BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Minding Frankie

Average Rating 4
( 345 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Magic!

Minding Frankie is the story of little Frankie Lynch whose mother died as she was giving birth. Her mother tells Noel Lynch that he is the father not long before she dies. A drunk who is unhappy in his work, he works hard to pull himself together for Frankie's sake. Hel...
Minding Frankie is the story of little Frankie Lynch whose mother died as she was giving birth. Her mother tells Noel Lynch that he is the father not long before she dies. A drunk who is unhappy in his work, he works hard to pull himself together for Frankie's sake. Helping, and occasionally, hindering him, are Binchy's usual cast of loveable, quirky characters - his parents who are obssessed with building a statue of Saint Jarleth, his long lost American cousin Emily who has just appeared, and those irrepressible twins. Everyone pitches in with advice and babysitting help until a cold and efficient social worker threatens to put Frankie in foster care.

Minding Frankie is standard Maeve Binchy fare which is to say magic. As always there is the unusual but thoroughly engaging cast of characters, the lessons in love, and the heartwarming ending. The twins and Muttie provide plenty of humor to lighten things up. Reading this book is like crawling into a warm bed on a cold winter night, bringing comfort and contentment.

posted by Frisbeesage on March 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Love Maeve Binchy, but not for my NOOK!

I bought the nook but can't share with anyone, and now these books are costing more for my eyes only! I still don't understand how the Nookbooks cost more than a printed copy that is shipped in trucks, put on shelves, sold by cashiers, and all managed by many levels of ...
I bought the nook but can't share with anyone, and now these books are costing more for my eyes only! I still don't understand how the Nookbooks cost more than a printed copy that is shipped in trucks, put on shelves, sold by cashiers, and all managed by many levels of management....and cost more via internet?

posted by 7047034 on February 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 348 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    Love Maeve Binchy, but not for my NOOK!

    I bought the nook but can't share with anyone, and now these books are costing more for my eyes only! I still don't understand how the Nookbooks cost more than a printed copy that is shipped in trucks, put on shelves, sold by cashiers, and all managed by many levels of management....and cost more via internet?

    28 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Way to costly for a nookbook.....

    I can't see paying almost $15 for an electronic book I can't lend to a friend...

    So this book will be siting on my wish list unntil these gread publishers come to their senses...

    22 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Magic!

    Minding Frankie is the story of little Frankie Lynch whose mother died as she was giving birth. Her mother tells Noel Lynch that he is the father not long before she dies. A drunk who is unhappy in his work, he works hard to pull himself together for Frankie's sake. Helping, and occasionally, hindering him, are Binchy's usual cast of loveable, quirky characters - his parents who are obssessed with building a statue of Saint Jarleth, his long lost American cousin Emily who has just appeared, and those irrepressible twins. Everyone pitches in with advice and babysitting help until a cold and efficient social worker threatens to put Frankie in foster care.

    Minding Frankie is standard Maeve Binchy fare which is to say magic. As always there is the unusual but thoroughly engaging cast of characters, the lessons in love, and the heartwarming ending. The twins and Muttie provide plenty of humor to lighten things up. Reading this book is like crawling into a warm bed on a cold winter night, bringing comfort and contentment.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    As always in a Maeve Binchy drama, there is much more going on than the prime focus

    In Dublin Stella is dying from cancer. She prays she lives long enough to give birth to the child she is carrying. Worrying about the raising of her infant, she informs alcoholic Noel Lynch that he is the father. He is confused as he does not have any recall of having sex with Stella, but admits he could have been in a drunken stupor, Noel has doubts he can deal with the responsibly of a kid when he cannot even take care of himself.

    Noel's cousin Emily from New York encourages him to stop drinking and to raise his daughter, Frankie born at St. Brigid's Hospital following the death of Stella. He joins AA, works diligently to be a good father and persuade Moira the social worker he will take proper care of his daughter; the latter proves the most difficult as the case worker has an agenda caused by her own unhappy childhood. Lisa the graphic artist moves into the home of father, daughter and visiting cousin, but also joins other residents of St. Jarlath's Crescent to help her host remain sober.

