though.

I did enjoy Kiersten White’s ‘Paranormalcy’ series, and although this was a little darker, it was funny in places too, and I think really compliments the ‘Paranormalcy’ series well.
Overall; a great paranormal YA, highly recommended.
8.5 out of 10.

posted by Sarah_UK1 on February 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I was drawn in from page one of Mind Games, and I loved every se

I was drawn in from page one of Mind Games, and I loved every second of it. Fia is exactly my kind of character that I love to read about. She can take care of herself, and she kicks butt. Her one weak spot is what makes her from being evil though, because even when she...
I was drawn in from page one of Mind Games, and I loved every second of it. Fia is exactly my kind of character that I love to read about. She can take care of herself, and she kicks butt. Her one weak spot is what makes her from being evil though, because even when she does things she shouldn't she always does it to protect her blind sister Annie.
Their bond is so complex and I loved getting the dual narrative to see where both were coming from in their decisions and how much they really would sacrifice for the other. I think its well written and the epitome of what sibling relationships should be like. Sure everything is not always peachy but that would also make it unrealistic.
The people that Fia is working under and at first took Annie under their wing is well thought out and is not one dimensional. They all have different motives, and it took me a bit to grasp on at what they are after, and especially how James played into everything and I am sure that even the things that I think I know will be shaken in the next book.
Adam is a great addition as well. I thought he was just an introduction at first, but then I saw all of the threads that he was weaving into the plot and I cannot wait to find out how else he will play into it.
The only thing I have to complain about is the timing of the flashbacks. I understand why they are important and what they add to the story, but at times, especially at first, I felt like it was pulling me out of the action and it took me a bit to get back into it.
Overall though, I loved it and Kiersten has created an intriguing world that I can't wait to find out more about.
Bottom line: Well done paranormal that left me wanting more of the plot, mystery, action, and especially more of Fia.

posted by BlkosinerBookBlog on February 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins Publishers and Netgalley.)
    17-year-old Fia, and 19-year-old Annie are sisters. Annie is blind, but she also has visions of the future, her first being one of their parents being killed in a car accident.

    Fia and Annie both attend a ‘school’ – The Kessler School for Exceptional Girls, but this is no ordinary school. This school is run to find girls with special talents, and to then exploit them.

    There are several distinctive talents that the school has found – feelers, who can feel other people’s emotions, readers, who can read other people’s thoughts, and seers, who can see the future. Annie is a seer, but Fia is something that nobody has come across before. Fia has perfect instincts. No matter what the question or the situation, Fia knows what is right and wrong.

    Because of this Fia is very valuable; for picking which shares to invest in, picking people’s pockets, knowing who can and cannot be trusted, and even killing people. But Fia doesn’t want this life, she just wants for her sister to be safe.
    What more does the management want from Fia? Will they really harm Annie if Fia misbehaves? And how long can Fia keep going on like this?


    I really enjoyed this book. Fia was so bad-ass, but so broken all at the same time, and at times I wondered what all the stress and constant not-planning, not-thinking (so the seers and readers could affect her) was really doing to her. She was so good at what she could do, but so conflicted by what she was forced to do, and this showed itself in so many ways. I have to say that Fia did worry m eas at times it seemed like she was heading for a real breakdown, and the added pressure of keeping Annie safe, was really pushing her to breaking point.

    Annie was an interesting character, and the fact that she was blind only added to Fia and Annie’s troubles. I liked how Annie always tried her best, although I think she was hiding from herself just what Fia was going through, and how the ‘school’ were using her.

    I liked the storyline in this book. It was very difficult to work out what was going to happen next, it was fast paced, and there was tension all the way through.
    I was a little unsure of how this book was going to end, but it turned out to be okay. The ending was left open for the next book though.

