BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mind Games

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins Publishers and Netgalley.)
17-year-old Fia, and 19-year-old Annie are sisters. Annie is blind, but she also has visions of the future, her first being one of thei...
(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins Publishers and Netgalley.)
17-year-old Fia, and 19-year-old Annie are sisters. Annie is blind, but she also has visions of the future, her first being one of their parents being killed in a car accident.

Fia and Annie both attend a ‘school’ – The Kessler School for Exceptional Girls, but this is no ordinary school. This school is run to find girls with special talents, and to then exploit them.

There are several distinctive talents that the school has found – feelers, who can feel other people’s emotions, readers, who can read other people’s thoughts, and seers, who can see the future. Annie is a seer, but Fia is something that nobody has come across before. Fia has perfect instincts. No matter what the question or the situation, Fia knows what is right and wrong.

Because of this Fia is very valuable; for picking which shares to invest in, picking people’s pockets, knowing who can and cannot be trusted, and even killing people. But Fia doesn’t want this life, she just wants for her sister to be safe.
What more does the management want from Fia? Will they really harm Annie if Fia misbehaves? And how long can Fia keep going on like this?


I really enjoyed this book. Fia was so bad-ass, but so broken all at the same time, and at times I wondered what all the stress and constant not-planning, not-thinking (so the seers and readers could affect her) was really doing to her. She was so good at what she could do, but so conflicted by what she was forced to do, and this showed itself in so many ways. I have to say that Fia did worry m eas at times it seemed like she was heading for a real breakdown, and the added pressure of keeping Annie safe, was really pushing her to breaking point.

Annie was an interesting character, and the fact that she was blind only added to Fia and Annie’s troubles. I liked how Annie always tried her best, although I think she was hiding from herself just what Fia was going through, and how the ‘school’ were using her.

I liked the storyline in this book. It was very difficult to work out what was going to happen next, it was fast paced, and there was tension all the way through.
I was a little unsure of how this book was going to end, but it turned out to be okay. The ending was left open for the next book though.

I did enjoy Kiersten White’s ‘Paranormalcy’ series, and although this was a little darker, it was funny in places too, and I think really compliments the ‘Paranormalcy’ series well.
Overall; a great paranormal YA, highly recommended.
8.5 out of 10.

posted by Sarah_UK1 on February 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

So I decided to give 'Mind Games' a chance because I wanted to s

So I decided to give 'Mind Games' a chance because I wanted to see if it was the author's writing style I didn't like or if it was me. I didn't like 'Paranormalcy' and gave up on the series. Turns out that I'm actually glad I gave this book a chance.

Writing

First of ...
So I decided to give 'Mind Games' a chance because I wanted to see if it was the author's writing style I didn't like or if it was me. I didn't like 'Paranormalcy' and gave up on the series. Turns out that I'm actually glad I gave this book a chance.

Writing

First of all, I liked how it was written. I enjoyed how I saw the perspectives of two characters through interchanging chapters. And that it passed back and forth between the past and present. It had a very 'Night Circus' vibe to it and I adored that book. I also think it's an amazing way to build up a back story without it being the usual way.

The writing was simple and enjoyable. I really enjoyed the pace as well. Even with the back and forth of time periods, I still found it easy to read, even if I had to concentrate more on what was happening. 

Characters

Fia was the stronger of the two sisters. She was very kickass, but had a vulnerability that appealed to me. All throughout the book, it was obvious she would do anything for her sister - even deny her chance to be happy. In that way, she was kind of a martyr. I found her likable. She did what she needed to do, but didn't like it at all. She was a little predictable because I knew from the first chapter that she was going to be more special than her sister, Annie.

Annie was the weaker character. I actually didn't like her much, even though, she was probably the more realistic character. She seemed selfish to me. Like her own self-interests were more important than her sister's welfare. But, towards the end of the book, my feelings for her started to get mixed, because she started to change.

There were other characters in the book, of course. Several of which I had very mixed feelings about by the time I had finished the novel. I'm glad the second book is coming out just so I can read more about them. 

Plot

Hmm, to be honest, I'm not completely sure what the plot of this book is. I mean I know some of it, especially since more information was given towards the end of the book - I found out more about the Keane Foundation and why one of the characters acted the way they did. And, I know that several characters have paranormal abilities. But I still found it wasn't enough for me to be able to RAWR about. It was actually quite disappointing.

There's something about 'Mind Games' that made me feel I was missing something - something that I know is there, but seems unreachable. I really hope the plot line develops a lot more in the next book.

I'm not sure whether there's going to be a love triangle in this series or not. It certainly felt like it. I hope not, because despite how romantic they are in books, in reality, they're a hot mess. 

