Customer Reviews for

Mine to Hold

Average Rating 4.5
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Nothing Short of AMAZING!!!

Tyler Murphy, the self-proclaimed "man whore," was a carefree LAPD detective, who loved life and his job. However, that all came to an abrupt end when his partner, Eric Catalano, was nearly fatally injured in the line of duty. Tyler found himself helping Eric and his wi...
Tyler Murphy, the self-proclaimed "man whore," was a carefree LAPD detective, who loved life and his job. However, that all came to an abrupt end when his partner, Eric Catalano, was nearly fatally injured in the line of duty. Tyler found himself helping Eric and his wife, Delaney, hold it all together. After a night of too much drinking and not enough food, Eric, Tyler, and Delaney charted a course into territory that would change their lives forever. Soon after, Tyler found himself cut off from both Eric and Delaney with little to no warning. Fast forward two years, and Tyler opens his door to find Delaney Catalano on the other side. He could tell from her appearance that she was in trouble. But Delaney brought more than trouble with her; she also dropped the bomb that Tyler has a son.

As a local reporter in L.A., Delaney had stumbled upon information that put Martin Carlson, an up and coming ADA, in bed with some local gang members. With nowhere else to turn, she seeks out Tyler to take care of their son, Seth. Of course, when Tyler hears her entire story, he wants to get involved big time. However, Delaney is adamant that he stay with Seth. If anything happens to her, at least he will still have one parent. Never one to leave his friends or family hanging, Tyler puts himself into the equation that places him and Delaney up close and personal; right where she did not want to be. No matter how hard Delaney tries to ignore the feelings she long since buried, it's impossible to deny that there is something between them. Soon the pair finds themselves not only giving into desires they can no longer contain, but also trying to stay one step ahead of the thugs that Carlson hired to shut Delaney up for good. When Delaney's only contact turns up dead and her evidence ends up missing, she has to make a deal with the devil in order to save herself, or at least save Tyler to ensure the safety of their son.

The chemistry between Tyler and Delaney is so potent that it wafts off the pages, intoxicates you, pulls you in, and holds you in a sinful embrace. You feel the heat they generate and you keep walking towards it even though you know they're about to start a fire. Delaney doesn't want to need Tyler nor does she want to give in to the burgeoning desire she feels. But she does, and her internal fight is so interesting to watch because with him is where she needs to be.

Tyler does a complete 360 degree turn in this book. I was amazed at how he manned up and took responsibility for his newfound family. He accepted the fact that he was a father, even relishing in it. He decided that he not only wanted Delaney, but he needed her and nothing and no one was going to stand in his way. Oh be still my heart! I fell in love with Tyler Murphy in this book. I cheered for him. I wanted him to be happy. I wanted him to kick major ass and claim the woman that completes him. This book has totally reformed "Cockzilla" and turned him into the most beloved male in Wicked Lovers history! Shayla Black, I don't know how you do that voodoo that you do so well, but you rocked it! Loved this book!!!!

Reviewed for The Romance Reviews

posted by Vixhen on May 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I am a huge Shayla Black fan, but I was disappointed in this boo

I am a huge Shayla Black fan, but I was disappointed in this book and the fact that I spent the money on it. I loved all her other books, but this one, not so much.

posted by Rachum on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Nothing Short of AMAZING!!!

    Tyler Murphy, the self-proclaimed "man whore," was a carefree LAPD detective, who loved life and his job. However, that all came to an abrupt end when his partner, Eric Catalano, was nearly fatally injured in the line of duty. Tyler found himself helping Eric and his wife, Delaney, hold it all together. After a night of too much drinking and not enough food, Eric, Tyler, and Delaney charted a course into territory that would change their lives forever. Soon after, Tyler found himself cut off from both Eric and Delaney with little to no warning. Fast forward two years, and Tyler opens his door to find Delaney Catalano on the other side. He could tell from her appearance that she was in trouble. But Delaney brought more than trouble with her; she also dropped the bomb that Tyler has a son.

    As a local reporter in L.A., Delaney had stumbled upon information that put Martin Carlson, an up and coming ADA, in bed with some local gang members. With nowhere else to turn, she seeks out Tyler to take care of their son, Seth. Of course, when Tyler hears her entire story, he wants to get involved big time. However, Delaney is adamant that he stay with Seth. If anything happens to her, at least he will still have one parent. Never one to leave his friends or family hanging, Tyler puts himself into the equation that places him and Delaney up close and personal; right where she did not want to be. No matter how hard Delaney tries to ignore the feelings she long since buried, it's impossible to deny that there is something between them. Soon the pair finds themselves not only giving into desires they can no longer contain, but also trying to stay one step ahead of the thugs that Carlson hired to shut Delaney up for good. When Delaney's only contact turns up dead and her evidence ends up missing, she has to make a deal with the devil in order to save herself, or at least save Tyler to ensure the safety of their son.

