Customer Reviews for

Mine Is the Night

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Great Read!

    I can see why many people love Mine is the Night by Liz Curtis Higgs! I did not have the opportunity to read Here Burns My Candle before reading the sequel, however, it was fairly easy to pick up on what was going on. I really enjoyed reading this story and seeing how the characters developed. As always, I enjoy a good love story and anytime there is conflict involved with finding love, it is fun to figure out how the story will play out. I can't wait to read the first book followed by this one again, in order!

    Liz Curtis Higgs has taken the Biblical story of Ruth and written Mine is the Night in 18th century Scottish text. As my father always tells me when I read a novel that has any historical fiction base to it, "It is a great way for you to learn your history!" Therefore, I truly enjoyed this story of love and hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Amazing

    I've been a fan of Liz Curtis Higgs for a while now. I adored the prequel, Here Burns My Candle, so I was so excited when Mine Is the Night was released.

    Well, Liz did it again. The stories of Elisabeth and Majory tug at the soul in a way that, even long after you finish the book, you will always remember. The plot was exquisitely written, the characters were real and personable, and she always has a way of entwining Biblical truths that I love. I don't want to give away too much, but Elisabeth's relationship with Jack is one of the sweetest ever told. You won't want to put the book down once you start, but it shouldn't be a problem...you'll be so captured that it won't take you long to finish it anyway.

    Anyone looking for a story of redemption, love, and courage should give it a try. I know lots of other people have been talking about how hard it was to understand the dialect that was used, but honestly there wasn't a problem at all. Most of the words and phrases used were easy to figure out on your own, but if you do find you have a problem, there's a translation key in the back of the book. Don't let the possiblitity of having to fip to the back discourage you from reading it. It's totally worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Excellent Read!

    I just finished Mine is the Night written by Liz Curtis Higgs. The book is based on the story line of Ruth in the Bible, but takes place in 18th century Scotland. Elizabeth, a widow, follows her widowed mother-in-law, who was stripped of title and fortune, back to her home town of Selkirk. There, they struggle penniless and Elizabeth becomes employed as a seamstress at Bell Hill where Lord Jack Buchanan seeks to provide for this widow and her loved ones.

    I was surprised and delighted by Higgs creativity in seeking to find as many parallels as possible to the original story, taking liberties with parts that were unspoken.

    I extremely and immensely enjoyed this story and found myself drawn back to the book almost immediately. It was rarely far from my reach during the few days it took to read and enjoy this book. My only disappointment is not realizing that it was the sequel to Here Burns my Candle (of which I have not read, but now look forward to doing so) until I was about 1/2 way through the novel and noted it's connection on the back inside cover.

    So, before you pick up this book, as you absolutely must, make sure to read Here Burns my Candle first!

    *Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    A great book!

    Liz Curts Higgs is an inspiring writer, she gives new life to a book of the Ruth (in the Bible) that has been told for many years. Her description of Scotland took me there, right with the Kerr women. Through her characters you get to see a special insight into their lives. How each moment leads to the next, and the qualities of faithfulness and humility will bring other people around you to see God's steadfast love. This is a beautiful love story of redemption. Go ahead, start reading it, you won't regret it. Also, I didn't know it at the time but there is a book before this one, it you haven't read it don't worry about it, this story stands on its own.
    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    As Lady Marjory Kerr and her daughter-in-law Lady Elizabeth Kerr were leaving the city and their home where Lady Marjory had already had to bury her husband and her two sons.

    This was set in Edinburgh during the Jacobite Rebellion in the year of 1745. The two sons went to help defend Prince Charlie, and this left the women alone. But the son Donald was not as he seemed to be, he ran around on Elizabeth, and wanted her to forgive him every time. Could Elizabeth let love fill her heart again?

    After both sons were killed the women had to flee and lost everything but what they sold to make it to Selkirk.

    This was a book that I would read again and again.Liz did a lot of research and be able to give use the Galic words to read and there meanings in this book. She seemed to know what she was writing about filled our hearts and heads with this history, romance and adultery.

