Customer Reviews for

Mine is the Night: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You don't want to miss this one.

    Warning : this book will prove to be hazardous to your laundry pile- as in- "not gonna do it until I finish this book".

    Mine is the Night by Liz Curtis Higgs is a lovely historical fiction romance that takes place in 1746 in Selkirk, Scotland. This book alone can boost the travel industry to Scotland with Higgs beautiful description of the countryside. Mine is the Night is a retelling of the biblical story of Ruth and Naomi set in Scotland in the 18th century. Sounds unique- yes it is- but oh so good!
    The Kerr women Elisabeth, and mother-in-law Marjery are two women who are truly at the end of their rope. Both are widows and trying to start over and escape their reputation as being Jacobite rebels. Marjery's sons, one of them Elisabeth's husband, both died in a battle at Falkirk, against King George( and for Prince Charlie) making them enemies of the king. Because of this, Elisabeth and Marjery are left in the world with no money, their former titles stripped and with their only hope being a distant cousin Anne to give them a roof over their heads. Unfortunately, Anne is barely scraping by for her own existence, how was she possibly able to take them in? But take them in she does, and Elisabeth, never being afraid of hard work, seeks to make her way and help provide for them by picking up her needle and becoming a seamstress.
    Enter our hero and Kinsman redeemer Lord Buchanan who is new to the city of Selkirk and he fortunately is in need of a seamstress to help clothe all the new help in his employ. Elisabeth is just the one he needs, in more ways than one. He is an Admiral for the kings Navy, so when he discovers Elisabeth's former affiliation with the Jacobites, it paves the way for a few road blocks as his interest in Elisabeth grows. As the story unwinds every character shows much growth, grace and faith to bring the story to it's lovely and very romantic conclusion.
    I will admit that I am a new reader to Liz Curtis Higgs, and having not read Here Burns my Candle, I was still able to follow this book just fine. The storyline just drew me in from page one and the characters were truly wonderfully written and you were rooting for each one as they all had their different challenges that they were facing. The author's extensive research on both Scotland, as well as the story of Ruth from the Bible truly showed in her writing and the Scottish words thrown in for good measure made the read just that much more authentic and delightful for me. I am more than eager to go back and read the first book in this series as well as her other books set in Scotland. I highly recommend this book!

    I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group as part of their BloggingForBooks program. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An entertaining eighteenth century Christian romance

    In 1746 those who supported Prince Charles' claim to the throne during the failed Jacobite Rebellion are paying the price. Widow Marjorie Kerr saw her two sons Donald and Andrew die at Falkirk and her family's title stripped for supporting Charles. She and one of her widowed daughter-in-laws Elisabeth head to Selkirk where her cousin Anne lives in meager conditions.

    Marjory knows she is a charity case imposing on a poor relative she ignored for a decade. Ann, who earns her living as a lace-maker, allows them shelter. Elisabeth is unafraid of hard work as she is talented with a needle. She obtains work sewing shirts for Widower single father Michael Dalgiesh's haberdashery. Marjory becomes the cook for her cousin and her daughter-in-law. She also fears for the life of her butler Gibson who should have been here before then, but has failed to arrive. Meanwhile wealthy hero Lord Jack Buchanan is expected shortly and his arrival could prove disastrous to widows of traitors.

    This is an entertaining eighteenth century Christian romance starring three Kerr females struggling to survive in a world turned upside down by the late men in their lives. Elisabeth and Marjory turn to the Lord for guidance when things look dire and gloomy. Although the story line is straightforward with no surprises from start to finish, ending the way the audience expects, the strong surviving women and the solid support cast make for a fine historical (see Here Burns My Candle for the previous Kerr saga).

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Couldn't Put it Down

    This is a timeless saga of love, loss and redemption in eighteenth-century Scotland. It's the story of Elizabeth and her mother-in-law, Lady Marjory Kerr, both widows, who were once gentlewomen of wealth and title. Now penniless, the women search out their distant cousin with hopes she'll take them in. Elizabeth, a skilled dressmaker, catches the attention of a wealthy landowner, Admiral Lord Jack Buchanan. This book is based on the Biblical story of Ruth. If you know the story, you'll recognize that Jack is Boaz. He is kind, and even though Jack and Elizabeth are clearly from two different classes, he becomes her protector and a relationship is a possibility. (I'm not going to tell you more... as that would spoil your fun!)