    The chemistry between Tyler and Delaney is so potent that it wafts off the pages, intoxicates you, pulls you in, and holds you in a sinful embrace. You feel the heat they generate and you keep walking towards it even though you know they're about to start a fire. Delaney doesn't want to need Tyler nor does she want to give in to the burgeoning desire she feels. But she does, and her internal fight is so interesting to watch because with him is where she needs to be.

    Tyler does a complete 360 degree turn in this book. I was amazed at how he manned up and took responsibility for his newfound family. He accepted the fact that he was a father, even relishing in it. He decided that he not only wanted Delaney, but he needed her and nothing and no one was going to stand in his way. Oh be still my heart! I fell in love with Tyler Murphy in this book. I cheered for him. I wanted him to be happy. I wanted him to kick major ass and claim the woman that completes him. This book has totally reformed "Cockzilla" and turned him into the most beloved male in Wicked Lovers history! Shayla Black, I don't know how you do that voodoo that you do so well, but you rocked it! Loved this book!!!!

    Reviewed for The Romance Reviews

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I enjoyed this book immensely and think Shayla Back has hit a ve

    I enjoyed this book immensely and think Shayla Back has hit a veritable home run in the romantic suspense area! Her opening line MAKES you want to turn the page! Intense emotion, fast paced action, re-united lovers, and scorching love scenes. You want Tyler to get his woman and his happily ever after, and you really want Delaney to have hers as well. If you have not read this series, you can still read this one as a stand alone, but I would suggest you get ready to purchase the back list because they are all fantastic! Erotic and emotional- this is just another must read a few more times kind of book!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Shayla Black never disappoints! Another great book!

    Shayla Black never disappoints! Another great book!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best books i read. would recommend.

    One of the best books i read. would recommend.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Opening Line: “Tyler, are you aware that all the girls at

    Opening Line:
    “Tyler, are you aware that all the girls at Sexy Sirens have nick named you Cockzilla?”

    Oh what can I say about the very naughty Tyler Murphy. Tyler is every girls dreams and their worst nightmare all rolled into one. Tyler, is a sex god but not willing to comment to any one. So he spends countless nights on random hook ups, that mean nothing but a good time. But he has never really got to the root of his problems, that is until an unexpected visitor shows up at his door and everything in Tyler’s life changes.

    Delaney, is one tough cookie, but not tough enough to keep survive all these death threat. Delaney has finally reached the end of her rope and has to seek out the help of the one person she never thought she would have to ask help from. The one person that will turn her life upside down again. The one person that can break her heart, but it will be worth it just to keep her son safe. Even if that means losing her heart again.

    I LOVED!!!! LOVED!!!!! LOVED!!!!! this story. I have to say a HUGE thank you to Shayla & her assistant Christie for allowing me to read this story. I loved everything about it. Tyler is such a tough guy. He acts like he has no feeling, no emotions, nothing fazes him. But in reality he is a very sensitive, loving, caring and would die for the ones he hold close. Oh and Tyler is wicked talented in bed, he didn’t get the name Cockzilla for nothing. *wiggles eyebrows*

    Delaney, I really liked her character. She is not overly tough or a pushover. She has a great balance of both. She really makes Tyler work hard for her and he does. These two are such a fun couple to watch. Now while their story may have started a little unconventionality the love that these two share is unbreakable.

    Shayla has written another WONDERFUL story. If you have read any of Shayla’s other Wicked Lovers book you know just how wicked her writing is. Well Tyler has some tricks up his sleeves. Hint: It has to do with a wall.

    I would highly, highly recommend this series to anyone (unless you are fate at heart). If you have not started this series you really need too. Each book can be read as a stand alone. But reading from the beginning will give you a better understand of all the characters. Which Shayla does a great job of bring back in each book.

    Again HUGE thank you to Shayla & Christie for letting me read and review. And now I am dying for Xander’s book...This boy is going to be great fun to read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    5 stars!

    I personally liked this book. Good plot, likeable characters, and steamy sex scenes. Glad I stumbled upon this author, will be reading more!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Definite must read

    I could not wait for the next in this series to come out and I was not disappointed at all. I thought that the story and twists were great. The way the story was told it has a way of sucking the reader in. I like how each character in all the books are built on in a way to where you understand each persons past and are able to get a real understanding of them in order to connect with each individual character. Great addition to my growing collection of books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    ANOTHER WINNING BOOK!

