Customer Reviews for

Mindhunter: Inside the FBI's Elite Serial Crime Unit

Average Rating 4.5
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

If you are interested in serial crime, this is a must have

At the end of this book you come away feeling as though you have been through a lot of this with Mr. Douglas, and you have a strong since of who Mr. Douglas and his team are.

If at some point you are not disturbed by this book there is something wrong. You find you...
At the end of this book you come away feeling as though you have been through a lot of this with Mr. Douglas, and you have a strong since of who Mr. Douglas and his team are.

If at some point you are not disturbed by this book there is something wrong. You find yourself feeling for, and with, John throughout the book. To start you find yourself in the middle of something that had to leave him shaken and worried. Then you have to follow the hard work (mentally and physically) that John had to go through to hone his craft. He truly proves to be one of the best ever in the business.

This is the first of John Douglas' books that I have read and I can't wait to dive in to the next one I can put my hands on.

If you have interest in true crime, serial killers, violent crime, or the hard work and stress that profilers have to go through, make sure you have this book, and when you are done keep it for reference. This book is fully indexed so it is easy to find what you are looking for.

For either the veteran true crime enthusiast or your first look into the dark underbelly of human race, make sure to pick up this book.

posted by GonzoRN on May 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Meh

I read this book. It had some interesting information in it. I like the book but it seems that the author John Douglas likes to take credit for a lot of things that Robert Ressler did before him. The Author comes across as certifiably narcissistic.

posted by JWWitness-III on November 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you are interested in serial crime, this is a must have

    At the end of this book you come away feeling as though you have been through a lot of this with Mr. Douglas, and you have a strong since of who Mr. Douglas and his team are.

    If at some point you are not disturbed by this book there is something wrong. You find yourself feeling for, and with, John throughout the book. To start you find yourself in the middle of something that had to leave him shaken and worried. Then you have to follow the hard work (mentally and physically) that John had to go through to hone his craft. He truly proves to be one of the best ever in the business.

    This is the first of John Douglas' books that I have read and I can't wait to dive in to the next one I can put my hands on.

    If you have interest in true crime, serial killers, violent crime, or the hard work and stress that profilers have to go through, make sure you have this book, and when you are done keep it for reference. This book is fully indexed so it is easy to find what you are looking for.

    For either the veteran true crime enthusiast or your first look into the dark underbelly of human race, make sure to pick up this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    don't read while home alone!

    I read this book while home alone for a weekend while my husband was away...NOT a good idea! I just couldn't put it down and was scared. You'll never look at your neighbor or an unmarked white van again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    Mac Church's Wife Jennifer Here

    Dear John, I just finished pouring over your book Mind Hunter, the one you signed and gave to Mac as a gift. Thank you for your pages of experience. Congrats on a well written book!! I just had to let you know how much I appreciate your line of work and the efforts of your investigative career path travelled.
    I feel blessed as a citizen to know that there are agents like you and those you have trained and influenced, working hard to keep up with the increasing sophisication of criminals out there. You have am amazing thought process, and it is astonishing to read how you have broken down information to uncover criminals identities.
    I am the daughter of a murderer, so it was why I picked up your book to read so that I would learn something about criminal minds. My father murdered my mother in 1979, in England in our home. I have spent my life agonizing over his act, and live through the damage he caused to our family, not to mention my mothers life being ended at age 36. Your book touches why he choce the method he used and on his personality type " if I can have her, know one can", my father would make such threats over the years and no one thought he would ever carry out his statement, he was perceived as a "salt of the earth type of guy" to outsiders, but inside our home I knew a different person. If you ever feel up to it, I would love to talk, there are aspects surrounding my mothers case I would love some answers on.
    I want to send you a "Big" congratulations, on a superb book that enlightens the public on criminal conduct. I feel educated now to keep my wits about me when dealing with the public at large.
    I can imagine the toll your job in the past took on you and your family. I hope now you are enjoying your retirement and are able to live a peaceful exsistance. Your life deserves a well earned rest.
    We would love to have dinner sometime with you and Pam.
    I'm going to research which one of your books I want to read next.
    Bravo John Bravo.
    Gratefully...
    Jennifer Church

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    FASCINATING!

