Customer Reviews for

Mine to Hold

Average Rating 4.5
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Nothing Short of AMAZING!!!

Tyler Murphy, the self-proclaimed "man whore," was a carefree LAPD detective, who loved life and his job. However, that all came to an abrupt end when his partner, Eric Catalano, was nearly fatally injured in the line of duty. Tyler found himself helping Eric and his wi...
Tyler Murphy, the self-proclaimed "man whore," was a carefree LAPD detective, who loved life and his job. However, that all came to an abrupt end when his partner, Eric Catalano, was nearly fatally injured in the line of duty. Tyler found himself helping Eric and his wife, Delaney, hold it all together. After a night of too much drinking and not enough food, Eric, Tyler, and Delaney charted a course into territory that would change their lives forever. Soon after, Tyler found himself cut off from both Eric and Delaney with little to no warning. Fast forward two years, and Tyler opens his door to find Delaney Catalano on the other side. He could tell from her appearance that she was in trouble. But Delaney brought more than trouble with her; she also dropped the bomb that Tyler has a son.

As a local reporter in L.A., Delaney had stumbled upon information that put Martin Carlson, an up and coming ADA, in bed with some local gang members. With nowhere else to turn, she seeks out Tyler to take care of their son, Seth. Of course, when Tyler hears her entire story, he wants to get involved big time. However, Delaney is adamant that he stay with Seth. If anything happens to her, at least he will still have one parent. Never one to leave his friends or family hanging, Tyler puts himself into the equation that places him and Delaney up close and personal; right where she did not want to be. No matter how hard Delaney tries to ignore the feelings she long since buried, it's impossible to deny that there is something between them. Soon the pair finds themselves not only giving into desires they can no longer contain, but also trying to stay one step ahead of the thugs that Carlson hired to shut Delaney up for good. When Delaney's only contact turns up dead and her evidence ends up missing, she has to make a deal with the devil in order to save herself, or at least save Tyler to ensure the safety of their son.

The chemistry between Tyler and Delaney is so potent that it wafts off the pages, intoxicates you, pulls you in, and holds you in a sinful embrace. You feel the heat they generate and you keep walking towards it even though you know they're about to start a fire. Delaney doesn't want to need Tyler nor does she want to give in to the burgeoning desire she feels. But she does, and her internal fight is so interesting to watch because with him is where she needs to be.

Tyler does a complete 360 degree turn in this book. I was amazed at how he manned up and took responsibility for his newfound family. He accepted the fact that he was a father, even relishing in it. He decided that he not only wanted Delaney, but he needed her and nothing and no one was going to stand in his way. Oh be still my heart! I fell in love with Tyler Murphy in this book. I cheered for him. I wanted him to be happy. I wanted him to kick major ass and claim the woman that completes him. This book has totally reformed "Cockzilla" and turned him into the most beloved male in Wicked Lovers history! Shayla Black, I don't know how you do that voodoo that you do so well, but you rocked it! Loved this book!!!!

Reviewed for The Romance Reviews

posted by Vixhen on May 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I am a huge Shayla Black fan, but I was disappointed in this boo

I am a huge Shayla Black fan, but I was disappointed in this book and the fact that I spent the money on it. I loved all her other books, but this one, not so much.

posted by Rachum on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Loved the story

    ## This book is absolutely fabulous IF you can get past the first chapter. Reason being: The hero is a HUGE man-slut which is such a turn-off for me. He's "doing" strippers (a lot of them) each and every night in cars, closets and storage rooms. Ugh. If I hadn't paid $10 for this book, I would've stopped reading there. But I continued and ended up loving it. The hero and heroine had amazing chemistry and of course with Ms. Black the sex is always hot. I also very much enjoyed the suspense aspect of this book. It was gripping and easy to follow (unlike the new Nauti book by Lora Leigh). I would have easily given this book 5 stars if the hero hadn't been such a man-wh*re.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    A good read!

    Really enjoyed this book a great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    a must read

    Amazing book. I loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    I couldn't put it down!

    I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    Great book/series!

    I love everything I have read from shayla black she is one of my favorite authors. I have to say this is one of my favorite books in the series and I'm soo glad the story worked out for them I love a strong female character. And of course the sexy as sin ex cop mmmm. Keep up the great writing shayla!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.75 stars:  re-release MINE TO HOLD is the latest re-release fr

    3.75 stars:  re-release MINE TO HOLD is the latest re-release from author Shayla Black and the sixth instalment in her Wicked Lovers series.  The series focuses on a group of former marines, special ops, former police and military men and the women they love.  This is Tyler and Delaney’s story-a story of second chances and broken hearts. Although the storyline is part of a series, it can be read without too much difficulty as the author references many of the former plotlines and in doing so, we become familiar with the many couples that were previously introduced in the series.  
    The storyline is written in present day with flashbacks to Memorial Day weekend two years earlier where Tyler and Delaney’s life changed forever.  Delaney was married to Tyler’s friend and fellow officer but a stake out that went horribly wrong found Eric in a wheel chair with a request of his best friend and wife.  Fast forward two years later, Del and Eric are now divorced and she is on the run for her life.  As a journalist, Delaney had uncovered some dangerous information and her life had been threatened on more than one occasion.  Running to Tyler was her only option because there was more to the story than anyone could have known.
    The relationship between Tyler and Delaney began as friends but they were ‘forced’ into lovers at the request of Delaney’s husband.  To be honest, you knew nothing good was going to come of the situation, and true to form, Delaney’s husband pushed too far and soon realized his best friend and wife were in love.  It would be two years before Delaney ever saw Tyler again and in that two years, many things and people had changed.
    The characters are colorful as is their history together including Tyler’s history with many other women and with the friends who would help save Delaney’s life. The mix up of personalities and back stories is humorous and heartbreaking, but in the end, everyone knows that Tyler has been in love with Delaney for a long time.   But before anything else, Tyler needs to let Delaney know that no matter what has happened in the past, she is the only woman that has been on his mind. (insert eye roll here).
    The world building is fluid as Shayla brings together friends and family and previous storyline scenarios so that the focus of Mine to Hold flows smoothly. 
    Mine To Hold is a story of action and suspense; heartbreak and betrayal; love and hate; regret and indecision.  But in the end, there is a happily ever after, but not before too many lives are destroyed and a history between three people that had gone terribly wrong.
    NOTE:  Mine to Hold is not recommended for anyone under 18.  There are some sexually graphic situations that are not be suitable for all ages.
    Copy supplied by the publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Hot!

    A balance between hot sex and scandal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    recommend

    loved

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    highly recommend

    Beautiful! . I have read all of Shayla's books in this series. I can't wait until the next one comes out in Dec sometime. Everytime I read one I think it is the best one , until I read the next. I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Good read.

    I like this series so it was good to hear Tyler's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    4.5 stars...Perfect balance between action, romance, and straight lust.

    SB never disappoints. This category of book tends to lack in plot, but never with SB. Mine to Hold (like all her previous books) builds the story, characters, and tension in a way that keeps you turning the page. SB is one of my "auto-buy" authors not just because she can really make me swoon but also because she changes it up every time without failing into a predictable story line. I loved how in this book, there was a bit more of the softer side of the "hero" compared to other characters in her previous books, but there was still that caveman/primal facet to him that is utterly sexy. You'll just have to find out for yourself. Read this book, you won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2