Customer Reviews for

Mind Over Medicine: Scientific Proof That You Can Heal Yourself

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

I found reading Dr. Lissa Rankin¿s newest book a profoundly enli

I found reading Dr. Lissa Rankin’s newest book a profoundly enlightening experience. Reading it has changed the way I view my own health. I’ve long suffered from a lot of stress and anxiety. I’d grown numb to this aspect of my life, accepting it as a part of my characte...
I found reading Dr. Lissa Rankin’s newest book a profoundly enlightening experience. Reading it has changed the way I view my own health. I’ve long suffered from a lot of stress and anxiety. I’d grown numb to this aspect of my life, accepting it as a part of my character that was beyond my control, a product of my genetic programing. 
The book convinced me that chronic stress and anxiety wasn’t just about my having a lot of bad days, it was about my getting cancer!  I’m shocked that no doctor I’ve ever seen as a patient has talked to me about the negative effects of stress and anxiety on my physiological health. All they’ve ever done is suggest anti-anxiety medications.
I'm committed to writing my own prescription now to put what Dr. Rankin calls my Whole Health Cairn into balance, and to introducing a mindfulness practice into my life to reduce my stress.  I’m also going to share the book with my primary care physician. If she’s anything like Dr. Rankin she was never exposed to this information about the minds ability to hea the body in medical school, even though it is all documented in the medical journals going back 100 years. 

posted by 17567631 on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ivyan

Highrock

posted by Anonymous on December 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I found reading Dr. Lissa Rankin¿s newest book a profoundly enli

    I found reading Dr. Lissa Rankin’s newest book a profoundly enlightening experience. Reading it has changed the way I view my own health. I’ve long suffered from a lot of stress and anxiety. I’d grown numb to this aspect of my life, accepting it as a part of my character that was beyond my control, a product of my genetic programing. 
    The book convinced me that chronic stress and anxiety wasn’t just about my having a lot of bad days, it was about my getting cancer!  I’m shocked that no doctor I’ve ever seen as a patient has talked to me about the negative effects of stress and anxiety on my physiological health. All they’ve ever done is suggest anti-anxiety medications.
    I'm committed to writing my own prescription now to put what Dr. Rankin calls my Whole Health Cairn into balance, and to introducing a mindfulness practice into my life to reduce my stress.  I’m also going to share the book with my primary care physician. If she’s anything like Dr. Rankin she was never exposed to this information about the minds ability to hea the body in medical school, even though it is all documented in the medical journals going back 100 years. 

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    A must read! Lissa Rankin's courageous journey from physician e


    A must read! Lissa Rankin's courageous journey from physician entrenched in a system that is broken to a
    visionary looking to heal not only the system, but all those who participate in it, has resulted in a beautifully and
    accessibly written book. She indulges the scientists among us with studies to back up her claims and illuminates
     'the placebo effect' for what it is and what it can be. The reader is taken on a journey to understand, then
    implement easy strategies for their own individualized healing path. She even shares the personal prescription
    she wrote for her own journey. Whether you are in the midst of an illness, wanting to maintain inner and outer
    health, or a health care provider looking for solutions outside conventional wisdom, this book will give you
    insight and tools to set you on your way.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    More and more, books about how our mind, our thoughts, our emoti

    More and more, books about how our mind, our thoughts, our emotions impact our health are everywhere. I believe this is a testament to a growing awareness in the world that our health systems are in need of their own prescription. I believe MIND OVER MEDICINE pour fire on this awareness, or better yet, this revolution. In her book, Dr. Rankin weaves solid scientific facts into a wonderfully written book – one I was unable to put down. Through the journey of MIND OVER MEDICINE, my mind expanded as did my understanding of my responsibility to my own health. My wish is that everyone, whether you are ill, healthy, doctors, health care practitioners or all kinds – and all those in between read this book. I believe Dr. Rankin beautifully blends her love for writing, research, and healing in this revolutionary book.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    What your body wants you to know

    We get sick because we are often in the wrong place or with the wrong people and can't honestly be our own best selves. Our bodies won't put up with such conditions and let us know about it the only way they know how -- they nudge (or clobber) us with messages in the form of illness. I usually hate books that contain workbooks, but this was very helpful. It involves writing the answers to questions which help to uncover the underlying causes to physical conditions. Based on your writing, you create your own prescription to make life changes that will heal you.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    An excellent prescription for taking charge of your health

    Dr. Rankin cites much research to show how mind, body , & spirit work together for the body's self-repair.Using her own life's experience, she offers suggestions to help your body to heal itself &/or maintain health.
    "You know your own body best, listen to it!" She strives to put the caring back into health care.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    A MUST HAVE BOOK!!

    WOW, is the first thing to say about this book. I've always believed that our minds have EVERYTHING to do with our health and well being, and this books gives us the reasons to why this is true. Thank you Lissa Rankin for such an amazing book. The best part for me was that it was written by a doctor!! Most doctors are ready ready to just fill out a prescription with NO thought to "WHY" you "REALLY" feel the way you are feeling. This book gets to the heart of your REAL issues. I Learned sooo much and it has changed my life!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Highly Recommended!

    A must read. Very informative. The human body is an amazing thing and capable of healing itself. Dr. Lissa Rankin explains how this works with scientific proof. Anyone with health problems or anyone who wants to prevent health problems should read this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Lissa Rankin is AWESOME! I found her on FB and have been a huge

    Lissa Rankin is AWESOME! I found her on FB and have been a huge fan every since. I AM a New Thought Practitioner and have read a lot of books. This lady is what New Thought is all about. I thank God for people like her and will be a fan for life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    SandStorm

    Hummed to himself

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Lionpaw

    Dozed.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Dark green eyes

    Dumbazz im not devil.... im bloodlust and im helping sparrowstar

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Toxin

    Striking... I am very, very proud of you. *he runs back to camp*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Striking

    Padded after them.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Bone

    He noded and cained sparrows paws together. Then put a muzzle on him. He draged him to 'blood battle' result one.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Duskkit

    Pads with with cobwebs and borage

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Hawkmoon to Cloudpaw

    When are you getting your full name, Cloudpaw?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Riverstone

    Smokeystar Olivekit will never be a warrior. However when you were gone Nitehawk dismised me from being a med cat for a while. He found a new but at that point he forgave me and let me carry on. Flashstreak stayed as a med cat witch i have no problum with. But i need your permisoin to have three med cats.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Skylight

    Moonpool result one of course!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Mind Over Medicine is changing how I handle illness with my chil

    Mind Over Medicine is changing how I handle illness with my children. I'm beginning to talk about self-healing with my kids, empowering them to BELIEVE that they have the self-healing superpowers to fight disease and activate health. Yes, I still give my children medicine and take them to the doctors when they need it...but inspired by Dr. Rankin, I'm beginning to change how I speak about illness, injuries, and the healing process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2