    I did enjoy Kiersten White’s ‘Paranormalcy’ series, and although this was a little darker, it was funny in places too, and I think really compliments the ‘Paranormalcy’ series well.
    Overall; a great paranormal YA, highly recommended.
    8.5 out of 10.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mind Games is Going To Mess With Your Mind!!!! I've erased this

    Mind Games is Going To Mess With Your Mind!!!! I've erased this review like ten times because I'm having trouble. When I say that MIND GAMES is not the Paranormalcy Trilogy, I find myself stuck in an endless loop because I loved the Paranormalcy Trilogy, so I don't want you to think for a minute that this is better, because it isn't better--but yet--its better. *sheesh* The most accurate thing I can say is that Kiersten White has only begun to play mind games with her readers. It is evident by this unique, exciting and riveting book that White has just proven she's not a one trick pony. She's tiny like a pony--but she has lots of tricks and I love them. I love them so much, I want the sequel to this book NOW! So much so, I'm going to start harassing my agent to automatically put me on the top of the ARC list for MIND GAMES #2. Make a list. Check it twice. I'd better be on it!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Have your MIND melted in a GREAT way!!

    Kiersten White has written great books and MIND GAMES is flawless!! 2 sisters with serious problems have unique abilities to deal!! You CAN'T read this book and chew gu. You have to pay attention because the pace is fast and furious!! One of my Top 5 books!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Amazing.

    It was simply amazing. I loved how different Fia and Annie were, like opposites of each other in the best ways. The ending was confusing to me though, like i understood why Fia made the decision that she did but i wish the book was longer and had just more depth or something because i couldn't yelp but feel very ripped of by paying $12 for a book that was only 165 pages. But i definatly dont regret buting it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fia and Annie are sisters, both blessed (or cursed ?) with extra

    Fia and Annie are sisters, both blessed (or cursed ?) with extraordinary abilities. Fia has strong instincts — able to feel out a situation and tell if it’s good or bad, right or wrong. Her intuition is so strong, she doesn’t even have to think about it before she knows. Annie is blind, but has the ability to see the future. These small snippets in time are both exciting and terrifying for her.

    Both of the sisters find themselves shipped off to a school for kids with special abilities. They think they can leave, but they’re wrong. The school uses their students to aid in corporate espionage, and Fia is their strongest weapon, but Fia wants nothing more than to get away. They’ve been using her for more dangerous tasks lately, and she’s mentally unbalanced because of it. She has to get away, but they’re holding Annie captive, threatening to harm, or even kill her, if Fia doesn’t cooperate. But Fia has a plan. She’s going to bring them all down if it’s the last thing she does.

    I really enjoyed the story that Ms. White constructed, and the world was intriguing. The settings were familiar, but the addition of the paranormal abilities added a new layer which made it feel fresh.

    The characters are all very well drawn, and while Annie is the more sympathetic of the two sisters, I found myself captivated by Fia. She was a mess with a capital “M”. The poor girl has endured so much at the hands of the people running the school. She’s completely frayed and straddles a fine line between keeping it together and totally losing it.

    The supporting characters are all just as strong and each of them held a very specific piece of the overall puzzle in their hands. I loved how they all came together, and I also loved that you never really knew which of them you could trust.

    The book alternates between Fia and Annie’s POV, and jumps between the past and the present so we get an overall view of the sisters and their story. The book is structured so that we only have as much information as we need to move forward. While it did get a bit confusing at times, it eventually all came together. The ending blew my mind. In fact, I had to read the last couple of chapters again just to make sure I hadn’t missed something.

    What I really liked about the book was the voice. Fia, as I mentioned earlier, is a mess. The poor girl has been forced to do some very questionable things (assassinations, etc) and her nerves are frayed. She is a bit OCD and the author captures her frantic state in a stream-of-conscious style of writing. In perfect contrast is Annie’s voice. She is calm and collected and her scenes told in a more structured way.

    I love a good secret-society/spy, good guy/bad guy story and this one had it in spades. It kept me guessing the entire time. It’s very fast paced, and the writing perfectly fits the state of the characters and the situations they find themselves in. I highly recommend this to fans of thrillers and the TV show, Alias. It’s a perfect blend of two things I love. As soon as I finished reading it, I pre-ordered a copy.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So I decided to give 'Mind Games' a chance because I wanted to s

    So I decided to give 'Mind Games' a chance because I wanted to see if it was the author's writing style I didn't like or if it was me. I didn't like 'Paranormalcy' and gave up on the series. Turns out that I'm actually glad I gave this book a chance.