Boring/Not Boring

Definitely not boring. There was enough action and turmoil in it to keep me entertained. It was interesting trying to decide whether I liked a character or not and where the plot was headed. I think the pace helped with that.

Setting

Haha I'll admit to liking novels where they have a boarding school 'vibe' to it. Even though that kind of setting has sort have been done to death, I still enjoyed it. I also enjoyed the different places they went to - it mixed the settings up a bit.

Overall

To sum it all up, even though I did have some issues with the book, it was not enough to stop my enjoyment of it. I did enjoy this book enough to carry on with the series.  

Book Review done by Sandy at Magical Manuscripts.

posted by sandyemerson on August 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins Publishers and Netgalley.)
    17-year-old Fia, and 19-year-old Annie are sisters. Annie is blind, but she also has visions of the future, her first being one of their parents being killed in a car accident.

    Fia and Annie both attend a ‘school’ – The Kessler School for Exceptional Girls, but this is no ordinary school. This school is run to find girls with special talents, and to then exploit them.

    There are several distinctive talents that the school has found – feelers, who can feel other people’s emotions, readers, who can read other people’s thoughts, and seers, who can see the future. Annie is a seer, but Fia is something that nobody has come across before. Fia has perfect instincts. No matter what the question or the situation, Fia knows what is right and wrong.

    Because of this Fia is very valuable; for picking which shares to invest in, picking people’s pockets, knowing who can and cannot be trusted, and even killing people. But Fia doesn’t want this life, she just wants for her sister to be safe.
    What more does the management want from Fia? Will they really harm Annie if Fia misbehaves? And how long can Fia keep going on like this?


    I really enjoyed this book. Fia was so bad-ass, but so broken all at the same time, and at times I wondered what all the stress and constant not-planning, not-thinking (so the seers and readers could affect her) was really doing to her. She was so good at what she could do, but so conflicted by what she was forced to do, and this showed itself in so many ways. I have to say that Fia did worry m eas at times it seemed like she was heading for a real breakdown, and the added pressure of keeping Annie safe, was really pushing her to breaking point.

    Annie was an interesting character, and the fact that she was blind only added to Fia and Annie’s troubles. I liked how Annie always tried her best, although I think she was hiding from herself just what Fia was going through, and how the ‘school’ were using her.

    I liked the storyline in this book. It was very difficult to work out what was going to happen next, it was fast paced, and there was tension all the way through.
    I was a little unsure of how this book was going to end, but it turned out to be okay. The ending was left open for the next book though.

    I did enjoy Kiersten White’s ‘Paranormalcy’ series, and although this was a little darker, it was funny in places too, and I think really compliments the ‘Paranormalcy’ series well.
    Overall; a great paranormal YA, highly recommended.
    8.5 out of 10.

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mind Games is Going To Mess With Your Mind!!!! I've erased this

    Mind Games is Going To Mess With Your Mind!!!! I've erased this review like ten times because I'm having trouble. When I say that MIND GAMES is not the Paranormalcy Trilogy, I find myself stuck in an endless loop because I loved the Paranormalcy Trilogy, so I don't want you to think for a minute that this is better, because it isn't better--but yet--its better. *sheesh* The most accurate thing I can say is that Kiersten White has only begun to play mind games with her readers. It is evident by this unique, exciting and riveting book that White has just proven she's not a one trick pony. She's tiny like a pony--but she has lots of tricks and I love them. I love them so much, I want the sequel to this book NOW! So much so, I'm going to start harassing my agent to automatically put me on the top of the ARC list for MIND GAMES #2. Make a list. Check it twice. I'd better be on it!

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Have your MIND melted in a GREAT way!!

    Kiersten White has written great books and MIND GAMES is flawless!! 2 sisters with serious problems have unique abilities to deal!! You CAN'T read this book and chew gu. You have to pay attention because the pace is fast and furious!! One of my Top 5 books!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Amazing.

    It was simply amazing. I loved how different Fia and Annie were, like opposites of each other in the best ways. The ending was confusing to me though, like i understood why Fia made the decision that she did but i wish the book was longer and had just more depth or something because i couldn't yelp but feel very ripped of by paying $12 for a book that was only 165 pages. But i definatly dont regret buting it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fia and Annie are sisters, both blessed (or cursed ?) with extra

    Fia and Annie are sisters, both blessed (or cursed ?) with extraordinary abilities. Fia has strong instincts — able to feel out a situation and tell if it’s good or bad, right or wrong. Her intuition is so strong, she doesn’t even have to think about it before she knows. Annie is blind, but has the ability to see the future. These small snippets in time are both exciting and terrifying for her.

