Customer Reviews for

Minding Frankie

Average Rating 4
( 343 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Magic!

Minding Frankie is the story of little Frankie Lynch whose mother died as she was giving birth. Her mother tells Noel Lynch that he is the father not long before she dies. A drunk who is unhappy in his work, he works hard to pull himself together for Frankie's sake. Hel...
Minding Frankie is the story of little Frankie Lynch whose mother died as she was giving birth. Her mother tells Noel Lynch that he is the father not long before she dies. A drunk who is unhappy in his work, he works hard to pull himself together for Frankie's sake. Helping, and occasionally, hindering him, are Binchy's usual cast of loveable, quirky characters - his parents who are obssessed with building a statue of Saint Jarleth, his long lost American cousin Emily who has just appeared, and those irrepressible twins. Everyone pitches in with advice and babysitting help until a cold and efficient social worker threatens to put Frankie in foster care.

Minding Frankie is standard Maeve Binchy fare which is to say magic. As always there is the unusual but thoroughly engaging cast of characters, the lessons in love, and the heartwarming ending. The twins and Muttie provide plenty of humor to lighten things up. Reading this book is like crawling into a warm bed on a cold winter night, bringing comfort and contentment.

posted by Frisbeesage on March 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Love Maeve Binchy, but not for my NOOK!

I bought the nook but can't share with anyone, and now these books are costing more for my eyes only! I still don't understand how the Nookbooks cost more than a printed copy that is shipped in trucks, put on shelves, sold by cashiers, and all managed by many levels of ...
I bought the nook but can't share with anyone, and now these books are costing more for my eyes only! I still don't understand how the Nookbooks cost more than a printed copy that is shipped in trucks, put on shelves, sold by cashiers, and all managed by many levels of management....and cost more via internet?

posted by 7047034 on February 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 346 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Pleasant, but not a best effort. I have read and enjoyed most of

    Pleasant, but not a best effort.
    I have read and enjoyed most of Maeve Binchy's novels, but feel that this one is definitely not among her best. The basic premise of the book--particularly the American cousin who magically solves everyone's problems--strains our credulity, the cast of characters is too large, and the dialogue seems somewhat  awkward and undeveloped. It is almost as though Ms. Binchey was trying to tell too many stories at once, something she has ably accomplished in other works, but not as successfully in this one. Having said that, she still provides a pleasant read and a bit of escapism. If you're new to Binchey's works, I suggest Circle of Friends or Tara Road, which are among her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Boring

    I like many of her books, but this wasn't one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Great book to read

    I am in the process of reading it. It is quite interesting with unusual happenings. It is definitely keeping my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    Very Good Read

    Interesting way of looking at life in a small, close knit, remote village.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Save your money...

    I had a hard time buying the story of a complete stranger flying to Ireland to meet unknown family and at once ingratiates herself into absolutely everyone's lives...this novel had poor character development, too many different story lines, unnecessary characters and in general not remotely credible....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Ireland

    I temporairly live in Ireland, so Maeve's books help me to understand the culture while having a great read! RIP Maeve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Kind of a sad story

    The social worker always trying to take away the child was sad. Personally I like a little more happyness in my life, and the stories i read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    This was my first book by Maeve and I will definitely be reading

    This was my first book by Maeve and I will definitely be reading more! I think I am hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Always a good read

    Looking forward to her last book in dec. One of my favorite authors. Love how she blends old and new characters together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    It is a warm, feel good story that includes people we met in previous books and continue now to learn about their daily lives today. You feel like you are visiting family. Ms. Binchy always provides a read that has some surprises and much insight to people as they really are. You want to become a member of this family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Heartwarming story set in the present

    N

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Recommended

    Great fun! Benchy revisits old friends, introduces the reader to new ones and mixes both together in a heartwarming story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Great book

    Typical Maeve Binchy book--draws you in, has you silently cheering for the characters, and leaves you wanting more when you reach the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    What can I say

    Another great story my Maeve Binchy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Recommended.

    Maeve Binchy at her best. This was a good heartwarming read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Gfdhfg

    I didnt flush the toilet he he

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Another Maeve Binchy to enjoy.

    Always enjoy Maeve Binchy books and this one was worth my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    disappointed

    I love Maeve Binchy's books, but this one was hard to read. Way too many charactors, old and new. I couldn't keep up. I felt like the book wasn't really about Frankie, but, the people around her. I'v noticed that in some of her other books as well. Even though there was a lot going on between the charactors, I felt the story line was rather bland and boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I have read most of her books, and this one is right up there with the best of them. I really enjoyed it, and it held my interest up till the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 346 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18