Customer Reviews for

Mind Games

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins Publishers and Netgalley.)
17-year-old Fia, and 19-year-old Annie are sisters. Annie is blind, but she also has visions of the future, her first being one of thei...
(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins Publishers and Netgalley.)
17-year-old Fia, and 19-year-old Annie are sisters. Annie is blind, but she also has visions of the future, her first being one of their parents being killed in a car accident.

Fia and Annie both attend a ‘school’ – The Kessler School for Exceptional Girls, but this is no ordinary school. This school is run to find girls with special talents, and to then exploit them.

There are several distinctive talents that the school has found – feelers, who can feel other people’s emotions, readers, who can read other people’s thoughts, and seers, who can see the future. Annie is a seer, but Fia is something that nobody has come across before. Fia has perfect instincts. No matter what the question or the situation, Fia knows what is right and wrong.

Because of this Fia is very valuable; for picking which shares to invest in, picking people’s pockets, knowing who can and cannot be trusted, and even killing people. But Fia doesn’t want this life, she just wants for her sister to be safe.
What more does the management want from Fia? Will they really harm Annie if Fia misbehaves? And how long can Fia keep going on like this?


I really enjoyed this book. Fia was so bad-ass, but so broken all at the same time, and at times I wondered what all the stress and constant not-planning, not-thinking (so the seers and readers could affect her) was really doing to her. She was so good at what she could do, but so conflicted by what she was forced to do, and this showed itself in so many ways. I have to say that Fia did worry m eas at times it seemed like she was heading for a real breakdown, and the added pressure of keeping Annie safe, was really pushing her to breaking point.

Annie was an interesting character, and the fact that she was blind only added to Fia and Annie’s troubles. I liked how Annie always tried her best, although I think she was hiding from herself just what Fia was going through, and how the ‘school’ were using her.

I liked the storyline in this book. It was very difficult to work out what was going to happen next, it was fast paced, and there was tension all the way through.
I was a little unsure of how this book was going to end, but it turned out to be okay. The ending was left open for the next book though.

I did enjoy Kiersten White’s ‘Paranormalcy’ series, and although this was a little darker, it was funny in places too, and I think really compliments the ‘Paranormalcy’ series well.
Overall; a great paranormal YA, highly recommended.
8.5 out of 10.

posted by Sarah_UK1 on February 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

So I decided to give 'Mind Games' a chance because I wanted to s

So I decided to give 'Mind Games' a chance because I wanted to see if it was the author's writing style I didn't like or if it was me. I didn't like 'Paranormalcy' and gave up on the series. Turns out that I'm actually glad I gave this book a chance.

Writing

First of ...
So I decided to give 'Mind Games' a chance because I wanted to see if it was the author's writing style I didn't like or if it was me. I didn't like 'Paranormalcy' and gave up on the series. Turns out that I'm actually glad I gave this book a chance.

Writing

First of all, I liked how it was written. I enjoyed how I saw the perspectives of two characters through interchanging chapters. And that it passed back and forth between the past and present. It had a very 'Night Circus' vibe to it and I adored that book. I also think it's an amazing way to build up a back story without it being the usual way.

The writing was simple and enjoyable. I really enjoyed the pace as well. Even with the back and forth of time periods, I still found it easy to read, even if I had to concentrate more on what was happening. 

Characters

Fia was the stronger of the two sisters. She was very kickass, but had a vulnerability that appealed to me. All throughout the book, it was obvious she would do anything for her sister - even deny her chance to be happy. In that way, she was kind of a martyr. I found her likable. She did what she needed to do, but didn't like it at all. She was a little predictable because I knew from the first chapter that she was going to be more special than her sister, Annie.

Annie was the weaker character. I actually didn't like her much, even though, she was probably the more realistic character. She seemed selfish to me. Like her own self-interests were more important than her sister's welfare. But, towards the end of the book, my feelings for her started to get mixed, because she started to change.

There were other characters in the book, of course. Several of which I had very mixed feelings about by the time I had finished the novel. I'm glad the second book is coming out just so I can read more about them. 

Plot

Hmm, to be honest, I'm not completely sure what the plot of this book is. I mean I know some of it, especially since more information was given towards the end of the book - I found out more about the Keane Foundation and why one of the characters acted the way they did. And, I know that several characters have paranormal abilities. But I still found it wasn't enough for me to be able to RAWR about. It was actually quite disappointing.

There's something about 'Mind Games' that made me feel I was missing something - something that I know is there, but seems unreachable. I really hope the plot line develops a lot more in the next book.

I'm not sure whether there's going to be a love triangle in this series or not. It certainly felt like it. I hope not, because despite how romantic they are in books, in reality, they're a hot mess. 

Boring/Not Boring

Definitely not boring. There was enough action and turmoil in it to keep me entertained. It was interesting trying to decide whether I liked a character or not and where the plot was headed. I think the pace helped with that.

Setting

Haha I'll admit to liking novels where they have a boarding school 'vibe' to it. Even though that kind of setting has sort have been done to death, I still enjoyed it. I also enjoyed the different places they went to - it mixed the settings up a bit.