    Writing

    First of all, I liked how it was written. I enjoyed how I saw the perspectives of two characters through interchanging chapters. And that it passed back and forth between the past and present. It had a very 'Night Circus' vibe to it and I adored that book. I also think it's an amazing way to build up a back story without it being the usual way.

    The writing was simple and enjoyable. I really enjoyed the pace as well. Even with the back and forth of time periods, I still found it easy to read, even if I had to concentrate more on what was happening. 

    Characters

    Fia was the stronger of the two sisters. She was very kickass, but had a vulnerability that appealed to me. All throughout the book, it was obvious she would do anything for her sister - even deny her chance to be happy. In that way, she was kind of a martyr. I found her likable. She did what she needed to do, but didn't like it at all. She was a little predictable because I knew from the first chapter that she was going to be more special than her sister, Annie.

    Annie was the weaker character. I actually didn't like her much, even though, she was probably the more realistic character. She seemed selfish to me. Like her own self-interests were more important than her sister's welfare. But, towards the end of the book, my feelings for her started to get mixed, because she started to change.

    There were other characters in the book, of course. Several of which I had very mixed feelings about by the time I had finished the novel. I'm glad the second book is coming out just so I can read more about them. 

    Plot

    Hmm, to be honest, I'm not completely sure what the plot of this book is. I mean I know some of it, especially since more information was given towards the end of the book - I found out more about the Keane Foundation and why one of the characters acted the way they did. And, I know that several characters have paranormal abilities. But I still found it wasn't enough for me to be able to RAWR about. It was actually quite disappointing.

    There's something about 'Mind Games' that made me feel I was missing something - something that I know is there, but seems unreachable. I really hope the plot line develops a lot more in the next book.

    I'm not sure whether there's going to be a love triangle in this series or not. It certainly felt like it. I hope not, because despite how romantic they are in books, in reality, they're a hot mess. 

    Boring/Not Boring

    Definitely not boring. There was enough action and turmoil in it to keep me entertained. It was interesting trying to decide whether I liked a character or not and where the plot was headed. I think the pace helped with that.

    Setting

    Haha I'll admit to liking novels where they have a boarding school 'vibe' to it. Even though that kind of setting has sort have been done to death, I still enjoyed it. I also enjoyed the different places they went to - it mixed the settings up a bit.

    Overall

    To sum it all up, even though I did have some issues with the book, it was not enough to stop my enjoyment of it. I did enjoy this book enough to carry on with the series.  

    Book Review done by Sandy at Magical Manuscripts.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    I loved Fia and Annie far more than I have loved characters for

    I loved Fia and Annie far more than I have loved characters for quite a while. I enjoy characters all the time, but I honestly loved the characters in Mind Games. Fia and Annie make such a sharp contrast: Fia, fiery. Annie, reserved and thoughtful, but not dramatically so. They were realistic and unique without shifting into the land of the stereotypical. And despite the hard things they go through their fierce loyalty and love for each other is inspiring. I also found myself appreciating James. At the beginning I thought I had him pegged as the arrogant yet sexy bad boy (I rolled my eyes at this, but felt I could suffer through it). But boy oh boy is he deeper than that. He still isn't a person I can respect, but I don't think that's Kiersten White's intent. Despite his important position, he becomes someone simply trying find his way through the storm around him. But most especially, I loved Adam. Adam was sweet and average and totally adorable in an underused way. He was the kind of character you want everyone to find.
    Characters: 5 Stars
              And the plot! The PLOT. Kiersten promised us something grittier than the Paranormalcy Trilogy, and we got it. Two girls being manipulated through their love for each other, each trying to simply make it to the next day. The book seems short (Only 237 pages), but it packed so much bang for its buck that I didn't notice the length. I am tremendously grateful that Kiersten White realized this as well and let the story tell itself despite its shorter length. I loved every second of it, and then the ending came and knocked me over flat. Suddenly everything made sence, and was so much brighter and deeper than I expected! (I'm really not one for spoilers of even the mildest sort.)
    Plot: 5 Stars
             Of course the style was wonderful as well. It was definitely different from Paranormalcy but not so different that it felt strange. Kiersten White has a trademark flowing style that pours the story into the reader's mind at the pace it should be taken, no slower or faster. And I cannot wait till Chaos of the Stars.
    Style: 4.5 Stars