    Both of the sisters find themselves shipped off to a school for kids with special abilities. They think they can leave, but they’re wrong. The school uses their students to aid in corporate espionage, and Fia is their strongest weapon, but Fia wants nothing more than to get away. They’ve been using her for more dangerous tasks lately, and she’s mentally unbalanced because of it. She has to get away, but they’re holding Annie captive, threatening to harm, or even kill her, if Fia doesn’t cooperate. But Fia has a plan. She’s going to bring them all down if it’s the last thing she does.

    I really enjoyed the story that Ms. White constructed, and the world was intriguing. The settings were familiar, but the addition of the paranormal abilities added a new layer which made it feel fresh.

    The characters are all very well drawn, and while Annie is the more sympathetic of the two sisters, I found myself captivated by Fia. She was a mess with a capital “M”. The poor girl has endured so much at the hands of the people running the school. She’s completely frayed and straddles a fine line between keeping it together and totally losing it.

    The supporting characters are all just as strong and each of them held a very specific piece of the overall puzzle in their hands. I loved how they all came together, and I also loved that you never really knew which of them you could trust.

    The book alternates between Fia and Annie’s POV, and jumps between the past and the present so we get an overall view of the sisters and their story. The book is structured so that we only have as much information as we need to move forward. While it did get a bit confusing at times, it eventually all came together. The ending blew my mind. In fact, I had to read the last couple of chapters again just to make sure I hadn’t missed something.

    What I really liked about the book was the voice. Fia, as I mentioned earlier, is a mess. The poor girl has been forced to do some very questionable things (assassinations, etc) and her nerves are frayed. She is a bit OCD and the author captures her frantic state in a stream-of-conscious style of writing. In perfect contrast is Annie’s voice. She is calm and collected and her scenes told in a more structured way.

    I love a good secret-society/spy, good guy/bad guy story and this one had it in spades. It kept me guessing the entire time. It’s very fast paced, and the writing perfectly fits the state of the characters and the situations they find themselves in. I highly recommend this to fans of thrillers and the TV show, Alias. It’s a perfect blend of two things I love. As soon as I finished reading it, I pre-ordered a copy.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    I loved Fia and Annie far more than I have loved characters for

    I loved Fia and Annie far more than I have loved characters for quite a while. I enjoy characters all the time, but I honestly loved the characters in Mind Games. Fia and Annie make such a sharp contrast: Fia, fiery. Annie, reserved and thoughtful, but not dramatically so. They were realistic and unique without shifting into the land of the stereotypical. And despite the hard things they go through their fierce loyalty and love for each other is inspiring. I also found myself appreciating James. At the beginning I thought I had him pegged as the arrogant yet sexy bad boy (I rolled my eyes at this, but felt I could suffer through it). But boy oh boy is he deeper than that. He still isn't a person I can respect, but I don't think that's Kiersten White's intent. Despite his important position, he becomes someone simply trying find his way through the storm around him. But most especially, I loved Adam. Adam was sweet and average and totally adorable in an underused way. He was the kind of character you want everyone to find.
    Characters: 5 Stars
              And the plot! The PLOT. Kiersten promised us something grittier than the Paranormalcy Trilogy, and we got it. Two girls being manipulated through their love for each other, each trying to simply make it to the next day. The book seems short (Only 237 pages), but it packed so much bang for its buck that I didn't notice the length. I am tremendously grateful that Kiersten White realized this as well and let the story tell itself despite its shorter length. I loved every second of it, and then the ending came and knocked me over flat. Suddenly everything made sence, and was so much brighter and deeper than I expected! (I'm really not one for spoilers of even the mildest sort.)
    Plot: 5 Stars
             Of course the style was wonderful as well. It was definitely different from Paranormalcy but not so different that it felt strange. Kiersten White has a trademark flowing style that pours the story into the reader's mind at the pace it should be taken, no slower or faster. And I cannot wait till Chaos of the Stars.
    Style: 4.5 Stars




