Customer Reviews for

Mind Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 28, 2014

    Wish I could tell you how much I love spending time with Lucas D

    Wish I could tell you how much I love spending time with Lucas Davenport and his co-workers...but there just aren't words to describe it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great crime drama!

    The seventh Lucas Davenport book by John Sanford does a great job of making the react. Whether its to the brutality to a victim, fear for her daughter, angst towards the cops nears misses, etc. Davenport is a great leading man who has personality and flaws. His relationship with his girlfriend, Weather, is real and enjoyable. His friends and coworkers seem realistic. Overall, the book was very good but too brutal at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Missed this one when it came out

    Pure adrenaline!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read

    I could not put this book down for even a minute! My opinion is this is the best book in the Prey Series thus far. I got caught up in the story and like always, my mind makes its own conclusions, but with so many twist and turns the ending is not the outcome I predicted....its so much better!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Excellent read

    I've read 10 Prey novels now, and in many ways I think this one has been the best. The story line isn't that spectacular, but the way Mr Sandford puts the story together is riveting and spellbinding. This book has everything - suspense, action, mystery, closure. As I finished it I thought this one would make a great movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    Should be listed under Horror/Terror

    There should be warnings on the cover of this "novel". I love detective, crime series but this is beyond what the average reader would enjoy. Brutality, torture, repeated rape scenes, cops who discuss each others sexual conquests and what would now be considered sexual harassment. I hoped to start reading another series where when each book ended you couldn't wait for the next. Not so. Very disturbing read. One star rating because zero stars not allowed.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    mind prey

    this book was nail biting from beginning to end really enjoyed every minute of reading it. Im about to read the whole prey seriers now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bumpy Thrill Ride

    Number seven in the Davenport series, this is the best one so far. Plot and characters are deep and REAL. This is a thrill ride from page one and carries on throughout. Regarding those who have written the violence is extreme in this book, it is disturbing, but there is a raw reality feel to it. Absent that key element, the story would without a doubt lose its edge. You go into this book knowing to some level what the plot is; you can not then expect it to be anything less than intense....and Sanford has shown that is his style on most, if not all, of these Davenport episodes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Extremely intense....

    I have read several books by John Sandford and enjoy his style of writing very much. Mind Prey was a disturbing read as it protrayed a maniac that kidnapped a woman and her 2 daughters. The torture that this lunatic put these women through was truly a suspenseful experience but thanks to our hero Lucas Davenport who methodically uncovers the identity of the criminal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Not bad.....Could have been better

    It wasn't bad but boy could it have been better. Sandfords novels just seem so lacking to me. Nothing much happens for a long time but standard day by day routines that do not to be so boring but they are. Davenport is a manic of a cop but hes a great character. The killers in the prey series have been getting weaker to me and the fact that nothing groundbreaking happens in this series. They are so straight to the point, it can get boring until Lucas enters the picture again. Sandford wont play with your mind, the stories always go one way, always. If you like alot of suspense or twists, Sandford wont do it for you. Great characters though.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2005

    A perfect novel!

    Yes. I thought John Sanford could do no better than the first six novels of the series. I was happy with them, I loved all of them. And I read 'Mind Prey' and fell of my couch. What a novel! What a trip! Threre was no way to put the book down. I was reading until 4 in the morning and could not quit but I had to sleep. Too bad. In any case, I finished the book and now have troubles coming back to earth. John Sandford's characters are living people. All of them. There is no way to escape. Once Sanford hooks you - which he does in the first two or three sentences - you are a prisoner until the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2005

    One of the best ever!

    Definetly one of the best books I have ever read. I found John Sandford to be one of the best crime fiction writers of all time. This was one the first prey novels I have ever read and it blew my mind. Now ever since I have read Mind Prey, I have read almost all of the prey novels. I hope John will keep writing these novels for years to come. Now that you heard from me go out and get the book and find out how you will like it. I think you'll enjoy it like I did. Keep up the good work John!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2004

    Not Open Minded

    The novel as a whole is very entertaining. Fast paced and humorously written, it is a fine sample of good fiction writing. However, the more we learn about Davenport, the more tarnished his image becomes. Why is it that someone so skilled, intelligent and intuitive is also so closed-minded? His black and white morality where one size fits all (as long as he can determine the size) is very unbecoming. This mind set seems to be a popular trend in America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    One of the best books I have ever read

    Mind Prey one of seven Prey Books by John Sandford was by far the most thrilling book I have ever read. The series character Lucas Davenport comes to the rescue again. Yes he does it again and this time it's for the well to do psychiatrist Andi Manette and her two daughters that were kidnapped by an old patient John Mail. After Lucas questioned everyone whom he thinks in involved in her disappearance he realizes that the kidnapper is a gamer and uses it to his advantage to trap him or so he thinks. Meanwhile at a small barn and Andi is trying to stay sane after the many beatings a rapes that were given to her almost everyday. Having her one daughter with her Grace to keep her company, she wonders if Geneva was dropped off at the shopping area like John told her that's what he was going to do. In the mist of all the chaos Lucas stays calm and proves that he can over come anything. Lucas did it he solved another case and got engaged to his long time girlfriend. As you can see this book is a page-turner and a half so I suggest you pick it up next time you want something to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2001

    OUTSTANDINGLY MIND BLOWING

    MIND PREY I LISTENED TO THE AUDIO VERSION, AND IT WAS SO VIVID ALMOST LIKE YOU WERE THERE. I COULDN'T STOP , UNTIL I HAD FINISHED IT. THIS WAS THE BEST BOOK I HAD EVER LISTENED TO, AND CAN'T WAIT TO HEAR THE OTHER BOOKS BY JOHN SANDFORD ....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2001

    LUCUS COMES THROUGH AGAIN!!!

    Winter Prey was the best Prey book I had read until now. I believe Mind Prey may be the best one yet. In Mind Prey, John Mail kidnapes a women and her two daughters. The woman is a Dr. who has treated John before for depression. John takes them to a old farm house and there begins to do bad things to the woman. He then takes the younger girl to a Wal-Mart and turns her loose, or does he???? Lucus is called in to find Mail and the other three. The mind games they play with each other is great. I an almost say that you won't want to put this down when you start to read it. I really liked the ending. Goody, Goody. Lucus did not jump into bed with several women this time and I liked that. Also, during the story, Lucus is trying to ask Weather to marry him. Does he ever get up the nerve????? If you like scary books full of suspence, you will like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2000

    Non stop suspense

    This Prey, grips you at the very 1st page and never lets go! One of his best yet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2000

    If you like reading about lots of rape...

    I've enjoyed Sanford's other Prey series, but not this one. Yes, it has twists, turns, action, etc., but the brutality of the constant rape passages was not entertaining. Buyer beware -

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5