    Rating: 4.8 StarsI loved Fia and Annie far more than I have loved characters for quite a while. I enjoy characters all the time, but I honestly loved the characters in Mind Games. Fia and Annie make such a sharp contrast: Fia, fiery. Annie, reserved and thoughtful, but not dramatically so. They were realistic and unique without shifting into the land of the stereotypical. And despite the hard things they go through their fierce loyalty and love for each other is inspiring. I also found myself appreciating James. At the beginning I thought I had him pegged as the arrogant yet sexy bad boy (I rolled my eyes at this, but felt I could suffer through it). But boy oh boy is he deeper than that. He still isn't a person I can respect, but I don't think that's Kiersten White's intent. Despite his important position, he becomes someone simply trying find his way through the storm around him. But most especially, I loved Adam. Adam was sweet and average and totally adorable in an underused way. He was the kind of character you want everyone to find.
    Characters: 5 Stars
              And the plot! The PLOT. Kiersten promised us something grittier than the Paranormalcy Trilogy, and we got it. Two girls being manipulated through their love for each other, each trying to simply make it to the next day. The book seems short (Only 237 pages), but it packed so much bang for its buck that I didn't notice the length. I am tremendously grateful that Kiersten White realized this as well and let the story tell itself despite its shorter length. I loved every second of it, and then the ending came and knocked me over flat. Suddenly everything made sence, and was so much brighter and deeper than I expected! (I'm really not one for spoilers of even the mildest sort.)
    Plot: 5 Stars
             Of course the style was wonderful as well. It was definitely different from Paranormalcy but not so different that it felt strange. Kiersten White has a trademark flowing style that pours the story into the reader's mind at the pace it should be taken, no slower or faster. And I cannot wait till Chaos of the Stars.
    Style: 4.5 Stars




    Rating: 4.8 Stars

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What did I love the most about Mind Games by Kiersten White?  Th

    What did I love the most about Mind Games by Kiersten White?  That a sister’s love has no boundaries.  I adored the immense desire by both Fia and Annie to protect one another.

    Mind Games revolves around sisters Fia and Annie, sisters that were orphaned after a tragic accident took the life of their parents.  It seems though that both Annie and Fia are a special pair.  Although Annie is blind, she has the ability to foresee things that have not yet happened.  It’s because of her special ability that an elite school has taken a very keen interest in her.  And this is not your ordinary run of the mill school.  Apparently, this is a school that molds girls with special abilities, and turns them into masters of their trade and become masters of deceit and espionage, which they then turn loose upon the world.

    It is at this school that Fia is classified as a Seer, and Fia is still an unknown.  Blessed with the ability to never choose wrong, learn things very quickly, and is able to kick ass like no other, it seems that Fia is their secret weapon.  But Fia is a firecracker, and the only thing that is keeping Fia at bay and following their orders is by threatening the life of the one person she cares the most about…her sister, Annie.

    With the help of the son of the leader of this little “school”, Fia learns how to deceive the gifts of those around her so that she is able to get away with some things.  But whether or not Fia should trust him still remains a question.

    I love the fact that this story is about assassins.  And not only regular assassins, but sister assassins.  That in itself is awesomesauce.  I thoroughly enjoyed the fact that the story jumped back and forth between past and present.  It allowed me the chance to get a glimpse of how Fia and Annie got to where they were at.  Not only that, but I loved how the story jumped from the point of view of Fia and Annie.  I loved that it gave the reader a glimpse into the mind of each sister, and were able to see what dark secrets they were holding and it gave us an idea of what they were feeling in the moment.

