Customer Reviews for

Mind Gym: An Athlete's Guide to Inner Excellence

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awsome

I love this book it even helped me with my sports

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Practice, practice, practice

Pracice, practice, practice
¿Believing in yourself is the paramount to success for any athlete.¿ Mind Gym, written by Gary Mack with David Casstevens and published by McGraw-Hill, is an athlete¿s guide to inner excellence. Throughout the book, there are many things ...
Pracice, practice, practice
¿Believing in yourself is the paramount to success for any athlete.¿ Mind Gym, written by Gary Mack with David Casstevens and published by McGraw-Hill, is an athlete¿s guide to inner excellence. Throughout the book, there are many things to ¿check off¿ before becoming a winner. Gary Mack takes an athlete beyond the game and explains how their mind influences their performance as much as their physical skill does.
The first thing Mack wants one to practice are the seven c¿s. The seven c¿s are competitive, confident, control, committed, composure, courage, and consistency. According to Mack, if one practices the seven c¿s, they will master mental toughness. The seven c¿s are just one example of things he mentions in the book. He has several principles that an athlete should learn to go by.
Mind Gym is written by Gary Mack but throughout the book many famous athletes give personal insight on what they have had go wrong and how they overcame it. Some of the athletes include Tiger Woods, Mark McGuire, Greg Maddux, Charles Barkley, and many many more.
Overall, the book has a very good message that many athletes could benefit from but it¿s not my type. I thought the book was very dry and very slow moving. I just couldn¿t get into it. In other words, it was boring. I did learn some good things from it but it was just too informative.
I recommend this book to anyone who wants to build their mental muscle. I think it¿s better for young adults and adults because of the fact that it is so informative and dry. I would rate it two and a half athletes out of five athletes.

posted by Jamie1309 on December 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    ChrisA

    Excellent book, easy read, practical insights. Lessons learned can be applied to far more areas of life than sports.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Awsome

    I love this book it even helped me with my sports

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Really inspiring book! Mind Gym (an athlete's guide to inner excellence)

    In the book, "Mind Gym", it talks about different professional athletes and how they felt about winning and losing games. The quotes given by the different players were definitely correct. The athletes in the book would explain different rules that you could use to make you and your team be more mentally tough and win games. This book tells you the basics and even more, on how to become a better player, a player who is having fun and is helping his team win games. One key point of the book was that it is really important that you dont make bad decisions that will affect your ability to play when you are playing a sport you love. This book also describes ways of getting your mind set; how to prepare your mind for a game and be mentally focused. This book has some good lessons to learn and that will help me and my teammates get through games and win them. In the book their was some challenges that every famous sport player had with the sport they played. They weren't all the same problems, some were related and some were different since a bunch of the famous players played different sports than the others. Mind Gym is a book that couldn't really be compared to fiction writing because this book is explaining how rules work in different situations and teaching you tecniques about a sport famous people play or played. I would definately reccomend this book to people who have a dream to do something big with there sports carerr.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    Bench Press For Brains

    Mind Gym is about and athlete's guide to success and excellence. It is a very helpful book for athlete's who cannot get over the hump and become great through the mental side of the game. The message that jumped out of the book at me was the fact that how much of the game is mental. Gary Mack does a great job in describing this to his readers by saying "what you think affects how you perform". I absolutly loved this book because of the things Gary Mack introduced to me and opening my eyes to somthing that was right infront of me. One down fall of this book to me was the way Mack explained how to overcome some of these mental problems. He didnt explain why these problems exist or how to overcome them, maybe because everyone is different in dealing with them, but that was also some of the fun in exploring yourself and strengthening your mind. I would recomend this book to anyone who is at all competative. Whether that is in the work place or in a sport, this book can help you perform at your best. My overall rating in five stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    Must read for athletes.

    Easy read that athletes of all ages and skill levels should read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    Mind gym is amazing.

    i've been reading mind gym for years i love it very much. i read it before every basketball game i play. Everyone on my team bought the book because i loved it so much. it's inspirational and amazing. Any sports fan, player, or lover should buy and read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    Practice, practice, practice

    Pracice, practice, practice<BR/>¿Believing in yourself is the paramount to success for any athlete.¿ Mind Gym, written by Gary Mack with David Casstevens and published by McGraw-Hill, is an athlete¿s guide to inner excellence. Throughout the book, there are many things to ¿check off¿ before becoming a winner. Gary Mack takes an athlete beyond the game and explains how their mind influences their performance as much as their physical skill does.<BR/> The first thing Mack wants one to practice are the seven c¿s. The seven c¿s are competitive, confident, control, committed, composure, courage, and consistency. According to Mack, if one practices the seven c¿s, they will master mental toughness. The seven c¿s are just one example of things he mentions in the book. He has several principles that an athlete should learn to go by.<BR/> Mind Gym is written by Gary Mack but throughout the book many famous athletes give personal insight on what they have had go wrong and how they overcame it. Some of the athletes include Tiger Woods, Mark McGuire, Greg Maddux, Charles Barkley, and many many more. <BR/> Overall, the book has a very good message that many athletes could benefit from but it¿s not my type. I thought the book was very dry and very slow moving. I just couldn¿t get into it. In other words, it was boring. I did learn some good things from it but it was just too informative.<BR/> I recommend this book to anyone who wants to build their mental muscle. I think it¿s better for young adults and adults because of the fact that it is so informative and dry. I would rate it two and a half athletes out of five athletes.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Mental Floss Mental physique is the new way in making an ath

    Mental Floss




    Mental physique is the new way in making an athlete excel beyond their peers and impress coaches alike. Mind gym goes through 40 different steps to improve your mental game. My personal favorites are envisioning myself playing good and creating a routine that helps in making you successful.  Gary Mack and David Casstevens have a great writing style.  The book kept me intrigued and still stayed simple enough for me to understand. I will be testing the methods in the months to come but I am confident already in positive results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Madden the gym leaders gym

    I am an all type leader delfox i chose you!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    My greninja could knock out saturn with out taking any damage

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Emsterem

    It van show if you really want to be in the game or just to watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Wells to saturn

    Hi.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Saturn

    His is my new gym. I accept any challengers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Lovekit

    Willowmoon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Come on

    Thid book is stupid who reads this crap

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Good read

    There are several good ideas and tips in the book for athletes to apply to the mental aspect of their game.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Mental thinking

    This is a great book to help you to become mentality tough and be able to take on your competition and succeed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2007

    helpfull in every aspect of sports

    this book helped me in my shooting and worries in the game

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    A must-read for the serious athlete

    Psychology is a crucial yet underrated part of athletics, and Mack gives great advice! The book helped me a lot! Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2003

    Greatly Helped me

    This book has added so much releive to my sprinting and my worries. I recommend this book since it gives an idea of how success comes your way however it does miss certain exercises that might help you reach that point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2