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mine Is the Night- A Very Good Book

    In this book by Liz Curtis Higgs, there are so many wonderful characters that come alive. This story is set in Scotland in 1746. I will admit that I did have a hard time at first getting into this book because of how it is written. Higgs likes to use authentic Scottish terms and cadence in her writing, which to the modern person can be a bit confusing. She does include a nice little glossary in the back, so that you can look up any word that you might not know. I found that there were a great many words that I thought I knew, but did not!

    The romance in this book is very subtle and wonderfully told, you find yourself rooting for the characters and hoping that they find what they are looking for. Higgs also uses many wonderful Bible scriptures through out the book as well. Which made me want to look them up and read them on my own.

    I loved this book when I got into it and I am glad that I did not let myself give up after the first couple of chapters because I would have missed a wonderfully told story. Mine Is the Night is a heartwarming story about learning to love and trust again as well as trusting in the Lord to change you and get you where you need to be in your life. I know I will read this book again and again. It became one of my favorites! I will also see out Higg's other works to see if I like them as much as this one. I highly recommend this book!

    I received this book for free from WalterBrook Multnomah for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Very good

    This book starts off soon after the first book, Here Burns My Candle, ends. It took several chapters to really get into the story. It wasn't really slow, but it just didn't seem like a lot of things were happening, even though there were. Although from the middle of the book to the end, everything goes pretty quickly. I love reading books written with accents, so that was another thing I liked in this one. I also liked how the cover goes with the book (I'm not telling why!) This is a book I'd recommend to anyone who loves historical fiction or romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Beautiful Story!

    Elizabeth Kerr, and her mother-in-law, Marjory, have traveled to Selkirk to hopefully start over agian. They are both widows, and have found themselves on the wrong side of the Scottish crown. Their land, titles, and money have been stripped from them, so they must depend on the mercy of a cousin who is also destitute. Through all of their struggles, the one constant that has remained the same is their unwavering faith in
    God and His protection. This is a beautiful story of God's redemption. I felt very inspired by both of these characters, and could completely relate to the doubts they may have had about themselves. Even when all looks lost (like Marjory losing both of her children), God has the ability to heal and restore all situations. This story also had it's share of romance without ever compromising morality. I love this book and would recommend it to all readers who are fans of historical fiction.

    I received this book free from the publisher in order to write a review. I was not obligated to write a positive review, only to write my own opinion of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly recommended!

    Mine is the Night, the latest historical fiction by beloved author, Liz Curtis Higgs, is the continuation (and conclusion), of the story which began in Here Burns My Candle. Set in Selkirk, in the Scottish Borders in 1746, it is a superb retelling of the biblical story of the Book of Ruth. Liz is a master storyteller, and her descriptions engage all our senses. From the first page till the last, the reader becomes a part of life in Selkirk and surrounding countryside. Liz has also developed characters so real that they seem like friends. I want to join them for tea! We are involved in the whole gamut of emotions, and I found myself laughing with them, or shedding tears as the story unfolded. (Be sure to keep a box of tissues at hand!) Liz has brought the story alive through the use of Scottish dialogue, and has included a glossary at the back of the book. Her love for all things Scottish, as well as her attention to historical details, add a rich dimension. I love how Liz uses the thoughts of the characters to take us behind the scenes. We are left in no doubt as to what they are thinking. Her use of Scripture flows, and is always appropriate for the situation. An epigraph (quote at the beginning of each chapter) is perfectly suited to what follows. Although the story is set in 1746 Scotland, and based on the ancient Book of Ruth, the truths are timeless - betrayal, deception, regret, hope, redemption, forgiveness, restoration, love, and joy. These are elements to which we can relate. In this tender story, we see evidence of God at work, bringing about change and transformation in the human heart. Even as the love story unfolds in Mine is the Night, we can see that behind it all is the portrayal of our Kinsman-Redeemer, the One who alone can transform our hearts. I cannot recommend this book highly enough. For those familiar with Liz's writing, I believe you will find this book her best fiction to date! I look forward to all that is to follow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Hard to put down!

    Loved this historical fiction romance! It was clean and fun and made me want to finish it in one sitting (although my kids wouldn't let me). Wonderful story! Well done Higgs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Come back to Scotland for a story of love and faithfulness

    Scotland, spring, 1746 has proven to be a dangerous time for those with Jacobite leanings. Elizabeth Kerr knows only too well how deadly the world can be. Her husband, Lord Donald Kerr and his brother Andrew have perished in battle, fighting for the Jacobite cause. Lady Marjory Kerr, her widowed mother-in-law, has been stripped of title, land and income. Now Elizabeth and Marjory flee Edinburgh, seeking sanctuary with a distant cousin in Selkirk.