    I also really enjoyed the fact that Fia was one tough chick who could kick some serious butt.  I loved how the author, Kiersten White, allowed us to see the thought process in which Fia took to defeat her opponents.  I loved all the fight scenes in the book, and I loved how each person that Fia fought was broken down into what steps were taken to take them down.

    With a completely original and addictive story line, and a writing style that had me hooked right from the beginning, Mind Games by Kiersten White was a book that I could not put down, and found myself totally immersed in this world riddled in espionage, deceit, and sacrifice.

    The ending had me yearning for more, and the characters are ones that I fell in love with instantly…yes, even the bad ones.  Everything about Mind Games drew me in…from the absolutely stunning cover, to an original and captivating synopsis.  Readers will fall in love with this one!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     Oh¿ I¿m mad. I was not ready for this book to be over. I was ju

     Oh… I’m mad. I was not ready for this book to be over. I was just catching up to speed…  This is going to take some time. I can’t just exit this book and live my life. I keep trying to pick it back up again. Maybe I can read it again right away? No… it would be a totally different experience. Rats.




    This book is called Mind Games. Be warned. It messes with your head. 




    It’s told from two different perspectives and hops through time all over the place. I learned to pay attention to the title headings. Just ‘cause we get to hop back in time 10 years and see why Fia or Annie is about to make a choice I would not have understood otherwise... does not mean I could let go of the current story. White had me keeping my place… all over. By the time everything began clicking into place, I had all ten fingers holding important mental notes. Argh!!! I am so invested in these girls!!!!  It’s not fair this book ends!!!




    Don’t get me wrong. It ends absolutely perfectly. I just… I just didn’t see it coming.




    Let me back up a bit.




    I started this book (thank you to Edelweiss) on my Nook at night. I read a chapter here, a chapter there… a paragraph here, a kiss there… and then it starts picking up speed. 




    The weight of every new thing I learned doubled the intensity of the moment until I was snowballing downhill and could. not. stop. I could not put this book down. Which reminds me… I had to when it ended. WHY DID IT HAVE TO END?!?!  Darn it. I am not ready to move on, yet.




    Fia is… well, she has my heart completely. She is so kick-butt awesome for reasons that unfold slowly, so I can’t say, but she’s not someone to mess with. Only she’s disturbed, twisted, mentally ill… unhealthy. She hates doing anything that is wrong and I could FEEL it when I read from her POV. The “wrong” rubbed me backwards, too, until I was squirming in her head. The most destructive wrong is the one she won’t let go of… her blind sister, Annie.




    Annie seems so much more stable at first. Her unhealthiness is revealed in spoon-size bits. I was so ready to trust Annie when Fia turned out so upside-down, but I was quick to grasp at Fia’s sanity after seeing more of Annie’s ‘cause… OMG… Annie is just as strong as her sister, but she’s willing to go places… that just… OMG.




    And yet… I love, LOVE both of them. A lot. So much. And I can’t believe the book ended!!!!!!




    There are two great guys. Adam is amazing right from the first pages.




    Whereas James is a magnet – either impossible to resist or completely repulsive. Most often both at the same time through alternating sister’s perceptions. I can’t think of another guy in fiction who I have felt so strongly towards on both extremes. I wanted him as far away as possible… and then I needed to see him again.




    *snort* Mind Games.




    I suppose the title is appropriate, although it just doesn’t hint at the greatness inside. “Games” implies light-heartedness, even if the face looks dead serious. The colors, too… don’t trust the pretty colors. Don’t start this book unless you have time to read it, ‘cause it… demands your emotions and chess-playing skills. It’s like a cross between Shatter Me and Graceling. Only beautifully unique. I am throwing myself at the pedestal of Kiersten White… she has a new devoted (slightly insane) fan for life whether she likes it or not.
    But why did it have to end?!?!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    As soon as I saw this gorgeous cover, I just HAD to get my hands