    TYLER AND DELANEY TOTALLY ROCKED..THE SEX WAS SO STEAMY AND MIND BLOWING!! THIS IS A MUST READ BOOK!! I JUST LOVE THE WICKED LOVERS SERIES....

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    The one thing I can say about Shayla Black is that when she deli

    The one thing I can say about Shayla Black is that when she delivers a story she delivers. I have been anxiously waiting for Tyler’s story since Delicious. This book draws you in from the first page and takes you on an emotional ride through Tyler’s and Delaney’s story. Shayla Black is the only author that can make me feel every emotion on page. And this book was no exception. There was something so raw and honest with this story. There were moments I just wanted to slap Tyler and others that I feel in love with him in. Delaney proved to be just as amazing as all of the other heroines in this series. Fierce, loyal, head strong and she never gave up. I felt the tears in this one as I read and my heart just broke for Delaney, one scene in particular. But once again she has shown us love never fails. A remarkable read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    A MUST READ

    This was the BEST in the Wicked Lover series so far! Tyler was the perfect male and Del is his perfect female. Cant wait for more!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    HOLY HOTNESS!

    Miss Shayla has done it again! Loved every minute of this heart warming and steamy story! Cannot wait for the next in the series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Loved the story

    ## This book is absolutely fabulous IF you can get past the first chapter. Reason being: The hero is a HUGE man-slut which is such a turn-off for me. He's "doing" strippers (a lot of them) each and every night in cars, closets and storage rooms. Ugh. If I hadn't paid $10 for this book, I would've stopped reading there. But I continued and ended up loving it. The hero and heroine had amazing chemistry and of course with Ms. Black the sex is always hot. I also very much enjoyed the suspense aspect of this book. It was gripping and easy to follow (unlike the new Nauti book by Lora Leigh). I would have easily given this book 5 stars if the hero hadn't been such a man-wh*re.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    A good read!

    Really enjoyed this book a great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    a must read

    Amazing book. I loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Exciting!

    Very enjoyable to read! A book that you will not be able to put down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Another winner!

    Finally, Tyler gets a storyline!

    Again, another thriller with the return of Xander from Belong to Me, helps out Tyler and Del.

    Love the characters and what they must go through to find that they love each other.

    Can't wait for the next installment in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Awesome

    Absolutley fantastic! This book grabs you from the begining to the end. Love this series and this was another fabulous addition to this series. Del and Tyler tug at your heart strings and vote for their happy ever after. A MUST READ!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Line one of Shayla Black's books hook you every time! Opening L

    Line one of Shayla Black's books hook you every time!

    Opening Line:

    “Tyler, are you aware that all the girls at Sexy Sirens have nick named you Cockzilla?”

    Tyler Murphy is a tramp; he has gone through all of the girls at Sexy Siren's at least once. While most men might be happy with this life Tyler truly isn't, but it's a way to deal with his feelings that no longer have a place in his life or heart. Until one night the object of his feelings that he's been trying to forget shows up on his doorstep with an unexpected present and in desperate need of his help.

    Delaney, an LA reporter has gotten into a very sticky situation that she’s not sure she will be getting out of alive. With nowhere else to turn and unsure of who to trust, she runs to the only person that she knows can help her. Desperate for help—and on her last dollar—she has no other choice but to beg Tyler to take her in.

    After Delaney explains the situation to Tyler and his friends she thinks... (yes I said thinks) she is going to return to LA and settle the situation herself. Obviously she doesn't remember Tyler too well, ‘cause there is no way he is going to let her out of his sight now that he has her again - it has been too many years without her and he is not going back to that again - not without a fight this time.

    Shayla Black does a fantastic job of mixing suspense, action, HOT SEX, and tender moments to keep this story flowing. This woman knows how to grab you from the beginning and not let you go until the very last page is read…making you want more. This book is no different from her others in the Wicked Lovers series, as it is FANTASTIC and a MUST READ BOOK!

    Shayla Black writes a beautiful love story that is fast-paced, intense, and sexually charged. She has written characters that make you invest your time, your money, and your love into. I am hoping with crossed fingers that Xander is the next book ‘cause that man is delicious and I want him NOW!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This was a fabulous edition to the series by Shayla Black and it was nice to see the other characters from the other books, especially as they are all becoming parents with little babies.

    Definitely a must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    I am a huge Shayla Black fan, but I was disappointed in this boo

    I am a huge Shayla Black fan, but I was disappointed in this book and the fact that I spent the money on it. I loved all her other books, but this one, not so much.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7