    So opens "Mine is the Night," Liz Curtis Higgs' follow-up to "Here Burns My Candle." The gripping story spins the story of the two women as they struggle to survive under the constant threat of exposure as traitors to the Crown. Such an event would lead to dire punishment, possibly even death. With no income and no trade, how can two gentlewomen make a way under such conditions?

    "Night" offers a retelling of the Biblical story of Ruth and Naomi set in turbulent 18th Scotland. Elizabeth is a new Christian, converted from the "auld" Highland ways and finding her way. Marjory seeks her own path as she navigates her new circumstances. Higgs brings us into their hearts and minds with her deft storytelling.

    The reader cannot help but care about these well-drawn characters. We watch the relationship shift and blossom, realizing the promise given at the conclusion of "Candle." When Elizabeth enters the employ of Lord Jack Buchanan as a seamstress, the women find a temporary respite from their financial woes, but what will happen when the job is finished?

    Other relationships grow as well, including that of Marjory's cousin Anne with a neighbor. Over all hangs the fear of consequences for the decisions of the past.

    Readers unfamiliar with Higgs' work will find tools within the book to aid enjoyment. Each chapter begins with a quotation appropriate to the content. The book opens with a map of Selkirk in 1746 to aid in understanding the geography and its importance to the story. A glossary of the Scottish terms used in the book provides clarification of any unfamiliar words, although most can be deciphered in context.

    Higgs delivers a rich tale, filled with historical detail and believable characters. Her current fans will find their expectations fulfilled. New readers will discover a new author to follow. I recommend "Mine is the Night" to readers who enjoy historical fiction, romance stories or inspirational writings. Higgs scores in all of those categories, as well as adventure stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    Liz Doesn't Disappoint!

    It is April of 1746. Elisabeth Kerr and her mother in law, the Lady Marjory Kerr, are penniless. Both widows must flee their home in Edinburgh, England; Marjory hopes to find refuge in her old hometown with a distant cousin. This sequel to Here Burns My Candle finds Elisabeth and Marjory en route to Selkirk. The trip is a dangerous one, for unrest over recent political conflict is afoot. Dragoons patrol the roads, harassing travelers as they search for traitors to the Crown. There is no guarantee either, that they will be welcomed by Cousin Anne. The only option is to trust their Heavenly Father. Elisabeth aims to trust Him, but can Marjory? The late Donald Kerr, Elisabeth's husband, left a less than stellar legacy for his devoted wife. Even so, Elisabeth chooses to remain by her mother in law's side. The cost of this decision remains to be seen, but like Ruth in The Old Testament, Elisabeth's devotion to Marjory is steadfast. Lady Marjory struggles to grasp the reality of her loss of social standing, possessions, and her sons. Trusting the Lord does not come easily to a lady who is used to being in control. All that remains of her past life are a few items in her trunk, her daughter in law, and memories. Even her devoted former servant, Neil Gibson, who was paid to deliver a message to Cousin Anne, is nowhere to be found. Residents of Selkirk are gearing up for the arrival of Lord Jack Buchanan. Recently retired from the Royal Navy, Admiral Buchanan looks to settle into his English estate. He is hiring servants, and Elisabeth hopes to secure a position as a seamstress. Despite the fact that she was a lady of means, the skills her father (a tailor) taught her, may now come in handy. The Kerr ladies struggle to make their way through the complicated labyrinth of society. Where is their place? Who will accept them? Does Elisabeth, at age 24, dare to hope to find love again? I will not give any secrets away, but can assure you that there is a happy ending. For that, I was very glad. It is an outstanding conclusion to Book One. Ms. Higgs is one of the most gifted storytellers I know. Her fiction is filled with layers of rich and meaningful details. Biblical parallels abound, and stir the reader beyond the fictional realm. I savored every morsel of this tale. It will surely be counted among my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Wonderful book!!