    I enjoyed the historical setting and completely fell in love with the characters. This was such a pleasure to read that I savored the final chapter, not wanting it to end.

    Disclosure: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. All opinions are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Great Read

    My synopsis: The story Mine is the Night is a retelling of the Biblical account of Ruth set in eighteenth-century Scotland. It begins as Marjory Kerr and her daughter-in-law, Elisabeth, (both widowed) are making a long trek back to Marjory's old home of Tweedsford in Selkirk. They have both lost everything as a result of their support of the Jacobite cause. They are used to a life of priviledge, and now have sold their last possesions just to afford the journey home.

    With no money, Elisabeth sets to work with a tailor, and then later hired on as a seamstress in Lord Jack Buchanan's household. Eventually, Elisabeth and Lord Jack form a deep friendship and mutual admiration of each other. Only one thing stands in the way of a full budding romance: Marjory's previous loyalties to Prince Charles.

    My reactions: When I first picked up Mine is the Night by Liz Curtis Higgs, I was unaware that it's the second part of a two-part saga (beginning with Here Burns My Candle). There were enough flashbacks so that I wasn't quite so lost in the story. The only part that seemed to lose me was the Scotish words or the accented words (e.g. "frichtsome" for "frightning", "ken" for "know"). Once I caught on, I was able to read without consulting the glossary in the back of the book.

    The story itself is written so wonderfully, that I was able to imagine myself there and almost felt like the characters were real (after I caught on to the brogue). I had so much empathy for the characters that I literally laughed when they laughed, and cried when they cried. I really didn't want the story to end.

    FTC Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. That in no way sways my opinion of this book. All opinions expressed in this review are honest and mine alone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Mine is the Night

    Mine is the Night by Liz Curtis Higgs is a much longer book then I anticipated. That said, it was a difficult book for me to get into and enjoy reading. I'm sure there are many readers who would enjoy this book and its setting in Selkirk. The author did a great job at describing the area, characters, and using the language of the time. Overall, I would recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys the historical setting, time period, and some romance! ¿I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review¿.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Book of Ruth comes to life

    I enjoyed the prequel to this book immensely and was happy to receive a copy to review from Waterbrook Multnomah. I read Mine is the Night in a couple of days, while I coincidentally read Ruth. Reading the biblical version at the same time made me even more impressed how closely Higgs adhered to the Bible, especially when you think of Ruth's stranger components. Each aspect is deftly handled and adapted to 18th century Scotland. Although I will say our heroines acted more pluckily than I'd imagine their actual peers of that day. No matter. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Mine is the Night, especially since I wanted to see who Boaz would be.

    Last we saw Lady Elisabeth Kerr and her mother-in-law, the dowager Lady Marjory Kerr, they had been stripped of their titles and were headed home to Marjory's hometown of Selkirk. Marjory, long widowed, is now bereft of both sons thanks to the Jacobite cause and is left with only her daughter-in-law Elisabeth. Penniless for the first time in her life and fearful of her life due to her support of the Jacobites, Marjory has many adjustments to make. It is Elisabeth's resourcefulness with sewing and the kindness of a distant cousin that the women are able to survive.

    Eventually Elisabeth seeks employment as a dressmaker for the wealthy admiral that comes to town. Ah yes, Lord Jack is our Boaz and a worthy hero he is! He is freshly retired from the Navy and ready to settle down. While he's drawn to our Bess, she's still in mourning and there's that pesky detail of her Jacobite loyalty.

    This is simply a worthy love story. OK, OK, we know Ruth and Boaz get together in the end. But the way Elisabeth and Jack's paths come together? You simply must read it and see for yourselves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Good story

    I enjoyed this book as much as the one before it. I found some things resolved in a way that I was not expecting. One situation in the end seemed a bit far fetched to me, I did not feel It would have happened. But over all the story and characters developed well for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Mine is the Night is SO ADDICTING!

    Overview:
    Mine is the Night is a re-telling of the Biblical story of Ruth and Naomi set in Scotland during the 1700s and written by Liz Curtis Higgs. Mine in the Night is the sequel to Higgs first installment, Here Burns My Candle, although it can also be read as a stand alone novel. Both books follow the story of two women: Elizabeth and Marjory Kerr. These women are daughter-in-law and mother-in-law and together they will endure many struggles and tests of faith.

