Customer Reviews for

Minesweeper

Average Rating 3.5
( 1121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(497)

4 Star

(158)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(95)

1 Star

(257)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

167 out of 278 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

This app is great! It is so awesome!!!

posted by 8497045 on June 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

206 out of 276 people found this review helpful.

Few Issues (not touch friendly), but Typical Minesweeper

The game is your typical Minesweeper, but there are a few issues I wished were changed.

1. The hard version has squares right up to the sides of the nook. The bad part about this is that the touch pad isn't as sensitive on the edges of the screen. Because of this and...
The game is your typical Minesweeper, but there are a few issues I wished were changed.

1. The hard version has squares right up to the sides of the nook. The bad part about this is that the touch pad isn't as sensitive on the edges of the screen. Because of this and the small size of the squares, sometimes it'll take 20-30 seconds to try to get a single or double tap on those edge squares. (I've lost more than a few games because the double tap ended up accidentally hitting the wrong square and I've got small fingers, so this HAS to be worse with someone with average sized fingers). It gets more than frustrating trying to clear a square and being unable after 10+ attempts to even select the correct square, or when it ends up hitting the wrong square.
2. The bomb flagging is only for 1 square at a time. I wish this was a toggle instead so I could mark all of the bombs I see on the board, instead of having to move back and forth, back and forth. My wrist actually started popping the last few times I played because of all the back and forth movements. It's worse when the bombs are all at the top of the screen and having 10 bombs to mark and needing to jump from the top to the bottom and back again.
3. You can't win the game until you mark all the bombs. The game doesn't realize that if there are 10 spaces uncleared and 10 bombs left that all of the empty spaces are bombs. You have to do twice the clicking back and forth to mark the rest of the bombs (which goes back to the problem I had in #2 which again has a chance of hitting problem #1)
4. You have a chance of hitting a bomb on your first square. (not the worst bug, but this version keeps track of the number of losses...and losing on your first square is an unavoidable loss.)

Other than that, the game seems to be what I expected.

posted by Annelle on December 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Hard

    I love this game! It's really hard, so I suggest the smallest size because that's the easiest.

    12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Nice game - very like the classic game.

    The boxes are a bit small, but meh, deal with it! If you like the challenge of mine sweeper, this is for you.

    11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Nice

    The game is very hard

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Fun

    I think it is a fun game that is good for your logical tjinking

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Pretty Good

    Mminesweeper is pretty good but my complaints are 1. It loads slowly. 2. The sizes are large, medium, and small. The small is 9x9 which is very small but the boxes are the same size as the large so if you have big fingers it is hard to play. Overall it is a great game.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Awesome !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    it is very fun

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    By: ?

    I think you just have to get used to the game. :)

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Great Game

    This game is fun, amazing, and overall addicting. I was really just looking for free apps and saw this one. I didn't know how to play this game at all but now I'm pretty good! This game doesn't require wi-fi as far as I'm aware (which is pretty handy for me). The only reason this game didn't get five stars is because there isn't a save funtion. It will save if you just turn your nook off but if you press the help button (which no, it doesn't give you hints) or go to a different app or book, you have to start a new game. Otherwise, this game is amazing. Everyone should get it.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Whats a headline?

    Its only fun when you know how to play it and you have smaller fingers.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Help!

    I can't win! HELP! Lol

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    L.W.

    I've played this game before, but this version is very exciting. you have to really concentrate.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    :l

    This game is hard but fun. Its practically a game of luck. But still, its addictive.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Good

    I love this game! It was my first game on here! But, with the new update, whenever i press 'flag', it presses the block i wanted to flag, and it freezes alot, but overall i love it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Nothing

    I like the game a lot i agree that it is sometimes annoying when you get bombed on the first box. But it is never slow some people must have bad internet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Hi

    I love this game!But I shouldnt because im ten and for most ten year olds this is boring!Yay!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    H

    I some how managed to find a mine on my first try! How does that even happen?? 4 stars cause it takes a while to load.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Help

    So. Hard. But. Awesome.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Fun

    This game was very intresting to play!you have three levels to chiose from large,medium,and finally small enjoy the game!(please purchase it!)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Cool

    Fun but hard

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    Love this classic . The only problem is on a large board it's very harr to tap the edge pieces.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8