    It is time for another Book Review. I must admit after my last book I had a hard time starting this one I was afraid that I would end up in another book that was a slow read, and this book is a very thick with 442 pages. Once I started this story I knew I had nothing to worry about. This book held my attention once I started reading I could not stop.

    The store is a Sequel to Here Burns my Candle. I have not read this story and was still able to understand and enjoy the book. The story is very similar to the story of Ruth from the bible. Elizabeth goes with her Mother in law, Marjory back to Marjory's hometown with nothing to their names.

    I love the writing style of Ms. Higgs's The story is very well woven together. I immediately fell in love with all the characters of this book. Their faith and strength are inspiring.
    I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
    This is a wonderful read!! If you are looking for a good book this would be a good choice.
    Disclaimer: I recieved a free copy of this book for Waterbrook multnomah for review purposes only. The opinions in this story are mine and are not influenced by the company.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    AN AMAZING CONCLUSION TO "HERE IS MY CANDLE"! A SCOTTISH LOVE STORY BASED ON BIBLICAL CHARACTERS NAOMI AND RUTH!! MINE IS THE NIGHT BY LIZ CURTIS HIGGS!!

    MINE IS THE NIGHT by Liz Curtis Higgs is an amazing inspirational historical fiction set in 1746 Selkirk,Scotland. It is the amazing conclusion of "Here Burns My Candle".It is well written with depth and details.It is based on the Biblical characters Naomi and Ruth.This is an amazing story of love,trust,faith and triumph during turbulent times in Scotland.In the beginning of the story of see Marjory(Naomi) and Elisabeth(Ruth) on their way to Marjory's birthplace of Selkirkshire,where they are hoping to start a new life for themselves.They have lost everything,their loved ones,their home,money,title,respect,and place in society.Due to their ties to the "Rising" I so enjoyed this story,as it is written based on the Bible story of Naomi and Ruth,but set in Scotland instead of Jerusalem.It shows us that if we keep our faith,with God's help we can do anything.For Marjory and Elisabeth gained so much more than they had started with in the beginning of their trial.They gained respect for who they where and how they survived not on how much money they had to offer.They also gained love and respect for each other and found their true soul mates.This is a heartwarming,heartrending story of the journey of Marjory and Elisabeth(the Kerr women) brought to an amazing conclusion of redemption and restoration which is set in 18th century Scotland.I would highly recommend this amazing story. This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at WaterBrook Press and Doubleday Religious Publishing Group and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Liz Curtis Higgs never fails to enchant!

    Mine Is The Night absolutely captured me from the first page! The characters were easy to relate to; the setting was fantastic, and I didn't want the story to end!!! This retelling of the story of Ruth, set in eighteenth-century Scotland, drew me in and made me feel like a part of the story. I was thrilled to follow Elisabeth and Margory to Selkirk and see them persevere through the hard times to the end, when both of them experienced the Lord's blessings! I waited eagerly for the appearance of the hero, and was not disappointed. Lord Jack was awesome- powerful yet humble; willing to risk himself for his beloved. I loved the use of the Scottish language, and the description of the locale. Thanks again, Liz, for an incredible read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What a Wonder of a Tale

    Mine is the Night, by Liz Curtis Higgs is more than a Christian romance set in the Scottish borderlands during the 1700's. I confess that is what first drew me to this novel. I am giddy for all things ancient, Scottish or Irish. I found no disappointment in my expectations here. But I was delighted and amazed when, as I read the tale, I was reminded of another, dearly familiar one (aye, one of my favorites). The story of Elizabeth Kerr, her mother-in-law, Marjory, and Lord Jack Buchanan, mirror the beautiful tale of Ruth, Naomi, and Boaz from the Old Testament. What makes this reading even more special for me personally, is that very recently, in our creative ministries group at church, I asked our members to dwell on their favorite name for God. I shared that mine is "Redeemer"...and reminded them of the story of Ruth, and the picture it paints of Christ as our kinsman redeemer even today. Since then, more than I can recount, I have been blessed to hear through songs or sayings that very name "Redeemer". I never imagined the joy of choosing a book that would have the same theme! How amazing is our Lord to work out such things ahead of time. Now, as for a review of the book (the true purpose of this post), I found it well written, and deeply touching. Mrs. Higgs's characters are endearingly realistic, easy to love, even in their flaws. And their consistent manner of choosing the word of the Lord for whatever situation they found themselves in-fear, sorrow, longing, joy-was both an encouragement and a conviction to me. Her description of landscape and use of Scottish vernacular were a delightful addition as well. I found myself wanting to read aloud, just to practice how the lads and lasses might have sounded! I would without reservation recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian, historical romance. My many thanks to Waterbrook/Multnomah Press for providing this book for my honest review. ~Karina Harris, author of "Second Chance" a Summers Saga novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Wonderful Historical Fiction

