Customer Reviews for

Minion: The Dark Legends Begin (Vampire Huntress Legend Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The most amazing , had me on the edge of my seat , page turner !!!

L.A Banks is truly talented, after reading the Twilight series , I hungered for something to ease the sudden "Twilight withdrawal " a friend told me about L.A Banks and with a little apprehension I decided to check out her books , amazing is all I can say. If you love a...
L.A Banks is truly talented, after reading the Twilight series , I hungered for something to ease the sudden "Twilight withdrawal " a friend told me about L.A Banks and with a little apprehension I decided to check out her books , amazing is all I can say. If you love a good Vampire or Werewolf book you need to holla at L.A Banks, she is guaranteed to not disappoint.

posted by Nigjt on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Not for me

I am into the paranormal books, and I really wanted to read this series but I had to force myself to just read to the thrid chapter, It was not a book for me, I was board by the middle of the prolouge.

posted by ahance on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not for me

    I am into the paranormal books, and I really wanted to read this series but I had to force myself to just read to the thrid chapter, It was not a book for me, I was board by the middle of the prolouge.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The most amazing , had me on the edge of my seat , page turner !!!

    L.A Banks is truly talented, after reading the Twilight series , I hungered for something to ease the sudden "Twilight withdrawal " a friend told me about L.A Banks and with a little apprehension I decided to check out her books , amazing is all I can say. If you love a good Vampire or Werewolf book you need to holla at L.A Banks, she is guaranteed to not disappoint.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    Rip Off!!!

    I will not buy this book in the electronic version. I can pay $7.19 for it in paperback instead of the $7.99 it costs in ebook format. This is absolutely wrong! Why are you charging more for a book that doesn't need to be printed or stocked?

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    Worst Vampire Book I've Ever Read

    I am an avid vampire fan and I could not stand this book. I could not connect with the character and the story line was aweful. I have yet to meet someone who liked this book and I have given it away and had it returned, TWICE. I have heard that if your are a Laurell K lover that you will LOVE this book and that is not true... I LOVE Laurell K and I will tell you it is nothing like her Anita Blake series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Manages to stand out despite the common concept

    I have read a good bit of the available vampire books and it is always interesting to see each person's take on Vampire lore...so when I read one that manages to stand out despite the abundance of vampire stories I like to make note of it. This manages to be different, mainly due to the main character and her story: you do not see many African American Vampire slayers or a book with mainly minority characters as heroes. But this becomes secondary to the story and plot once you get to reading. If you like the Soookie Stackhouse series or Anita Blake and Buffy..you will like this alot. But a warning...the ending WILL make you want to buy the second book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Complete waste

    If you like your books with lots of violence and profanity, and no plot development or character development, then this is the book for you. The characters are cariactures, and little background is given for this supernatural world. I found it impossible to connect with the characters on any level. And the cliff-hanger ending comes across as an attempt to sell more books instead of wrapping up this flimsy story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    The BEST Series i have ever read!!!!

    I am a forever fan of L. A. Banks! I have read her books 7 times! Not only is she a wonderful Author but she was a great friend to her fans! She actually cared. For those who have problems with Minion....think of it like building a cake. This is just the begaining....but once you get passed the begaining honey Ms. Banks takes you on a ride unlike any other you have ever been on. She makes you think and question yourself.....dang could this be real? She takes real live situations that happened on the news and makes it seem like the dark side had a hand in it! Its great....I love every single page and learned so much with every book! So if you can make it passed minion...you will find your self going back saying thats why that happened! But most importantly you will find a little of urself in her books, characters, and thats what makes her books so special! But the surprise characters that come later will knock your head back! You will find L.A. Banks is not shy at all about pulling out some old characters we have not read about in years! Hint.. Hint... Dracula! ;-)
    If your the type who likes christianity books, well shes got you on that too! So sit back and enjoy the ride! Believe me you will love every book, just make sure you have the next book or you will be mad at yourself!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Had to FORCE myself to finish.

    I picked up this book because there were so many other books in the series, I thought it might be good. I was wrong. This book was atrocious. Even though it was a little different with it being an African American heroine the author couldn't get the dialogue right. It seemed like she was forcing the characters to speak slang. It didn't fit.

    If you want something along these lines, read "Once Bitten, Twice Shy," by Jennifer Rardin.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Not even worthy of one star :(

    I love vampire books but this book will make your head hurt. It was so hard for me to read this book because it was so bad, but I made myself finish it. I was hoping that at any time it was going to get better but it never did. It actually got worse when the last couple of chapters had them going into the different levels of hell. A very dark book. I dont want to ever read another book that talks that much about hell. It was boring! And then the second book (I had bought the 1st two at once) went right into them being in hell again....ugh! I gave both books away to a coworker and I hope she can forgive me for it one day....haha. If you read this book make sure you have some pain meds near by.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Big Disappointment!