Overall

To sum it all up, even though I did have some issues with the book, it was not enough to stop my enjoyment of it. I did enjoy this book enough to carry on with the series.  

Book Review done by Sandy at Magical Manuscripts.

posted by sandyemerson on August 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So I decided to give 'Mind Games' a chance because I wanted to s

    So I decided to give 'Mind Games' a chance because I wanted to see if it was the author's writing style I didn't like or if it was me. I didn't like 'Paranormalcy' and gave up on the series. Turns out that I'm actually glad I gave this book a chance.

    Writing

    First of all, I liked how it was written. I enjoyed how I saw the perspectives of two characters through interchanging chapters. And that it passed back and forth between the past and present. It had a very 'Night Circus' vibe to it and I adored that book. I also think it's an amazing way to build up a back story without it being the usual way.

    The writing was simple and enjoyable. I really enjoyed the pace as well. Even with the back and forth of time periods, I still found it easy to read, even if I had to concentrate more on what was happening. 

    Characters

    Fia was the stronger of the two sisters. She was very kickass, but had a vulnerability that appealed to me. All throughout the book, it was obvious she would do anything for her sister - even deny her chance to be happy. In that way, she was kind of a martyr. I found her likable. She did what she needed to do, but didn't like it at all. She was a little predictable because I knew from the first chapter that she was going to be more special than her sister, Annie.

    Annie was the weaker character. I actually didn't like her much, even though, she was probably the more realistic character. She seemed selfish to me. Like her own self-interests were more important than her sister's welfare. But, towards the end of the book, my feelings for her started to get mixed, because she started to change.

    There were other characters in the book, of course. Several of which I had very mixed feelings about by the time I had finished the novel. I'm glad the second book is coming out just so I can read more about them. 

    Plot

    Hmm, to be honest, I'm not completely sure what the plot of this book is. I mean I know some of it, especially since more information was given towards the end of the book - I found out more about the Keane Foundation and why one of the characters acted the way they did. And, I know that several characters have paranormal abilities. But I still found it wasn't enough for me to be able to RAWR about. It was actually quite disappointing.

    There's something about 'Mind Games' that made me feel I was missing something - something that I know is there, but seems unreachable. I really hope the plot line develops a lot more in the next book.

    I'm not sure whether there's going to be a love triangle in this series or not. It certainly felt like it. I hope not, because despite how romantic they are in books, in reality, they're a hot mess. 

    Boring/Not Boring

    Definitely not boring. There was enough action and turmoil in it to keep me entertained. It was interesting trying to decide whether I liked a character or not and where the plot was headed. I think the pace helped with that.

    Setting

    Haha I'll admit to liking novels where they have a boarding school 'vibe' to it. Even though that kind of setting has sort have been done to death, I still enjoyed it. I also enjoyed the different places they went to - it mixed the settings up a bit.

    Overall

    To sum it all up, even though I did have some issues with the book, it was not enough to stop my enjoyment of it. I did enjoy this book enough to carry on with the series.  

    Book Review done by Sandy at Magical Manuscripts.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    As soon as I saw this gorgeous cover, I just HAD to get my hands

    As soon as I saw this gorgeous cover, I just HAD to get my hands on Mind Games. The synopsis sounded interesting as well! A book that revolves around two sisters who want to protect each other, and not a boy/girl story. I finally understand why many people would get confused while reading Mind Games, because it's one of those books where your imagination needs to take over. Kiersten White does not clarify many things in this book, but somehow, I wasn't bothered by that. Mind Games is told from two points of view. Sophia, also known as Fia, and Annabelle, who is known as Annie. I'm a fan of alternating POV's, so that's another thing that didn't bother me. Though one thing that did confuse me, is that it is told from the two POVs in BOTH the past and the present, which made it doubly confusing! 
    Fia is the younger sister, but here, she's the one with all of the responsibility because Annie is actually blind. Five years ago, Fia and Annie got a "scholarship" to a great school, that is actually for girls with extraordinary powers. With no parents (dead) their aunt accepts immediately, do get rid of this burden. It is sad to see know how much these two characters suffered, but I'm sad to say I wasn't exactly able to connect with either of them. I would also have liked it more if the book revolved around those "girls" with the extraordinary powers. but again, the book is very brief about a lot of things. The story was weird as well, because like I mentioned before, you kind of need to read without expecting anyone to explain to you.
    Mind Games was also a very fast paced book. I like it when books are fast paced, but Mind Games is also a short book, so it kind of felt like I just read fifty pages. I still want to give the second book a try, hoping that we will have explanations, and also because I do want to find out what happens next. Overall, Mind Games was an okay read, but because of how short and fast paced it was, I can't really say how much potential it has. Am I making sense? I hope so. Anyways, everyone had different opinions about this book, so I do recommend you guys to still give it a try! 