    My first reaction was surprise as I opened up the package waiting at my door. I was not expecting 442 pages plus a readers guide. Mine Is The Night was a wonderful historical romance. The saga started with Here Burns My Candle and is showing a dramatic finish with three weddings and one of the ladies gaining the title "Lady" back.

    As you follow the Kerr ladies through their journey of knocking on a cousin's door that Marjory has not spoken to in 10 years and never though to "take care" of her while she was a rich "Lady". They didn't know what to expect when they knocked on Annie's door but were welcomed with half open arms. A bond is quickly formed and the three become pretty inseprable.

    The one thing that I struggled with was that Mine Is The Night was written true to times and I struggled with knowing what some of the words meant. At the end I found the Scottish Glossary and that kind of disappointed me. I wish that authors would put this at the front of the book. After all, that's how I read and I don't generally search the back of the book first.

    As you move through the book it is quickly predictable for the outcome. You know who is going to marry who and live happily ever after and that most of the Kerr woman are going to go against normal society rules to do it. Just because it was predictable doesn't mean wasn't able to thoroughly get lost within the book and had the entire book read in two days. My house may be a disaster but I was able to get lost in this book and never look back. I am thrilled to have this book under my "belt" and would recommend this book to anybody who enjoys losing themselves in a good book. I know my mother in law is looking forward to having this waiting on her table when she gets back from vacation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    A Quality Read.

    Title: Mine is the Night.

    Author: Liz Curtis Higgs.

    Gene: Christian, Historical Fiction, Romance, Biblical Retelling.

    Plot: Following the rebellion of Prince Charlie and his Scottish followers against King George of England in 1746, many rebels are rounded up and executed while their wives and daughters are left in terrible danger. Marjory Kerr and her daughter-in-law Elisabeth Kerr were unceremoniously kicked out of the former's estate upon the death of her sons Donald and Andrew who had supported Prince Charlie; stripped of their titles, homeless and out of money, the two women return to Marjory's hometown of Selkirk in the Lowlands of Scotland where Marjory's long-neglected cousin Anne Kerr lives. Anne proves to be of a forgiving and charitable nature and lets her tarnished relatives move into her tiny house with her. Elisabeth, a Highlander and a weaver's daughter, promptly finds work the Monday after they arrive and sews shirts for Michael Dalgliesh, a tailor and Anne's childhood crush.

    Rumors travel quickly in the small town of Selkirk and it isn't long before everyone knows that Bell Hill, one of the local estates, has been bought by Admiral Lord Jack Buchanan, a favorite of King George's. Suddenly out of a job, Elisabeth considers her options and trots up to Bell Hill when said estate is hiring household servants and applies for a position as a dressmaker. Elisabeth receives a favorable reception from Mrs. Pringle, the housekeeper, when she does the work of three days' mending in one without complaining and sews a beautiful gown for her, finishing it just in time for Mrs. Pringle to wear it when the Admiral arrives. Unexpectedly, Elisabeth finds the Admiral to be a generous man who promptly hires her to sew dresses for all of his female staff and pays her well. As Elisabeth spends six days a week over the following summer sewing dresses, she and the Admiral befriend each other and then begin to fall in love; there is one major complication to their future and that is that Elisabeth is the widow of a rebel and needs the king's pardon before she can marry the Admiral.

    Meanwhile, Anne and Marjory also have their own dramas going on and all three women lose sleep when their tales reach their climaxes, yet they never once lose faith in God's loving care and provision.