    As always in a Maeve Binchy drama, there is much more going on than the prime focus as characters from previous novels reappear either to help Noel as a single dad or to tell their tale. The Irish neighborhood horde are the heart and Soul of Minding Frankie as they also mind Noel. Moira proves to be much more than a stereotype enforcer and Lisa has relationship issues, as does St. Brigid's administrator Frank. These people and Noel contrast to Emily who does everything right for everyone else, but lives precariously through their lives. Fans will enjoy Ms. Binchy's latest tour of Dublin as it takes a caring neighborhood to raise a child.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    Wonderful!

    Look for all those who keep complaining of the cost of the nookbooks, StOP complaining its your fault for buying one in the first place. Dont right a review based on the price of your stupid nookbook. The review is about the content in the story and it was wonderful no matter what the cost!!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    too much moneyyu

    This e book cost too much money. I can not see paying this much for a book you can not even lend. B and N have sold the public on the fact that they can lend books. Not so, very disapointed in the lack of lend me books.

    7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    Too expensive

    I agree! I love love love Maeve Binchy, but this is just too expensive to download!

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Definately another good one

    You don't even need to read the synopsis to know that it's going to be good. As in true Maeve Binchy fashion, this is another heart tugging read that brings characters to life before your eyes. Once again she incorporates characters from previous books to play roles in the lives of the characters in this one. If you have loved Maeve Binchy's books in the past, you will once again in this.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    LOVED the book. Highly Recommend it

    I couldn't put this book down, and that doesn't happen very often. Although whenever I buy a Maeve Binchy book I can't put down. Love anything that set in Ireland. All of the characters were described so wonderfully that I could see them in my mind's eye. I couldn't wait to find out what was going to happen next with all the characters. Thank you Maeve Binchy. Every since Shell Seekers I've been hooked on your books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    Read this book!!

    This book was an absolute joy to read. I think that anyone can relate to the characters. The author really takes you for a ride in a community full of an interesting cast of characters of all ages and walks of life. From beginning to end, one becomes enamored with each one, as they navigate life's twists and turns, making decisions, weighing choices, and throughout it all, supporting one another. I would highly recommend this book to anyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Recommend

    This was my first Maeve Binchy novel and I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked it! This was a super cute book. Set in Ireland, this book had so many characters ( but they were easy to keep tract off) and lots going on, all based upon an unexpected arrival of a baby. I highly recommend!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Good book. Enjoyable reading. No swear words!

    I intend to read more of Maeve Binchy's books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Yes!

    I love Maeve Binchy! This was a great book, very easy read. I like how her books often inter-connect to other books, as far as the characters go. Very nice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Great characters

    This story benefitted from a character rich cast. If only we all had neighborhoods like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Kind of long...

    I enjoy her books, but this one seemed like it went on too long. i didn't feel as if all if the characters' stories were 'wrapped up' at the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2014

    I've read many of Ms. Binchy's novels and believe Minding Franki

    I've read many of Ms. Binchy's novels and believe Minding Frankie is probably one of her best in how Noel accepts responsibility
    in the raising of his daughter, Frankie; when Stella her mother  who he only had a one night stand with dies and leaves him with
    the guardianship of Frankie.  An immensely compelling story of how Ms. BInchy can play on the many interwoven themes within
    this novel.
     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Liked it

    It was sweet, loved the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Intriguing

    As per usual, Maeve Binchy weaves a tale with a cast of several characters, somehow managing to make all of them an integral part of the story. Some claim this story to be boring, but I found it to be very interesting, personally. An intriguing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Kind of Annoying...but ok

    I've read many of Binchy's works and this was sadly not muh of an entertaing read like, for example, Light a Penny Candle. The characters are very well developed, but she was lacking a bit as usual with her visual desciptions here. Sometimes the said "social worker" and Lisa really grated on my nerves and made me want to stop reading the book altogether. But me, being one to want to finish the book for the sake of the other characters, read through anyways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Highly recommend!!

    I loved this book!! I hadn't read Maeve Binchy's books in a long time and thoroughly enjoyed this one. If you are a Binchy fan, you must read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 348 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18