    Mine is the Night begins shortly after the ending of Here Burns My Candle as the Kerr women make their way back to Marjory's childhood home in Selkirkshire. They are seeking the mercy of a neglected relative after their family has been stripped of their money, land, and title due to their husband's/son's traitorous support of Prince Charles claim to the English throne. Now they have nothing but God, their faith, and each other. How will they survive? What will they do? What will become of them? Read Mine is the Night to follow Elizabeth and Marjory as they follow God's leading and face the struggles and possible blessings ahead of them.

    Review:
    I absolutely loved Mine is the Night! Once I started reading it I just couldn't put it down! Higgs does an excellent job of spinning a historically accurate yet addictingly good historical fiction romance. Mine is the Night is exciting, heart wrenching, and uplifting. If you have ever faced struggles in your life or you have ever questioned why God does what He does then you will relate to Elizabeth and/or Marjory in this book. This is the first book I read by Liz Curtis Higgs and I must say that I am now a fan. I also point this out because you can read and enjoy Mine is the Night without having to read Here Burns My Candle.

    I highly recommend this book to historical fiction and Christian romance lovers. You will truly love Mine is the Night. I whole heartedly give this book a five star review!

    This book was provided to me at no cost by Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing for review purposes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    Mine is the Night by Liz Curtis Higgs is an enchanting retelling

    Mine is the Night by Liz Curtis Higgs is an enchanting retelling of the classic tale of Ruth and Boaz in the guise of Jack and Elisabeth. Our story begins with sadness as Elisabeth and her Mother-in-Law, Marjory travel back to Selkirk following the defeat of their family in the Jacobite rebellion. Marjory, unused to living in poverty is in the beginning a prideful woman, however as the story progresses we begin to engage ourselves with her story.




    Higgs has just the right mix or romance, hearthache, and hope in a story that will become difficult to place down. Though this is the second book in Higgs' series, it is easily a standalone novel. You need not read book 1 in order to become fully comfortable with book 2. What makes Mine is the Night so great is the character depth. Jack and Elisabeth draw you in,they are complex three dimensional characters as opposed to the often flat characters that one might find. In Christian Fiction, what I look for the most is an intriguing story that grips me. I enjoy drama, emotion, healing, and redemption. 




    I really enjoyed the manner in which Higgs crafted her tale and would fully suggest this novel to anyone who is looking for a retelling of the Biblical Tale of Ruth and Boaz in the guise of 18th Century Scotland. You will enjoy the romance, you will enjoy the joy that can be discovered. 5 Candles out of 5 for what has been a thoroughly enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Liz always comes through.

    Love this book. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Reviewed by Lynn F. for Readers Favorite "Mine Is the Night" by Liz Curtis Higgs is the sequel to "Here Burns My Candle" which takes place in Scotland. It is an 18th century novel based on the biblical story of Naomi and Ruth. The story line actually picks up almost where the first book leaves off. After the deaths of their husbands Elizabeth and Marjory Kerr are now just simple women who have lost everything and could be turned in for treason. Elizabeth vows to stay with her mother in law and return with her to her old home in Selkirk instead of remaining in Edinburgh. They are now penniless and without a proper place to stay as they return hoping that her cousin Anne will at least have a place for them to rest for a while. Marjory, at one time a rich woman, had treated every one with scorn before leaving and now she is back as a simple woman who has nothing and hopes to rekindle friendships and grow closer to God. Elizabeth, a seamstress by trade, plans to work for a friend of Anne’s but he will not take on a woman as a partner. Now working for Admiral Lord Jack, he decides to help out Elizabeth and her mother in law. Rebuilding a life that once was and then taken away is hard but slowly Elizabeth and Marjory come to grips and are starting to grow, not only material-wise but also walking closer to God following His will in their lives. I have to say that before I started reading this book I did have to pull out the first one and do a quick scan through to familiarize myself with the story line. I feel this second book did not leave anything out between the beginning and the ending of the first book. I could see the strength of their convictions grow as they faced hardships not only once they returned home but on their travels to return to Marjory’s home and how their relationship with each other grows stronger. As I read I could visualize in my mind the story of Ruth and Naomi and Boaz. I feel that the author has done a wonderful job of transforming that story into an 18th century novel. As in the first book I feel that it is deeply written and for one looking for just an average read. If I had not read the first book this would have been fine as a standalone book. If you really want the full impact of their lives and what led up to their returning to Selkirk, you will want to read the first book. I would recommended this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Summer Read!