    Likes/Dislikes: This is the sequel to Here Burns my Candle by the same author and concludes the Kerr women's exciting adventures. This is also the first book by Mrs. Higgs that I've read and I must say, I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of writing and was very impressed with the book. I especially enjoyed that it was a 1746 retelling of the book of Ruth. However, there is one scene where Elisabeth finds herself in grave danger {though she is rescued of course} which reminded me that this isn't the kind of book young girls should read, however much I enjoyed it. Other than that, this book is highly recommended!

    Rating: PG-14 or 15 and up for content and reading level.

    Date Report Written: March 12, 2011.

    I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Publications and was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Mine Is The Night by Liz Curtis Higgs

    Mine Is The Night By Liz Curits Higgs Published by WaterBrook Press Set in the eighteenth-century Scottish Lowland's, Mine Is The Night is one family's journey through loss, sacrifice, and redemption. Two women widowed, stripped of title, wealth, and pride. One woman forgotten, unexpectedly called upon to take them in. When Marjory Kerr's two sons are killed on the battlefield at Falkirk fighting for the Jacobite cause, she pleads with her daughters-in-law to return to their families. Having said goodbye to her own family years before, Elisabeth is determined to stand by Marjory's side and care for her as if she were her own mother. With the stain of 'treason" on the Kerr name, the two women flee to Marjory's hometown of Selkirk where they hope to be accepted by the townsfolk and find a means of survival. When the two unnerved women show up without warning at Anne Kerr's door, she is both unsettled and affronted. Obliged by societal custom and her own Christian morals, Anne receives the women into her small one room home, a humbling and regretful experience for Marjory who had never given Anne a second thought in years past. Yet Anne treats the women with kindness and generosity, sharing what little she has despite the possible consequences. Undeterred by their circumstances, Elisabeth is determined to use her talent for needlework to secure an income that will provide much needed food for their table and some semblance of security for the days ahead. Unfortunately, steady work is hard one in the impoverished town and Elisabeth is forced to seek employ at Bell Hill, the new home of Admiral Jack Buchanan of the Royal Navy. Knowing full well, that Lord Buchanan could turn them in to the King for the crime of treason, Elisabeth risks what she must to maintain her family for as long as she can. Captivated by her kindness, generosity and piety, Lord Buchanan should be the very least of Elisabeth's fears. For where there is goodness, evil often follows, and when a man from her past threatens to destroy everything she has toiled to establish, Elisabeth must fight for everything and every one she holds dear. Inspired by the book of Ruth, Mine Is The Night is an epic journey of self-discovery, surrender and romance. Lush with descriptive detail, masterful character development, and historical fact; the Scottish Lowlands absolutely came alive for me. Sorry to have come to the end of such a stunning novel, I look forward to Higgs' next with great anticipation. I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group as part of their BloggingForBooks program. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you love Scotland you must check out this novel

    I loved this book as I have read some of Liz's other novels, she never fails to create a great read. Liz loves Scotland and so she sets some of her book in that country.


    As the Story starts Elizabeth Kerr and her mother-in-law Marjory were both widows and leaving their beloved home and traveling to Selkirk to live with a cousin Anne, or so they hoped as they had sent Gibson "the faithful servant in their home, ahead of them but he was walking as they did not have enough money for him to ride with them. Marjory had two sons and they both were married but all killed in a war when they apposed King George and supported Prince Charlie. She had lost everything, her home and everything that went with it, also her title. One of the daughter-in-laws decided to go back to her homeland but Elizabeth would not leave her mother-in-law.

    The first thing I though about when I started reading about Elizabeth staying with her mother-in-law was Ruth and Noami in the Bible. There also all the men were killed and the only one that stayed with Noami was Ruth.


    Both Ladies had to keep it a secret who they were because they still could be put into prison. They found Anne, but no Gibson. They became really worried about him as he was an old man and had to walk forty miles. The novel is so interesting that as I kept reading it drew me in further as if I were there. Both Elizabeth and Marjory had to learn to work and help Anne as she was only a lace maker. Elizabeth knew how to sew as she was born in the Highlands, but Marjory had to learn how to cook and keep house, "A very small room" really and the younger ladies worked with their hands to make a few shillings so they could eat.


    The novel continues with their lives and how they all three coup with going against King George. Who they meet alone the way and how they find romance.


    This book was sent to be by Waterbrook Publishing for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4