    As soon as I saw this gorgeous cover, I just HAD to get my hands on Mind Games. The synopsis sounded interesting as well! A book that revolves around two sisters who want to protect each other, and not a boy/girl story. I finally understand why many people would get confused while reading Mind Games, because it's one of those books where your imagination needs to take over. Kiersten White does not clarify many things in this book, but somehow, I wasn't bothered by that. Mind Games is told from two points of view. Sophia, also known as Fia, and Annabelle, who is known as Annie. I'm a fan of alternating POV's, so that's another thing that didn't bother me. Though one thing that did confuse me, is that it is told from the two POVs in BOTH the past and the present, which made it doubly confusing! 
    Fia is the younger sister, but here, she's the one with all of the responsibility because Annie is actually blind. Five years ago, Fia and Annie got a "scholarship" to a great school, that is actually for girls with extraordinary powers. With no parents (dead) their aunt accepts immediately, do get rid of this burden. It is sad to see know how much these two characters suffered, but I'm sad to say I wasn't exactly able to connect with either of them. I would also have liked it more if the book revolved around those "girls" with the extraordinary powers. but again, the book is very brief about a lot of things. The story was weird as well, because like I mentioned before, you kind of need to read without expecting anyone to explain to you.
    Mind Games was also a very fast paced book. I like it when books are fast paced, but Mind Games is also a short book, so it kind of felt like I just read fifty pages. I still want to give the second book a try, hoping that we will have explanations, and also because I do want to find out what happens next. Overall, Mind Games was an okay read, but because of how short and fast paced it was, I can't really say how much potential it has. Am I making sense? I hope so. Anyways, everyone had different opinions about this book, so I do recommend you guys to still give it a try! 

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was drawn in from page one of Mind Games, and I loved every se

    I was drawn in from page one of Mind Games, and I loved every second of it. Fia is exactly my kind of character that I love to read about. She can take care of herself, and she kicks butt. Her one weak spot is what makes her from being evil though, because even when she does things she shouldn't she always does it to protect her blind sister Annie.
    Their bond is so complex and I loved getting the dual narrative to see where both were coming from in their decisions and how much they really would sacrifice for the other. I think its well written and the epitome of what sibling relationships should be like. Sure everything is not always peachy but that would also make it unrealistic.
    The people that Fia is working under and at first took Annie under their wing is well thought out and is not one dimensional. They all have different motives, and it took me a bit to grasp on at what they are after, and especially how James played into everything and I am sure that even the things that I think I know will be shaken in the next book.
    Adam is a great addition as well. I thought he was just an introduction at first, but then I saw all of the threads that he was weaving into the plot and I cannot wait to find out how else he will play into it.
    The only thing I have to complain about is the timing of the flashbacks. I understand why they are important and what they add to the story, but at times, especially at first, I felt like it was pulling me out of the action and it took me a bit to get back into it.
    Overall though, I loved it and Kiersten has created an intriguing world that I can't wait to find out more about.
    Bottom line: Well done paranormal that left me wanting more of the plot, mystery, action, and especially more of Fia.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    Oh this book. As soon as I received this ARC I debated between l

    Oh this book. As soon as I received this ARC I debated between losing my mind and trying to not get my hopes up. I loved and adored White’s Paranormalcy series. The voice in that series was witty and snarky and spot on, to me. I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews on Mind Games but I heard it was darker, a different side of White. After reading it, I can tell you, I had nothing to fear.

    Yes, Mind Games is darker, and completely different than Paranormalcy but at the heart of it, it is still White and her writing. Mind Games is the story of Fia and Annie, sisters who couldn’t be completely different from each other. Fia’s instincts are always right and Annie, is blind, yet is often gripped by visions that control her life the same way Fia’s instincts control her. This book is told from the point of view of both sisters, and is told from the past and the present. While it sounds confusing, and for a bit it is, it works. It works extremely well for this book, by the end everything ties together with just enough hanging that makes you want the second novel now.