    Author Liz Curtis uses a fictional scenario in her new novel "Mine is the Night" to retell the story of Ruth by placing it in Scotland. The story takes place after the Jacobite uprising of Prince Charles against the King of England.

    The story is about family, love, and inner beauty. The story has a great moral lesson, but is first and foremost an inspiring romance. Get ready for a magnificent story of the mending of three women's hearts, one amazing hero, and the faithfulness of a perfect redeemer.

    There are other "heroes" other than Lord Jack that fill out the story. Seeing the dynamic develop between the various characters was enjoyable, edifying, as well as, the truths of God's forgiveness and provision in our lives.

    Mine is the Night is believable, the characters are so very lifelike, and the tale is one of beautiful detail. If you enjoy Christian romance, or Scottish historical in traditional settings, this book is for you!

    I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah as part of their Blogging for Books program in return for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    On good gifts and undeserved favor

    Though Mine is the Night by Liz Curtis Higgs focuses on three female characters, in some ways it tells the tale of all women because it's patterned after the book of Ruth. The story reminded me of this unchanging truth: No matter the culture, time period, or circumstances, God sees each woman's most-cherished dreams, hears the cries of her heart, and works His plan into her life-if she will let Him.

    The drama opens in Scotland circa 1746. Anne, Marjory, and Elizabeth have each experienced painful pasts and find themselves in unfamiliar circumstances. They've lost their wealth, societal position, and family members to the failed Jacobite Rebellion. As they begin new lives, they expect no special treatment and determine to accept whatever hard work and deprivation the future may require. However, God-who delights in bestowing so much more than His children could ever ask or think-fills their lives with favor, abundant joys, and unexpected love.

    As I read the story, I couldn't help but think of the many times God has surprised me with His good gifts. The accompanying verse that kept running through my mind was I John 3: 20: "For God is greater than our worried hearts and knows more about us than we do ourselves."

    One Caution for Gentle Readers of This Tale: I opened this book in the late afternoon, thinking I'd take a short break before getting back to work. So quickly and effortlessly did I become immersed in the story world that I didn't return to "real life" until many hours later. My advice: don't pick up this engaging read until you're prepared to loose yourself within its pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very well done.

    Review by Jill Williamson

    Last year I read the first half of this two-book series. I was very excited to get to read the second half of the story. Book one, Here Burns My Candle, was wonderful, but a hard read because of some of the subject matter. Not so with book two. Here our widowed ladies move to a small town and try to start a new life. They are nearly destitute. Elisabeth Kerr begins sewing shirts for the local tailor to bring in some money. But when the tailor hires an apprentice, he has no further need of Elisabeth's sewing. So Elisabeth must go to the new admiral and apply to be a dressmaker for her new servants. In this man is hope. Will he be able to help the Kerr women out of their poverty? Or will he want nothing to do with anyone who was once a traitor to the crown?

    For a book that is over four hundred pages long, I was surprised how quickly the pages flew and how much I savored the story. I love how authentic the story reads. The historical aspects are marvelous. Liz Curtis Higgs does a wonderful job with the Scottish dialect, the descriptions, and the daily ways of life. Her characters are deep and a joy to read. I just loved this story. Very well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Recommended for those age 15+

    Mine Is the Night a novel by Liz Curtis Higgs Overall: Set in Scotland during the days of Bonnie Prince Charlie, Mine is the Night tells the story of two women who struggle for survival after losing everything. Not too drawn out, but not short either. A well written, enjoyable read, although not really suitable for young readers. Plot: Based (somewhat loosely) on the story of Ruth, but with some extra elements mixed in. I really enjoyed the plot - it was both familiar and unpredictable. Characters: As with the plot, many but not all elements are based on the historical/biblical story of Ruth. Other characters were added in, but the same basic structure is easily recognized. Other: Because of an attempted rape & some premarital kissing, I would not recommend this book for young readers - at least not without parental permission. My Rating: 8 out of 10 Stars ?????????? Recommended for ages 15+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Thanks so much, girlsmama, for the Cliff Notes!

    I am appalled at the review by girlsmama. I will NOT read customer reviews EVER again. She distilled the entire book, giving everyone a synopsis-why did you RUIN everything for us?? She gives a spoiler that your laundry might suffer. Oh, really? What about the book that we have been waiting for?

