Customer Reviews for

Minding Frankie

Average Rating 4
( 345 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Magic!

Minding Frankie is the story of little Frankie Lynch whose mother died as she was giving birth. Her mother tells Noel Lynch that he is the father not long before she dies. A drunk who is unhappy in his work, he works hard to pull himself together for Frankie's sake. Hel...
Minding Frankie is the story of little Frankie Lynch whose mother died as she was giving birth. Her mother tells Noel Lynch that he is the father not long before she dies. A drunk who is unhappy in his work, he works hard to pull himself together for Frankie's sake. Helping, and occasionally, hindering him, are Binchy's usual cast of loveable, quirky characters - his parents who are obssessed with building a statue of Saint Jarleth, his long lost American cousin Emily who has just appeared, and those irrepressible twins. Everyone pitches in with advice and babysitting help until a cold and efficient social worker threatens to put Frankie in foster care.

Minding Frankie is standard Maeve Binchy fare which is to say magic. As always there is the unusual but thoroughly engaging cast of characters, the lessons in love, and the heartwarming ending. The twins and Muttie provide plenty of humor to lighten things up. Reading this book is like crawling into a warm bed on a cold winter night, bringing comfort and contentment.

posted by Frisbeesage on March 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Love Maeve Binchy, but not for my NOOK!

I bought the nook but can't share with anyone, and now these books are costing more for my eyes only! I still don't understand how the Nookbooks cost more than a printed copy that is shipped in trucks, put on shelves, sold by cashiers, and all managed by many levels of ...
I bought the nook but can't share with anyone, and now these books are costing more for my eyes only! I still don't understand how the Nookbooks cost more than a printed copy that is shipped in trucks, put on shelves, sold by cashiers, and all managed by many levels of management....and cost more via internet?

posted by 7047034 on February 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    too much moneyyu

    This e book cost too much money. I can not see paying this much for a book you can not even lend. B and N have sold the public on the fact that they can lend books. Not so, very disapointed in the lack of lend me books.

    7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Great characters

    This story benefitted from a character rich cast. If only we all had neighborhoods like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2014

    I've read many of Ms. Binchy's novels and believe Minding Franki

    I've read many of Ms. Binchy's novels and believe Minding Frankie is probably one of her best in how Noel accepts responsibility
    in the raising of his daughter, Frankie; when Stella her mother  who he only had a one night stand with dies and leaves him with
    the guardianship of Frankie.  An immensely compelling story of how Ms. BInchy can play on the many interwoven themes within
    this novel.
     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Liked it

    It was sweet, loved the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Highly recommend!!

    I loved this book!! I hadn't read Maeve Binchy's books in a long time and thoroughly enjoyed this one. If you are a Binchy fan, you must read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Liked it alot

    Good read, worth the money. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    Very Good Read

    Interesting way of looking at life in a small, close knit, remote village.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Ireland

    I temporairly live in Ireland, so Maeve's books help me to understand the culture while having a great read! RIP Maeve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Always a good read

    Looking forward to her last book in dec. One of my favorite authors. Love how she blends old and new characters together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Recommended

    Great fun! Benchy revisits old friends, introduces the reader to new ones and mixes both together in a heartwarming story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Great book

    Typical Maeve Binchy book--draws you in, has you silently cheering for the characters, and leaves you wanting more when you reach the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    What can I say

    Another great story my Maeve Binchy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Recommended.

    Maeve Binchy at her best. This was a good heartwarming read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Typically Maeve ... you gotta love the Irish!

    This book is about a motherless girl who is raised by a village in Dublin, Ireland. Noel learns that an old girlfriend is pregnant with his child and that she is terminally ill with cancer. She talks him into taking the child and raising her ... because he is her father. Noel is a struggling alcoholic and is not sure that he can do it alone, so his family, friends and neighbors jump in to help. A schedule is made so "little Frankie" is never alone. The only sceptical one of the group is Moira, the social worker. Noel has to convince her that is is up to the task of "minding Frankie. This is a tale of joy, heartbreak and hope.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    An Enjoyable Read - probably for women

    I have always loved Maeve Binchy's books & this was no exception. It is helpful to have read her previous novels to make the connections with other characters in Minding Frankie although this read can stand on its own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    Binchy always delivers a great storyline...

    I've been a fan of Mauve Binchy since high school...Her stories of inter-woven families in Ireland always keep you reading...the social worker character is a bit over-done, but the rest is classic Binchy and so, it was not disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Always love her books

    I have read all of Maeve Binchy's books and have yet to find a loser. This one made me want to curl up with a cup of tea and read till I finished it. The characters became like friends and I got so wrapped up in the story I hated to see it end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    another winner

    hated for the book to end. always feel like I am losing a friend. had me crying in public! loved it!! minkie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    A good read

    This was a very good book. Hard to put down. A bit too many characters, but a very pleasent read. I loved the townspeople who watched out for each other. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    BN allow me to lend!

    I will wait to check this out of the library because I will not pay that much money for a book that I will read in a day and that I can't lend...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6