    Rating: 4.8 StarsI loved Fia and Annie far more than I have loved characters for quite a while. I enjoy characters all the time, but I honestly loved the characters in Mind Games. Fia and Annie make such a sharp contrast: Fia, fiery. Annie, reserved and thoughtful, but not dramatically so. They were realistic and unique without shifting into the land of the stereotypical. And despite the hard things they go through their fierce loyalty and love for each other is inspiring. I also found myself appreciating James. At the beginning I thought I had him pegged as the arrogant yet sexy bad boy (I rolled my eyes at this, but felt I could suffer through it). But boy oh boy is he deeper than that. He still isn't a person I can respect, but I don't think that's Kiersten White's intent. Despite his important position, he becomes someone simply trying find his way through the storm around him. But most especially, I loved Adam. Adam was sweet and average and totally adorable in an underused way. He was the kind of character you want everyone to find.
    Characters: 5 Stars
              And the plot! The PLOT. Kiersten promised us something grittier than the Paranormalcy Trilogy, and we got it. Two girls being manipulated through their love for each other, each trying to simply make it to the next day. The book seems short (Only 237 pages), but it packed so much bang for its buck that I didn't notice the length. I am tremendously grateful that Kiersten White realized this as well and let the story tell itself despite its shorter length. I loved every second of it, and then the ending came and knocked me over flat. Suddenly everything made sence, and was so much brighter and deeper than I expected! (I'm really not one for spoilers of even the mildest sort.)
    Plot: 5 Stars
             Of course the style was wonderful as well. It was definitely different from Paranormalcy but not so different that it felt strange. Kiersten White has a trademark flowing style that pours the story into the reader's mind at the pace it should be taken, no slower or faster. And I cannot wait till Chaos of the Stars.
    Style: 4.5 Stars




    Rating: 4.8 Stars

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     Oh¿ I¿m mad. I was not ready for this book to be over. I was ju

     Oh… I’m mad. I was not ready for this book to be over. I was just catching up to speed…  This is going to take some time. I can’t just exit this book and live my life. I keep trying to pick it back up again. Maybe I can read it again right away? No… it would be a totally different experience. Rats.




    This book is called Mind Games. Be warned. It messes with your head. 




    It’s told from two different perspectives and hops through time all over the place. I learned to pay attention to the title headings. Just ‘cause we get to hop back in time 10 years and see why Fia or Annie is about to make a choice I would not have understood otherwise... does not mean I could let go of the current story. White had me keeping my place… all over. By the time everything began clicking into place, I had all ten fingers holding important mental notes. Argh!!! I am so invested in these girls!!!!  It’s not fair this book ends!!!




    Don’t get me wrong. It ends absolutely perfectly. I just… I just didn’t see it coming.




    Let me back up a bit.




    I started this book (thank you to Edelweiss) on my Nook at night. I read a chapter here, a chapter there… a paragraph here, a kiss there… and then it starts picking up speed. 




    The weight of every new thing I learned doubled the intensity of the moment until I was snowballing downhill and could. not. stop. I could not put this book down. Which reminds me… I had to when it ended. WHY DID IT HAVE TO END?!?!  Darn it. I am not ready to move on, yet.




    Fia is… well, she has my heart completely. She is so kick-butt awesome for reasons that unfold slowly, so I can’t say, but she’s not someone to mess with. Only she’s disturbed, twisted, mentally ill… unhealthy. She hates doing anything that is wrong and I could FEEL it when I read from her POV. The “wrong” rubbed me backwards, too, until I was squirming in her head. The most destructive wrong is the one she won’t let go of… her blind sister, Annie.




    Annie seems so much more stable at first. Her unhealthiness is revealed in spoon-size bits. I was so ready to trust Annie when Fia turned out so upside-down, but I was quick to grasp at Fia’s sanity after seeing more of Annie’s ‘cause… OMG… Annie is just as strong as her sister, but she’s willing to go places… that just… OMG.




    And yet… I love, LOVE both of them. A lot. So much. And I can’t believe the book ended!!!!!!




    There are two great guys. Adam is amazing right from the first pages.




    Whereas James is a magnet – either impossible to resist or completely repulsive. Most often both at the same time through alternating sister’s perceptions. I can’t think of another guy in fiction who I have felt so strongly towards on both extremes. I wanted him as far away as possible… and then I needed to see him again.




    *snort* Mind Games.




    I suppose the title is appropriate, although it just doesn’t hint at the greatness inside. “Games” implies light-heartedness, even if the face looks dead serious. The colors, too… don’t trust the pretty colors. Don’t start this book unless you have time to read it, ‘cause it… demands your emotions and chess-playing skills. It’s like a cross between Shatter Me and Graceling. Only beautifully unique. I am throwing myself at the pedestal of Kiersten White… she has a new devoted (slightly insane) fan for life whether she likes it or not.
    But why did it have to end?!?!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    I just finished this book and it was sooo good!! This book is  m

    I just finished this book and it was sooo good!! This book is  mystery and romance type of book, which i love.
    Also, there is a second book to it and i am looking forward to reading it and i think this is the best book ever so
    far. I really enjoyed reading this book and if you read the Pretty Little Liars, you will definitely like this book because 
    i read those books too and they were good. I think Kierstien White did a really good job writing this book because 
    i could not put down this book and i truly recommend this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    Awesome book! A Must read!