    I found this book just browsing around in the sci-fi section and I was really excited to find an african-american author in this particular genre. HOWEVER, I was so disappointed! The plot was lame, the characters were lame, the romance was extremely lacking to say the least, and I had to force myself to keep reading and not waste my money. I couldnt get to the middle of the book, it was just awful! I've read all the Jeaniene Frost books, Charlaine Harris, Laurel K Hamilton, JR Ward, Keri Arthur, and Karen Marie Monings's Fever series to name a few and this by far was the worst!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Slow

    This book starts off very slow. It took two days for me to get through the first chapter. And nothing happened! There is way too much build up, and it makes for a slow and boring start. I probably won't finish the book because it is too boring.I wish I had not paid for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Horrible

    I wish I could say that I liked this book but I have read a bunch of other authors who are far, far better than this one. There was no back story or history to the characters at all. I could barely understand any of the dialogue. The story overall left me wanting for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    THE BEST!!!

    I've read this entire series. This series is what put me on to paranormal romance. I'm a big Twilight fan, but this series makes Twilight look like something from disney. Love Love Love Carlos! His and Damali's love is outstanding. This entire series goes hard and each book only gets deeper and better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not for me

    I am an avid Science Fiction/Supernatural Fiction reader and I did NOT enjoy this book. It seems that there is possibly a decent storyline within, however, it is hidden beneath shear Ebonics. I just could NOT finish this book. I actually had to stop and re-read a few times just to figure out what was trying to be said.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely not for me!!!

    Book had no flow to it...I was really disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    Worst. Book. Ever.

    This book was painful to read. I could normally complete a book of this size in a few hours. It took me three days to read this because it was so painful! The dialog is unrealistic and contrived. The author is trying very hard to be "urban" and misses the mark. It's like she is trying too hard to create characters with which she shares little similarity. My mother is an accountant who listens to Michael Bolton and wears holiday sweaters and SHE could have written more realistic dialog for these characters! The book started well but, as soon as she started with her present day characters, I had to force myself to continue reading. Not only will I not read another book by this author but, I am looking into having the experience of this one erased from my mind!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    Bad.

    This book was basically written in ebonics. The characters were all rap and hip hop types. I am sure that some people will enjoy this book but I like books that are written in English!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    Don't do it...

    I have tried reading this book at least four times now. I read at least 3 books in a week, so needless to say I love reading. This book however talked too much (if that makes sense). There was A LOT of extra writing that got me bored before I even cared what happened next. It seemed like it was going in circles and the writer just forgot where the circle began in order to close the loop of understanding! Definitely won't be trying to read this again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    What to say?

    It's a hard read. I got 90 pages in and couldn't go any further. I bought the first three in the series and there going to sit until I'm desperate enough to pick them back up and try again. But, I have my doubts about trying again. Writing Style sucked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Suffered by comparison

    (Originally written October 31, 2005)

    Whenever I read any book, I try to remain completely objective, to judge the novel by its own merits and not how it might, or might not, stand against other books. Unfortunately, with "Minion," I was not able to help myself.

    First off, I don't think I would have really liked this book, no matter what. I could not identify with most of the characters. I got tired of all the "fist-tapping" (that "cool" thing that "cool" guys do because they think hugging, or even shaking hands, might appear "gay"), tired of the main character's obsession with barbeque potato chips. The group of good guys are also musicians, but they held their music in such high regard, calling the main character a "spoken word artist," that I was never quite sure WHAT form of music they played. Given the clubs and record label names, I am assuming that it was either rap or hip-hop, but it's never spelled out for certain.

    Unfortunately, what made for a double whammy against this book was the fact that I had JUST finished "Pandora's Game" by Christopher Andrews. Believe me, if you are looking for a non traditional vampire/supernatural novel to read, THAT is the book to buy. It is one of my favorite recent books, and "Minion" suffered by comparison.

    I CAN say that the SUBPLOT of this book held my interest a lot more than the main plot and characters. In fact, it is the story of Carlos Rivera that prompted me to give this book the two stars instead of just one.

    BUT, this book ended with a cliffhanger, so I'm afraid that I will not find out what becomes of Carlos, because HIS story alone is not enough to interest me in buying the sequel. Too bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10