    One of my all-time favorite books...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    PRETTY GOOD

    Quite possibly my favorite book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Thought-provoking and well-written look into the criminal mind

    After years of having watched countless movies and tv shows about profiling, I decided to check out this book which details the beginning of the FBI's Behavioral Analysis Unit (BAU). John Douglas's life is the basis of the first third of the book, but is very well-written and engaging. By the time I reached the true delving into the criminal mind in the middle third of the book, I really enjoyed Douglas as a "character". Highly recommend to anyone interested in the real history of criminal profiling and behavior analysis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    So were the cold cases now hot like sun from god

    How do i get around the fact this is my god given talent with no support group and 4 killers who owe us all and me tojohn. God bless

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    If you like True Crime books, this is one of the best

    The author is retired from Criminal Profiling at Quantico. He talks about his psychology and socialogy background is, discusses several past cases and how the profile was created.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    The author

    John douglas and the guys from quantico are my favorite authors. Interesting and fasinating!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    Amazing look into a specialized unit of the FBI

    This is a great book. It is well written, detailed, and captivating. It is written by John Douglas, the man who in my mind really brought psychology into the world of law enforcement. The tv shows and movies that portray criminal profiling show some of what is is, but this book really explains and shows you the true aspects of it. The crimes he talks about are gruesome, but they happened. He paints a vivid picture of the inside the Investigative Support Unit in the FBI. The conversations he has with real killers and rapists bring to light a side of the crimes people rarely see. I would recommend this to anyone interested in the FBI and/or serial crimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    In the evolution of crimefighting, this is a giant step

    A real book from someone who has really been there. I found this book 6 years ago, and even though Douglas is not a stylish writer, I dont care. This book astonished me, I suppose I thought criminal profiling was a fiction. Douglas has helped bring crime investigation into the 21st century. Even though profiling doesn't work in every case, it's wins justify it's existence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    How can you get in their minds?

    How To Get Into The Mind Of The Hunter: Mind Hunter by John Douglas and Mark Olshaker is a great book for those readers who enjoy reading about FBI cases and murders. It tells of the life on John Douglas who has become the head of the FBI elite serial crime unit set up to track down serial killers. You learn that since his beginning of school, John has been honing in his skills in reading people which he comes later to use in the FBI. John has interviewed many famous serial killers ranging from Ed Gein to Ted Bundy. Mind Hunter is definitely a book for people who enjoy FBI themed things, personally I didn¿t enjoy the fact that they didn¿t talk about some famous killers that he did interview more in depth which I believe would add a different view to the more sadistic killers. On the other hand if you just want to know more about how FBI agents can get into the heads of some very monstrous killers, this is the book for you. In the end, I would give this book a 9.1 out of ten, since the book has a way to keep you interested in how he does his work, but to get to the part where he even starts interviewing becomes a little stretched out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    An outstanding book!

    Mind Hunter is a book that once your start you won't be able to put down and when I had to I could not stop thinking about it. The author does a great job in giving vivid details of his experiences as a forensic psychologist. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    I love this book!

    Mindhunter is an awesome book. I couldn't put it down! John Douglas is a great writer and the best profiler I have ever read about. He has inspired me to want to join the FBI! READ THIS BOOK!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2003

    Gut wrenching!

    Truth is indeed stranger than fiction.An incredible book by a terrific storyteller. This was my first book from Douglas, and absolutely won't be my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2002

    Lock the doors before reading!!!

    I enjoyed the book in the sense that it was a wake up call. This world is full of so many sick and vile human beings. This book points them out. The "Profiling" work done by John Douglas and his colleagues is outstanding. I applaud all law enforcement for their work wherever they may be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    His books are an addiction!

    This was the first time I had read about John Douglas and of criminal profiling. This was a very interesting read for me, I also like how John gave background on himself, the FBI and how this work can so affect a person's life. I have nearly all of his books, they are all good. I appreciate the way John is so straight up and tells it like it is. Big credit also to Mark Olshaker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2003

    Well Written

    This book was one of the best I have ever read. It gives the reader an indepth look into our serial crime unit. The great part about the book is the fact that it gives real life examples and shows exactly what it took to start the psychological profiling division. I would highly recommend this book to anybody even remotely interested in crime solving or learning why some people do the things they do. The only warning I give is that if you can't handle some of the hash realities of life you may not want to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    Nothing short of riveting!

    AFter reading this book, you can't help but applaud those who do such work as to dive into a murderers psyche(not to mention the fact of grieving over the evil that lurks in the world) in order to help stop the crime that plagues us all. I give great thanks to John Douglas, the Investigative Support Unit team, the co-Author Mark Olshaker, and the eye-opening experience this book brought upon me. What do I do now? Why read his other books, of course!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    Outstanding

    This was my first true crime book and I must say that I am hooked. I have gained the utmost respect for the FBI and people in it like John Douglas who sacrificed so much of their own personnel life, to help hunt down these monsters. Graphic details and Mr. Douglas tells it how it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4