    A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    i loved tis book so much and i also loved the pretty little liar

    i loved tis book so much and i also loved the pretty little liars books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    I loved it

    I have to say i.loved this.book i can't wait for a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    I really liked Kiersten's Paranormalcy series, so I had high exp

    I really liked Kiersten's Paranormalcy series, so I had high expectations for Mind Games. I was so glad that this did not disappoint. I read it in one night. It did help that it was a shorter read, at least compared to all the 500 plus paged books out there these days.

    The whole premise was very creative and I thought well executed. I've read some books that had individuals who could see the future, read the cards, or dream events, but never a story like this one. The opening scene immediately drew me in and basically from that point forward I was hooked. It was definitely intense and I just never knew when all the cards were going to fall down.

    I really liked the characters. Annie did annoy me at some points because I just wanted her to open her eyes and notice what was going on. To me she felt so selfish in the beginning, but she was still a great character and I could see why she acted as she did. Fia is amazing! She was so young when they were taken in by the "school," yet she survived and turned out to be very smart and fierce. I really felt for her situation and her desire to protect her sister at all costs. Then there are the two men in Fia's life. I liked each in their own ways, but one of them I don't know if Fia can really trust.

    This book really upset me in parts! Poor Fia is so abused and does some really tough things that eat away at her that she didn't even know she was doing or meant to do. I mean how could the head of the "school" abuse children like this and how could some of these people not see how wrong things were when they grew up. The effects are just terrible. I'm hoping that Fia does some serious damage in the next book.

    If you're looking for an intense SciFi with some great characters and writing, I would definitely pick this up.

    Content: Some violence and innuendo.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Help form piglover please look at thi i need your help now

    How do you do the phone this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    &phone

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Space to below

    THIS IS A SYMBOL FINDING BOOK! NOT A REVIEW SPACE!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    To king

    &phone is & phone

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Ryan

    Im making a book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    King

    Do you kjow how to do rockstar's signatue from eysay result one? Pease tell me how.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    THIS BOOK YOU GUYS. THIS BOOK. I cannot flail enough over this b

    THIS BOOK YOU GUYS. THIS BOOK. I cannot flail enough over this book. It's been a long time since I've fallen this hard and fast in love with a book. The writing is gorgeous. I was pretty much drooling over every sentence. Usually I have a difficult time with books that switch between narratives, but it definitely wasn't an issue here. While the sisters definitely had a similar voice, I could always distinguish who was talking to me. The switch between the past and the present was more annoying for me, but that probably had more to do with the fact that I didn't care much about their past at the school. Some of the flashbacks were definitely interesting, but overall the only time I was bored during this book was when they were going on. And even that was mostly during Annie's flashbacks.

    The relationship between Fia and Annie was definitely the highlight for me. I just have so many feelings about how much these two love each other, and the lengths they are willing to go to protect each other. As someone who would go to the ends of the earth for her own siblings, I found it easy to relate to the devotion, resentment, and general complexity of their relationship. That being said, Fia was definitely my favorite of the two. While I didn't dislike Annie by any means, I found her naivety to be frustrating, because she seems like a smart girl, and you'd expect her to know better. I'm also not a fan of her treatment of James, but that could just be bias on my part because I definitely like him more than I should.

    Fia's power is pretty bad ass. I mean, Fia in general is bad ass, but the power to always know what the right decision is, down to whether or not you're going to need sharp stilettos is amazing and if anyone was handing out super powers I'd take that one over the visions Annie has any day. I have such complex feelings for Fia. Sometimes I want to shake her, and sometimes I want to applaud her, and at all times I just want to hug her. The girl goes through so much to keep her sister safe and the damage it's done to her mind and self image is not something that anyone could ever really get over. I really just want her to kill everybody and run away to live her own life before this series is over. She's so dark and broken and hands and guh. FEELS.

    Fia gets two love interests all to herself. At least so far. James is the son of the main bad guy and probably the most complex of the characters. I think I hate and love him in equal measure. He's obviously not a good guy. He's dark, manipulative, and will put his own agenda before any of the supposed feelings he has for Fia. But he's also sweet in his own way, and so broken and I am such a sucker for beautiful, broken man-boys. The second potential love interest for Fia is young doctor Adam who is sweet and cuddly and adorable as all get out. I was definitely feeling the shipping vibes for the two of them when the novel started, but by the end of the book I was hardcore in the Team James camp. At least if he can get his crap together. Adam definitely seems better suited for Annie anyway. And Annie definitely deserves some love.

    My primary wish was that it hadn't been so short. I can't wait to get my hands on the sequel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    By bailei

    Hey

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2