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was drawn in from page one of Mind Games, and I loved every se

    I was drawn in from page one of Mind Games, and I loved every second of it. Fia is exactly my kind of character that I love to read about. She can take care of herself, and she kicks butt. Her one weak spot is what makes her from being evil though, because even when she does things she shouldn't she always does it to protect her blind sister Annie.
    Their bond is so complex and I loved getting the dual narrative to see where both were coming from in their decisions and how much they really would sacrifice for the other. I think its well written and the epitome of what sibling relationships should be like. Sure everything is not always peachy but that would also make it unrealistic.
    The people that Fia is working under and at first took Annie under their wing is well thought out and is not one dimensional. They all have different motives, and it took me a bit to grasp on at what they are after, and especially how James played into everything and I am sure that even the things that I think I know will be shaken in the next book.
    Adam is a great addition as well. I thought he was just an introduction at first, but then I saw all of the threads that he was weaving into the plot and I cannot wait to find out how else he will play into it.
    The only thing I have to complain about is the timing of the flashbacks. I understand why they are important and what they add to the story, but at times, especially at first, I felt like it was pulling me out of the action and it took me a bit to get back into it.
    Overall though, I loved it and Kiersten has created an intriguing world that I can't wait to find out more about.
    Bottom line: Well done paranormal that left me wanting more of the plot, mystery, action, and especially more of Fia.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Um

    I honestly don't know what to write. It felt like a plotless random series of events that didn't connect to each other. And the characters were kind of flat; I had a hard time relating to them. Even so, I would recommend this book just don't expect too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ok, so this book was weird, but then I ended up liking it. Howev

    Ok, so this book was weird, but then I ended up liking it. However, I have some issues. Review to come…




    So this book was sent to me by my dear friend Bekah Campbell as a birthday gift. I want to give thanks to her for thinking of me!




    Blub from Goodreads:
    Fia was born with flawless instincts. Her first impulse, her gut feeling, is always exactly right. Her sister, Annie, is blind to the world around her—except when her mind is gripped by strange visions of the future. 
    Trapped in a school that uses girls with extraordinary powers as tools for corporate espionage, Annie and Fia are forced to choose over and over between using their abilities in twisted, unthinkable ways…or risking each other’s lives by refusing to obey.




    So I have to say that I completely and totally love this cover. The colors are amazing and it's so simple with the girl's face on the front. Unfortunately the prettiness of the cover didn't do anything to help the story inside.




    I really wanted to love this book. I really did. But I just could not. I found it confusing and all over the place. It has such a great premise: girls with psychic abilities who are used for political and other types of gains. But I don't think it was explained well enough for me to be fully grabbed by the story. You're kept in the dark for most of the book (which is not long to begin with). There's no real set up for the world, no fleshing out of the characters. It just didn't live up to a story that was chock full of guts and matter.




    Fia (Sophia) and her sister Annie are the main characters in this book. who It it told from dual POV so you get both Fia and Annie's ideas. However, I can honestly say that I had a lot of trouble telling the two sisters. If the chapters had not been started with their names as the headings, I am pretty sure this could all be one person to me. Both sisters are whiny and annoying, especially with the author's use of the repetition of words (trying to bring more angst and fear to a situation).




    And the swoon worthy moments that were interjected just seemed wrong. There was really no lead up to them. One minute you feel like Fia wants Adam but the next minute she's drooling over James. If the author intended for there to be some kind of love triangle with this, she completely missed the mark, or maybe I got the triangle angle wrong?




    For the most part, White's writing is good. Despite the fact that I felt kind of left out in the open by the mystery that lingers all around the plot line, I do think that White has a fairly great way with words. I was able to overlook the repetitions she used to alarm and panic of the characters and push my way through to the end.




    The book redeemed itself for me in the last few chapters, but to wait that long was really quite annoying. This is really what brought it up from 2 to 3 stars for me. I enjoyed the action and adventure at the end. And I enjoyed the twist the author gave to the story, which I wasn't expecting in the least.




    So, for the most part I wasn't thrilled with this book, but I tolerated it. I do want to read the next book to find out what happens with Fia and James, and how Adam factors into it all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was extremely excited for this book. I loved her first serie


    I was extremely excited for this book. I loved her first series, plus she shares my daughter's name!
    Unfortunately, I felt this book was a little short of my expectations. I never got a firm grasp on the characters to be fully invested in the story. I liked Annie the most out of all the characters. I felt sorry for all the promises by the school that were never fulfilled. Once they realized that Fia has all the power, Annie because a bystander. A powerful tool used to keep Fia under control.

    The powers that are present at the school were a little confusing. It seems like everything was rushed. It seemed like forever before I had an idea about what Fia could do, and even then it didn't seem like this power that should be as coveted as it was. Maybe it was because I just didn't really like Fia. She was so angry all the time and resigned to the life that had been handed to her. It didn't seem like there was much fight in her at all.

    I do have to admit that I'm immensely curious how this all fits together. There seems to be to rival groups here both after these women and girls who are blessed with these gifts. I'm not entirely sure that either one of them has good intentions. Although it seems that one is definitely more evil than the other. I'll see what I think when the next book comes along.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1