    While I would have loved and adored to find out more about the espionage school, I was so caught up in Fia and Annie that I didn’t mind. I spent most of the book going back and forth on who annoyed me more in the book, but if anything that is a testament to White’s writing of a sisterly relationship. Family relationships are never Leave it to Beaver perfect and while using dual point of view White illustrates that while the sisters are often mad and frustrated at each other, at the end of the day they love each other and no one knows them better then each other.

    At 250 pages this is an extremely quick read and while the end is the perfect ending for this novel, you will want the second one to see what happens next.

    Originally posted at yAdult Review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Looking for a kickbutt teen heroine? Look no further, Fia is he


    Looking for a kickbutt teen heroine? Look no further, Fia is here. Fia can literally beat just about anybody in hand-to-hand combat and she also has the ability to make snap decisions that are never wrong. Fia is also extremely damaged because of the things that she’s required to do by the man who controls her life. He can do that simply by letting Fia know her sister Annie is completely at his mercy.

    Annie, two years older than Fia, is blind and Fia has always taken responsibility for her, especially since they were orphaned. Annie is also a Seer and when she has visions, she actually does see. Despite her blindness, she will do anything for her sister.

    Except…except when she wants something that will be to her own benefit. Annie really is not such a likeable person. Fia certainly has her flaws, major ones, but she has character and she wants badly to not do the things Keane demands of her. Annie seems to be just as caring as Fia but, in fact, she’s far more self-absorbed.

    Mind Games is told by the alternating POVs of Fia and Annie and also shifts time from today to years ago and between. That keeps the reader engaged but could cause some to flounder a bit although I do recommend pushing on. The time shifts fill in the backstory that is so necessary to one’s understanding of these girls and their circumstances but also raises more questions. When Fia finally tries to step outside the rules, will she succeed or will Keane take control again?

    There are flaws in this story: the weak character development of Annie and Adam while more attention is paid to Fia and James, there is simply not enough explanation of Keane’s intentions and the source of his power, there seem to be no real consequences to any of the bad things that happen, Adam doesn’t seem anywhere near smart enough to be a doctor at 19 (that’s just not credible at all considering how long it takes to become a doctor), the callousness of the girls’ aunt is unexplained. On the whole, though, I enjoyed Mind Games very much, especially after what can only be described as a stunning ending. Kiersten White is an author worth reading and I’m hopeful that many of the questions will be answered in the next book, coming next winter.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Um

    I honestly don't know what to write. It felt like a plotless random series of events that didn't connect to each other. And the characters were kind of flat; I had a hard time relating to them. Even so, I would recommend this book just don't expect too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    I just finished this book and it was sooo good!! This book is  m

    I just finished this book and it was sooo good!! This book is  mystery and romance type of book, which i love.
    Also, there is a second book to it and i am looking forward to reading it and i think this is the best book ever so
    far. I really enjoyed reading this book and if you read the Pretty Little Liars, you will definitely like this book because 
    i read those books too and they were good. I think Kierstien White did a really good job writing this book because 
    i could not put down this book and i truly recommend this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book. It was the first book by White that

    I really enjoyed this book. It was the first book by White that I have ever read and I found that I liked it a lot. The idea was original and the characters were all wonderfully developed. My only complaint was that it was a little short and I wish there has been a little more in the way of describing the high action scenes, which there were so many of. Even now as I’m trying to come up with things to talk about this book, there are just so many.

    The way that this story is told is through both flashback and shots of what is currently happening. The book only takes place over the last 2 days, but White uses flashback from various points of the last 7 years to show how these two sisters got to where they were. I found this technique really effective as I puzzled out what was going on and why they were in this predicament. We are first introduced to Fia who seems to be dangerous and broken. Really, you just want to fix everything that is wrong with her and give her a real chance at life, but alas, she is stuck where she is. I think that Fia showed a lot of signs that she had PTSD, and it just makes you more angry at the people that put her in this position. Even though Fia is really sad and broken, I quite liked her and rooted for her to do well. She was funny in parts in her attempt to thwart the Seers and Feelers that controlled her life.
    I did not like Annie, Fia’s sister. I felt that although she clearly loved Fia, she did nothing good for her. Every time Annie tried to do something that she thought helped, she only managed to make the situation worse for Fia. Even if she tried to be selfless, she really was just a selfish person who was just made more problems for her sister. Even as you look back into the flashbacks, it is clear that Annie was more trouble than Fia. I admired both of their willingness to go down for one another.