    Thanks. I will still read this book, as Liz Curtis Higgs is one of my favorite authors. I have read many of hers. But, the selfish, condensed, stupid revealing by this customer is horrible. Go away...shoo, shoo, GO!
    Create a blog, for heaven's sake, and don't ruin my expectations of this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Scottish version of Ruth & Naomi is terrific story-telling

    Mine is the Night by Liz Curtis Higgs is the sequel to Here Burns My Candle which takes the biblical story of Ruth and Naomi and places it in 18th century Scotland in the reign of King George. Elizabeth Kerr has followed her mother-in-law Marjory back to her home in Selkirk after the death of her husband, Donald, and his brother in battle fighting for Bonnie Prince Charlie. Because of their support of Charlie, their lands have been seized by the king and they've been labeled traitors. Marjory has been forced to radically change; she's gone from a wealthy lady to a homeless and penniless widow forced to rely upon Elizabeth for support. Her return to Selkirk is bittersweet because she has missed her home, but she is forced to face the people she condescended to for so many years. Elizabeth's faith has carried both women through this dark period, and she continues to trust in God as He leads her to a position in the home of Admiral Jack Buchanan, who has recently purchased in manse in Selkirk, as a dressmaker. Elizabeth is much like the Ruth of the Bible, loving, kind and filled with selfless devotion. Jack is also much like Boaz with his deep faith and attention to the needs of widows and the poor. The two are drawn together by their faith and intelligence. This is my first Higgs book, and I am now a huge fan. She uses lots of historical fact to set the stage, but it's her descriptions that really bring the book to life. Readers can practically smell the heather and see the bustling market scenes that burst to life under her pen. The story could easily be boring and predictable because its origin is so well-known, but Higgs keeps the tension high and adds interesting subplots with Marjory and Gibson and Anne and Michael. My only caveat about Mine is the Night is to make sure you have plenty of free time when you pick it up, because you won't be able to put it down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!

    This was a really great book! I rarely have all day to read a book cover to cover, but I was fortunate enough to find just the perfect Saturday for this treasure. I loved the way the story flowed; I was caught up in the story in no time! The characters seemed real, and I was so glad that the romance did not overshadow the rest of the story - it added to the plot every step of the way. I would highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Ending To A Wonderful Series

    Liz Curtis Higgs in her new book, "Mine Is The Night" the conclusion of the series originated in "Here My Burns My Candle" published by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.

    Once again we return to Scotland in 1746 and pick up in the lives of Lady Marjory Kerr and her daughter-in-law Elisabeth Kerr. The two widows have returned home poverty stricken and Elizabeth has to take a job with Admiral Lord Buchanan sewing new uniforms for the newly hired staff. While in this employ Elizabeth meets Lord Jack Buchanan and their romance begins.

    Dowager Lady Marjory Kerr has two sons that she dotes upon, one of which is Lord Donald Kerr, a royalist and a Christian. He is married to Lady Elisabeth Kerr who married him for love. Elizabeth is also a pagan with Jacobite loyalties though she attends church with her husband and his family.

    "Mine Is The Night" is more than an epic love story told against the backdrop of history. This book is the retelling of the second half of the Bible book of Ruth with Lady Elizabeth in the Ruth role and Lady Marjory in the Naomi role. While the first book brought tears of sorrow for the events in Elizabeth's and Marjory's lives this book will bring tears of joy as God restores what had been lost to these women. Ms. Higgs brings Scottish history and Biblical history together as neatly as an expert seamstress. You get caught up in the story and the characters and actually hate to say goodbye to them when the book ends. I recommend this book and if you have not read the first book, "Here Burns My Candle", I recommend that as well.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent, well-written and well-researched

    appreciate historical fiction that is well-researched, and this book is certainly that. I absolutely loved the first book, Here Burns My Candle, and this second book did not disappoint at all. Set in 18th century Scotland, this is basically a retelling of the story of Naomi, Ruth, and Boaz from the Old Testament. While the message is strong, this book isn't overly preachy, as some Christian fiction tends to be. In fact, if you aren't a Christian and don't care for that particular genre, I would still recommend this book because it is just so well written. The story never drags, the characters are developed well and will become like good friends, and the history is wonderful. I learned some things about Scottish history I did not know and found myself running to the Internet to learn more. I am thrilled to have learned of a new author to follow, read, and recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4