Customer Reviews for

The Mindbody Prescription: Healing the Body, Healing the Pain

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Dr. Sarno Is A Medical Genius

    I saw Dr. Sarno ten years ago for back pain . Within the first week after seeing him I was cured. I've never had any back pain again. I couldn't walk my pain was so bad, I was hunched over. I had to stay home and lie on the floor for days. My days of sleeping on a hard floor or crawling to the bathroom are gone since I became Dr. Sarno's patient. Mindbody Prescription: Healing the Body, Healing the Pain which is an excellent title since I now have knee pain and sometimes the pain goes to my groin and hip. This title made me aware that ten years later Dr. Sarno is now treating all areas of the body, and the mind and the body work together was always my way of thinking. I'm fortunate to have found Dr. Sarno.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I was very skeptical that this book would help. I was in severe pain in my neck. I had surgery 9 years ago for herniated discs and they acted up every so often. I was on all kinds of medicine including muscle relaxants. Anyway a friend suggested this book and at that point I was willing to try anything. Well, it worked! I am in no pain at all!! I read the book, practiced the suggestions and seriously I am in no pain. Just keep an open mind and give this book a shot. I am on no medicine and am able to workout again without any restrictions. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    helped cure my RSI

    I had bad Repetitive Strain Injury in my hands. I could only work at a computer for 20 minutes without pain. I discovered Dr. Sarno's theories in this book and the book by Fred Amir and six weeks later I am working at a computer for five hours per day. I don't know if it can help all cases of RSI or even most cases but I wouldn't be surprised.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    Explore the mind-body connection.

    This book explores the mind-body connection and will make you take a good look at how stress might influence your physical symptoms. It may not work for everyone, but it will get one thinking if stress plays any part at all in your condition. I feel that you have to treat both the mind AND the body and that just treating one in isolation is not enough. I hear many stories of people "telling" their pain to go away, have it actually go away, and then come back again on them repeatedly. Rarely does this kind of treatment permanently cure a chronic condition. Commonsense leads me to believe that regardless of what causes something like back pain, the pain does cause certain changes in your body (such as smaller and weaker back muscles) that must be addressed. You may have gotten rid of your pain with a psychological treatment, but the physical toll the pain took on your body (smaller and weaker back muscles) must be dealt with through a physical treatment as well. Yout back muscles don't automatically recover without proper exercise too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    'Cure What Ails You'

    If you suffer from nearly any kind of chronic pain or disease, this book can cure you. Pain and illness are epidemic, and this book is the tool you need. You will regain your health! I had chronic illness, neck pain, carpel tunnel syndrome, foot pain--I could go on and on. I thought stress was a factor, but this book taught me that ANGER is the key. You'll have to do some work--journal, think about what's bothering you, be introspective--but isn't your health worth it? The cure is in your hands. Don't wait any longer! Don't be afriad of having a weak body or immune system any more! Buy the book. Make notes in it. You can recover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2000

    This is an excellent reference book!

    The chapters on psychology may be a bit too detailed for most people, nevertheless, this is an excellent reference book for understanding a variety of ailments and bodily pains, often misdiagnosed, but usually caused by tension. It is also a good complement to Dr. sarno's Healing back pain, which helped me recover from chronic pain in my back, legs, knees, feet, neck, arms, and hands, and almost completely disability. Combining guidelines provided by Dr. Sarno with techniques used by Olympic athletes, I was able to design a nine-step repid recovery program that allowed me to improve immediately and recover within four days. After my recovery I shared my research and experiences with individuals as well as in seminars I conducted for the University of California, CIGNA, and other organizations. My story is detailed in Rapid Recovery from Back and Neck Pain: A Nine-Step Recovery plan and serves as another testimony to the accuracy of Dr. Sarno's diagnosis. Rapid Recovery from Back and Neck Pain is now available at BarnesandNoble.com.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1