    I really liked James too even though he was a lot older than Fia. I think the hardest part of this book was trying to figure out everyone’s ages in proximity to one another. We were given clues like that James was in college when Fia was 14 and that there was an incident with a puzzle when Fia was 5 and Annie was 7. Eventually it was easy to figure out how everyone related to the other. I liked that even after so many hard years, Fia was still compassionate for helping people she didn’t know. She could have very easily have let people die, but instead, she fought to keep herself human and from spiraling into a mess like she had before.

    I’m looking forward to the next book because Fia and Annie were sneaky and clever as they tried to outsmart the system. I’m eager to see what Keane is really trying to do with an army of Seers and Feelers. There are so many details that I can’t wait to see come out as we learn more about the relationship between the sisters and how everything is going to turn out in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    Awesome book! A Must read!

    A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    i loved tis book so much and i also loved the pretty little liar

    i loved tis book so much and i also loved the pretty little liars books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    3.5 stars-adequate

    This book was a little dissapointing. The idea of two psychic sisters is cool, but the writing is slightly choppy and not high quality. Its a good book, but don't expect too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ok, so this book was weird, but then I ended up liking it. Howev

    Ok, so this book was weird, but then I ended up liking it. However, I have some issues. Review to come…




    So this book was sent to me by my dear friend Bekah Campbell as a birthday gift. I want to give thanks to her for thinking of me!




    Blub from Goodreads:
    Fia was born with flawless instincts. Her first impulse, her gut feeling, is always exactly right. Her sister, Annie, is blind to the world around her—except when her mind is gripped by strange visions of the future. 
    Trapped in a school that uses girls with extraordinary powers as tools for corporate espionage, Annie and Fia are forced to choose over and over between using their abilities in twisted, unthinkable ways…or risking each other’s lives by refusing to obey.




    So I have to say that I completely and totally love this cover. The colors are amazing and it's so simple with the girl's face on the front. Unfortunately the prettiness of the cover didn't do anything to help the story inside.




    I really wanted to love this book. I really did. But I just could not. I found it confusing and all over the place. It has such a great premise: girls with psychic abilities who are used for political and other types of gains. But I don't think it was explained well enough for me to be fully grabbed by the story. You're kept in the dark for most of the book (which is not long to begin with). There's no real set up for the world, no fleshing out of the characters. It just didn't live up to a story that was chock full of guts and matter.




    Fia (Sophia) and her sister Annie are the main characters in this book. who It it told from dual POV so you get both Fia and Annie's ideas. However, I can honestly say that I had a lot of trouble telling the two sisters. If the chapters had not been started with their names as the headings, I am pretty sure this could all be one person to me. Both sisters are whiny and annoying, especially with the author's use of the repetition of words (trying to bring more angst and fear to a situation).




    And the swoon worthy moments that were interjected just seemed wrong. There was really no lead up to them. One minute you feel like Fia wants Adam but the next minute she's drooling over James. If the author intended for there to be some kind of love triangle with this, she completely missed the mark, or maybe I got the triangle angle wrong?




    For the most part, White's writing is good. Despite the fact that I felt kind of left out in the open by the mystery that lingers all around the plot line, I do think that White has a fairly great way with words. I was able to overlook the repetitions she used to alarm and panic of the characters and push my way through to the end.




    The book redeemed itself for me in the last few chapters, but to wait that long was really quite annoying. This is really what brought it up from 2 to 3 stars for me. I enjoyed the action and adventure at the end. And I enjoyed the twist the author gave to the story, which I wasn't expecting in the least.




    So, for the most part I wasn't thrilled with this book, but I tolerated it. I do want to read the next book to find out what happens with Fia and James, and how Adam factors into it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3